Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There Is No Frigate Like A Book"
Emily Dickinson's famous lines "there is no frigate like a book to take us miles away" could not be more apropros of Lloyd Jones' magical MISTER PIP. Matilda, the narrator, is a black child entering puberty living in New Guinea when we first meet her. Her beloved father has left her and her mother to seek his fortune in Australia and try to, in the words of her mum, "turn...
Published on August 21, 2007 by H. F. Corbin

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lesson in Literature
"Mister Pip" by Lloyd Jones is the sad tale of a young woman's struggle with her very adult world. The tale illuminates on how literature can affect our daily lives and it is through Dicken's "Great Expectations" that the young woman, Matilda, learns to cope with her war-wraught world. The novel teaches her how to survive but, most importantly, how to make her voice heard...
Published on March 5, 2008 by Kimberly A. Towers


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There Is No Frigate Like A Book", August 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
Emily Dickinson's famous lines "there is no frigate like a book to take us miles away" could not be more apropros of Lloyd Jones' magical MISTER PIP. Matilda, the narrator, is a black child entering puberty living in New Guinea when we first meet her. Her beloved father has left her and her mother to seek his fortune in Australia and try to, in the words of her mum, "turn into a white man." Matilda becomes fascinated, as does the reader, with the only white man on her island, Mr. Watts (some days he wore a red clown's nose), nicknamed by the children of the village "Pop Eye." His wife is a black woman named Grace whom he often pulls around on a trolley. When war breaks out and many people flee the settlement, Mr. Watts teaches the remaining island children. He reads aloud to his spellbound students Charles Dickens' GREAT EXPECTATIONS, which he describes as the greatest novel by the greatest English writer of the nineteenth century. Dickens' character Pip makes an indelible impression on the young Matilda and becomes much more real to her than dead relatives. Much of the conflict in this beautifully crafted story has to do with the tension between Mr. Watts, who does not believe in a god, and Matilda's mother Dolores, a devout believer in the Good Book. Matilda sees many parallels between her life and that of the fictional Pip. As an adult she remembers his confession,"it is a most miserable thing to feel ashamed of home" and thinks of her island. That passage and many others she sees as "personal touchstones."

Mr. Jones' narrative will hold you in its spell, and you will long remember Mr. Watts. Like many teachers, he is part charlatan, part magician, but also a kind and loving mentor. He is more alive than many of the people on the nightly news-- and certainly more decent-- and as real as William Styron's Sophie, John Updike's Rabbit or Thomas Hardy's Tess.

MISTER PIP says wondrous things about the power of the imagination, the permanence of storytelling-- when the novel is lost, Mr. Watts and his students remember fragments from it and write them down-- kindness and courage. The author is a wizard with words, but he also lets his characters make profound statements about life as well. For example, the Jones' ocean shuffles up the beach and draws out; Matilda hears "the lazy flip-flop of the sea--so much louder at night than during the day" and Mr. Watts defines the word "opportunity" to his students: "'The window opens and the bird flies out.'" Matilda, from reading this one book of Dickens, finds out that "you can slip under the skin of another just as easily as your own, even when that skin is white and belongs to a boy alive in Dickens' England. Now, is that isn't an act of magic I don't know what is." Another character muses on youth and age: "' Everyone was young in those days. That's the main complaint you hear from people who are getting old. You stop seeing young people. You begin to wonder if there are any left and whether there were only young people when you were young.'"

When you finish this haunting and intense story, you very well may want to reread the Dickens' account of the young Pip and his journey to becoming a gentleman. I know I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondrous--An author of world-standing literary ability, August 21, 2007
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
"Mister Pip" by Lloyd Jones is the wondrous coming-of-age story about Matilda Laimo, a 13-year old Papua New Guinean child living on the island of Bougainville. It is an enchanting, lyrical, lush, and politically powerful tale by a prize-winning author of world-standing literary ability. The book has already won the 2007 Commonwealth Prize for literature and is currently among thirteen titles longlisted for the 2007 Booker Prize. It has been sold for distribution in the United States for an unprecedented sum; even if the author fails to win the Booker Prize, it will still make him a millionaire. If the book wins the Booker Prize, it is destined to be a big-time modern literary and popular crossover bestseller.

