Customer Reviews


503 Reviews
5 star:
 (360)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


258 of 264 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne's fans need have no fear
When I read Cocaine Blues, I fell hard for Phryne (FRY-KNEE) Fisher, Dot, the Butlers, Inspector Robinson (call me Jack) Bert and Cec and the rest of the characters in Kerry Greenwood's delightful series and have since read every Phryne I could get my hands on.

Imagine my joy when, through the miracle of Roku and an Acorn Premium membership, Miss Fisher's...
Published 23 months ago by Jody

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A review for fans of the Phryne Fisher books
If you're a fan of the Phryne Fisher books, as I am, what you most want to know is how this series compares to the books. For me, the books are entertaining breaks from more serious reading. Even when Kerry Greenwood writes about serious issues, she buffers the impact with humor, Phryne's feats of derring-do and sexual escapades, period atmosphere and mouth-watering...
Published 20 months ago by Maine Colonial


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

258 of 264 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne's fans need have no fear, January 26, 2013
By 
Jody (Northwest Ohio) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When I read Cocaine Blues, I fell hard for Phryne (FRY-KNEE) Fisher, Dot, the Butlers, Inspector Robinson (call me Jack) Bert and Cec and the rest of the characters in Kerry Greenwood's delightful series and have since read every Phryne I could get my hands on.

Imagine my joy when, through the miracle of Roku and an Acorn Premium membership, Miss Fisher's Mysteries showed up as a January-February offering and I realized that this was indeed MY Phryne! I've now, at great sacrifice of housekeeping and household nutrition, watched every episode in Season One. I can, without reservation, hereby pronounce Miss Fisher's Mysteries a triumph!

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation spared no expense in recreating the Melbourne of the late 1920s nor the luxurious accoutrements of Phryne's world from Hispano-Suiza, to steam train, to Phryne's spectacular wardrobe. Essie Davis is perfect; fully portraying the many facets of Phryne, champion of the underdog, sensuous vamp, keen detective and tango dancer extraordinaire. The TV writing is exceptional and the stories are faithful as they can be to the books, given the limitations of 54 minutes and contemporary sensibilities probably unforgiving of Phryne's and Lin Chung's "arrangement" after his marriage and the decidedly decadent protagonists of the Murder in the Dark book have been cleaned up a lot. The musical score is splendid, mixing original work with jazz standards.

Don't expect every subplot each book contains when viewing that episode. Instead, sit back and let the sights and sounds of Jazz Age Melbourne become real and become a part of Phryne's inner circle. It's a more than fair trade-off and rarely, rarely does translation from page to screen get it so right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 171 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully decadent new 1920's detective series, January 23, 2013
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Move over, Mrs Bradley - there's another jazz-age lady sleuth in town! Author Kerry Greenwood first began writing her series of "Phryne Fisher" books in 1989, and earned legions of fans worldwide with her glamorous, sharp-witted 1920's heroine, Miss Phryne Fisher.

The Hon. Phryne Fisher has returned to Melbourne, Australia after many years of living abroad. Despite her well-heeled manner, Phryne hides a hardscrabble childhood spent in abject poverty, and is still haunted by the mysterious disappearance of her beloved sister Janey. It takes only a few moments after Phryne's arrival on the Melbourne dock for the murders and mysteries to start, but with her talent for attracting friends from all walks of life, including cab drivers Bert (Travis McMahon) and Cec (Anthony Sharpe), Mr Butler (Richard Bligh), Constable Hugh Collins (Hugo Johnstone-Burt), Aunt Prudence (Miriam Margolyes), Dr Mac (Tammy Macintosh) and new ward Jane (Ruby Rees Wemyss), Phryne is ready for anything!

