Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Miss Buncle Married
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2012
I ended up loving this book just as much as the first one for the exact same reasons. It is a charming story filled with humor, fun characters, and a plot with a couple of twists and turns. Now that Barbara is married she moves to a new town with her husband and so a whole new group of interesting neighbors are introduced. I loved reading about Barbara and her husband settling into married life and getting to know their new neighbors.

We also get to meet Sam, a relative of Barbara's husband. Sam is a handsome young man who comes to visit the newly married couple and falls in love with one of their new neighbors. Of course Barbara feels it necessary to meddle in the relationship and some funny scenes are the result of that meddling.

These books written by Stevenson are easy comfort reads that had me smiling the whole way through. I loved reading about the characters in this little town and the dramas that they dealt with. I highly recommend both this book and the first in the series, Miss Buncle's Book, they are both fun reads.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
Ordered this immediately after reading "Miss Buncle's Book". Just as heartwarming as before, D.E. Stevenson spun more charm into this story as Mrs. Abbot, formerly Miss Buncle, moves with her husband to the little village of Wandlebury in order to avoid more tiresome bridge parties. They move into the dilapidated Archway House, which Barbara turns into a warm and wonderful home by the sheer force of her imagination, and meet their neighbors, whom Barbara catalogues with interest. It's a very sweet and cheerful book, one you won't be able to resist after the first, but lovely in its own right.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
I recently rediscovered D.E. Stevenson after many years. This visit to village life in England between the wars is a charming respite from modern day life. The narration is wonderful with one reader creating voices from dignified old lawyers to irrepressible children. If you enjoyed the Cranford books or TV series, you will like these characters.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 15, 2013
4 1/2 stars

I'm so glad that a few of Stevenson's many books are back in print and on
kindle, and hope that this continues until they're all available again
without paying huge bucks for used copies. I read Miss Buncle's Book
a year ago when it came out, and loved it as an hysterically funny
book. It's about an unintentionally amusing young woman who 'writes
what she knows' anonymously about the peculiar people in her little
village in England, honestly enough that they are just about all
insulted by her portraits of their pretentions and activities, which
she doesn't even realize she seems to be satirizing.

This book continues her story, as she is married and finds her new home
in another English village and gets to know more odd and charming English
people. I think the book could stand alone, although I would have been awfully
curious to know the first part of Barbara's story. If not as desperately
funny as the first, it is somehow more solid and satisfying. It's an easy
read that will only take a couple of extremely pleasant days.

I can't wait for the third one, "The Two Mrs. Abbotts", set during
WWWII, to come out early next year, and have already preordered it.
It's definitely a guilty pleasure, reading about middle class people
with cooks and nannies and maids who are also a major part of the
story, not vague props. It's set just before the Crash that will bring
that world, already changing since WWI, down forever.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
It seems almost impossible to top the wonderful 'Miss Buncle's Book' that starts this series. I do recommend you read that first, since the Buncle novels do follow a sequence and the most pleasure and understanding can be gathered from them by reading them in order. What makes these books 'wonderful' is the wealth of characterization and 'telling' detail and, most of all, the amusement the author provides to the reader. In the early going, homage is paid to Dickens with a side-splitting portrait of an old-fashioned country lawyer. Set in the 1930's, these books do not seem dated except for the single aspect that plot lines include: young woman meets man, young woman marries, young family ensues. The problems the characters confronted in this story are related to setting up housekeeping, moving house, meeting new people and finding one's place in a new community. The story lines move along splendidly, with the cliff-hanger being 'who will inherit the wealthy but irascible old relative's fortune?' Most of the possible claimants do not look promising! This book is fine reading, perhaps more for feminine book lovers than for most men due to the extensive 'domestic' scenes presented.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 15, 2015
A wonderful sequel to Miss Buncle's Book. It is set in the idyllic 1930's villages of England where innocence abounds. It picks up 9 months after Miss Buncle marries Mr. Abbott and they are living in London near Mr. Abbott's work and they have an active social life which is draining them both. They can't figure out how to get out of their busy social schedule; therefore, Mr. Abbott comes up with the idea for them to move. Miss Buncle gets busy searching for the perfect house but can't quite find it. Finally she finds a house, which is falling down, in Wandlebury, which she sees great potential in but Mr. Abbott is not so sure but dares not say anything.

Soon a new character is introduced, Mr. Abbott's nephew, Sam, who starts spending a lot of time with them in Wandlebury. Sam meets a girl named Jerry and they fall madly in love. Barbara knows things about Jerry's family which she shouldn't and this causes her to meddle in Sam and Jerry's relationship - which by the way blows up in her face but very humorously.

With all that said there were things about this book I didn't like... the Marvell children were at best annoying and at worst downright hateful and I have no idea why they were included. There was Jerry's brother, Archie, who is nothing more than a spoiled rich brat with no manners and I just couldn't stand him. Also there was repetition in this book which was lacking in the first book which made parts of this book boring but overall it is very enjoyable and I wouldn't mind living in this world at all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
I loved Miss Buncle's Book, that one is a must read, but this second part is a boring to revisit the characters. Stevenson's writing style is beautiful but the story never captivates you until it is about to finish :-( if you loved Miss Buncle's Book lower your standards before you read this one or you will be heavily disappointed. Again, the prose is terribly good, and the characters we'll drawn, but the plot is completely flat.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
I have so enjoyed the D.E.Stevenson books! I wasn't looking for profound, "literary" or trendy. I was looking for a story - told well. A book for the end of the day that wasn't fraught with all the troubles of the day. Humor, "characters," life as people were living it, a few twists and turns and a dash of mystery. Not complicated,but amusing and deeply pleasant. There are echoes of Jane Austen or Agatha Christie or even Elizabeth Gaskell's Cranford. A village, a circle of people, some "factor" that drives the plot along. Mix, and let the story unfold. These are stories that engage and are enjoyable. Of course these are stories from a different time, but human nature remains strikingly consistent. The variance of period of time is engaging in itself, as a contrast to current culture. Also, these are British stories and are not North American, so this too is of interest. These are period pieces although not that long ago. Read what you can of the book online, and if that is something you enjoy chances are you will be delighted with the rest of the book. I have thoroughly enjoyed the Miss Buncle series! I hope they republish more of D.E.Stevenson's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
D. E. Stevenson's Miss Buncle series is funny, and full of delicately drawn, quirky characters. There are no vampires, or brooding love interests such as seem to be popular today. This is more like a Jane Austen romance, well developed characters with the kind of everyday relationship issues that we have all seen and faced. In the end, everything works out for the best--meaning that the best people get what they need for their happiness. Stevenson's writing brings laughter and sorrow, and always an entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2014
Start with the first in the series, Miss Buncle's Book, then read this one. It's more than a sequel, it genuinely develops the characters as they are changed by this step in their lives. New, fun characters are introduced. The same wry, spirited tone is present. Lots of human nature observation that's relevant to any age.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.