Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and placed in good context
Ron Scott has finished a 20 year project to report on the real MItt Romney. This comes at a perfect time. Millions of voters will be eager to know the would-be president of the U.S. and this insider's view has the indisputable validity the public deserves in a biography. While not written for political persuasion, the book outlines Romney's positions on the dominant...
Published on December 8, 2011 by J Zollinger

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book
Service in shipping was fine. I was very disappointed with the content of the book. I found it to be plain vanilla. It skipped many controversial subjects and added little to my understanding of Romney. Perhaps I know too much about the subject and find him personally very disappointing.
Published on October 16, 2012 by FranklinW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and placed in good context, December 8, 2011
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
Ron Scott has finished a 20 year project to report on the real MItt Romney. This comes at a perfect time. Millions of voters will be eager to know the would-be president of the U.S. and this insider's view has the indisputable validity the public deserves in a biography. While not written for political persuasion, the book outlines Romney's positions on the dominant issues facing american society and this in a time progression from 1993 ot the present. the flip flopper accusations are thus better understandable when firmly placed in context.

Not often do biographies furnish such complete information on the lives of the subjects close family members. This one does, probably to underscore the well known family solidarity and religious grounding of Romney and his LDS faith. Fortunately, this works since, to a person, no crazy ants emerge. The powerful influence of Mitt's father George, himself a past presidential aspirant, is apparent by tracing the father's values and basic political philosophy through the years of his son's youth and early manhood.

As I read a preliminary manuscript, my mind was primed to sort out any mormon historical inaccuracies and my affect alert to any strong biases the author may harbor due to a personal relationship with Romney. I was delighted to find the book well balanced and without any obvious slant in any respect. The quotations from a large swath of co-workers, clients, church members and family were representative of the true gamut of Romney's associations. I especially enjoyed the insight into Massachusetts Mormon social dynamics. That an "Organization of Mormons against Mitt" could exist ought to help blunt the stereotype of LDS monolithic political life. The cross-section of member's experience with Mitt as stake president reveals the man as flawed in the ordinary sense of humanity, but on balance finds him acceptable as a fair and sincere leader. Also of interest is the repeated description of this politician as a listener -then decisive in action as a listener first. This feature of a leader is difficult to discern given the format of debates, commercials, and the negative campaigning that experts say win elections.

RB Scott writes in a well paced, lucid manner, expected of a professional journalist. Sentence formation is varied and vocabulary is crisp and only occasionally requires a dictionary. There is plenty here for the scholar, the voter and the politically motivated to find satisfying. Knowing Mormon history as an avocation, I see no room for fault in this respect. Overall, Mitt Romney comes out fit for the office he seeks. That a few embarrassing real-life scenes are found in these 297 pages only attests to the fairness and value of this excellent, timely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORMONS UNITED? MAYBE NOT. A DETAILED PICTURE OF MITT ROMNEY AND THE MORMON FAITH, June 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
As an independent voter and a senior citizen, I knew it was time for me to read some "Romney" books now that he is the Republican presidential candidate and November is not far off. I chose this book to read on my Kindle Fire because it was so reasonable in price.

The author writes in great detail about the Mormon faith, the Romney ancestors and their Mormon influences, Mitt Romney's parents, his wife and children, and everything you could possibly want to know about him to date from the viewpoint of the author who is a distant cousin and obviously not part of the presidential campaign, in my opinion. Read the book and see what you think.

I recommend the book because it is so interesting learning about the Mormon faith, and how deeply involved Mitt Romney is within that church. The author seeks to portray all of Mitt Romney's virtues and faults so there will be no "surprises" between now and election day; so be prepared for surprises by reading this book first. The author really does give the reader an "inside" look based upon "Romney watching" for a couple of decades, interviews, and political research and his personal opinions fluctuate thruout the book between positive and negative.

This must be an unauthorized biography so I'll check out something written by Mitt Romney himself before November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitt Romney, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney (Kindle Edition)
I voted for Mitt and I thought he would make a great president. I loved the book. He is definitely a first class American and an overall good guy. The book was well written and the content was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Overview of Mitt Romney and His Life, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney (Kindle Edition)
Ron Scott gives a brief, non-partisan overview of Mitt Romney's personal and professional life. His purpose is to figure out a man that can initially give off wrong impressions. Thus, Scott provides background on the Romney family going back several generations, the Mormon faith, and Romney's personal and professional work leading up to the beginning of the U.S. presidential primary season in mid-2011. We get to see glimpses of Romney, both good and bad: his rallying of fellow missionaries in France after a terrible tragedy; his seeming callousness in urging a hospitalized churchwoman to abstain from an abortion. We are also shown Romney's triumphs and failures: his rescue of the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City; his defeat by Senator Ted Kennedy in 1994.

The book ends with a fast-paced recounting of Mitt Romney's 2007-2008 Presidential run and then the lead-up to 2012. Scott summarizes Romney's political positions and then gives his analysis on their sincerity and what he thinks Romney will actually do when in office. Scott does not shy away from revealing Romney's "flip-flops", but he sees it as a necessary evil in order to win an election before governing with competence and moderation. Scott makes a connection to Romney's father, former Governor George Romney of Michigan, who lost the 1968 Republican Presidential nomination due to his propensity to speak frankly.