Phryne's delicious "will they-won't they" banter with Detective Jack Robinson (Nathan Page) drives a great deal of the tension within the series. The early episodes rattle along gloriously and are hugely enjoyable as "single" adventures, however things take a darker tone starting in the 11th episode, "Blood and Circuses", as Phryne's quest to finally avenge her sister's needless death at the hands of criminal Murdoch Foyle (Nicholas Bell in a chilling performance) comes to a thrilling climax. The final three episodes careen along at breakneck speed, taking Phryne, her family and friends through their most terrifying and deadly brushes with Foyle.

Essie Davis plays the resourceful Miss Fisher and it is indeed a sensational performance. One of Australia's finest, Ms Davis beautifully covers all the facets of Phryne with style and boundless energy. And that's not a wig - the quick turnaround on the filming of this series required Davis to dye and blunt-cut her own hair into Miss Fisher's sleek signature black bob.

Episodes:

"Cocaine Blues" - Fresh off the ship from London, Miss Phryne Fisher's Melbourne homecoming will have to take a backseat when she is asked to unravel the bizarre link between a chain of murders and a continental bath, which Phryne soon discovers disguises an opium syndicate and an illegal abortion ring. Guest stars Maria Mercedes, Kristof Piechocki and Miranda Otto.

"Murder on the Ballarat Train" - Phryne and new companion Dot Collins (Ashleigh Cummings) board the train to Ballarat in order to collect her new Hispano-Suiza sports car, but when the train makes a short overnight water-stop at Bacchus Marsh, a corpse is later discovered dangling from the water tower. Guest stars Maeve Dermody, Jacek Koman, Victoria Eagger, Abbe Holmes and David Berry.

"The Green Mill Murder" - Phryne must untangle a web of blackmail encircling old family friends when a dead body shows up on the dancefloor of Melbourne's most decadent new speakeasy, the Green Mill. Guest stars Deni Hines, Arthur Angel, Wendy Hughes, Lauren Clair, Rohan Nicol and Toby Schmitz.

"Death at Victoria Dock" - Whilst she investigates the disappearance of the daughter of an automobile factory owner, Phryne also becomes caught up in the world of the Latvian anarchists who are striking on Victoria Dock. Guest stars Robert Grubb, Penne Hackforth-Jones, Karlis Zaid and Vladimir Tsyganov.

"Raisins and Almonds" - When the owner of a bookshop in Melbourne's Jewish community suddenly drops dead, Phryne is led into a fascinating case involving old family wounds and the formula for synthetic rubber. Guest stars Tim Draxl, Kat Stewart, Adam Schmerl, Brian Lipson and Adrian Mulraney.

"Ruddy Gore" - A vengeful theatre ghost doesn't have much of an appreciation for Gilbert & Sullivan, as Phryne soon discovers in one of her most bizarre cases, which also leads her to her first encounter with Lin Chung (Phillipe Sung). Guest stars Peter Cousens, Christie Whelan, Alex Rathgeber, Debra Lawrance and Bille Brown.

"Murder in Montparnasse" - Phryne's post-war occupation as an artist's model in Paris comes back into the spotlight when Veronique Sarcelle (Linda Cropper), the widow of the artist who considered Phryne to be his greatest muse, travels to Melbourne and asks Phryne to help solve his puzzling death. Guest stars Vince Colosimo, Peter O'Brien, Nick Carrafa, Renaud Jadin and Ben Prendergast.

"Away With the Fairies" - Phryne is called in to investigate the death of a magazine author, beloved by her fans but despised by her co-workers, of whom any could have easily murdered her. Guest stars Deborah Kennedy, Anna McGahan, Roz Hammond and Amanda Ma.

"Queen of the Flowers" - When Phryne is invited to act as the hostess for an annual presentation day for disadvantaged girls, the festive mood is soon blotted by a series of unexpected murders among the contestants. Guest stars Danielle Cormack, Terry Norris, Taylor Ferguson, Andrew S. Gilbert and Eva Lazzaro.

"Death By Miss Adventure" - A series of seemingly accidental deaths at a Melbourne textile factory leads to Dr Mac being questioned as a possible murderer - and danger for Dot when she goes undercover as the new tea-lady... Guest stars Alison Whyte, Caroline Brazier, Andrew Blackman and Neil Pigot.