The story is set in 1991. The mainland Papua New Guinean government is involved in a civil war with the inhabitants of Bougainville, a large island off its southeastern edge--an island abundant in gold and copper resources. The population and culture of Bougainville is more similar to the Solomon Islands archipelago. where it belongs geographically rather than to any of the diverse mainland tribes of Papua New Guinea. As the novel begins, the child is barely aware of the conflict. She is black, and she views the invading government forces as foreign redskins.

Matilda lives in a tranquil primitive coastal village of no more than 60 people. They live in dirt-floored huts, and easily get all the food they need from the surrounding bountiful jungle and ocean. But in 1991, everything changes when the government chooses to blockade the island. Subsequently, all white people, including the village's teacher, missionary, doctor, etc., take the last boat off the island. All leave except Mr. Watts, an eccentric white man living a reclusive life with his black island wife in an old missionary house near the village--a house completely hidden by tall grass left uncut for decades. As the blockade progresses, all supplies slowly go scarce, then disappear altogether. There are no more canned foods, no more gasoline for the electrical generators, no more medicines. Babies start dying once again from malaria. The island children, freed from school, are aimless. The island quickly and easily returns to the way that life has been lived there for thousands of years.

The author, Lloyd Jones, knows this subject first-hand--he served as a journalist in Bougainville "where the most unspeakable things happened without once raising the ire of the outside world." And that is indeed true. I consider myself well informed on world matters, yet before I read this novel and did some background research about the setting, I had no idea about the great inhumanity that this island endured during its 10-year-long civil war. The war ultimately cost the lives of more than 11% of the island's inhabitants...and the world, for the most part, completely ignored the events.

Violence does occur in this novel, and it is "unspeakable," but the author treats this subject carefully--we are spared undue shock, and it is not the focus. This book can, and will, appeal to all readers, including young adults.

The main story begins when Mr. Watts decides to reopen the schoolroom and become the village's temporary teacher. He teaches the children by reading aloud Charles Dickens' "Great Expectations." The children quickly become totally entranced. They fall in love with the books main character, Mister Pip. Lovingly, Matilda builds an oceanfront shrine to Mister Pip--a fictional character that has become more alive to her than anything else in her impoverished environment. But this simple act of love brings violence into her life and the life of her community. The government "redskins" see the shrine from their helicopters and are sure that Mister Pip is a hidden rebel leader.

For me the most wondrous aspect of this novel is the prose--completely fresh and original. There is a rhythmic quality to the writing that is wholly new, and hard to analyze. The prose has a lovely and lyrical overall simplicity. The writing compelled me inside the story; I became part of that alien, primitive world.

There is an important moral message within this novel. According to Mr. Watts: "to be human is to be moral, and you can't have a day off when it suits." Personally, it makes me think about the fact that we are all living on a large island--planet Earth. Like Bougainville, Earth is rife with conflicts and, for me, the most important are environmental degradation and global warming. Are we going to do the moral thing, even if it doesn't suit?

So far I have read two other novels shortlisted for the 2007 Booker Prize: "On Chesil Beach: A Novel" by Iwan McEwan, and "The Reluctant Fundamentalist" by Mohsin Hamid. Each I have reviewed on Amazon, and recommend highly. They all are exceptional examples of modern literarature, and all have important messages to convey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Storytelling, August 23, 2007
By 
Eric Anderson (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
This novel is narrated by a black girl named Matilda who is reflecting on her time growing up in an island's small village on the fringes of war-torn Papua New Guinea. The village regularly receives news and gossip about the ongoing conflict between the perceived "red-skin invading government" and the black rebels made up of many young men from local villages. They hear about the vandalism and destruction of communities as well as the gruesome murder of many innocent civilians caught in the civil war. However, Matilda is only vaguely aware of this happening in the back ground. At first, she's more concerned with the daily details of life with her protective mother (her father left them some time ago to do business in Australia), playing with her friends and wondering about the local oddity - Mr. Watts (or Pop Eye as the children call him), the only white man in the village, who is occasionally found pulling his mysterious black wife in a cart while wearing a red clown nose. When the children are left with no teacher, Mr. Watts surprisingly comes forward to educate all the local children. However, with no formal teaching skills, he spends the majority of class time reading aloud to them from the novel Great Expectations. Matilda is enraptured by the story and comes to think of its characters as her friends, finding common themes between Pip's life and her own. However, her strict Christian mother is less than pleased about the way Mr. Watts is influencing her daughter. When the fighters come to Matilda's small village, the girl's adoration for the character Pip inadvertently causes a conflict which throws the village into chaos and threatens their peaceful existence.

