Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a model!
Candace has done a great job. The electricity involved between the two of them was epic. Opposites do attract so don't over look something or someone until you get to know them.
Published 10 months ago by Tonya

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use formulaic intimacy scenes much?
This Harlequin book feels like it started out in another category (i.e. American Romance or traditional Harlequin Romance) and got bumped over into the Blaze section.

I have enjoyed the recent Men in Uniform editions and was looking forward to the latest offering. The idea of the book was fun and caught my attention. The writing around the main idea was fine,...
Published on October 26, 2011 by VectorRector


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fashion and Military collide fabulously., October 2, 2013
This review is from: Model Marine (Mass Market Paperback)
Very good book! I never thought I would read a book about the fashion world and the military world mixing, however Havens did it, and a very good job of it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a model!, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Marine (Kindle Edition)
Candace has done a great job. The electricity involved between the two of them was epic. Opposites do attract so don't over look something or someone until you get to know them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing cheerup ~like a cold drink on a hot summer's day, July 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Marine (Kindle Edition)
My fave's of Candace's are the Bronwyn trilogy.... (wish there were more)...
This was lovely~ a perfect cheerup and distraction from the everyday got-to-do-this-do-that...
Very uplifting, cute.. what can i say? i really enjoyed it, just the cheerup i needed this weekend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Project Runway meets romance, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Model Marine (Kindle Edition)
If you like Project Runway's glimpses inside the high-pressure, high-creativity, and high-drama world of fasion, you'll love Model Marine. Less than an hour before showtime, fashion designer Hannah Harrington recruits two total strangers off the street to stand in for her missing male models in a long-anticipated, high-stakes runway show. The two strangers, who happen to be the only men she can find with bodies anything like male models, are Marines, and they both can't help becoming involved when Hannah's line is victimized by a serial fashion thief. Captian Will Hughes can't help getting involved with Hannah on a personal level as well, despite knowing they could never be right for each other with their vastly different personalities and lifestyles.

I loved this book. It was light-hearted and fun, but there was remakable depth to it. Hannah and Will both had realistic, compelling back-stories that helped shape the way they were, and Ms. Havens peppered in just enough of their histories to intrigue without slowing down the story. The romance was cute and hot. Hannah's dialog was refreshingly honest. She's a strong woman who's not afraid of her sexuality, and her habit of blurting out whatever's on her mind is a nice counterpoint to Will's perfectly planned, perfectly executed life.

This is a tender, sweet romance that will leave you feeling happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use formulaic intimacy scenes much?, October 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: Model Marine (Mass Market Paperback)
This Harlequin book feels like it started out in another category (i.e. American Romance or traditional Harlequin Romance) and got bumped over into the Blaze section.

I have enjoyed the recent Men in Uniform editions and was looking forward to the latest offering. The idea of the book was fun and caught my attention. The writing around the main idea was fine, but it almost felt like another writer came up with the sexy scenes. I could almost picture someone going into their computer trash can (which contained stock sex scenes that had been cut out of other books for being too canned) and retrieve them to use them in this story. It felt unnatural and formulaic. I didn't believe the intimacy, and felt like the language used in places is not how we talk or think in this day and time. I was shocked to read in her bio that the author has over 3000 students in her writing class. Really? Wow. I hope she doesn't teach romance writing specifically. She didn't seem to be comfortable writing the hot parts of her own book.

Overall, the book felt like a decent start that became compromised. I hate that I gave in to the impulse of buying this book at the grocery and didn't wait to visit the second hand book store. I was disappointed for my nearly $6 investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun lighthearted military out of "Uniformly Hot" entertaining romance, October 18, 2011
This review is from: Model Marine (Mass Market Paperback)
In under an hour Hannah Harrington Designs fashion show is to begin at the annual Fashion Week gala. However, Hannah's assistant director Anne Marie informs her that the male models are all in jail. The problem is the show fails without them as the only males nearby are much shorter than the towering six foot plus female models. Hannah goes on the streets of Manhattan seeking two hunks. She recruits two marines, Captain Will Hughes and Lieutenant Rafael. They save the Lincoln Center design show.

While Rafe leaves with one of the models; Will escorts Hannah. They begin a two week tryst with the stipulation of no strings or regrets. As he gets in trouble with the brass especially a certain upset general, they fall in love. However, both realize their worlds do not overlap in the slightest; so neither wants to risk their heart by asking the other to break the no permanent clause.

This is a fun lighthearted military out of "Uniformly Hot" entertaining romance. The lead couple is a delightful charming pairing of total opposites. There is some suspense that adds tension to the plot. Fans will appreciate the Marine Model and the designer finding love in Manhattan.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Model Marine
Model Marine by Candace Havens (Mass Market Paperback - October 18, 2011)
$5.25 $2.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.