Customer Reviews


699 Reviews
5 star:
 (172)
4 star:
 (163)
3 star:
 (120)
2 star:
 (100)
1 star:
 (144)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put aside all logic and have fun!
If you can watch this purely for the visual excitment, it's awesome!
You know you're watching a John Woo movie if...
1. Most everyone is wearing a black trenchcoat.
2. Half the movie is in slow motion.
3. Heros are generally proceeded by doves or other glowing, symbolicitems of mass courage.
4. More than one helicopter explodes.
5. Everyone...
Published on September 7, 2001

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Mission-Stay Awake"
This movie in a word, dissapointing. I expected so much more from director John Woo, whose earlier film Face Off was outstanding and action-packed. MI2 though suffers from a deplorable lack of action, at least early on anyways. Although, it's visually stunning at times, there's really nothing here to grab you. I thought this film had very little to do with the Mission...
Published on November 13, 2000 by Vic


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put aside all logic and have fun!, September 7, 2001
By A Customer
If you can watch this purely for the visual excitment, it's awesome!
You know you're watching a John Woo movie if...
1. Most everyone is wearing a black trenchcoat.
2. Half the movie is in slow motion.
3. Heros are generally proceeded by doves or other glowing, symbolicitems of mass courage.
4. More than one helicopter explodes.
5. Everyone cool wears sunglasses and eventually removes them in a slow-motion, classy mannor.
6. Character names are unusual, but deeply representative.
7. Motorcycles are rampant.
8. The hero can shoot the badguy while jumping through fire, swinging from a rope, falling down an elevator shaft or riding on the front wheel of a motorcycle while spinning a one-hundred-eighty degree circle at sixty miles per hour.
9. The plot generally revolves around the villian's intent on mass destruction.
10. Ammunition lasts more than the clip can hold. MUCH more.
11. Always more than one gun shoots at the same time.
12. By the end of the movie everything that isn't exploding has
already exploded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High paced action in HD, March 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had this on DVD but could nnot resist seeing this in HD! The movie is fantastic with director John Woo placing his signature action sequences to great use. This time secret agent Ethen Hunt is on a mission to hunt down a threat called Chimera.

