Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckle up, this is one hell of a ride!
Enter the world of high-stakes brinksmanship between the American Navy, the Russians and the Chinese Communists. Set down in the middle of that world is Grant Stevens, a man with a plan. When the Russians plot to steal a super-secret Navy warship with incredible technology--or failing that, steal the high-tech systems chip from the ship--Stevens and his long-time friend...
Published on July 21, 2011 by R. Jones

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Mission Critical: not really
Boring and unnecessary verbiage. The descriptions ;given are of very old fashioned armament, so it is cumbersome to get through all the acronyms that pepper every page. The author jumps from descriptive format, to narrative, quickly going from first names, ranks, then reverting back to casual formal, pompous use of first or given names, nicknames, other identifiers which...
Published 25 days ago by K. V. regan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckle up, this is one hell of a ride!, July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enter the world of high-stakes brinksmanship between the American Navy, the Russians and the Chinese Communists. Set down in the middle of that world is Grant Stevens, a man with a plan. When the Russians plot to steal a super-secret Navy warship with incredible technology--or failing that, steal the high-tech systems chip from the ship--Stevens and his long-time friend CPO Joe Adler devise a risky plan to stop the Russians cold.

Of course, once waist deep into the fray, Stevens encounters an array of obstacles: a Russian spy aboard a US aircraft carrier; an old nemesis from 1962 Cuba; deceit from on high in the Navy; and plenty of attempts by his foes to sink him into the murky waters of failure flowing through this 1975 Cold War drama. The writer knows of what he speaks and his detailed descriptions of the above-the-water-line action and the underwater support technology is first rate.

This book is well crafted, full of chest-pounding action and is written in a crisp, no-nonsense style that makes it impossible to put down. If you like Clancy, Ludlum or Dale Brown, but like your experiences boiled down to the meat of the stew, this book is just the ticket for a trip into the exciting world of a truly memorable character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Critical, February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mission Critical is a well written, attention grabbing from the first page book, with fast paced action. The technical verbage, acronyms, and chains of command are obviously well known by the author, and it would not surprise me to know the author knows a person who actually possesses a real Legion of Merit Medal. My highest regards go to this author, and the military personnel who really live these lives and never have the public accolades they so deserve. Our Nation has its freedoms because of men like this. I highly recommend this book. Was well worth my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well writtenn, edge of your seat read, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is about the NAVY SEALS, having a friend that is a retired seal made me interested in reading it.
I was not disappointed, only having time to read in the evening, I read it in three nights, did not want to put it down.
Would recommend a great read to all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
interesting, if a little farfetched. the writing could be a little tighter and the characters developed more, this is my second read of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding read . . . could not put it down!, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Reading a book requires that the author grab . . . and hold . . . my attention. Mission Critical is as good a book as I have read. So good that I have digitally downloaded every book author Jamie Fredric has written and available for download. I recommend Mission Critical to anyone interested in a great book in which the author knows what he is doing and how to truly captivate a critical reader. Simply outstanding!

Larry Nesbit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Mission Critical: not really, November 24, 2014
By 
K. V. regan (cameron park, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Boring and unnecessary verbiage. The descriptions ;given are of very old fashioned armament, so it is cumbersome to get through all the acronyms that pepper every page. The author jumps from descriptive format, to narrative, quickly going from first names, ranks, then reverting back to casual formal, pompous use of first or given names, nicknames, other identifiers which make it difficult to keep up with who's who. The story was only blah, not really any action to jump into and become excited about. The text made it difficult to keep up, slow as it was, then speeding up for another second or two. I must have fallen asleep at least 5 times, kept jerking my eyes open and head up. This is a fail, it did not grab my attention or interest from the first page. I should have given it a pass. I'm a veteran, and had high hopes for this series, but there just isn't enough SEAL action to keep one entertained. Slow and blundering, I cannot recommend this book and now that I know the formula, probably none of the books at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY ADVICE? PERSEVERE, November 12, 2014
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first chapter of MISSION CRITICAL...was confusing. I am not Navy personal or their family so all those acronyms were a challenge. But that did not get in the way of the story being told.

Author, Jamie Frederic, tells an unusually tight story. The history rang true for me. And it certainly made me wonder how many times the Navy Seals have changed our future. It seems we owe them a great debt.

The Seals in this story have some impressive tools ( bombs, wet gear, small subs, and more ammunition.) Great fun.

Don't let anything get in your way, check out this book by Jamie Frederic. It is impressive.

K Agle 11- 12-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 27, 2014
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I plan on reading all of the books in the series. Well written. It is a real page turner.. Hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mission Critical, June 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story involves an elaborate plot on the part of the Russians, with embedded moles on Navy ships trying to steal the secrets of an electronic destroyer, operated by computers from Alaska, capable of destroying an enemy. The plot, played out in the 70's holds your attention, with strong characters but some of the dramatic exploits are beyond believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, fun, easy read, June 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mission Critical - A Cold War Novel (Navy SEAL Grant Stevens Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fairly formulaic, spy, page-turner. Good for the beach or a quick diversion. Some might find the dialogue a bit pompous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.