Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Gundam Battle Ever Seen
Where would anime be nowadays without series like "Mobile Suit Gundam?" I shudder to think. Very few anime have had the impact that "Gundam" has had since it first premiered in 1979. No one foresaw what was to become of the series. In 1988 this is the ultimate result; the greatest battle in anime history.
"Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack" was made to...
Published on November 30, 2002 by MaskedLibrarian

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, but still good
While a good movie, I think that CCA had a lot of potential but did not fully use it.
First off, I think that they should have released Zeta and ZZ before this movie, since I see a lot of reviews here complaining about things that have an explanation in Zeta or ZZ, such as why Hayato Kobayashi is not in this movie. I would highly recommend watching at least Zeta...
Published on December 30, 2003 by Katie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Gundam Battle Ever Seen, November 30, 2002
Where would anime be nowadays without series like "Mobile Suit Gundam?" I shudder to think. Very few anime have had the impact that "Gundam" has had since it first premiered in 1979. No one foresaw what was to become of the series. In 1988 this is the ultimate result; the greatest battle in anime history.
"Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack" was made to provide closure to a rivalry that had been going on for nearly ten years. The rivalry being between the two main characters of the original "Mobile Suit Gundam," the first Gundam pilot, Amuro Ray, and the dreaded Zeon ace, Char Aznable. The story takes place in Universal Century 0093, about 14 years after the events in "Mobile Suit Gundam," and peace has been disrupted once again (how long does peace actually last in this universe?). The long-dormant Char Aznable has risen to take the reigns of leadership of the Neo-Zeon movement, and ultimately plans on destroying the Earth Federation. The Federation, in retaliation, send out their Lando Bell Force to stop Char. Among one of the top members of Lando Bell, is none other than Amuro Ray. The two men still sport grudges against one another even after fourteen years, and it all comes down to this moment. Who will survive?
Bandai took some great risks in bringing this title to the States. Considering that there is 3 series worht of backstory to this movie, an excess of 150 episodes. It is easy to see people who have not followed "Mobile Suit Gundam." Thankfully, Bandai has included a 12-page booklet with the DVD to tell exactly what happened that sparked up between Char and Amuro over these fourteen years. As well as terminology and who's who in this Gundam story. Even if you know all these things, the booklet is a great collector's item. Anyway, on to the big stuff.
The story is handsomely well-played out. Events move at such an erratic pace that one can't help but to let the film sweep them in. One minute, everything is calm and characters are learning, in the next minute, explosions everywhere and people are dead. This is by all means a war story that rivals even "Star Wars." When people die in "Gundam"...they die, no two ways about it. War is not galmorized in this series, war is a last resort for a race of creatures that deliberatly leads itself towards a last resort. And humanity? Well I heard Yoshiyuki Tomino speak on this matter, and since he is the "Father of Gundam" his words are better than mine; "No matter how destructive they can be, humanity is still beautiful." A theme that has been a staple of "Gundam" ever since.
Characters are well-portrayed in this movie, bringing forth an array of new blood as well as old faces. Char and Amuro have grown and matured over the course of time. Amuro has turned from the whiny kid who refused to pilot Gundam into a hardened battle veteran who realizes his duties and responsibilities. Char has turned from a bitter Zeon soldier into an idealistic leader who wants nothing more than the destruction of those who Considering that Tomino didn't have fifty episodes to tell a story like he always does (kidding), to analyze these characters and flesh them out in a span of 2 hours is quite a feat. Lives are changed through out this conflict, and it can be seen in the characters horrified expressions and anguished cries.
The animation is very well-done for it's time. This is definitely movie-quality animation. Especially during the climactic battle scenes. Very few anime have been able to conduct battle scenes this chaotic and destructive without losing something, this is one of the few. It's nice to see something that a nearly fifteen year-old movie can hold its own against "higher quality" stuff nowadays.
Speaking of animation, this movie features the best-looking mecha to date. The mecha in this film were designed by Yutaka Izubuchi, most famous for "Patlabor" and "Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket." It was also helped by, at the time, the young members of GAINAX, yup before they made "Furi Kuri," "Kare Kano," "Evangelion," "Gunbuster," or even "Wings of Honeiamise," they were doing little animation projects for Sunrise. If you don't believe me, check out the designs for Char's Sazabi and Amuro's Nu Gundam. The Gundam featured in this movie is probably the coolest Gundam featured in any medium that carries the name.
