Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good game for Vita with a couple of caveats
If you played the PS3 version then you already know what MNR RT is about. If you haven't and wish to try before you buy, then get the PS3 demo. It gives a glimpse into the EXTENSIVE kart, Mod and track customization/modification features of this game. In my case I spend more time creating rather than racing because I find it highly entertaining in its own right...
Published on February 16, 2012 by Frank

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it but huge framerate issues
This game is really fun until you run into the framerate drops. They pretty much destroy the game for me, although it is still playable, it is pretty disruptive and I don't really understand why the Vita is having problems running the game when Wipeout 2048 looks 10 times better and runs great?? Oh well, Modnation did have some potential.
Published on March 31, 2012 by Dexter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good game for Vita with a couple of caveats, February 16, 2012
By 
Frank "El Jefe" (Inland Empire, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
If you played the PS3 version then you already know what MNR RT is about. If you haven't and wish to try before you buy, then get the PS3 demo. It gives a glimpse into the EXTENSIVE kart, Mod and track customization/modification features of this game. In my case I spend more time creating rather than racing because I find it highly entertaining in its own right.

The game is not difficult and the karts handle a little "loose" so you never feel like you're playing a racing simulator. The weapons and boosts insert a strategic element to the races. Being in first place for that last turn is no guarantee for victory but the AI beats you in away that is not cheap unlike Mario Kart's blue shell.

The graphics are crisp and colorful but the speed at which the races happen and the frequent changing of standings will keep you too busy to appreciate it. I think the game could use a camera option like Gran Turismo. IMO the default position is too low on the ground and makes the power ups and shortcuts difficult to see.

There is no online multiplayer at the moment but the developer promised a patch for peer to peer.

The big negative about this game is the long loading time prior to a race. I timed it and it averages 40-45 seconds. The PS3 version has the same issue, however, knowing that you are loading customized karts and characters every time you race makes it somewhat tolerable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definite pick-up, February 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
here's my problem, i enjoy racing games but am horrible at them. anything beyond mario kart, i'm lost. i have played the PSP version before, but never the PS3, so take that into consideration.....

loving this game. huge improvements over the PSP version. first off, the controls, hugely refined and definitely feel more in control. no longer feel like i'm forcing around the track with the sluggish PSP control. with everything this game offers, this is the mario kart-esque experience i've been wanting.

the biggest part of this is the track creation. i've learned from the previous title, as well as little big planet, that i was definitely never meant for any kind of level development in gaming. anything i have tried to create has always turned out an unplayable mess. now, with the tracing, touch screen track creation.......it even makes my tracks seem compotent, which is amazing and a huge feet. add on to that the option of auto-populating your track, and i was racing on my creation within minutes.

your not going to get a deep racing experience out of this. but, if like me, you want/need that casual/arcadey racing, this is a must. also, with the track creation and being able to download tracks from other people, to say this game has replayability is an understatement. worth picking up at full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Launch Title, February 23, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
If you want a great launch title at $30 go no further this is a great full game. The great thing about vita is that it gives you the whole ps3 experience on a handheld great hd graphics, dual analogs, trophies, with new innovations like putting your mod creation into a photo, or using the rear touch pad for track design (and front), ability to travel with the gps on and get new stuff, constant updated leaderboards, and motion sensor support. Plus you can use all the existing created mods made from ps3 i think over 500,000 so you have endless modes of content. I like this series and little big planet in particular because you make the game like a pc game. Especially considering its peer on 3ds mario kart doesnt have any of the creation features nor dlc and this is in hdlike ps3 graphics for a cheaper price theres no comparison. Overall I am very satisfied and is a fantastic addition to the launch line up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely fun but not definitive, February 23, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
Modnation Racers is pretty much Mario Kart plus creative user-generated content, easy-to-use creation tools, an innovative boost meter and shielding, minus blue shells. I previously played the PSP version of the game and was so impressed I felt I had to have Road Trip as my #1 launch game. The controls are slick and it looks just as good as it does on PS3, but it does occasionally give off performance issues when tons of things are happening at once on-screen and at worst it can totally ruin your progress in a race. I've only run into FPS issues a few times during the eight or so hours I played this but it only lasted a few seconds each time. Either way, I'd say this and Wipeout tie as the two prettiest launch games, they're just too stunning for me to comprehend.

