Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't make anything if you can't make mistakes
My mom always told me that you can't make anything if you can't make mistakes. This book proves the point aptly, highlighting several mistakes that turned into common and often-loved inventions (chocolate chip cookies, Coca-Cola, the Slinky). This is an enlightening book to share with kids, encouraging them to realize that taking risks, learning to improvise and...
Published on June 8, 2002 by Kcorn

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for children
If you have a 10-15 years old, this is a nice book for him/her. This is not a history of technology book, it's more of an easy reading.

Additionally, if you don't live in the US, the book makes little sense, since it is full of American references both historically and in terms of customs. On the other hand, if the lucky child who's going to receive it as a...
Published on March 9, 2006 by Hermann Pais


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't make anything if you can't make mistakes, June 8, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
My mom always told me that you can't make anything if you can't make mistakes. This book proves the point aptly, highlighting several mistakes that turned into common and often-loved inventions (chocolate chip cookies, Coca-Cola, the Slinky). This is an enlightening book to share with kids, encouraging them to realize that taking risks, learning to improvise and experiment is often the best way to learn, even if you don't end up creating something new and wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 7, 2000
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
This book is great! It deserves more than 5 stars. I have read this book more than once, and I plan to read it again. The stories behind the inventions are amazing! I learned so many new facts. Did you know that Levi's jeans were invented by accident? If you want to learn more, read this amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader in Michigan, September 28, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
The stories in this book are amazing. Many everyday things were really discovered accidentally. Our family, from a 75 year old grandmother to an eight year old, learned many new things. Our favorite "mistakes" are tea, the Slinky and the ice cream cone. A great addition to your home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fasanating Book, March 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
My teacher read from this book about how chocolate chip cookies were discovered in 1st grade. Ever since I have been looking for this book! I am so glad to have found it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!! Fun to read for the whole family!, July 10, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
This was a really fun book to read. We couldn't believe that some of the greatest inventions were made by mistake. It is a really fun book to read. You can pick it up and put it down easily while you are doing your other summer activities. Our favorite mistakes that worked were the ice cream cone, the chocolate chip cookie, aspirin and silly putty. Don't be surprised if you find your mom can't put it down either! A must read for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for learning to take risks in science, November 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
I have used this book with third graders as they learn to hypothesize. Not wanting to make mistakes, they will change their hypothesis or make it "fuzzy" enough that it is safely generalized. This book shows great examples of people who made mistakes in their "hypothesis" and profited (chocolate chip cookies!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for children, March 9, 2006
By 
Hermann Pais (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
If you have a 10-15 years old, this is a nice book for him/her. This is not a history of technology book, it's more of an easy reading.

Additionally, if you don't live in the US, the book makes little sense, since it is full of American references both historically and in terms of customs. On the other hand, if the lucky child who's going to receive it as a gift is American, this is yet another good reason to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well made, but not entirely accurate, March 1, 2005
By 
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
Make no mistake; this is a well-made piece of work. The stories flow smoothly, and the illustrations are very nice. However, the facts just haven't been checked. It claims (incorrectly) that Coca-Cola was an accident, it states (falsely) that Cinderella originally wore fur slippers instead of glass, and it actually elaborates with no real evidence on the history of the brick. For these reasons, I don't recommend it; if you really enjoy it and want to, check everything at snopes.com, where facts are checked ruthlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for young people, January 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
I purchased this for my elementary school aged children and they loved it. Fun stories about discovery and invention. I always pushed my kids to be 100% perfect all of the time, but now they come back and let me know that mistakes are important too (just not on tests!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good incentive, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mistakes That Worked (Paperback)
My daughter was constantly complaining that she couldn't do anything right so I got this book. She has begun to turn her mistakes in to 'possibilities' and think about other ways that they could be useful. Many interesting facts in the book and it held the interest of my 7 year old fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mistakes That Worked
Mistakes That Worked by Charlotte Foltz Jones (Paperback - May 1, 1994)
$11.99 $9.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.