The music also goes very well with the movie. Music is actually fully-orchestrated and helps define the tremendous epic nature of this film. It is very difficult not to be moved by some of these tremendous pieces. Definitely, a big change of pace for those who are familiar with the techno-beat of "Gundam Wing" or the trendy pop of "Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory." This is "Bravehaert" meets "Star Wars," and if that isn't epic, I don't know what is.
Sound was used very well in the film. Bandai decided to compliment both Japanese and English tracks with both 2.0 and 5.1 Dolby Digital soundtracks. What does that mean? Well, just crank up the volume and listen to things go BOOM.
The only flaws I have seen in the movie would be the tremendous backstory that might alienate those who haven't seen "Gundam." That, and the ending is not feasible the first time one watches it. However, one of the key reasons to own this is so you can watch the anime again and realize what the ending means. And to those who have already seen the movie; yes the ending DOES make sense, the hint is actually in the film.
In the end, "Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack" is quite possibly the best "Gundam" title to date. Providing closure to the greatest anime rivalry of all time was no easy task. But Tomino was able to pull it off with grace. This is an epic by every means of the word. A sure sign that "Gundam" is synonomous with "eternal."
-RW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Mecha Movie of the 80's, September 18, 2002
By 
"madnessmark" (Maple Grove, MN) - See all my reviews
After the success of the Gundam movies, Yoshiyuki Tomino moved onto to two sequels series, Gundam Z and ZZ. Finally, after the all this time, Tomino decided it was time for Amuro and Char's last mission in a full-length Gundam movie. The fans went wild.
The story takes off in the year UC 0093. Without any explanation at this time, Char is now the leader of Neo Zeon and plans to send the Earth into a nuclear winter as well as defeat his long-time nemesis, Amuro. But with many old and new characters mixed up in this battle, it won't be pretty.
CHARACTERS
Amuro: Returning to the battlefield, now being a responsible adult.
Char: Conferming his hatred when on Earth, he is the new leader of Neo Zeon.
Bright Noa: The former captain of the White Base is still in action.
Mirai: The wife of Bright Noa now and mother of two children.
Hathaway: Bright's son who ventures out into space.
Quess: A cocky rich daughter who runs off with Neo Zeon.
Gyunei: Char's pupil with Newtype abilities.
Cameron: Mirai's ex-fiance who is now works for the economy.
Lalah Sune: Despite being dead, her ghost still haunts the dreams of Amuro and Char.
The animation for a 1980's film is top notch. The funnels moves about at an insane pace battling each other across the screen. Its a marvel to witness. What this film tried to do was cram as much content and action as it could into two hours and they did a great job at that. The original voice actors from the English version of the TV series make their debut once again. They all do a relatively good job and are almost on par with the Japanese cast.
The audio is quite impressive as well. You get both language tracks in either 2.0 or 5.1 Dolby. An interesting note is that the Japanese track has not been remixed as it was with the three Gundam movies. This marks as the first Tomino Gundam feature not to have been tampered with so go nuts. Sadly, the English track falls back on all those sounds you heard in the remix versions of Gundam.
The extras hold up pretty well, but aren't really groundbreaking. There are two theatrical trailers for the movie, but without it being in widescreen form, you feel you've lost something. The other extra is the Gundam model music video which shows how models are put into production. Not all that fun, but still informative. The last extra is a filmography of all of Tomino's works which is nice if you haven't seen it yet.
Overall, Char's Counterattack ended up being everything I hoped it would. Raging Newtypes battling each other furiously in mobile suits. I couldn't ask for better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gundam film EVER., April 2, 2004
Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's counter attack begins right up with familar characters, if you have seen Mobile Suit Gundam you will know Amuro Rei and Char Aznable right away, throught "Mobile Suit Gundam" and "Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam" the characters had times where they not only fought agaisnt each other, but along side each other. This time Amuro Rei is thrown in with Char Aznable in one last clash of the titans (Excuse the Zeta gundam Pun) this movie is actually more of a two hour space brawl, the action, both fight wise and character wise is amazing, not only do we get to see great robots like the "Nu gundam" and "Refined Zeta gundam" fighting against robots such as "Sazabi" (Which by the way, the Master Grade Sazabi is one of the bigest 1\100th scale models there are.) and the other Neo Zeon mechs, we are introduced to new characters like Quess Pyra and Gyunei, but also we have Bright Noah, from the origanal and Zeta gundam, Mirai from MSG\Zeta, and Bright Noah's son Hathaway, from Zeta Gundam, who is all grown up now. We also get to see the green ball robot "Haro" again, overall the movie provides a great atmopshere, an unbelivable chemistry between characters devoloped in SUCH a short time, great mech battles, with that said great MECHS, and the ending was one of the most fufilling endings I have ever seen. 5\5, pick this and the original mobile suit gundam Movie set, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, but still good, December 30, 2003
By 
Katie (United States) - See all my reviews
While a good movie, I think that CCA had a lot of potential but did not fully use it.