Jones masterfully re-creates life within this small village using straight-forward, beautifully-wrought prose. He describes the way in which storytelling can powerfully affect people, letting their thoughts and experience meld with the tales to make them wholly personal and unique. The author also manages to subtly make original and profound statements about racial differences. When scenes of horrific violence appear they are delivered with heart-breaking simplicity rather than artistic flourishes. Jones shows the slow painful destruction which war brings, exhausting and maiming the fighters, creating upheaval and chaos in the lives of ordinary citizens and tarnishing the future of the innocents. This is what makes Mister Pip a truly universal tale accessible to anyone. The thing which is shown to survive, beyond all the villagers' physical possessions, is their imagination and memory. They are what allow Matilda to reconnect with her past and rebuild her identity out of the ashes. She eventually discovers Mr. Watts has hidden stories of his own as does her beloved author Mr. Dickens. Though she endures a painful amount of hardship, it feels like a kind of victory that Matilda's own story can survive despite her childhood world being erased by the march of history.

This is only the first of New Zealand author Lloyd Jones' numerous novels to be published in the UK and US. Hopefully, his back catalogue will become available to the west soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Changes without warning, March 4, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bridgehampton, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
Life can change without warning. That's one of the recurring notes sounded by Matilda Laimo, the likeable, self-effacing narrator of MISTER PIP, as she looks back on her early adolescence on a small island village in Bougainville, Papua New Guinea in the early 90s. It's a note of both warning and hope, for she was trapped on the island at the worst of times--during a ruthless, atrocity-ridden civil war--yet somehow managed to survive it. That's the one lifeline (the Mr. Jaggers--you'll learn what this means) that Lloyd throws his readers from the outset: Matilda has lived to tell her tale, we just don't know how or at what cost.

MISTER PIP's plot is likewise full of changes without warning: I didn't always know what would come next in this novel, which I found alternately heartwarming, repellant, funny, horrifying, sad, strange, uplifting. Early on, I thought I was in for another charming but sentimental homage to a teacher, that the "background chorus" of gunfire erupting from the Bougainville blockade would remain just that, an excuse for a group of trapped tropical island students to fall under the spell of a maverick teacher who reads them, of all things, GREAT EXPECTATIONS. And who would be the Donat/Poitier/Williams to star in its movie? I didn't pay enough attention to Matilda's forewarnings: "What I am about to tell results, I think, from our ignorance of the outside world." Eventually that world invades the village with a steadily increasing brutality that I won't soon, maybe ever, forget, and all my notions of getting cozy with the students as they listen to installments of Dickens were quickly disabused. There are many complex turns in this book, many levels of civil war, mysteries within mysteries, and in the end, Mister Pip couldn't be less sentimental; it has moments as bleak and soul-shriveling as THE HEART OF DARKNESS.

It's difficult to speak about this or any novel without giving too much of its story away, but it might be worth knowing for some that there are spoilers galore in MISTER PIP for GREAT EXPECTATIONS; you'll get a kind of SparkNotes overview of the latter. I wonder, in fact, what the experience of reading MISTER PIP without knowing GREAT EXPECTATIONS would be like--a call I can't make, having read it a number of times. I suspect, though, that Lloyd does depend on readers' familiarity with Dickens in some way because despite his many weighty themes--race, atrocity, surviving atrocity, sacrifice, strained mother/daughter relationships, crucial life lessons, abandonment, fatal misunderstandings and clashes of culture--his MISTER PIP is first and foremost about reading and the love of literature. About story as survival and the ability of novels, as Matilda says, to supply you with another world when you desperately need one. And what book lover doesn't cross paths, sooner or later, with GREAT EXPECTATIONS? If not before MISTER PIP, then I bet soon after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviews by Dr. Thomas Moore, author with Alphar: August, 2007, August 30, 2007
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
In "Mister Pip", Lloyd Jones weaves a narrative that will transform lives... in a voice that lives on long after the final page.

