Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastice Video Series
For Those who didn't purchase the Gundam 0083 DVD's when they were originally released now is the time with this complete boxed set.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory originally released in Japan from 1991-1992 fills in all the back story information on which lead to the formation of the TITANS that were originally commisioned to put down any rebellions...
Published on June 20, 2005 by Nyan Cat "J"

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Action-packed side of Gundam
Although it takes place between the stories of the original 1979 Mobile Suit Gundam TV series and the first sequel, 1985's Zeta Gundam TV series, Gundam 0083 was created in the early '90s, which complicates story matters somewhat, particularly for the hard core Gundam fan who works hard to rationalize the minutae of this fictional universe.

But for everyone...
Published on April 11, 2006 by Daniel Cowden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastice Video Series, June 20, 2005
By 
Nyan Cat "J" (Santa Rosa, CA USA) - See all my reviews
For Those who didn't purchase the Gundam 0083 DVD's when they were originally released now is the time with this complete boxed set.

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory originally released in Japan from 1991-1992 fills in all the back story information on which lead to the formation of the TITANS that were originally commisioned to put down any rebellions in the space colonies.

This story features characters who were not in any of the original T.V. series. The Story: Zeon renegades of the Delaz fleet have stolen a prototype Gundam armed with a Nuclear Warhead, and it is up to Rookie Federation Mobile Suit Pilot Kou Uraki and the crew of the Federation ship Albion to pursue the Delaz fleet and recover the stolen Gundam. A fantastice series Gundam 0083 features top quality animation with a terrific story which bridges the gap between U.C. 0079(original Gundam) and U.C. 0087(Zeta Gundam) a must have for Gundam fans and mecha fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It fills a void between two previous series., August 2, 2006
The gap between Mobile Suit Gundam and Zeta Gundam was filled with the exciting release of Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory. In Japan it was very popular upon it's airing, when it came to America via Cartoon Network's Toonami: Midnight Run programming in 2002 it was met with quite a bit of fanfare as well. When I first watched it one night I thought it was amazing compared to the other series that I had already seen, mostly because I had only just seen Mobile Suit Gundam and Gundam Wing at that point.

Now, 4 years later, I can truly appreciate it more. I've seen all of Zeta Gundam, Char's Counterattack, 08th MS Team, Gundam F91, and some other Gundam series from different universes since then. When I bought this boxed set a few months back I then watched it with better knowledge. It gets very interesting in the final episodes because you can see how it's transitioning into Zeta Gundam. The plot twist at the end is an eye opener as well.

Kou Udaki and Anavel Gato are better protagonists than the newtypes in other series because they have the weaknesses that the newtypes don't; they have to make up for it with true grit.

I find Gato to be a very likeable character even though he fights for Zeon, he is honorable and isn't dirty in the way he does things unlike some other Zeon thugs. As for Kou, he's a pushover in the beginning of the series. However, he becomes quite impressive (and possibly comparable to a newtype) in skill as the series approaches its finale. That's why I like Kou and Gato so much more than Amuro and the various other newtypes, it's not a battle of who has the better psychic powers of perception. These guys have to rely on instincts and guts.

I think the viewer connects to them more because of that.

A great Gundam series and a great anime series as well, it speaks for the regular human pilots. Buy this; it's a worthy addition to any enthusiast's collection or even a casual anime fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS GUNDAM!, February 8, 2006
I first saw Gundam Wing aired on CN, and thought that it was the PREMIERE Gundam series... I also thought it was the only Gundam series. Then, I saw Tomino's original Gundam. There are no words capable of expressing his ability as a writer/ director. Since then I have followed all the U.C. Gundam series, with that only in mind. I have yet to see all of Zeta Gundam, or any of Formula 91, but I have seen all, and of recent, own all the short OVA series. Stardust Memory is what I would call the rise to greatness. Even though it was created after Zeta, it builds the story well enough to let the newbie, get entangled into the complex story known as Gundam. Now if only Bandai would get into gear and release the complete U.C Story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Action-packed side of Gundam, April 11, 2006
Although it takes place between the stories of the original 1979 Mobile Suit Gundam TV series and the first sequel, 1985's Zeta Gundam TV series, Gundam 0083 was created in the early '90s, which complicates story matters somewhat, particularly for the hard core Gundam fan who works hard to rationalize the minutae of this fictional universe.

