Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lays bare the ugly side of Mob life
This book shows the reader a complex mind at work. Charlie carneglia certainly wasn't a showman. He didn't seek a reputation because he wanted notorioety. That accolade was thrust upon him simply because he was too dangerous, an out of control Mob guy who was permanetly primed to explode. That gave him importance in the Gambino Family which in turn kept him alive. Anthony...
Published on July 13, 2011 by Ss

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Author Loses Focus
This book fails to truly focus on Charles Carneglia, but more so on everyone else even remotely associated with him.
The author, Anthony DeStefano, stumbles and bumbles through the whole book vainly attempting to tie numerous assorted characters together in an effort to make a story out of some relatively unknown mafia killer.
He waxes and wanes from one...
Published on July 13, 2011 by Villhelm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Author Loses Focus, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
This book fails to truly focus on Charles Carneglia, but more so on everyone else even remotely associated with him.
The author, Anthony DeStefano, stumbles and bumbles through the whole book vainly attempting to tie numerous assorted characters together in an effort to make a story out of some relatively unknown mafia killer.
He waxes and wanes from one incident to another trying to bring Carneglia out of obscurity and into the limelight to reveal to the reader what a bad guy he really was.
As DeStefano rambles through the book he trips over himself by repeating almost word for word, descriptions and tales of events, characters and boring court cases that he had already detailed in previous chapters.
I was expecting this book to be on the order of something like "The Iceman" (Richard Kuklinski), but it doesn't even come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unfocused dud that failed in execution..., September 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
Having previously read DeStefano's King of the Godfathers and thoroughly enjoyed it I couldn't wait for Mob Killer. After the first few intriguing pages Mob Killer quickly became a disjointed and loose history of the Gambino crime family instead of the "bloody rampage" of Carneglia.

The opening pages are promising. We see Carneglia being brought in and snippets of his past are being mentioned and alluded to, something you know you will get to read later on the book. Instead just as you are starting to learn about Carneglia the author switches chapters and starts writing about an associate or soldier that Carneglia interacted with, invariably one of the witnesses that testified against him. With each of these chapters their crimes were outlined in detail, briefly mentioning the connection to Carneglia, and then the chapter ends. You think the next chapter will continue the "bloody rampage" but instead it picks up with another low level associate. And on and on until you get to the trial.

Here is where it went from okay to worse, something I no longer enjoyed reading. The trial is narrated in such a choppy way that every other sentence is broken up with he said, Alite remembered, he recalled, according to so and so. The author's narrative completely disappeared and became one big choppy mess. On top of that the last hundred pages that covered the trial was virtually a word for word recital of what DeStefano had already wrote about in the previous 200 pages, leaving you with absolutely nothing new to learn, nothing to spark your interest.

There is no doubt that Carneglia is a vicious hit man and mafia soldier. There is no doubt that his friends and associates are all bad people. DeStefano certainly did not do a good job portraying this, instead leaving the reader wondering why the narrative was so disjointed in the beginning and extremely repetitive in the end (not to mention choppy from all the he said she said). I picked up Mob Killer thinking I was going to get another King of the Godfathers. Instead I got an unfocused dud that had some interesting points but failed in execution.

2.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lays bare the ugly side of Mob life, July 13, 2011
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
This book shows the reader a complex mind at work. Charlie carneglia certainly wasn't a showman. He didn't seek a reputation because he wanted notorioety. That accolade was thrust upon him simply because he was too dangerous, an out of control Mob guy who was permanetly primed to explode. That gave him importance in the Gambino Family which in turn kept him alive. Anthony Destefano does a great job of showing the reader a loyal gambino soldier full of contradictions. A man who had no real allegience to anybody, was devoted to his mother yet was totally loyal to boss john gotti. This book offers an insight to a dark complex mind, together with other mob characters that offer a complete picture of major mob events that have passed into mob folklore over the past 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychotic Killer Joins Forces With Organized Crime Family, September 27, 2011
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
When looking for the poster boy of deranged killers, look no farther than the gray-haired Charles Manson look alike of Charles Carneglia; a longtime misfit who finally found a fit with the Gambino crime family.

And what better place for a psycho than in the underworld of drugs, sex, and greed where Godfathers play judge, jury, and executioner of those run afoul of the family. It was the perfect place for Carneglia.