My biggest knock against the game? It was rushed to meet the Vita's launch when Wipeout, Ridge Racer, F1 and Asphalt already give racing fans everything they need on the system. It clearly could've used more polish and it doesn't have online play. Let me repeat for clarity: Does not have online play. For $30 I'd say this is totally worth having Modnation Racers even just in single-player mode on the go. Racing my friends' ghost racers is also much easier than setting up a multiplayer match with them, so it honestly seems really suited for the handheld platform. Any way you look at it this was totally a missed opportunity to make the best handheld kart racer ever(yes, even above... Toy Story Racing on the Gameboy Color xD).

Buy it if you don't care much for multiplayer or you want to have the option to create whatever you want on the go and take advantage of its cool hybrid kinda-multiplayer ghost-racing features.
Do not buy if you must have online play and you cannot stand your games ever having performance issues.

If the developers do end up patching in online play(they said they're working on it) I'll update my review and you should totally buy it no matter what the cost ohmygawd. Until then, here's my standing on the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it but huge framerate issues, March 31, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
This game is really fun until you run into the framerate drops. They pretty much destroy the game for me, although it is still playable, it is pretty disruptive and I don't really understand why the Vita is having problems running the game when Wipeout 2048 looks 10 times better and runs great?? Oh well, Modnation did have some potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, March 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
great racing game love how you can customize tracks . great graphic and sound . love ever thing about a must buy game for all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of great features can't hide a game that's so broken at its core: this game is unfinished, plain and simple., February 28, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
It seems like the main controversy surrounding this title is that it doesn't have online multiplayer despite being tailored for it. I understand the disappointment, but considering the game retails for $29.99 as opposed to $39.99, I thought this was a fair deal.

It's not. It doesn't truly matter that the game doesn't have online multiplayer as long as the core of the game, which is action-packed kart racing, works, but MY. GOD., is this game completely broken.

The framerate is absolutely abysmal, really. In a RACING game with lots of ACTION, this is unacceptable because it really hurts the gameplay in a major way. I'm usually very lenient with framerate and to be quite honest with you, I can't even notice the difference between 30 and 60fps, so I wouldn't complain if the framerate wasn't awful.

Second, the controls suck horribly as well. There are different control schemes but none of them make sense and seem to have been thought-out by monkeys. The racing doesn't feel tight at all, it all feels very awkward and approximate, kind of like the feeling you get by playing a racing game with touch controls on a tablet, except here it's that awkward with physical controls.

Third, the weapons. They're largely useless. You don't even see them if you throw them behind you, so you have no idea what you did or if you successfully hit someone. It's basically a game of always launching any weapon you may have and cross your fingers that one will eventually hit someone. We're far from the tight strategical use of items in Mario Kart 7.

Finally, the track design feels so "first draft"-y. Great track design, like in Wipeout or something like Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing, looks like a lot of thought and meticulous efforts were put into it. In ModNation Racers: Road Trip, there are some great ideas and obstacles, but it all feels very random and rushed. Add the horrible framerate and poor controls and you've got a headache of a kart racer.

Other than that, the game has some nice features, some nice music, graphics, a large number of different tracks and contains lots of action, so there's definitely a good game buried under all that badness. It's just that it's a game that's about 65% finished forced onto store shelves, and it's too far from ready. I don't know much about game development, but with all the issues this game has, it probably needed a good four to six months of additional development time. It's not worth the money until they hopefully patch the hell out of it, but I'm not holding my breath for that to happen. There's too much to fix.

Fun game whenever the flaws aren't so damn obvious, but it's not worth your cash at $29.99, and truthfully, no one deserves to pay for a game with a framerate so bad the entire game (including menus) can't even run close to properly. I'd say for a first-party title, it's shockingly bad. It has the ideas of a solid first-party game but the execution of a rushed, lazy, third-party mess. If you own a 3DS, buy Mario Kart 7. If you want a Vita game, buy Wipeout 2048. If you can get it for free or cheap, it's all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good portable version of ModNation Racers, but try the demo before purchasing., January 3, 2015
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
ModNation Racers: Road Trip is a racing game where you can build your own tracks and customize your racer and kart vehicle. If you have played the PS3 ModNation Racers game ModNation Racers: Road Trip is basically an updated version of that.