But for everyone else, this is a great action show, most episodes having at least one decent-length combat sequence, and some having multiple. The action is top-notch; not quite as flashy as can be found now, fifteen years after it Gundam 0083 began, but even so there is enough highly-detailed action to please nearly anyone.

The rest of the story, however, is more than a little cliche, even for anime. The protagonist, Kou Uraki, is only marginally better at combat than he is at dealing with women, so it may seem odd that he is assigned the prototype Gundam GP-01 mobile suit rather than one of the more experienced pilots who enters the scene after the nuclear-armed Gundam GP-02A is stolen by hard-core Zeon holdouts who refuse to admit that Zeon lost the war depicted in the original Mobile Suit Gundam TV series.

The Earth Federation, meanwhile, is consistantly portrayed as small-minded, weak, and corrupt; so much so that the characters themselves wonder how the Federation managed to win the previous war. On the flip side, only the clean part of Zeon is represented in this show, despite the fact that the backstory of one of the characters presents her as a participant in Zeon's ethnic cleansing program which wiped out approximately half of the human race. But, as I said, none of this is presented in the show, so don't worry too much about it.

Action is the centerpeice of this story, and all other considerations tend to be sacrificed in order to arrange combat between the major characters. The action is good; the mechanical designs by industry giants Shoji Kawamori and Hajime Katoki are constantly in the spotlight, and the majority of the action scenes were lovingly detailed by the animation staff. So, if you prefer a fast pace, lots of action, and a minimum of exposition, this is definitely a show you should consider. If you prefer deep characters, a strong storyline, and well-considered plots, you'll probably want to look at the other Gundam OAVs, like Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket or Gundam: The 08th MS Team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MSG 0083: Stardust Memory, April 5, 2008
This may be a side story but is a darn good one. None of the main characters are psychic but it doesn't affect the story. This is many of my freinds' favorite gundam series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own for any Gundam fan., January 26, 2008
This series fills the gap between the original Mobile Suit Gundam and its sequal Zeta Gundam. The animation is very high quality, with awesome mechanical designs. The actions great with large mobile suit battles and Gundam Vs. Gundam action. The stories pretty good with one or two cool twists,it has a little bit of romance a lot of action, and it foreshadows some of the events of Zeta Gundam.

Ive seen Mobile Suit Gundam, 0080, 0083, Zeta gundam, Chars Counter Attack, Victory Gundam, Gundam F91, Gundam X, Gundam wing, Endless Waltz, Turn A Gundam, Gundam Seed, eed Destiny, 08 MS Team, but this Gundam Series is Definitely in my top 3

The set its self includes all thirteen episodes on 4 discs, with mobile suit galleries, cool trailer, and a gundam short. Its a really good buy considering your saving abut 30 to 40 dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality anime OVA... affordable too!, October 3, 2005
0083 is a must-have for Gundam fans, especially UC timeline fans. Not only 0083 features some of the best Gundam mecha designs and top notch animations by Shoji Kawamori, it is also the most epic of all the UC OVA's.

0083 is basically a story about 3 years after the One Year War when the Delaz Fleet emerges from hiding and gathers its strength and plans to steal a Gundam prototype that is armed with a nuclear warhead, the GP02A Physalis (this is one mean Gundam, see for yourself). Lt. Cdr. Anavel Gato, "Nightmare of Solomon", is the Zeon ace pilot in charge of the stealing mission. And the only thing that stands between the nuke-armed Gato and Earth is the Federation rookie pilot Ensign Kou Uraki.

While Kou Uraki is a test pilot with big potentials, Gato scoffs at Uraki's efforts to undermine the plans of the Delaz Fleet. Moreover, as Kou's obsession to get GP02A back grows, the rivalry between Uraki and Gato is obviously one-sided. Gato, and his veteran spacenoid pride, will never allow a rookie earthnoid spoil his path to glory.

Brace yourselves for a high-quality epic space mecha warfare! Brace yourselves for Operation Stardust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfying OVA Series, June 3, 2011
By 
ONENEO (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory (Anime Legends Collection) (DVD)
No sense beating around the proverbial bush on this one: I adore the Gundam franchise. I liked it immediately and made my way through 0079, Zeta, Wing, Seed and even the G-Gundams before venturing off into some of the smaller series. Naturally I did them all out of order, but no matter, their charm endured. I was enamored with 1989's Gundam 0080 War in the Pocket and eagerly awaited Bandai's decision to release 1990's 0083 Stardust Memory in a full "Anime Legends" collection here in the States.