"Blood and Circuses" - The ghosts of Phryne's past, never far from her mind, are closer than ever when she must investigate the death of a performer in a sideshow. To Phryne's horror, she discovers that Murdoch Foyle has escaped from prison. Guest stars John Wood, Aaron Jeffrey, Maude Davey, Gillian Jones, Joel Tobeck and Victoria Thaine.

"Murder in the Dark" - Murder hits close to home when one of Aunt Prudence's servants is found floating in the pool on the eve of cousin Guy's (Felix Williamson) fancy dress engagement party. Once again, Foyle's presence is in the air... Guest stars Kate Jenkinson, John Lloyd Fillingham and Ken Radley.

"King Memses' Curse" - With Foyle still very much at large and responsible for the recent murder of an antiquities dealer, Phryne once again sets on a path to track down the only person who holds the key to the disappearance of her sister, but will she make a fearful bargain to finally make amends with the past? Guest stars Matt Day, Nicole Nabout, Dennis Coard, Cassandra Magrath and Nick Backstrom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD Extras and 13 Murder Mysteries Both Playful and Grim, March 24, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Honorable Phryne Fisher has a lot in common with Emma Peel. Smart, dresses to kill, athletic, sexy and courageous. And they both solve mysteries. Except Phryne (pronounced FRY-knee) lives in 1928 and her foes are more realistic than the I-vant-to-rule-the-world type usually found in "The Avengers".

We first meet Phryne disembarking at Melbourne, Australia. She almost immediately receives an engraved invitation to dine with her old friends, Lydia and John Andrews, and her indefatigable gossip of an aunt.

When Phryne arrives at the Andrews', it's just in time to see her host's body carried out on a police stretcher. According to Aunt Prudence, "It seems that John collapsed suddenly after a light breakfast of tea and kumquat marmalade toast. And the maid found him, purple in the face and cold to the touch on the bathroom floor."

Phryne's investigation leads her to several interesting characters, including a French-Russian tango dancer, a Turkish bath owner and a handsome police detective. The last because, yes, John Andrews was murdered - with poison in the sugar bowl.

But what's especially interesting is when we get the first inkling of why Phryne really came to Melbourne. She visits a man in jail. We aren't given much information in the beginning, except we know it has to do with her late sister Janey. Phryne tells him, "I've come half way around the world to make sure that you never get out of here alive..... Whatever horrors you visited on her [Jane], I have imagined tenfold, and given the chance, I will do the same to you without smearing my lipstick."

This Australian Broadcasting Corporation series is based on the mysteries written by Kerry Greenwood. I haven't read the books, so I had no preconceptions. Until about 10 minutes into the 1st episode of "Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries", I thought that this series might be a little light and mannered for it to really impress me. But as we see more of Phryne and those who become her cohorts, this becomes a series with more substance and layers. There's a lot of humor, too, and I ended up really liking the series. Instead of me rambling on, read some of the comments I gleaned from different people in the DVD set's extras, see below.