Ron Scott admires Mitt Romney, but he does so with a clear view of the candidate's flaws and in spite of them. The book is neither an authoritative nor exhaustive biography. The reader should not expect to learn about Romney's childhood hobbies or what he was doing the day his firstborn came into this world. I personally would have liked to have learned more about his autodidact father and ambitious mother, and how they shaped and helped Romney through the years. Regardless, Scott's book seems to be the best available book on Mitt Romney's life at this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitt Romney by Ronald B Scott, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney (Kindle Edition)
I found this a most informative book about the thinking and community ethos of the Mormons and their commitment to putting back into the community. As a result of this book I believe the Romney would make a good President.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting biography, October 30, 2012
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
Scott's book places the life of Mitt Romney in context, how is Mormon upbringing has shaped his life and provided him with the drive to be successful and the determination to make a difference. This bio does not portray Romney as a saint, but neither does it make him out to be a religious fanatic or out-of-touch millionaire. It looks at him as a human being, a man who has a sense of humor and who has a way of getting things done. It includes interviews with those who intend to vote for Romney as well as those who dislike him personally or have other beliefs (interestingly, in a couple of cases they are one and the same person). It takes a critical look at the campaigns that he has run, the business dealings that he has had and his role in the Salt Lake City Winter Olympics. Whether you are a Republican or a Democrat you can enjoy this book (unless you're a fanatic, in which case there are left- and right-wing conspiracy books available on Amazon) because it tries to be objective, something that is so rare anymore.

As an aside, this book makes me interested in more works by Ronald Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, October 16, 2012
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
Service in shipping was fine. I was very disappointed with the content of the book. I found it to be plain vanilla. It skipped many controversial subjects and added little to my understanding of Romney. Perhaps I know too much about the subject and find him personally very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Analyzing Mitt, November 19, 2012
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
After reading this novel I can summarize to you simply what the author is aiming for. Ron Scott gives a brief, very objective overview of Mitt Romney's personal and professional life. I really appreciated how the author made Romney appear very down to earth and did not capitalize on the fact that he is a Mormon or that he was deemed as an "out of touch millionaire". Yet though, none of those things are present in the book, Scott maintains a very non-partisan view and is not swayed by either side. Providing objective statements throughout a whole political book is a very hard and rare thing to accomplish. I am amazed that Ron Scott also wrote this book for the true Mitt Romney and did not attempt to put any types of political persuasion. This book was very on key and brief enough to seem like it was a short read, yet, got a substantial amount of information about Mitt Romney. The three things that stood out the most to me were Romney's political stances and how Ron Scott provided analytical information about campaigns and how Romney ran them, the fact that it is indeed written by a non-partisan author with an objective view, and the time taken to assure the reader that information is not biased and factually correct. This book was written over the course of 20 years and it is very accurate. Throughout the book Scott also takes critical looks campaigns Romney has been running since the early 1990s.
I was very interested by Romney's goals and aspirations. All he is really trying to accomplish in life is fulfilling his religious duties keep a good relationship with his family, and help maintain his country. Ron Scott tells you campaigns he ran and how he ran them. It is very apparent to me too, that no human is perfect. I admit that after the reading that Mitt Romney has made mistakes as governor of Massachusetts in my opinion. Huge accomplishments talked about this book for Mitt have also been very substantial. The most popular ones I read about were how he started and maintains the role of CEO of Bain Capital, and how he saved the Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City, Utah. Throughout the book Mitt is portrayed as a very intellectual man; not only with intellect, but as a man of integrity and discernment.
This book was very enjoyable to read for me because of two reasons. I am a diehard republican fan who believes in the values that Mitt Romney wants to instill into our government, and because this book was written by a non-partisan man named Ron Scott who provided me with this objective documentation. I really dislike when people, especially authors and news reporters who bash other people and ostracize them for their beliefs and mistakes. So this was a very refreshing thing to notice throughout the whole book. I am drawn towards solely accurate information so that I am not swayed one way or the other by opinions. I like establishing what I believe and educate myself of specific reasons for why I believe what I do.
I am also appalled at the time taken to write this book on Romney. This book that I just read with 224 pages took 20 years for Ron Scott to write and acquire all the knowledge put into this book. I truly believe that the author wanted to state facts and facts only and I, being a very literal person, appreciate accuracy and brevity.
Overall I agree with all of the statements at hand entirely because it was written with no political persuasion or party affiliation. I appreciate and trust that this precise information on Mitt will always be held as a loving man of integrity and his future campaigns and goals will reflect that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a great read, October 25, 2012
By 
Justin Wright (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
I loved reading this book. It gives so many good details regarding the person that Mitt Romney is. It tells how what he has done in his life has shaped who he has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics (Paperback)
Intersting, but felt the author was a bit biased against him. It is worth the read and I do not regret buying it, Just wanted a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics
Mitt Romney: An Inside Look At The Man And His Politics by Ronald B. Scott (Paperback - November 22, 2011)
$16.95 $13.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.