Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Miss Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2007
Like all the Miss Malarkey books, this one is great for teachers. As a Lead Literacy Teacher, I use this book at staff developement meetings and all teachers enjoy it. It is a great book to use for discussions on students and reading. I recommend this to all educators.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2007
Recommended book for Reading Teachers to share with students. A VERY reluctant reader just can't get into reading preferring instead his video games with his pals. One by one his friends become engaged readers, yet the first person narrator just can't enjoy ANY of the books she passes his way. Many Reading Specialists will recognize themselves in this teacher!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2007
This book is great. I read it at the beginning of school and challenged myself to get every child reading. It worked. I read the book several times and left it out for the kids to read. It was worth it. What a challenge for myself and the students.

Loved It:

Karen
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
Great book for K-grade2, esp. reluctant readers.Miss Malarkey never gives up on finding an enjoyable book for each child in her room. She succeeds!!

She is a young teacher which appeals to young children. All Miss Malarkey books are enjoyable.

[ASIN:0802780849 Miss Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind Testing Miss MalarkeyMiss Malarkey Doesn't Live in Room 10 (Miss Malarkey)
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 21, 2009
Ah, the enthusiasm of Miss Malarkey! Her youth, her dedication, her tenacity--what wonderful qualities to find in a young teacher. May all the young teachers in classrooms everywhere develop the same strong commitment to their students as Miss Malarkey has! You see, Miss Malarkey is dedicated to this end: "Miss Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind" (note the little play on former President Bush's Leave No Student Behind policy) and searches all year long for just the right book for each student.

It all begins when the principal declares at the beginning of the school year that he will dye his hair(piece) purple and sleep on the roof if the students collectively read 1000 books by the end of the year! Miss Malarkey is pumped! She's gotta see that! But even more than purple hair and a wild night on the roof, Miss Malarkey wants all her students to participate in Everybody Reads in America because "reading is about the finest thing a person can do."

The narrator, an unidentified boy with no age given, and his friends HATE to read. It's not that he doesn't like Miss Malarkey--he does--he just doesn't like to read. Then he thought if a book were about aliens, race cars, funny jokes, chewing gum, hot sauce, and cannonballs at the pool, he would be game to read it.

It doesn't take Miss Malarkey (have you caught on to her name yet?--really a misnomer because of her good heart and good intent) long to find books for most of the students who actually--gasp!--love to read. But for our narrator, she finds them, he finds them booorrrrinngg.

Even his friends go on the sly to read so he won't know. When their secret is out, they begin to openly discuss books at Narrator's house, much to his dismay. At last, in June, when the count is 999, Miss M finds a book for our boy--AND he loves it! Yes, yes, he LOVES it! (BTW the name of this wonder book is never given) But that night his parents find him in bed, after hours, under the blanket, with a flashlight--READING!!!

Needless to say, the principal dyes his hair and sleeps on the roof. But the greatest thing for our narrator is that he finds a book he actually enjoys. It may not happen again, but it happens at least once in his life. He will always remember Miss Malarkey because she never gives up. She finds him a book to hold his newly stirred interest in a "good" book!

At the end the author and illustrator place a list of books on the single subjects our narrator likes, plus books which lists books according to subjects. Two examples are How to Get Your Child to Love Reading: For Ravenous and Reluctant Readers Alike--an intriguing title-- and Valerie & Walter's Best Books for Children 2nd Ed: A Lively, Opinionated Guide.
88 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
As our school reading specialist, I'm going to read this to our staff at our opening faculty meeting. Hopefully this will inspire the teachers to get to know their students better, discuss books, and motivate the kids to READ!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Love, love, love he Miss Malarkey books! It uses a lot of speech bubbles which makes it a great introduction to that concept for the younger children. I also like how it explains that there is a way to get everyone hooked on reading if you focus on the things they are interested in. Great to use at the beginning of the year for self-selected quiet reading time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
This book would be perfect to introduce and explain Readers Workshop.
Many students would identify with the reluctant reader, and teachers with Miss Malarkey's quest to find him the perfect book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2008
This book is about a school body that are trying to read 1,000 books in order to make their principal sleep on the roof and dye his hair purple. There is one boy who doesn't like to read, and his teacher, Miss Malarkey, tries very hard to pick just the right book for him. One by one, his friends become interested in reading. Read this book to find out if Miss Malarkey can find the right book for the hesitant reader. We highly recommend this great book!

Sincerely,
Mrs. Andre's 3rd Grade Class
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
As a teacher and a parent I find it hard to make everyone live reading like I do. .I can really relate to this book. Great job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.