Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Op-Center Mission of Honor
One of many I have read, read the entire Op-Center series, Jack Ryan as well. Really enjoy Tom Clancy's work, along with his co-writers.
Published 14 months ago by Janelle Wolves

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy's Op-Center Mission of Honor: Without Honors
I've been a fan of Tom clancy ever since the release of 'The Hunt for Red October'. Its a shame to say that the works of his successor to the Op-Center series, Jeff Rovin, does not possess the magic of a true Clancy novel.
The first two novels of Rovin already disappointed me because it became more political and less thrilling. No strikes were made, all talk. His...
Published on November 8, 2002 by Jessie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy's Op-Center Mission of Honor: Without Honors, November 8, 2002
By 
Jessie (Baguio City, Philippines) - See all my reviews
I've been a fan of Tom clancy ever since the release of 'The Hunt for Red October'. Its a shame to say that the works of his successor to the Op-Center series, Jeff Rovin, does not possess the magic of a true Clancy novel.
The first two novels of Rovin already disappointed me because it became more political and less thrilling. No strikes were made, all talk. His third book really let me down because through this book, Op-Centers Strike Team has been permanently dissolved. Yes, a covert non-military team was made to replace it but the Paladin could never measure up to the standards of the elite Striker.
Another thing that disappointed me was the fact that Rovin deviated from one of the most popular trademark of a Clancy novel, REALISM. All this about Vodun and its leader doing magic and prophesies just don't cut it.
If Clancy wants his and Mr. Pieczenic's creation to retain its good reputation, I suggest they either replace or train Rovin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time Waster, March 21, 2003
By A Customer
I found this book a complete waste of my time. I kept wondering when the story would begin. I oftened wondered why I continued turning pages.
I'll have to agree with an earlier reviewer (which I wish I had read before reading the book!) that questioned the the merit of this book being a bestseller. Mr. Clancy: quality, not quantity, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English Multi Intel Task, March 8, 2004
The story starts with Leon Seronga, one of the main characters, telling of his childhood on the then wild plains of Botswana. He is now a grown ex-military man from a group known as the Brush Vipers. This group was formed to aid a group of revolutionists in their successful attempt to overthrow foreign and oppressive rulers, and turn the country into an entirely independent, democratic nation.
After the revolution is complete, the new government, who no longer sees a use for them, abandons the group. Several years later, the group is called back together by its commander, Seronga. This time, they aren't aiding a political movement; it's an economic and religious movement being headed by Dhamballa, a man who believes he is the Vodun snake god incarnate. Vodun is the traditional name for what is commonly known as Voodoo.
The Brush Vipers are used as a defensive weapon, to aid and protect Dhamballa and the Vodunist movement. Their first move was to kidnap a Catholic priest in an attempt to force the missionaries and the church itself out of Africa in an effort to restore Botswana to its native religious roots.
Meanwhile, Op-Center, a group formed within the U.S. Government to intercept messages and thwart plots against the United States and avert international disasters, hears of the growing crisis from Mr. Kline, a Vatican Security Force officer. Mr. Kline calls in an attempt to get Op-Center to help.
Back in Botswana, Leon has taken Father Bradbury, his captive, to Dhamballa. The trek took them across the plains and into the swamplands to a compound manned by ex-Brush Vipers, and built to protect Dhamballa.
Dhamballa is a relatively young man, and very soft-spoken, but his voice is firm and he has an air of confidence that makes people a little uneasy. Dhamballa deprives Father Bradbury of sleep, food and water to try to get him to send the other field missionaries to Gaborone, Botswana's capitol.
Back at Op-Center, the team working there, Hood, Rodgers, Herb, and others, plus Mr. Kline, are trying to solve the problem, either politically or forcefully. They believe Albert Beaduin, a gun manufacturer and suspected international arms dealer, and Henry Genet, a diamond merchant, are funding and are behind the turmoil in Botswana in an effort to get rich. One is suspected of trying to supply arms to both sides, and the other will corner Botswana's diamond market during the infighting. They are both hoping to increase their global influence.
Their one minor problem in moving on Dhamballa forcefully, though: Op-Center had their military force cut by a Senate Oversight Committee, after a fiasco during a recent U.N. hostage crisis in NYC.
The Vatican has a force on call from the Spanish military, and the group is roughly the equivalent of Army Rangers or Navy SEALS. They're called into action. In a public show of support, the Vatican also sends an American bishop to take over Father Bradbury's position. The bishop is killed upon his arrival, forcing Op-Center to work outside their set parameters. They send in Aideen Marley, an Op-Center operative, to join the Spanish in the hunt to find Dhamballa and Leon. Unfortunately, the Spanish are killed after a botched raid on Dhamballa's compound.
Aideen meets Leon and goes with him, after gaining his trust and ensuring him she is their to aid him and his cause. The Botswanan military is going to forcefully put down any uprising that may threaten the new democracy. Aideen meets Dhamballa and tells him of the offensive forces that are pursuing him. Leon orders Dhamballa to leave, in an attempt to keep the religion alive. Father Bradbury, while food and sleep deprived, is able to move and leaves with Aideen while Dhamballa leaves in the opposite direction. Minutes later the Botswanan military arrives and Leon commits suicide, dying for their cause and giving the Botswanans someone to blame the uprising on. Father Bradbury and his missionaries return to their work, and another crisis is averted.
I enjoyed this book; but not as much as Tom Clancy's other books. The plot, characters, and settings were all extremely vivid and colorful.
If I were to recommend this book to someone, it would be to anyone who has read other Tom Clancy books. It was extremely hard to put down. I would rate this book as a 7 out
of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Average Book, June 18, 2002
By 
"pegmarc" (Lake Forest, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I was disapppointed. It felt like I kept waiting for the action to begin and it almost never did. I have always before been riveted by the action in Op-Center, but this is not up to the usual quality of suspense and "must-keep-reading". I wish I had saved my money. Maybe killing the Striker Team last time was the end of Op-Center?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 3, 2014
By 
Brian C Hart (Lakewood Ranch, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, June 30, 2014
Not a typical Clancy novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Live and Up Close, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tom must have really good inside sources as his books seem so real and he knows things that the average civilian doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clancy is good, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a Veteran, Clancy has evolved in his writings.
I like his plots, the progression of the characters & always for the Good of Country!
I recommend all of his books - the older ones are inexpensive & a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hunting review, May 25, 2013
This book regarding the direction that the Op-Center has taken could be considered hunting. It is hunting for intelligence and trying to determine who the players are. The ending hints at a follow-up book to resolve the loose end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Op-Center Mission of Honor, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of many I have read, read the entire Op-Center series, Jack Ryan as well. Really enjoy Tom Clancy's work, along with his co-writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.