In this set, you get 4 discs with 13 episodes, a total of 706 minutes of great viewing.
DVD extras on Disc 4:
1. "The Look" (19 minutes) How they come up with the costumes, characters, sets and locations for 1928 Melbourne, including lots of rehearsal and set-up clips. Commentators are Scooter Welbourn (3rd assistant director), Roger Lanser (director of photography), Marion Boyce (costume designer), Tony Tilse (start up director), Scott Zero (visual effects designer), Kerry Greenwood (author of originating books), Robert Perkins (production designer) and Anna Karpinski (hair & makeup designer).
Boyce mentions that there were "at least 150 outfits for Essia" (Essia Davis, who plays Phryne).
With Zero, there are some great clips of scene creation, such as when a character falls off a roof or when three men have a fight with an ax - as they couldn't have an actor actually swinging an ax in actual fighting range.
2. "Meet the Creators" (5 minutes) Commentators are Kerry Greenwood, Fiona Eagger (producer) and Deb Cox (producer 7 series screenwriter). Kerry had input on key character casting, and was impressed with Essia. "I just saw her walking into a room, and she's got the understated arrogance that Phryne has to have. Phryne's a female hero. She isn't an ordinary mortal." And I'll add my two cents. I really liked that Phryne (though beautiful) is not some young thing. For Phryne to have experiences and depth, it would not have worked to have an actress too young. Phryne nursed in the war and can fly a plane, throw a dagger, climb a mountain, shoot a gun - and speak Mandarin. Above all she is a quiet observer when she needs to be, her big eyes intelligently taking it all in, her deep voice calming or cutting as required. Phryne's a little larger than life, but we expect that in an athletic protagonist.
Deb Cox says, "I wasn't interested in doing something orthodox. I wasn't interested in replicating the Miss Marples and the Poirots."
3. "Set Tour" (4 minutes) Kerry Greenwood takes us through the sets for two rooms in Phryne's house, explaining how perfectly production got the period details. Even the books on the bookshelf are real and correctly contemporary.
4. "Cast Interviews" (8 minutes) Commentators are Essie Davis, Nathan Page (plays Detective Inspector Jack Robinson, with a most deep and melodious voice), Ashleigh Cummings (plays Dorothy "Dot" Williams), and Hugo Johnston-Burt (plays Constable Hugh Collins).
Davis says of Phryne, "She's extremely wealthy, but has come from great poverty, so she understands an enormous cross-section of humanity." And, as you find out right away in episode 1, Phryne is a "hedonistic lady"!
5. "Vehicles of the Series" (3 minutes) Only one vehicle is covered, but it's a beaut. Phryne's red Hispano-Suiza. Bob, the gentleman who restored and owns the car, calls it the "supercar of the 1920's".
6. "Steam Train Experts" (2 minutes) Jim Murty and Steve Lumsden, the volunteer steam train driver and fireman talk about the train and its operation.
7. "Locations in Melbourne" (5 minutes) Clips of shooting and/or rehearsals are shown for 15 different locations used during the series.
8. Photo Gallery (2 minutes) Publicity stills and production stills.
9. PDF "St. Kilda Tribune" Put the DVD in your computer and you bring up the (fake) front page of the May 13, 1928 St. Kilda Tribune. The lead headline is "Murder Most Stylish - The Wonderful Miss Fisher Solves Yet Another Murder".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid period detective series, February 1, 2013
By 
Raisuli the Magnificent (SF Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Made ostensibly for the female demographic, this Australian based period piece tells the adventures and misadventures of a socialite turned detective. Using powers of deduction, sex appeal, a caring disposition and a gold plated revolver, Miss Fisher probes and delves into the Melbourne's underside, taking delight in her new found career and business.

I like it for the period setting, and the opening music is pretty darn good. The mysteries themselves seem reasonable, and unpredictable. Essie Davis and her supporting case are solid performers, and a lot of detail went into both sets and costumes.

A solid mystery series. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A review for fans of the Phryne Fisher books, April 17, 2013
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
If you're a fan of the Phryne Fisher books, as I am, what you most want to know is how this series compares to the books. For me, the books are entertaining breaks from more serious reading. Even when Kerry Greenwood writes about serious issues, she buffers the impact with humor, Phryne's feats of derring-do and sexual escapades, period atmosphere and mouth-watering descriptions of food and cocktails.

In this review, I do NOT include plot spoilers, but I do discuss the characters and their relationships in some detail. I also discuss the basics of a new subplot, but do not reveal its outcome.

Does the period atmosphere carry over to the series? Absolutely; maybe even better. The locations, costumes and music are real eye and ear candy. If you like the music, note that it's now available. Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries - Music from the Televison Series. Check out my favorite tune, Positively Absolutely.