First off, I think that they should have released Zeta and ZZ before this movie, since I see a lot of reviews here complaining about things that have an explanation in Zeta or ZZ, such as why Hayato Kobayashi is not in this movie. I would highly recommend watching at least Zeta first; and since it will soon be released that shouldn't be too much of a problem!
Anywho, my main problem with this movie are the characters. Char and Amuro seem horribly out-of-character; in fact, it's as if they switched personalities. Char becomes whiney, and Amuro becomes mature and calculated. It's nice to see Bright back to his old authoritative self (after that embarassing role in ZZ), and Astonauge is always welcome in a Gundam series.
Someone said that CCA is too focused around the stupid annoying kids, and I'll agree there. Quess is annoying, and not even that pretty, and Hathaway just makes me want to slap him (even his own father can't resist!) Although someone earlier called Hathaway unimportant, which is simply not true: he is the star of a novel that takes place when he is older, and these events in CCA inspire his behaviour in said novel.
Hathaway may not have been one, but CCA did have its throwaway characters. Gyunei, for example, who may have been cute but was absolutely useless; as well as Rezin (the girl who hates Newtypes) and Chan/Chein. Don't get me started on her; her only personality was that she loved Amuro. I much preferred Beltochika from Zeta, who was Amuro's love interest in the CCA novels. Even Nanai's existence was pretty pointless... and I hate to include Mirai in this list, but they did not have to show her that much. In fact, I wish that they could come up with something more creative than "Mirai tries to get to the colonies due to impending problems on Earth" since that was done in Zeta as well. A little upsetting, considering that she piloted a war ship in her younger years. Cameron shows up though, which is greatly amusing since he seems rather bitter towards Bright. Hehe.
I'd call Kaira useless, since it seems like they only made her so they could cause tragedy for Astonauge. Which is just mean; Astonauge has been through enough!
Did anyone else find Lalah haunting Char and Amuro weird.. 'cause I sure as heck did. I didn't see her ghost before then, did she just get bored in the afterlife and decide to start?
Anyway, every UC fan should see this movie at least once, but it is rather disappointing if you are expecting another MSG or Zeta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~ MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME ~, February 15, 2003
I am *not* a movie buff by any stretch of the imagination, and therefore the declaration of "Char's Counterattack" (CCA) being my favorite movie of all time should not be taken as an especially valid indicator of how good this movie is from an objective standpoint. Rather, my declaration should indicate how much this film impacted my life when I first saw it, and how I continue to watch it over and over again, coming away with something new every time.
I think writer-director (and Mobile Suit Gundam creator) Yoshiyuki Tomino is a genius; his concept of "newtype" humans in my opinion is very realistic, and I've never been the same since seeing CCA. This film remarkably captures the essence of what the original Gundam story was about: "Newtypes", and the complex beauty of the human condition.
Unlike most animated action/sci-fi films, all the conflict takes place within the human race, rendering the overall narrative substantially more plausible than say, Robotech, and hitting the cognizant viewer much closer to home. Humanity has moved into space, and a class division has resulted: the space colonies which orbit Earth are essentially treated like second-class citizens in Earth-sphere. With a history of rebellion (one particular colony started the catastrophic One-Year War 14 years prior to the start of this film), the colonies are ruled from Earth, by the Earth Federation.
The problem is, the Earth Federation has grown corrupt since the end of the One Year war with Zeon, the group of colonists which started the war in the first place. However, humanity prefers a corrupt government that keeps the peace than all-out war, so peace prevails for quite some time. Then seemingly out of nowhere, Char Aznable (a pivotal character since the first Gundam series) emerges as the leader of Neo-Zeon, a new group of rebel colonists.