This is one of these movies that rewards you for having it in High-Def.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WooHoo!, September 15, 2000
By 
Spencer (Independence, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Once again, John Woo directs a masterpiece. Forget plot, forget actors, instead focus on the beauty within each camera frame. Mr Woo's style is perfect in form and pleasing to the eye. Watch the picture, see the use of symbolism, the fight between good and evil and the heroe's triumph.
The movie's plot did lag in the middle, but spectacular special effects and coreographed violence made it all worth it. Villians are a dime a dozen and only few stand out in our mind. This one does not quite do it, however. Tom cruise and his She-ra in the movie struggled through their lines. But remember that movies are not just actors and dialogue, they tell a story. This movie could have just had pictures and music and the story would been told just the same.
Surely not the best John Woo film out there, but a masterpiece as only he can deliver. Thanks Mr Woo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But the DVD itself is good..., December 14, 2000
Looks like everyone has an opinion of MI:2 which boils down to either "hate" or "great". However, what about actual quality of the DVD? For those of you who DID like the movie (and I did enjoy it) and are wondering if they should get the DVD I would say 'YES'. Unlike so many other DVD's that are suppose to be packed with extras (*cough* X-Men *cough*) MI:2 has a nice variety of extras that I actually found interesting and enjoyable. Especially interesting are the behind the scene looks at how they filmed the numerous action sequences (some of which were much more dangerous than some of these reviews have given the actors credit for). The addition of the MTV skit with Ben Stiller is great. Picture and sound quality is top notch (check out the review from 'Widescreen Review'). Despite the number of bad reviews I know people liked the film (it did gross over $200 million domestically) so for those people I say this high quality DVD is one to add to your collection.
BTW, I'm not dissing the X-Men movie, just the quality of extras on the 'Special Edition' DVD. The movie is top notch and there is no question it is far better a movie than MI:2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Mission-Stay Awake", November 13, 2000
By 
Vic (Allen, Texas) - See all my reviews
This movie in a word, dissapointing. I expected so much more from director John Woo, whose earlier film Face Off was outstanding and action-packed. MI2 though suffers from a deplorable lack of action, at least early on anyways. Although, it's visually stunning at times, there's really nothing here to grab you. I thought this film had very little to do with the Mission Impossible series, and more resembled John Woo's normal action films. The main problem with the film, is that it's main character, Ethan Hawke, played by Tom Cruise, gets involved in a very, long and drawn out relationship with his female co-star. The film spends far too much developing the relationship between the two, and far too little time giving us action. I also don't agree with the other reviewer's opinion that the first Mission Impossible was forgettable. The first film was much truer to the series, and was a very sharp, smartly-acted film. It had action when it was necessary, within the bounds of the story. I'd highly recommend the first film, and only recommend this one, if you need it as a companion piece. This is definitely not a film you'll watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray - Rocks!, August 8, 2009
By 
Having seen other blu ray reviews of this film, I actually decided to replace my original SD version with the blu ray one. I am very highly pleased; the blu ray transfer is very well done and a worthy addition to any BR collection. Unlike many other reviewers, I enjoy this movie tremendously. Sure its tom cruise and all of his scientology sillyness, but like it or not, he's pretty effective in these types of roles. Anyway, good BR, great video and great audio. Definitely worth an upgrade if you enjoy this movie anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check Your Brain At The Door, June 10, 2001
By 
Memorial Day weekend is traditionally when a huge summer blockbuster hits theaters and causes people to line up for hours just to watch stuff blow up. This year was no exception, as the eagerly anticipated Mission Impossible 2 opened to hordes of people wanting to see Tom Cruise dangling from a cliff and, of course, blowing a lot of stuff up.
Before diving into this feature-packed DVD, be warned that M:I-2 is a very different movie than its predecessor. Where the previous movie was more of a mystery with a little action tossed in, M:I-2 is a straight up popcorn movie and fits the summer blockbuster profile nearly perfectly.
Mission Impossible 2 is a strange sequel. It doesn't make any references to its 1996 hit predecessor, and the only returning characters are Ethan Hunt (Cruise) and Luther Sickell (Ving Rhames).
The movie opens with a theft of a deadly genetically engineered disease known as Chimera by a group of terrorists lead by a former IMF agent turned bad (Dougrey Scott). Of course, the only person who can stop him is Ethan Hunt.
Ethan teams up with again with Luther, and gets help from an international thief by the name of Nyah (Thandie Newton). Throughout the course of the mission, Nyah gets infected with the Chimera and Ethan must then get the cure, which is known as Ballerophon.
If all of this sounds familiar, its because the story is just so cookie-cutter. We've all seen the good agent/bad agent thing before in Bond movies (Goldeneye anyone?), and the whole "genetically engineered virus in the hands of terrorists" angle has been played out in movies such as The Rock.
Which brings up one of the biggest problems with the movie - the plot (or lack of one). Many people complained how the first Mission Impossible was "too complicated" and they didn't understand it. With M:I-2 they made a "story" that is so simple to understand that the dialog and plot insults anyone with half a brain.
But despite the plot problems, there are some very cool action sequences and Ving Rhames is always awesome no matter what he is in. There is one scene late in the movie (track 14 on the disc for those who want to jump right to it) where Ethan Hunt escapes from the villain's HQ on a motorcycle that is simply one of the best action scenes in any movie this year.
M:I-2 is one of those films where you just need to check your brain at the door and strap yourself in for tons of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tom cruise should do more john woo movies, December 13, 2000
This review is from: Mission Impossible 2 (VHS Tape)
i was dissapointed seeing mi:2 in the cinema but the 2nd time on video its a lot better. tom cruise is really cool in mi:2 and it really suits him to do action movies and he should do more of them. the action scenes are some of the best iv'e seen and iv'e seen a lot! of action movies. john woo uses the double guns so! cool its his trademark and they make the best action 'hench' face/off. i also hope arnie might do a john woo movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mentally Un-demanding, February 6, 2001
This review is from: Mission Impossible 2 (VHS Tape)
Ok. What ever happened to the great story and characters that we came to know as Mission Impossible? Well, it looks like Mr. Woo flung the entire idea of a "real" Mission Impossible movie when he accepted this project. Lets face it, the entire concept of Mission Impossible is espionage and secret under cover work. This movie turned Ethan Hunt into a gun-toting reject, I might as well be watching The Terminator. Anyway, when thinking of the title Mission Impossible certain things come to mind, things that had NOTHING to do with this movie. The stunts and special effects where well done, the only problem was they where used very strangely and un-realistically. Can someone tell me what the car chase between greasy Cruise and the girl was about? Couldn't figure that one out either. Anyway, this movie came to mind as more of a sequel to Heavy Metal 2000 then to the original Mission Impossible. Hard rock pounding as people jump pointlessly from motorcycles and do lay deadly karate moves on each other with even flinching! The guy gets up after getting his pounded in with a rock! Anyway, I'll stick to T2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woo! One very good action pic, October 25, 2000
By 
hultrain "hultrain" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
OK, Ok, if you've read the reviews (both professional and customer), you've probably heard all the negatives...bad plot, cliches, predictability, etc. etc. And perhaps all of that is true; for example, who could buy a love story that starts out with the hero and heroine making googy-eyes at each other while one of them is dangling periously over the edge of a cliff? But, it seems to me that the whole point of a good action flick is the ACTION, isn't it? I mean, if you want to see great plot, multi-dimensional characters and the like, I direct you to the various films in the Merchant Ivory genre. If you like good action, stylish film-making, and overall bang for your buck, MI:2 is the way to go.
What MI:2 may lack in the complexity of its plot or character development, it more than makes up for it with the complexity of many of its action scenes. This corroborates the rumor that the screenplay was written around the action "set pices" already composed by Cruise and Woo. (And really, shouldn't a good action movie revolve around the actual action scenes?) From the opening of the movie, the famous rock-climbing stunt, you can tell that the action pieces in this movie will be something different. And from the panoramic and breathtaking rock-climbing scene to the motorcycle-chase, cum shoot-out, cum hand-to-hand combat finale, you can't help but be riveted by John Woo's unltra-macho, ultra-stylistic direction. Even a scene involving flamenco dancers is turned into macho eye-candy by Woo's deft film artistry.
And sure, Woo often riverts to the same formula: slow-mo shots, standoffs where all the characters seem to be pointing about a million guns at each other, a strange fetish for doves and pigeons.... But, darn it, all these things look good!
Another, quite refreshing, positive in this movie is that the female character, played by Thandie Newton, is not a simple foil character, made to be used sexually and then killed off to make way for another potential conquest. Instead, she actually makes a unilateral, powerful decision at the movie's climax that affects the entire outcome of the movie. Show me a Bond pic where that happens!
All in all, despite its flaws with plot and character, MI:2 delivers the best of all cinematic guilty pleasures: a good couple of hours on the edge of your seat, and some virtuoso, fun-to-watch film-making. This movie should make any fan of action pics very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c4af5a0)

This product

Mission Impossible II (Two-Disc Special Collector's Edition)
$12.98 $6.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.