During the 1990 blockade of Bougainville, a south Pacific island rich in copper, only one white man chooses to stay behind: the eccentric Mr. Watts, who sweeps out the ruined schoolhouse and begins to read to the children each day from Charles Dickens's classic Great Expectations. So begins this brilliant award-winning novel about the strength that imagination, once ignited, can provide. As artillery echoes in the mountains, thirteen-year-old Matilda and her peers are riveted by the adventures of a young orphan named Pip.

A private, linen-suited figure with a native wife, Mr. Watts is a mystery to the children of the island But Matilda's fascination with the story of Pip begins to trouble her devout, practical-minded mother. She starts to wage a not-so-silent campaign against Mr. Watts and nineteenth-century England, and the distance between her and Matilda, who is immersed in the new world of Dickens, grows.

Then the real war, which has been inching closer every day, arrives. The redskin soldiers visit the island and come to believe that Pip, the central character of Great Expectations, is a real, live man, being hidden by the villagers. Vengeance is extracted in increasingly terrible ways as the island fails to produce him. Yet as the villagers lose almost everything, for the children and Mr. Watts, the imaginary world exerts a stronger pull than ever. And for a moment, the power of story-telling seems as though it will save everyone.

The narrator's voice is that of Matilda, a village girl. She was named by the Australians who opened up the world's richest copper mine in Bougainville, and her name stands throughout as ironic comment on responsibilities intimate and global. Lloyd Jones has a special insight into the intricacies of the human situation - intimate and global.

Lloyd Jones, writing with the voice of an adolescent girl, is a middle-aged New Zealand author who has mastered a great novel: Wrought with the purity of grief, urgent in every cadence, and expanded by a faint lingering hope. But the end does not bring wonder but despair. And that's a wonder in itself, that such a grim subject can still carry something as luminous and as revealing to us readers worlds away from a forgotten village on the pacific.
This book reminds me of the high;y acclaimed book Upland Road from AlpharPublish.com in that it explores the effects of a foreign civilization on children from a south pacific culture.
Enjoy the book! Dr. Thomas Moore: tom.moore@xtra.co.nz. Author of The Progress Of Man, Hillary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lesson in Literature, March 5, 2008
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
"Mister Pip" by Lloyd Jones is the sad tale of a young woman's struggle with her very adult world. The tale illuminates on how literature can affect our daily lives and it is through Dicken's "Great Expectations" that the young woman, Matilda, learns to cope with her war-wraught world. The novel teaches her how to survive but, most importantly, how to make her voice heard in a place where individuals are lost to the vastness of the world and society. Although this theme emerges late in the novel, Matilda's moments of ephiphany evoke powerful and emotional responses.
For most of the novel the connection between Dicken's masterpiece and Matilda's life is difficult to recognize. However, one of the most important lines in the book is when the young protagonist realizes just how small and insignificant are her struggles. "This time the whole village listened in wonder, sitting by a small fire on an island all but forgotten, where the most unspeakable things happened without once raising the ire of the outside world" (166). She struggles to find her own significance and even loses a desire to live. However, the novel strongly connects with literature lovers when Matilda realizes that works are written because of the human experience. It is here where the slow beginning and unclear themes are redeemed. The reader is reminded of the time where they, too, realized that literature reflects the stories of our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read that doesn't quite get where it's going, February 26, 2008
By 
Gordon Eldridge (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting book indeed. The central character is a young girl caught up in civil unrest on an island in New Guinea. When all those who are able to flee the island do so, the only remaining white man, a somewhat eccentric New Zealander, begins teaching the island's children. He is not a teacher by trade and the only text he has at his disposal is a well-worn copy of Great Expectations. The scene is set for the author to explore some very interesting themes - the clash of Western and tribal cultures, the role stories play in our lives (both our own and those from literature), the way grasping an opportunity can change our lives forever, the horrors of civil unrest.....Along the way we are treated to some truly insightful moments and some intriguing plot twists. Then somewhere near the end things go wrong. None of the ideas that have been taken up are brought to a satisfactory conclusion and the plot just seems to fade away into oblivion. I would still recommend reading the book. It is conceptually interesting and ambitious, but somehow doesn't quite get where it wants to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story -- beautiful writing, October 7, 2007
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
Many have summarized the story which in itself is spellbinding; I knew nothing of the conditions of the Civil War in this part of the world and it was interesting to hear it told from "the ground up" -- from the eyes of a young woman living through it.