The mission of Char and his Neo-Zeon is simple: to force humanity into space by rendering the planet Earth uninhabitable. The reason? Because "newtype" humans (who have enhanced psychic abilities) first emerged among the colonies. Newtypes are the next step in the evolution of humanity, and as a newtype himself, Char believes that the cause of all human suffering (war, selfishness, evil, etc) comes from "oldtypes" on Earth. Char believes he is doing humanity a favor by forcing the hand of evolution. In doing so, he plans to destroy all life on planet Earth, by dropping the asteroid "Axis" (significant name) on it.
Newtype ace Amuro Ray, the hero from the One Year War (depicted in the first Gundam television series) is back to stop Char, as a part of the Federation's special anti-terrorism unit, Londo Bell. Amuro and Char are longtime enemies; their mutual hatred solidified when Lalah Sune, a profoundly powerful newtype was killed (accidentally) by Amuro when she trying to stop them from fighting during the One Year War. As soldiers for Zeon, Lalah was Char's protoge. However Lalah and enemy pilot Amuro developed a "newtype" (spiritual) bond that Char was understandably jealous over. At any rate, Lalah was now dead, and Amuro and Char bitterly blamed each other for it ever since.
CCA introduces new characters: Quess Paraya is a profoundly powerful newtype, who plays a notable role in the film. Hathaway Noah (the son of Bright Noah, commander of Londo Bell) also displays newtype abilities as the film progresses. It should be noted that both Quess and Bright are born on *Earth*, and not on the colonies...
Amuro's Nu Gundam RX-93 is an amazing piece of mecha, equipped with remote weapons referred to as "fin funnels", that are controlled by his psychic abilities. The Nu Gundam is also enhanced with a form of technology called psycho-frame, which allows a newtype to wield an unprecedented amount of mind control over his mecha. The psycho-frame is also highly sensitive to the thoughts of others, and the human spirit -- just as newtypes have a higher sense of awareness in general.
My favorite aspect of this film is the way in which it deals with the human spirit, manifested. Whether the human spirit is guiding remote weaponry, moving mecha, or simply engaging characters both living and dead, instances of everything I just mentioned take place during this film. Lalah Sune seems very much alive in spirit during this film. And so does another character close to Amuro, who even after death is able to accomplish her goal and help him against Char and his plot to drop the asteroid, "Axis" on Earth.
Char and his Neo-Zeon load "Axis" with nukes to ensure that both radiation, and drastic climate changes caused by the asteroid's impact, will kill everything on Earth. Londo Bell plans to stop the asteroid (once discovered) with nukes of their own. To me, the "Axis" also represents the 'turning point' in human history in *our* world, when we entered the nuclear age during World War II...
I believe that the ending of this film is really the dawning of a new age for humanity in Tomino's eyes. To me, that brilliant light we see represents the manifestation of the human spirit. Just as newtypes are able to move weapons, once properly harnessed, newtypes are also able to move people, and each other towards a common good. Once humanity is truly connected (meaning through our minds and spirits) then, and *only* then will there ever be an end to bloodshed, misery and war. This message is so simple, yet so seemingly impossible to accomplish, that it should move anyone who truly "gets it" at the end, to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Superior, September 12, 2002
By 
Twinkie (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
Char's Counterattack is simply the best Gundam feature of all time. The battles particularly are breathtaking. As other reviewers have said, the two kids are annoying as heck. And you do need to see the original series or movies to understand the conflict between Amuro and Char. But for those of us who love giant robo action, this is the holy grail of anime. I've waited ten years to get this on DVD, and I am not dissapointed. The included booklet is very well done and is a nice extra. The reversible cover is also slick. The music is remastered in both Japanese and English 5.1 Dolby, and it is better than the laserdisc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Mech movie!, May 15, 2004
1979-1993 or so was probably the Golden Era of the Mobile Suit Gundam Franchise, (Not to say I do not like the ones beyond 1993's "Victory Gundam.) in that time the all time classic "Mobile Suit Gundam" and the dark sequal "Mobile Suit Gundam: Zeta" and its Sequal "Mobile Suit ZZ (Double Zeta) Gundam" came out.
