Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Solid and Easily Understood
As a professional aerospace engineer, I am often disappointed by books and articles written for amateurs and hobbyists. This book is a rare exception in that it is accurate, understandable and well laid out. The very low Reynolds number conditions that model aircraft fly in are sufficiently different from full scale that most engineers don't really understand what is...
Published on July 31, 2001 by flyguynoir

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book but disproportionate costs for handling and posting
The book is excellent and just what I wanted but the costs for handling and posting were totally out of proportion.
Published 6 months ago by Anders Zitting


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Solid and Easily Understood, July 31, 2001
By 
"flyguynoir" (Hayward, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
As a professional aerospace engineer, I am often disappointed by books and articles written for amateurs and hobbyists. This book is a rare exception in that it is accurate, understandable and well laid out. The very low Reynolds number conditions that model aircraft fly in are sufficiently different from full scale that most engineers don't really understand what is going on. This book led me through unfamiliar territory and gave me a much fuller appreciation for the aerodynamics I encountered in very-high-altitude and planetary flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best modeling book in my library, August 21, 1999
By A Customer
This is without a doubt the most useful book in my library and is a "must have" for any serious modeler. It not only gives the basics that any modeler should be able to understand but backs the concepts up with some basic math to prove the points. In addition, Martin has used the metric SI system of units which makes everything much easier to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for understanding planes of all sizes, August 7, 2004
By 
R. D Johnson (Cedar Ridge, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
Even though its focus is models, this book is a great inexpensive companion to the far more costly textbooks on full-scale airplane design. A lot of its discussion is applicable to aircraft of any scale. About 1/3 of the book is devoted to airfoils, including discussions of section shape, camber, turbulent flow, laminar flow and the impact of Reynolds number. Like the other reviewer I particular like the appendixes which cover almost 130 pages of this book. The appendixes contain most of the math in the book, including the mathematical formulas for computing lift coefficient, camber, drag, static margin, etc. Mostly, though, they contain wind tunnel test results and profile shapes for many airfoils, not just the NACA ones, but also Eppler, Wortmann and Selig profiles and a few others that I had never heard of. The NACA profiles are easy to find (like in 'Theory of Wing Sections') but its nice to see such an extensive list of the harder-to-find profiles as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Model Aircraft Aerodynamics by Martin Simons, August 31, 2001
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, applicable to much more than model aircraft. Most of it's material is applicable to full size sailplanes and aircraft also. The book is not heavily mathematical, and chapters start with basic fundamentals and build from there. Significant prior knowledge is not required, but helpful. I actually bought the book after reading a copy of a friend's. I was pleasantly suprized to find that the later edition that I bought had more material in the same down to earth style as the first. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Model Aircraft Designers and Flyers., July 4, 1998
By A Customer
Having designed my own uniquely different model aircraft (spans of 2-3 meters), I found this book to be indespensable. The explainations of forces and the effects of many different designs factors was superb. The appendix 3 (with nearly 200 different aerofoils alone!) is worth the price.
For anyone who designs or just flies Model Aircraft, this book will allow you to understand how and why Aircraft fly, which will make you a better 'Pilot' and/or designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to aerodynamics., March 9, 1998
By A Customer
Model aircraft aerodynamics is a delightfully well-written book about a topic which is perhaps not so easily understood by the majority of model builders. Concentrating on airfoil performance, Simons' book is a densely packed source of information on nearly every detail one could possibly wish to know about the principles behind airplane lift. The book devotes several chapters to the presentation and explanation of wind tunnel experiments, as well as an in-depth discussion about the possible limitations of such results, together with historical notes and references. Furthermore, by calculated examples, Simons shows the reader how aerodynamic data are put to good use in the design of a real flying device. Some of the test results presented in the book are produced in cooperation with modelers in order to ensure the usefulness of the outcome. Other topics like Reynolds number and special details concerning propellers are of course also found. A very good choice of book for someone who wants to get a flying start into the secrets of wings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding aero book, January 28, 2010
By 
Peter Lissaman (Santa Fe, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
I have recently studied the 2009 edition. First, I confess prejudice, since he references my work on airfoils. But this is a truly excellent volume, well written, well illustrated, virtually without equations and correct in every respect. I could not find a single item that was wrong, or even required more precise expression. I expect that readers who do not have college aerodynamics may find it a little abstruse. But the truth is seldom simple.
Most of the reviews give good, useful descriptions of the content. It is a pity that one reviewer was so totally ignorant as to knock the book because it "used Bernoulli for airfoil lift"!! The book he quotes as a basis for this nonsense is actually incorrect, and is widely known as a joke in the professional business. It is sad how definite fools may be. And how harmful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly detailed text book. Intense reading but worthwhile, November 6, 2001
By 
Emile van der Merwe (Johannesburg, Gauteng South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
The book is, to me, hard to read because there is little to no "scenery" in the book. Every sentence is packed with information which results in a slow read particular for a newcomer to the field of aerodynamics like myself.
Inevitably, every page is filled with "Why didn't I think of that" - type revelations. Don't rush into the book. Take it a page at a time because the pace builds up quickly - particularly in the first few chapters. If you don't understand a chapter, you will waste your time on the next. A Book for the patient, but eager to learn.
Martin Simons is an expert in his field and in this conversational, intense, book his knowledge is shared well.
Definitely the pride of my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Model Aircraft Aerodynamics - indespensible book, February 2, 2013
By 
RentNetguru (Atlanta, Georgia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
Covers fundamentals of model aircraft design and engineering in a way that ferrets out the subtle and significant considerations for building a small scale aircraft. Martin Simons long experience with small scale aircraft shows the value and limits of advanced math applied to aircraft. Yet, the book use of math is practical and does not require advanced math. This book is one of the most useful relevant books I have read in this area. It is a how-to cookbook to improve most aspects of model aircraft construction and can be used for ARF (almost ready to Fly) kit planes and really tweak them for high performance flying. You will not regret getting this book!
Someone liked my copy so much I had to re-order, the newer version is definitely an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, March 25, 2006
By 
Carlos Rodriguez Wilson (Los Andes, Chile, South America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Aircraft Aerodynamics (Paperback)
For aeromodelers or for guys who want to learn about low reynolds behavior, this is the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Model Aircraft Aerodynamics
Model Aircraft Aerodynamics by Martin Simons (Paperback - March 3, 2000)
$20.95 $13.03
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.