The writing in this book is just beautiful. It was one that when I finished the last page, I immediately went back to the first to begin again. The character of Matilda is one that I will long remember. The author has managed to tell a wonderful story in such a readable and memorable manner. The language is beautiful but not overdone; the sentences are short and filled with impact. I don't think there is a spare word in the entire book. There is unspeakable violence in the book, but it is never overdone, and the affect of the violence on the individuals of the island helps explain that seemingly blank look we see too often on TV news clips of violence in third world countries.

Although I was familiar with Great Expectations, I don't believe one would have to be because this is a story about a story and its impact on a young girl. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants a truly thought provoking yet readable and loving book (there is a lot of love in this book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mister Pip, August 24, 2007
This review is from: Mister Pip (Hardcover)
I have been reading avidly for over 40 years and this is the first book I have ever finished and turned immediately back to the beginning to start again. The other reviewers have covered plot and content - all of which are excellent, my enthusiasm is with the writing - if writing can be called 'gorgeous' this is. I want to eat this book. Thank you so much Mr Jones. A fantastic, intelligent, thought provoking, funny, treatise of our complicated humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond My Expectations, September 7, 2009
By 
Carol A. Sym (Maspeth, New york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mister Pip (Paperback)
Mr Pip ,by LLoyd Jones, is an onion of a novel. By that I mean it is layered in an intricately woven manner to encompass a myriad of themes. At first it is a deceptively simple tale set on the lush tropical island of Bouganville where the native population,isolated and blockaded, are facing a civil war of deprivation and horror.Into the mix comes the only white inhabitant who remained after others fled,Mr Watts. He steps up to take over the abandoned schoolhouse and thus becomes the Pied Piper of Bouganville. Through his storytelling of Dicken's Great Expectations he provides a safe haven for the war stricken children . They immediately succomb to the power of the written word and are transported to Victorian England where they meet Pip who in some ways is like each one of them. Imagination takes them away from the immediate horror of civil war. Mr Pip becomes a savior of sorts especially to Matilda, the young Narrator. But Mr Watt's hold on the children causes issues with the parents who see his approach as a threat to religious beliefs and cultural allegiance. These differences of culture and dogmatic approach lead to a stand off between Mr Watts and Dolores, Matilda's mother. This clash will create unlikely heroes as the war encroaches and moral decisions must be made. There is great symbolism here for a world where races and cultures face major changes in an ever more global world. When the only copy of Great Expectations disappears and the soldiers demand to see a fictional Mr Pip,(who they believe to be a real spy) there are terrible reprecussions. Storytelling becomes the weapon of choice at first, as it soothes the savage rambos who are really just misguided school children at heart.The seven nights of Mr Watts' storytelling are a heroic vehicle to stall until an escape plan is put into effect. But storytelling has created a great dilemma too, as there is no real Mr. Pip to offer up to the demanding redskins who appear savagely and without warning. I will not divulge any more of the plot but suffice it to say that Great Expectations causes major life changing effects as Matilda moves into a future off the island. The novel is a homage to literature, to teachers who change destinies, to clashes of cultures and racial divides, to the horrors of war ,to the power of the written word , to the empowering value of imagination and to the religious and moral values that sometimes must collide and clash before there can be compromises. This small novel offers huge issues to ponder . Mr Jones has exceeded many expectations with this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mister Pip
Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones (Hardcover - July 31, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.