Essie Davis's Phryne is older-looking than she seems in the books, though just as self-satisfied. This frequently comes across as smugness on film. It's strange, too, that there's something predatorily creepy about her sexual flings on film. It's probably at least partly because she appears to be significantly older than all but one of her targets. The Phryne character seemed fairly one-dimensional in the early episodes, but developed as time went on.

Detective Inspector Robinson is far younger than in the books and has a flirtatious relationship with Phryne. That's no surprise; this is TV, after all, where it seems mandatory for male and female detectives to have romantic tension in their relationship.

It's disappointing that Lin Chung only appears in two episodes. It appeared to me that this character's frequent presence in Phryne's life and bedroom was lessened in the miniseries in favor of the development of a relationship between Phryne and Inspector Robinson.

Dot is also much younger than in the books. Again, it isn't surprising that a television miniseries would prefer to make the Dot character younger. The miniseries version is a sweetly engaging character, and her romance with Collins is charming. More is done in the miniseries with Dot than in the books--there is even one episode (the 10th, Death By Miss Adventure) that focuses almost entirely on her--and that was a welcome change from the books.

There is no Mrs. Butler character, and I missed her. Her absence also means there is none of the wonderful and near-pornographic food depictions we get in the books. Though Mr. Butler is a mixologist onscreen as well as in the books, there isn't the same emphasis onscreen of concocting and drinking cocktails. I missed that, too.

While I don't object to the Jane and Ruth characters in the books, I'm not much of a fan of children in my crime fiction. In the miniseries, Ruth is cut out, and Jane is de-emphasized, except for one episode that features Jane fairly prominently. But that episode is well done and shows Phryne's softer side. Bert and Cec are every bit as important in the miniseries as in the books and they seemed well cast to me.

In the miniseries, each hour-long episode dramatizes one of the books, except that two episodes are not from any of the books (the 10th episode, Death By Miss Adventure, and the 13th, King Memses' Curse). The episodes strip the books' stories down to bare essentials. In some cases, it seems like this is done not just to be sure to get the whole story done in an hour, but also to reduce the number of cast members and, presumably, save money. My suspicions in this direction were heightened by the absence of the Mrs. Butler character and also when I saw one actress used to play two different characters (in different episodes).

Another change from the books is that the series adds a continuing subplot involving the murder of Phryne's sister, Jane, when they were children, and Phryne's obsession with Jane's murderer, Murdock Foyle. (This is not a spoiler; Foyle is identified as the murderer from the get-go.) The miniseries's next-to-last episode, Murder in the Dark, has been completely altered from the book, and the last episode, King Memses' Curse, does not appear in any book. Both episodes are used to further that plot thread. This Murdock Foyle is one of those creepy monomaniacs who, inexplicably, seems to be able to hold people in his thrall. For me, the Murdock Foyle character is repellent and the plot infuriating and ridiculous. Those last two episodes really left a bad taste in my mouth.

Despite these criticisms, I think most fans of the books would still find it worth watching. It has its moments, and the above-mentioned eye/ear candy are tasty. Just rent, rather than buy, and keep your expectations low--rock bottom low in the case of the King Memses' Curse episode.

Here is a list of the episodes, in the order they appear on the DVDs, which is not the order of the books as published. The number preceding each episode is the number of the book that the episode is taken from. Where an episode is based on a book, the episode title is the same as the book title.

(1) Cocaine Blues
(3) Murder on the Ballarat Train
(5)The Green Mill Murder
(4) Death at Victoria Dock
(9) Raisins and Almonds
(7) Ruddy Gore
(12) Murder in Montparnasse
(11) Away With the Fairies
(14) Queen of the Flowers
Death by Miss Adventure
(6) Blood and Circuses
(16) Murder in the Dark
King Memses' Curse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT blend of PERIOD comedy, action, romance, & caper mystery, February 18, 2013
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Deco-delicious! Self-indulgent flapper Miss Fisher and her world are Hotsy-Totsy. Nifty! Kerry Greenwood, who's novels are adapted, calls this TV series "Perfect" 1928. Sets -locations- costumes -props, all the Bees Knees. Worth more than 5-stars, like Poirot, Downton Abbey, and Midsomer Murders. Ritzy 1920s Jazz included.
Well written, with sub-plots that seem to merge in a fitting climax.

