Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Memories, May 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully illustrated and written. My grandmother, who died in 1956, told me how she looked forward to this bookmobile coming to her community. Her love of books has carried down to me and my siblings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books are Knowledge, August 23, 2011
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
As a child Dorothy loved books. As she grew up she decided to become a librarian. Dorothy married and settled in a small mountain town. The town had no library. The folks in the town started to raise money for a bookmobile and now Miss Dorothy had her library! With the bookmobile she was able to bring knowledge to everyone that wanted it!

This book was based on a true story. Bookmobiles seem to be a thing of the past. Kids today can read this story and feel lucky that they have a library near by to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All about books!, February 18, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
Gloria Houston continues to write great books advocating reading. Miss Dorothy is the embodiement of all librarians who truly love books and those who read them. We need more Miss Dorothys to inspire our children to read.I loved Miss Arizona, also by Ms. Houston for the same reason. The illustrations of Susan Condie lamb certainly help the story come alive. I will be using this book as a read-aloud for second and third graders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never take libraries--or librarians--for granted!, June 16, 2014
By 
LP Salas (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
Aw, what a beautiful book. Perfect example of accepting that making your dream come true might not look like what you expected it to, but that doesn't make it any less wonderful. Very inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, May 15, 2013
By 
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
Houston, G. (2010). Miss Dorothy and her book mobile. New York, NY: HarperCollins.

Genre: Memoir/Biography, Children's Picture Storybook

Loving books and people, a young Dorothy knew right away that she wanted to be a librarian in a fine brick library--just like the one in her hometown. She went to college and library school but married and moved out to the beautiful country before she could be a librarian in a fine brick library. Despite this, Dorothy never stopped loving books and people and she continued to read and share books with friends. A group of those friends came together and just like that Dorothy was traveling all over the countryside in a green bookmobile sharing her love of books with everyone, young and old. She grew a little older and in time, a patron donated a fine white house for Dorothy to use as a library. Miss Dorothy was never able to run a fine brick library but she touched the lives of many as a traveling librarian in a fine bookmobile.

Heartfelt story with soft, serene illustrations emphasizing the caring nature of Miss Dorothy. I loved the letters shared from her now grown-up patrons. I was most fond of the message that although we may not end up fulfilling the dream we set for ourselves, we can still inspire others to pursue their dreams...as long as we are doing what we love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile, December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
I purchased two copies of this book for my grandchildren for Christmas primarily because my husband had worked on a bookmobile as a child. I had also read a very positive review in a recent publication.

After reading the book, I was thrilled with the writing, the pictures and the fact that it was based on a real librarian. Also had not remembered that the author was from North Carolina. I love having books that are from NC authors.

All around, a great addition to our book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story of service, December 20, 2011
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
Gloria Houston tells the true story of one of her personal heroes, Dorothy Thomas. Dorothy wanted to be a librarian in a big brick library, but instead her husband wanted to live in the country where there was no library. So Dorothy created a bookmobile that traveled from place to place and brought books to people who had no books.

Each paragraph is like a small poem. Each illustration is like a small poem. A beautiful little story of service.

"If her readers could not come
to the bookmobile,
Miss Dorothy took books to them.
When elderly Mrs. Maumey
had read all her books,
she hung her husband's
red flannel drawers
on the line,
and Miss Dorothy climbed the hill
with more books to share
with her reading friend."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational story about libraries and the people who love them, June 22, 2011
By 
M. Tanenbaum (Claremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
Author Gloria Houston and illustrator Susan Condie Lamb, who last teamed up for the beloved award-winning picture book My Great Aunt Arizona, have created another heartwarming and inspiring story about the special people who love books and sharing them with others.

Miss Dorothy decided to be a librarian as a young girl, because she loved books and loved people, so what could be better? But when she fell in love and moved with her husband to the Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina, there was no library there. But that didn't stop Miss Dorothy, and soon the community raised money for a bookmobile, with Miss Dorothy as the librarian. We see her delivering books all over town, and Miss Dorothy "smiling the broad smile of a happy librarian, who enjoys nothing so much as sharing her books with her friends." Eventually a little house is donated as a library, and Miss Dorothy finally has a real library building. At the end, we see an elderly Miss Dorothy receiving letters from her readers, near and far. An author's note tells us a little more about the real Dorothy Thomas, who was one of the author's heroes as a child growing up.

This is a charming book for anyone who loves books, libraries, and the power of words to change lives. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story of a dedicated librarian, May 17, 2011
This review is from: Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile (Hardcover)
As an avid reader and booklover, stories such as these inspire me. My 6-year-old and I enjoyed reading about Dorothy and her adventures as a librarian. Growing up, young Dorothy had always wanted to be a librarian in her hometown of Massachusetts. She went to Radcliffe and trained to be a librarian, but then got married and moved to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. To Dorothy's dismay, there was no library where she lived, so instead of just accepting things as they were, Dorothy decided to get the community to come together and pool their resources, and the bookmobile was born.

Dorothy's dreams were very different - she wanted to be a librarian in a brick library in a nice town, and instead ended up travelling up and down the mountain bringing books to people who craved knowledge and the joy that came from reading. It is an inspiring story, especially given that Dorothy comes to accept that though her dreams did not materialize the way she expected them to, she still attained fulfillment in the end. The beautiful illustrations bring the story vividly to life. This is a wonderful book to be shared with young children, inspiring them with a passion for books and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile
Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile by Gloria Houston (Hardcover - January 25, 2011)
$16.99 $13.77
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.