Following right behind the 47 (Or so) episode series "ZZ Gundam" the epic motion picture "Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counter Attack" came out. I personally think no Mech anime fan should go without the Classic Gundam and this film. The motion picture is really a 2 and a half hour space battle, but considering the film is about as long as 4 or 5 episodes they managed to devolop characters in that time, such as Gyunei, who tries to win the affection of Quess Pyra, who craves a father figure so she joins the Neo Zeon. At times CCA seems more like a space drama then a mech anime, how ever CCA has the emotional and great fight scenes to go with it, now while the fight does not seem as "full scale" as some of the fight scenes in "Mobile Suit Gundam SEED" the fights do carry them selves very well, but they do not get to the point where the entire movie is just fight. As I mentiond characters before I must state that the rivalry between Char Aznable and Amuro Rei is amazing and you get a real sense of conflict between the two. The music helps a lot! It makes the fight scenese truley amazing, and I almost cried at the end when the amazing track "Beyond the Time" began to play.
The DVD features I love, there is a Biblography of all the novels anime and other things Tomino, the creator of the franchise has worked on, the DVD comes with a slip cover, and a fancy booklet with the history of the events leading up to the film.
Would I suguest this? Of course, how ever I think that it may be best to watch Mobile Suit Gundam, and maybe Zeta Gundam before this, just so you can get a real sense of the existing characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mobile Suit Gundam Char's Counterattack: A film worth seeing, January 25, 2003
By 
Mobile Suit Gundam Char's Counterattack takes place in the year Universal Century (UC) 0093, some 14 years after the devestating One-Year War ended (Mobile Suit Gundam). In this new war, Char Aznable (a.k.a. Casval Deikum) leads the forces of Neo-Zeon in an attempt to render Earth uninhabitable by dropping asteroids onto its surface, thus creating a nuclear winter. To oppose him is Amuro Ray of the Earth Federal Forces unit Londo Bell.
Amuro, using the Federation's RX-93 Nu Gundam, must engage Char, who pilots the MSN-04 Sazabi, in a final conflict that will decide the fate of all mankind.
This movie is packed with stunning mobile suit battles and a very intruiging plot. Nearly every character in this story is complex, even the characters Astanosh and Kira. The story itself is riddled with government conspiricies and there are twists at every corner, making for a very enjoyable two hours. Gundam fans will enjoy this tale, which finally closes the curtain upon the raging conflict between Amuro and Char. If there is one thing that I do find at fault in this movie, it's that the character Quess Paraya is extremely annoying, and her thoughts make no sense, especially when she tries to make observations about humanity.
Quess aside, the movie is excellent and a must-have for all Gundam fans. Hell, even non-Gundam fans might enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gundam must have, May 15, 2005
By 
"Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack" is one of the BEST movies ever made.

I'm not some anime fanatic, but I do enjoy some animes(mostly Gundam, Ghost in the Shell, and Macross). Now, I love a lot of American sci-fi movies(Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Stargate, Dune), but this series alone beats them all out. Gundam has one of the most in depth stories ever told. It's got complex characters who deal with their emotions, and it's very dark. There was never really a presented side as to good or evil(aside from the Titans and AEUG in ZETA GUNDAM), but always a sense of these characters being human.

Now, on to this movie. In three simple words: IT IS AWESOME. The mobile suit fights are incredible looking, as are the mobile suits themselves. The art is really nice, taking a good step up from the original Mobile Suit Gundam TV series. I guess that's unfair, seeing how the show was made in 1979. But the art is very well done. The characters, mobile suits, ships, and enviorments are really good on the eyes. The story follows Amuro and Char in their final battles, as Char is planning to hurl asteroids onto Earth to cause a nuclear winter and force everyone to live in space. Several new characters come into place(Quess being one of them), but it's the three old characters we all love. Amuro Ray, Char Aznable, and Bright Noa are all there. The fight scenes are very well done, the mobile suits look amazing, and the story is deep.

The only real downsides to this movie are the language. I've yet to watch it in subtitles(I can't read a movie, and the voice actors do such a nice job in this), but there doesn't seem to be any cursing. I've seen the original Gundam and many of the others series set in the Universal Century(8th MS Team, 0080: War in the pocket, 0083: Stardust memory, and the first few episodes of ZETA Gundam) and they didn't exactly have the cleanest language. Shiro Amada(8th MS team) was rather foul mouthed. Although the script is still very well done in the dubbed version and the voice acting is good, I would have liked to see a little cursing(not because it's cursing...but it's more realistic if you're in a war).

Now, if you havn't seen any of the Gundam series, I would not recomend this movie. If you have, go ahead and watch. The booklet does tell the basic outline of the events that come before this movie, but it's better to watch the rest of the UC series. I would really say to watch ZETA because they mention a lot from that series. If you havn't you can read the booklet for a basic run-down, but I would say to watch the series(it's just that good).