Carneglia cleared the way for the Gambino's family rise to power with extremely vicious murders and the inhumane methods of disposing of the victims; not to mention the souvenirs on display in his junkyard.

I thought I'd read it all and seen just about everything one person could do to another but then I read Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man by Anthony M. DeStafano.

It has been a while since I delved into any hardcore mafia reading, and now I remember why. Cold, brutal, and without remorse for no reason other than money and power; at least you have passion (even if it is driven by mental disease) with other homicides. No way, uh huh, not with the Mafia.

And let me tell ya, Carneglia and the John Gotti crew made the Sapranos look like a Midwestern trailer park brawl.

Yet for some reason, I just couldn't stop reading. DeStafano creates a gripping story about crazy Carneglia. I didn't want to put it down but I breathed a sigh of relief when it was over. It's stomach-turning yet intriguing, detailed and educating.

My one complaint however has to be that I felt DeStefano had sympathy for Carneglia and the hard life that obviously led to who he became. Hopefully I'm wrong because sorry, I'm just not feeling any sympathy nor empathy for the man. (Of course, to be perfectly honest, it was hard to conjure up any for some of his victims either considering their choice of lifestyle.)

DeStefano's Pulitzer prize winning style shines through in Mob Killer and if you're a Sopranos fan, mob groupie, or have even a remote interest in Mafia crimes, then I'm definitely going to recommend it. You definitely won't forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mob Killer, June 24, 2013
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was very slow. It implied more information than it actually gave you. It wasn't at all the story of how, what or why he did what he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day meets the Mob, April 4, 2012
By 
Heikki Hietala (Klaukkala, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: (Kindle Edition)
This is an odd book.

It is in principle telling the story of a cold-blooded Mafia killer, Charles Carneglia, and his exploits in the service of the Gotti empire. So far so good. It tracks his boyhood years, and his entrance into the service of the Gottis, and the gruesome murders and body disposals he performed. When I bought this book by the blurb, I thought this would be just as chilling a reading experience as the Iceman (Richard Kuklinski) was. That one really sent shivers down the spine, on every page, and delivered a well-rounded picture of a life gone wrong.

But this one - all the actual content of the book is given in the first 20% of the book. Then it starts to reiterate itself: the story of Kevin McMahon being adopted into the Carneglia family comes out four times; Charles's killing (for which he wasn't convicted) of a security officer comes out five times. What? The author merely saunters back and says, "As you may not remember, I told you this..." and then he says it all again. There simply isn't enough material on Charles Carneglia to write a book this long.

And the biggest problem of all: Charles Carneglia wasn't a major player. He wasn't even a minor killer. He was merely a hired gun who managed to make himself useful for the Mob but still had to eke out a living selling scrap metal while tending to his aging mother. The author goes on and on and on again of things we know - and indeed, you just start expecting Bill Murray to pop up.

All in all, if you want a good book on a Mafia hitman's life, it's not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mob Killer, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
I felt that this book was well written and very interesting. Would recomend this book to everyone that is interested in reading about the the mob. Anthony DeStefano shows that he has done a lot of research on this subject. Would definately keep anyones interst that likes to read about the mob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, July 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
You can't understand the mafia unless you know the players and what makes them tick. Anthony DeStefano makes a great contribution with his examination of violent Gambino Family hitman Charles Carneglia in his newest book, "Mob Killer". DeStefano's excellent writing brings us inside the head of Carneglia and we discover his over powering desire to be one of the "chosen few" by following whatever order came down the pipe from his mob bosses. In addition, DeStefano reveals that Carneglia was often barely under control and at least three men died after having the misfortune of getting on the wrong side of this human wrecking machine. Surprisingly we also learn of a "soft side" of the mob killer. In the end the reader and Carneglia learn that finally becoming a "made man" is often a hollow victory. Carneglia, and many others, are now wasting away in prison after learning this lesson far too late. DeStefano knows his subject and mob followers are lucky that he is willing to take the time to research and write about this lesser known mob figure. By doing so he has improved our comprhension of this once most powerful organized crime milieu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars font too small, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man (Mass Market Paperback)
pages are so thin that print from opposing page makes a "ghosting", font too small to comfortable read so I haven't read this book yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mob Killer: (Kindle Edition)
Well I've read a few books and I found out a lot more info than I had previously read..not a bad very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man
Mob Killer: The Bloody Rampage of Charles Carneglia, Mafia Hit Man by Anthony M. DeStefano (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 2011)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.