Phryne Fisher is a dame, brisk, but also innately kind, wealthy but hasn't lost the memory of her past poverty. She is heartwarming, sexy, funny, gutsy, intelligent, and late 29s modern-lady perfection. This arrogant, brash, flirt carries a .38, a diaphragm, and is a kleptomaniac with crime scene evidence items. Phryne (pronounced Fry-nee) is spiffily played by Essie Davis (Girl with a Pearl Earring). She's a PI, always a step ahead of the local cops, not unlike Poirot, Miss Marple, and Sherlock. Cops are DI Jack (Nathan Page) and Constable Hugh (Hugo Johnstone-Burt -`Cloudstreet'); both deserve "Hugo" accolades. The last of the every episode cast is Dot (Ashleigh Cummings) a darling maid. All are Aussie, as is the production, but it is not Outback stereotyped.

SDH SUBTITLES optional for episodes and bonus.
1 Cocaine Blues: Cocaine ring, abortionist, tango/theft/sex, and a murder in Phryne's Aunt Prudence's (Miriam Margolyes -Little Doritt) Melbourne home. A busy start for lovely Phryne. Male nudity.
2 Murder on the Ballarat Train: Phryne saves a daughter but not the mom in a rail car, then sleuths the killer. She feeds Jack clues. The butler, Tobias Butler (Richard Bligh) joins the cast for the rest of the series.
3 The Green Mill Murder: Phryne's hot jazz night ends in a dance floor death. A biplane might help solve the caper.
4 Death at Victoria Dock: Missing teenager, shooting death, forbidden love, religious icons, anarchists, & Dot in danger--again.
5 Raisins and Almonds: Jewish sector murder mixes with politics, religion, and, of course, episodic-romance. Phryne rushes up her Hebrew texting.
6 Ruddy Gore: an old suicide ghost and a stage death lead Phryne to Chinatown & romance among fortune cookies and opium.
7 Murder in Montparnasse: Artist's widow visit causes Phryne to recall a Paris pose & exposed past. Add a quick hit/run case.
8 Away with the Fairies: Which colleague poisoned the "Blue Fairies" columnist? Dot tries her hand on a column; Phryne tries on lover Lin Chung (again).
9 Queen of the Flowers: Miss Phryne teaches teens what? Advantages of non-celibacy? But one girl washes up as dead flotsam. Then, a `dead' mom knocks on her door.
10 Death by Miss Adventure: Death by factory machine sends Dot undercover to investigate. Death 2 gets Phryne on the caper.
11 Blood and Circuses: A magic act goes deadly. Phrynes's past resurfaces amid the big top aura.
12 Murder in the Dark: Aunt's maid is dead in the pool. The investigation uncovers a great surprise.
13 King Memses' curse: A murdered antiques dealer gets mingled in the suspenseful activity to put Phryne's nightmare to rest.
Bonus is as much fun and as long as any episode.

There is a season 2 in the making with Phryne living to the hilt.
Ranks with highly successful Midsomer and Downton Abbey.
BETTER than Poirot--there I've said it.
My wife agrees. We even got caught up in the music and began dancing together.
ZOUNDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great; if you enjoyed the books, May 4, 2013
By 
Diane Kennedy (Salem, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Season 1 [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
I have read the series and have loved seeing them come to life on the screen. All the actors are terrific and the actress who portrays Miss Fisher is just as I would have envisioned her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and visually-luscious!, May 10, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I had never heard of this Australian series, but was pleasantly surprised!! It is based on book serires by Kerry Greenwood (here is the first book. Each episode included here is a whodunit-type of mystery. The main appeal for me was the title character of Phryne Fisher (which is pronounced like FRY-knee.) She is smart, attractive and sassy. Just great. AND (another thing I liked) was that she wasn't too young. It bothers me sometimes when all the men characters are 40+ and the women are all under 30. In this series, the beautiful leading lady (Essie Davis) is 41. And this is the FIRST series, so it wasn't like the 10th season or something where she started at 30.) Very nicely cast...confident, sexy...just perfect.