The movie is roughly 2 1/2 hours long. But in that 2 1/2 hours...they have LOTS of good mobile suit vs. mobile suit action. So if you can sit still for 2 1/2 hours then watch it.

Sound is good. Sometimes the noises got under my skin, but that's just me. The sound FX is good, and the music is rather well done. As said before, the english voice acting is very well done and should make anyone happy(except for those who seem to hold a resentment towards anyone translating an anime and then dubbing it so you don't have to read it because it's a freakin' show/movie and not a damn book-although I enjoy books and graphic novels).

Great movie, and a must have for a fan of the Universal Century Gundam series. And if you like the UC series, i'd check out "Mobile Suit Gundam Seed"....it's a lot like the original series and very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent conclusion to a legendary rivalry, June 25, 2004
By 
Darth Nat (Weaverville, NC) - See all my reviews
Mobile Suit Gundam - Char's Counterattack is an anime masterpiece. It is the final chapter in the feud between the legendary Newtype Amuro Ray and the former Zeon Newtype ace, Char Aznable. The movie lives up to all the expectations a Gundam fan would have about this epic conclusion, and it is a film every Gundam fan must have in their DVD library.
First of all, the packaging is very nice. The DVD comes with a dark red slipcover featuring a golden Neo Zeon emblem on one side and the head of the Nu Gundam on the other. It looks great and gives the DVD a classy look. The cover on the DVD case itself features a dueling Nu Gundam and Sazabi, and it looks good as well. But, the cover is reverseable and features the Japanese cover on the other side, which depicts Amuro Ray, Char Aznable, and Lalah Sune, and it looks even better than the default cover. The DVD itself has a Neo Zeon emblem on it as well as the title of the movie. A small booklet outlining the events of Gundam series leading up to Char's Counterattack can be found in the case, and it also provides insight to battle tactics and Gundam devices. It isn't terribly informative, but it is still nice to have for those relatively unfamiliar with the Gundam series.
A word of warning: if you have not watched the original Mobile Suit Gundam, do not bother with this movie, as the original series sets the stage for this monumental duel between Amuro and Char. The main problem with this movie is that you really need to have a passing familiarity with Zeta Gundam, the sequel to Mobile Suit Gundam which has not yet been released in America. However, if you have seen the original series, you can understand the basic storyline, but the finer points may be lost.
The storyline itself is very complex and rich. As with any Gundam series, there is an equal amount of mobile suit combat and political intrigue. The movie begins with a large battle above Earth where Char is attempting to drop an asteroid on Earth in order to pass judgement on the elitist Earth inhabitants who tend to treat the Spacenoids unfairly. We are quickly introduced to the movie's two main players: Char Aznable, an arrogant ace pilot who has become the head of the Neo Zeon organization, and Amuro Ray, a powerful Newtype pilot who is a member of the elite Federation Londo Bell taskforce. We are also introduced to Quess Paraya, a whiny, annoying blue-haired girl who will play a major role later in the movie. The movie begins with a bang, but the middle of the movie is comprised mostly of political games and plot development. However, if you can sit through this relatively slow portion, you will be treated to a final third of nearly nonstop action.
The animation in the movie is remarkably well-done for a late 80's animated work. The animation is very fluid. It isn't quite as good as recent Gundam series, but it is much better than the animation in the original series, and it is still very watchable. In fact, it is very easy to forget the series age since the animation is pulled off so well.
The music and sound is equally great. The musical score is absolutely wonderful. From the heroic theme of Londo Bell to the slightly melancholy theme of Neo Zeon, all the music is a pleasure to listen to. The sound effects are also well-done, from the mechanical sounds of the mobile suits to the great explosions. The dub is also done pretty well, and it doesn't sound corny like so many anime dubs tend to. The Japanese voices are also present on the disc, so if you simply can't stand the dub, you can watch the Japanese version with subtitles.
There's not much in the way of extras on the DVD other than a bizarre music video showing the making of Gundam models and a brief overview of the Gundam series' creator. But, the movie itself more than makes up for this lack of extra features.
In the end, if you love Gundam, you can't help but love this movie. It is full of all the things that make Gundam a timeless series, and it is a fitting conclusion to one of the most famous rivalries in anime history. Don't miss this excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack (Anime Movie Classics)
Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack (Anime Movie Classics) by Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack (DVD - 2007)
$94.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.