In races the first thing you will notice is the extended loading times. It takes 40 or more seconds to load to where you can start racing, but restating a race takes almost no time to reload. Ironically the PS3 version loads faster as it takes only 20-30 seconds to load. This loading time is somewhat warranted because you can create and download customized Mod characters, karts, and tracks.

There are up to eight racers in a race, and when racing you have a boost bar which you can fill up by drifting on the track and drafting or successfully sideswiping other opponents. When you have enough boost you can boost your kart's speed and go faster than normal, shield against attacks, or activate a bolt shot that will hit the closest trigger prop.

On some tracks there are green or red boost pads which boost your kart for a few seconds. There are also circular weapon pods which can be picked up to obtain a weapon, changing color to indicate what type of weapon you will pick up.

Racers can fire weapons at any time, or pick up more weapon pods to upgrade their weapon and fire a more powerful version of the weapon. As said earlier racers can shield against weapons if they have enough boost, so firing a weapon will not always cause damage to other players. Players can "Cash in" their weapons for boost if they determine that they want more boost by holding the fire button.

The gameplay mechanics create strategy in which players must determine where and when to drift, when to upgrade their weapons before firing or to fire them at level one, when to boost to go faster or shield against an enemy attack, and which paths they can take.

There is a career mode where you can unlock parts for use in Track Studio, Mod Studio, or Kart Studio, and on the third and later "tours" you also unlock previously hidden tracks as you complete the events. There are six tours, with the sixth one being the Bonus Tour which you unlock by obtaining 42 or more tour points in the fifth tour and exceeding the required stats overall over the course of the career.

There is no internet or online multiplayer for races, however there is an ad-hoc mode where up to four local players can race against each other. However you will be lucky to actually race in this mode with anybody else as the missing online multiplayer has caused potential customers to not purchase this game, so don't count on being able to race with others.

There is also a time trials mode where you race to obtain the best lap time you can on a selected track. You race against two or three ghost racers as you attempt to set the best lap time. When you're done, you then publish your own time to the servers. However you can't actually save times while offline to publish later when you connect to PlayStation®Network, nor can you download ghost racers while offline.

Now for the actual creation tools, which are very powerful. Track Studio allows you to create tracks using powerful tools. In Track Studio you can change the terrain, add objects to your track, tweak the track's path, and change the environment after drawing the initial track path.

Mod Studio and Kart Studio allow you to make your own customized mod racer and kart respectively. In both studios you can add stickers which add texture and details to the body, and each Sticker you place can be resized, recolored, distorted, and even have their material properties and height mapping changed. In Mod Studio you can also change their skin, eyes, mouth, ears, nose, helmet, and clothing. In Kart Studio you can change a Kart's body, spoiler, engine, wheels, steering wheel, and more. For 3D details players can add up to sixteen customizable decorations to a Mod's head and a Kart's body. The size and color of these decorations are customizable.

You can publish your mods, karts, and even tracks online, and download or view other creations as well. You can rate and comment on other creations you like or are interesting to you. This creates extended replay value by allowing you to play on hundreds of unique tracks or more instead of being limited to playing a fixed set of tracks like most other racing games. Also, since Road Trip can access the PS3 servers you can view and download all creations published on the PS3, thus allowing access to even more creations.

The main problem with the creation tools is that most of the available parts are locked by Mod Explorer. Mod Explorer allows you to unlock parts by checking in at selected locations across the world. Since very few players actually do this, most of the parts are locked and you will most likely never be able to unlock them normally. You can purchase an Unlock All Items pass for a few dollars which will allow you to use every part available. You should purchase this as you will have access to the Mod Explorer items.

During gameplay there is some lag if there is a lot of props drawn on the screen, however in the career mode this lag is more severe, and in the career's later tracks the game appears to run at half speed as if it was stressed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Online Multiplayer??, February 20, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
You know, people complained about this not having No Online Multiplayer.. I said who cares.. for $29.96, you can't go wrong. Since I've put this in my vita, I can't put it down. Love it, and I love creating the race traces and uploading them. It's worth the 30 bucks I paid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ModNation Racers: Road Trip (Video Game)
Excellent article
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ModNation Racers: Road Trip
ModNation Racers: Road Trip by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation Vita)
$19.99 $15.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.