And if Ms. Davis weren't enough to distract you, the sets are GORGEOUS. If you want a slice of 1920s (even though it is in non-prohibition Australia) you have come to the right place. I often found myself watching the costumes (oooh, the SHOES!), the furniture, the draperies, jewelry...just everything...and actually had to rewind to actually WATCH the story! ha ha!!

The stories have a little more of a racy-side than something like a Murder-She-Wrote (there are episodes about an abortion ring, drugs, partial nudity, sex.) This would probably not quite make it to U.S. prime time
due to the more mature content, but nothing too shocking.

Series One (this set) includes 13 episodes on 4 discs. Each episode is just shy of an hour long. That is a lot of viewing! There is also a few (short-ish) bonus items: The longest one (at 19 minutes) is a
segment on the "look" of the series where they discuss sets, costumes, extras, makeup, visual effects, etc.; a "set tour"; cast interviews; vehicles; trains; locations; photo gallery and a St. Kilda Tribune pdf file (like a mock newspaper page.)

The episodes included are:
1. Cocaine Blues
2. Murder on the Ballarat Train
3. The Green Mill Murder
4. Death at Victoria Dock
5. Raisins and Almonds
6. Ruddy Gore
7. Murder in Montparnasse
8. Away with the Fairies
9. Queen of the Fairies
10. Death by Miss Adventure
11. Blood and Circuses
12. Murder in the Dark
13. King Memses' Curse

Overall, I enjoyed it very much. The mysteries are interesting, but not terribly hard to figure out...still it is fun. The real joy is in the watching. Visually beautiful, both Phyrne and the set!! I almost wish I would have sprung for the blu-ray! Just a fun and visually-luscious series. I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT 1920'S DETECTIVE SERIES FEATURING A GREAT FEMALE LEAD!, April 14, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Taking place in Australia during the 1920's, this detective series is both engaging and addictive. The lead of the series, Phrynee Fisher(Essie Davis), uses her charm, sex appeal, powers of deduction, and a gold plated revolver to solve mysteries in the seamy underbelly of Melbourne. Adding to the chemistry to the series is Detective John "Jack" Robinson(Nathan Page) and when he and Phrynee get together there's always a tautness and delightfulness present. Many of the other cast members do an excellent job of bringing the world of 1920's Melbourne alive. The costumes, music, and set pieces are all accurate and detailed.

If you're looking for something a bit different on tv, something featuring a female heroine from another time, then I highly suggest you jump on aboard and join Phrynee and the gang for some grand adventures and misadventures. The mysteries are all unpredictable and will keep you guessing. Up until I received this dvd set, I didn't know this tv series was actually based off a long-running book series by Australian author Kerry Greenwood. I plan on getting some of those books if for nothing else to see how they differ from the tv series. If you're into historical detective mysteries featuring female leads check out the Gaslight Mystery series by Victoria Thompson. It's a book series and is quite good. Defintely buy Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries 1 if you have the means. It's excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Female Sleuth, April 2, 2013
I think Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries is my favorite series from Acorn to date. I love a good historical mystery and the roaring twenties in one of my favorite time periods. The costumes are stunning and each episode has a surprising ending. The settings are realistic and even the jazz club music helps to set the scene. But what I love most about this series is Miss Fisher herself. She holds a place of respect in a male-dominated world and it is a spot that is well-earned. Yet, she loses none of her femininity. Her style is flawless, her personality spunky, and her wits incredibly sharp. Follow Miss Fischer as she investigates clubs during prohibition and slinks fearlessly through dark alleyways. Not only does she come across as an amazing sleuth, she does it a carefree way that will leave you smiling once the danger has passed. If you enjoy shows with strong women, this is one you simply can't miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.