Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mix-up in miniature
Margaret Grace has done it again, another great who done it. Being a miniaturist myself , I love every part of her books. Most of us miniaturists lead very uncomplicated lives . So it is great to lose yourself in her books.
Published on June 12, 2012 by Ilona Manion

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled Grand daughter
This would be a much better series if the grand daughter weren't so spoiled. Grandma lets her get away with anything she wants, and she knows how to get around the rules. It is such a big part of each book that it ruins my appreciation of the book. Please make her a more acceptable kid or else make her less of a main character. She is so intelligent that a more...
Published on July 30, 2012 by kmcg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled Grand daughter, July 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mix-up in Miniature: A Miniature Mystery (Miniature Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
This would be a much better series if the grand daughter weren't so spoiled. Grandma lets her get away with anything she wants, and she knows how to get around the rules. It is such a big part of each book that it ruins my appreciation of the book. Please make her a more acceptable kid or else make her less of a main character. She is so intelligent that a more reasonable kid would make more sense than eliminating her. A friend who also reads this series calls it "The Totally Spoiled Kid" series, so I'm not the only one who feels this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mix-up in miniature, June 12, 2012
By 
Ilona Manion (LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mix-up in Miniature: A Miniature Mystery (Miniature Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Margaret Grace has done it again, another great who done it. Being a miniaturist myself , I love every part of her books. Most of us miniaturists lead very uncomplicated lives . So it is great to lose yourself in her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie, Beware, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With a Lincolneseque plot setting of Robert Todd Heights (up-town of Lincoln Point) and a cast of characters including romance novelist Varena Young, personal asistant Laura Overbee, a butler, a maid and a mysterious brother named Caleb, Margaret Grace's retired schoolteacher Geraldine Porter marches solidly into comparisons with the English countryside and Miss Marple.

The latest entry in the author's "miniature" mystey series also moves from the realm of simple cozy into a real "who done-it." There are plenty of red herrings on this literary menu.

I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miniatures and Murder Mysteries, a brilliant combination!, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You must buy all 5 of the novels and read them in sequence! Even so, Mix~up in Miniature, and any of the Miniature series, stand up perfectly on its own! Because I've loved and built miniatures for decades, it's especially wonderful to me. I'm fascinated at how the author makes this tiny world understandable to anyone! And the murder is indeed a mystery until nearly the absolute end! Brilliant writing, graphic, emotional, funny, and extremely entertaining! I couldn't get ANY miniatures built myself while reading this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Mystery, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How can a Frank Lloyd Wright inspired dollhouse save an innocent person from murder one? Well, you will just have to buy a copy of this book and find out for yourselves.

Honestly, I was captured at once by the likability of the main character, and sleuth, Geraldine Porter who is a hobbyist in the delicate field of building/creating dollhouses or miniatures. Not only was I fond of 'Gerry', I was instantly fond of her boyfriend, Henry, and her granddaughter, Maddie. Ms. Grace makes the characters very real and people (excepting the naughtiest,)that I would love to count as friends.

Gerry contacts a wealthy Author, Varena Young about donating a miniature Tudor dollhouse for a charity fund drive. They instantly like each other, which makes for a terrible shock when Gerry learns of Varena's murder just minutes after she had left the mansion.

Asked by Varena's daughter, Alicia to help find the 'real' murderer, Gerry and her family/friends begin immediately to figure the mystery out.

Join, Gerry, Henry, Maddie, Skip and more as they grab a french pastry and go to work. You will feel satisfied with the conclusion. Then, you have to wait for the next book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Mystery, April 19, 2012
When Gerry visits famed miniaturist and novelist Varena Young, she delights in being offered one of her miniature homes for a library fundraiser, which is later marred when Varena is found dead. While suspicions falls to Verna's young protégé, Verna's daughter seeks Gerry help in solving this murder. This was a fun read that I could not put down. This well-crafted mystery boasts a lovable cast and great conversations in this tale of betrayal and secrets. The loving relationship between Maddie and her grandmother continues to delight me as they look for clues in this puzzling case. This was very enjoyable and I hope to see more of Gerry and Maddie in this wonderfully charming series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful cozy, March 27, 2012
In Lincoln Point, California, retired teacher Geraldine "Gerry" Porter and popular romance novelist Varena Young meet and become friends. Varena owns a large miniatures collection; so when the library hosts an auction to raise funds, she donates a valuable museum-quality Georgian mansion dollhouse.

Gerry is at Varena's mansion when she overhears her host argue with an unknown male. The maid tells Gerry that the man is her employer's brother. Not long afterward someone murders Varena. The police question Gerry, who tells them she overheard a fight between the victim and her sibling. However, the cops explain there is no brother. With her trusty eleven year old sidekick Maddie and her granddaughter accompanying her, Gerry investigates to prove her innocence starting with the clue in the secret room of an antique dollhouse.

The latest Miniature Mystery (see Mourning In Miniature and Monster In Miniature) is a wonderful cozy starring a dynamic amateur sleuth team trying to prove Gerry's innocence. The fast-paced storyline is lighthearted fun as the geriatric and the tweener escort readers on a room by room tour of dollhouses in their search for clues.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best thus far in a very strong cozy series, June 19, 2014
As the sixth book in this author's "miniature mysteries" series, this one in my opinion is the best thus far. They are all satisfying and have well-developed characters, but in this one, all the proportions seem to be just right. Geraldine ("Gerry") Porter, a retired English teacher and miniaturist, is an intelligent, witty, and empathetic protagonist. Her friend Henry and her grand-daughter Maddie are both significant people in her life, and the supportive relationship between them is one of several very positive features of this series. Gerry herself is the main draw though; she sees something positive in people she meets, although her asides also explore other scenarios for the murder too. For me, this aspect was one of the true pleasures of the book. Some of her thoughts are amusing, and the possibilities she describes may or may not always be immediately apparent to readers. I love that; if the protagonist is a step ahead of me as I'm reading, all the better. There are a few twists in the plot too, and the author avoids needless repetition from one character to the next.

I have read all of books in this series, as well as those in the two other series by this author: the periodic table mysteries (under her own name, Camille Minichino) and the mathematical mysteries (as Ada Madison). The latter series is still going, and it is probably my favorite of the three, but all of her books are outstanding, in my opinion. They are among the best of the cozy genre today. I don't agree with the criticism that Maddie is treated too permissively. Even if some readers feel that way, it doesn't affect the strength and interest of the plot, and I also don't feel that we as readers need to agree with every decision that is made in a piece of fiction. It's not really necessary to read the series in order (although every book is worth reading); Ms. Grace is able to portray each character within the first few pages. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mix-up in Miniature book, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is one of my favorites! I hope to be able to read all of them. The book that I bought was in good shape and I thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only if you have read prior books, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mix-up in Miniature: A Miniature Mystery (Miniature Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I think if you know the characters and want to know their story then you would follow this series.the mystery of the murder is secondary to the relationship between the characters.Maddie's secret is more important than who killed Varna and just as obvious .if you want to follow the cast of characters then this book fits in with the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.