On April 21, 2009, they did just that and I had it ordered immediately. Yes I realize I'm a couple years late with the review but that has more to do with lack of time for getting into some rich anime than it does for lack of wanting.

Set in the year Universal Century 0083, Stardust Memory tells of what happens when Zeon Intelligence identifies a prototype Gundam designed for nuclear attack under development by Anaheim Electronics.

A former Zeon ace and a small band of Principality soldiers are dispatched to Earth to capture the Gundam as part of Operation Stardust. When the Zeon successfully make off with the prototype the Earth Federation assigns the mobile suit carrier Albion to locate and recover the missing nuclear unit.

We follow the exploits of the Albion's young crew including lead character, 19-year-old pilot Kou Uraki amd his love interest Nina Purpleton of Anaheim Electronics, as they track down the Zeons responsible for the theft.

A surprisingly great deal of character growth takes place among the span of only 13 (half-hour) episodes. Much of this can be credited to absolutely flawless pacing despite the fact that the series is split between two different directors; Mitsuko Kase (Episodes 1-7) and Takashi Imanishi (8-13).

Using the remastered audio tracks that were created quite a few years ago both language presentations are very well done and we're given a full 5.1 mix of the Japanese track as well as a remix of the surprisingly moving English 5.1 track.

Produced back in 1990, Stardust Memory does things the old fashioned way with hand drawn/ shaded cells and it is absolutely amazing how well they hold up even today. The modern generation used to computer generated texturing in shows like Seed/ Seed Destiny and Unicorn may be a bit disappointed by the slightly less color-popping pallet but making the transition is quite effortless and certainly worth the effort.

The attention to detail throughout is remarkable and the characters only add to the enjoyment of the tale rather than detract from it, as is so often the case with broody/ dark, overly moody personas of contemporary anime efforts.

The material is of course mecha-based but only in the absolute best sense of the term. The character interaction, humor and rhythm are very reminiscent of Top Gun. The robots themselves are absolutely practical; serving almost as what we would now consider fighter-jets but with the convenience of functioning appendages and interstellar flight capabilities.

Like with all Gundam entries, there is great attempted realism in the robotic design and weaponry; pilots can and do run out of fuel and ammunition and breakdowns requiring repair or reconstruction are common. The technology is practical and is either derived from true science or at the very least well-explained, feasible technology not unlike that which fans expect of Star Trek.

Of course what makes it all most interesting is that the realistic science/ physics, character development and love interests are all transpiring against the backdrop of a very realistic and feasible war setting. There aren't good guys and bad guys here so much as there are two points of view, each valid from its own perspective. As such characters you come to grow attached to don't always end up making it to the end and the side you can most easily relate with doesn't always come out on top.

In all, coming back to Gundam after a few years' hiatus was like coming home to a good friend. There have been franchises that do things bigger, brighter, longer and with more hype but it is the perfect melding of character drama with realistic robots and sweeping political prose that keeps Gundam so popular even still in its third decade of existence. Like me, you may wander on occasion but a few moments back in the Gundam universe and you'll simply be quite unable to remember why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Gundam mini-series, October 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory (Anime Legends Collection) (DVD)
I like Stardust Memory slightly better than the very excellent Mobile Suit Gundam 08th Team because of 0083's characters, mobile suits and the story that bridges the gap between the original Mobile Suit Gundam and its sequel, Zeta Gundam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Gundam series., October 22, 2012
By 
KevinB "The Honey Badger" (High Point, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory (Anime Legends Collection) (DVD)
UC 0083 the Earth Federation has grown complacent after their victory over Zeon. The remnants of the Zeon forces plan to steal a new Federation Gundam armed with a nuclear warhead. The rookie pilot Kou Uraki and the battleship Albion are ordered to recover it before the Zeon can use the nuke.

This is one of my favorite Gundam series. What makes this series great is the character development. There are lots of cool characters and plenty of action. There is also a pretty interesting love triangle going on during all the action too. There's a lot to love about this series. It's definitely one of the more satisfying Gundams. It think you should check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory (Anime Legends Collection)
$229.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.