Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2014
A little more than a decade ago, I devoted two columns in WORLD magazine to an exploration of why "institutions and organizations of all kinds regularly drift from the right to the left, from orthodoxy to heterodoxy, from faithfulness to unfaithfulness, from discipline to permissiveness" ([...]).

Not then, and not even now, do I pretend to have all the answers to that question. But I am enormously grateful to Peter Greer and Chris Horst for picking up that theme and pressing it so energetically into the consciousness of those responsible for maintaining the mission of hundreds of evan¬gelical non-profit entities. Their new book, Mission Drift, is specific, it is accurate, it is charitable and kind-spirited, and it is ultimately helpful to anyone who will take a couple of hours to digest it. This should be high priority reading for organiza¬tional board members, administrators, and mid-level managers throughout God's kingdom.

JOEL BELZ
Founder, World News Group (publisher of World Magazine)

[...]
[...]
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
As a board member of a local Christian non-profit, I was amazed at how spot-on the challenges outlined in this book are when it comes to keeping an organization on mission. It's a sobering call to action for leaders of any business or group, but certainly valuable for non-profit staff & board members. This book has changed the way I think about my role as a donor and board member and it should be read by every person with a desire to see the organizations they love most stay mission true.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
I've spent a lifetime exposed to faith-based non-profit work and have seen myself that good intentions are inadequate when it comes to staying mission true. The litter of drifted individuals and organizations
are more the norm than the exception. This book exposes causes and cures and is a must read for anyone who admits to this potential drift in themselves and their organization and desires to do something concrete about it. By the end of my reading I had accumulated a sizable list of people who I knew HAD to read it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This book has been a helpful guide to rethinking the purpose and motivation behind my choices as they relate to board development, local ministry partnerships, and assessing opportunities as they come my way. Recognizing that mission drift is not just an organizational threat but also an individual one has made me seriously consider who is holding me accountable to my convictions and to my calling both personally and professionally.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
As with all things important in life, actions speak louder than words. A clearly articulated, beautifully crafted, well-meaning mission statement rings hollow without daily intentional actions lead to mission drift and ineffective results. Peter and Chris, through countless examples and personal transparency, illustrate just how important a vibrant corporate culture to keeping mission on point and front and center. A must read for all leaders, Christian or secular, nonprofit or for-profit! Thank you Peter and Chris for staying true to your mission and being a North Star for all of us who care deeply about mission and impact.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
This book will encourage you to stay true to you mission no matter what. May your faith-based organization remain Mission True. I am so thankful for the great work of Peter and Chris in and through HOPE International. They uniquely and compellingly embody the message of this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2014
There is a crisis that faces every church and every charity. Peter Greer and Christ Horst address this crisis in their book, Mission Drift. The authors present the purpose of the book in advance:

To name and illustrate the causes of Mission Drift.
To help clarify the mission of a given organization.
To equip organizations with safeguards to reinforce and protect them.
To bolster their claim, Greer and Horst advance several principle-centered propositions that serve leaders who cast vision, guard the values, and carry out their respective mission:

Mission Drift is a crisis facing all faith-based organizations

Mission Drift is pervasive, but it is not inevitable

Mission True organizations believe the Gospel is their most precious asset

Mission True organizations make hard decisions to protect and propel their mission

Mission True leaders assume they will face drift and build safeguards against it

Mission True board members have clarity about their mission

Mission True leaders set the cultural tone for the organization

These are just a few of the propositions that the authors include. The book contains a wealth of information that is based on solid research that is recent and relevant. The authors provide several examples of organizations who maintain their mission as well as one's who drift. The conclusion is that Mission True leaders stand "unwaveeringly upon the Truth of the Gospel." These leaders are unwilling to compromise. These leaders refuse to capitulate. Mission True leaders have what it takes to carry out the mission that God has placed before them. Mission Drift is simply not an option!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
Every business or ministry had a reason for its beginning. In the mind of the executive or ministry leader, there was a specific reason for launch. At the root of their existence was a service to be provided; whether it was for profit or not. In the beginning, it is very clear what the purpose and mission is. It is very easy to hold onto it. Over time however, the organization begins to make decisions and set priorities that pull them away from the original mission which causes a blurring of the lines. In the military community this phenomenon is known as mission creep. It is the broadening of the mission beyond the original goals and objectives. In the secular world it goes by a different name: mission drift. Peter Greer and Chris Horst, both serving with HOPE International have written a new book dealing with this very issue. “Mission Drift; The Unspoken Crisis Facing Leaders, Charities, and Churches” is their contribution to the defeat of this silent killer.

Mission Drift can be defined as the gradual movement of a business or ministry away from its founding principles and mission. This is the natural tendency of any business or ministry. The authors begin their explanation of mission drift by providing a case study. They highlighted Harvard and Yale. Both Ivy League schools were, at their inception, schools dedicated to the training and equipping of pastors in the proclamation of the gospel. Fast forwarding to the current day, we see these two institutions have drifted from their distinctively Christian founding. Greer and Horst smartly weave stories of other companies who drifted from their original mission. Mission Drift organizations include Harvard, Yale, Big Idea® (Veggie Tales), Child Fund®, YMCA®, Pew Trusts®, and United Airlines®. The authors introduce another phrase into the discussion early on: mission true. Mission True organizations protect their identity and remain faithful to their founding principles/mission. In an attempt to educate organizations on how to remain true to their mission, Greer and Horst offer thirteen characteristics of Mission True organizations. A sample of those characteristics are that these organizations make hard decisions to protect and propel their mission, assume they will drift and build safeguards against it, and boldly proclaim their core tenets to protect themselves from drift. At the end of each chapter, there are steps to carrying out the given instruction. Examples of Mission True organizations are HOPE International ®, Intervarsity®, Young Life®, Cru®, and Buck Knives®.

As a pastor, I can see the reality of this book. Knowing our true purpose, it is a challenging task to keep society and culture from dictating what we do. Greer and Horst have written a book that will serve organizations positively in their pursuit of remaining mission true. The authors close with this statement, “Today, you have the privilege of choosing which path your organization, church, and ministry will take. Will you follow the path toward Mission Drift or will you have the intentionality, courage, and resolve to follow a path of faithfulness?” A solid, helpful, and much-needed work. I would recommend this book to all organizational and ministry leaders.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
The primary focus of this book was on Christian charitable organizations with a warning about the dangers of drifting away from the orginal purpose and mission of the organization. The danger of mission drift is common to all groups and individuals. Greer and Horst outlined key issues that must be addressed aggressively and intentionally by both leaders and supporters of these organizations. Each issue is illustrated with at least one story of an organization that drifted and one that did not. The issues to be addressed are: functional atheism, gradual drift, building safeguards against future drift, clarity about mission, enlisting the right board members, organizational culture, hiring first for character, true partnership with like-minded donors, measuring the right things, excellence, rituals and practices that undergird the culture, bold affirmation of central values, partnership with the church. Best chapter was chapter 11, Measuring What Matters. Though less useful for (Baptist) congregations, teams, and individuals, there are many of the principles that either apply directly or can be adapted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
If you have ever been curious or wondered why organizations, whether for profit or not for profit, drift from their mission, this book is a must read. Providing real life examples of organizations & institutions we have all heard of, the authors make it both personal and real.

An easy read; I was left inspired to not only become a better leader and not let my organization "drift", but also more committed than ever to become a more educated and informed donor.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse