Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$20.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon December 19, 2002
Her interest in providing a modern classic cookbook, basing it on timeless favorites updated sometimes, and some candidates she puts forward as classic contenders is a winner!
A fan of this "down under" chef, this is her best to date. With sections on soups, salads, veggies, roasts and simmers, rice, pasta and noodles, pies and tarts ... there is just a wealth of heavenly food in here.
A new soup that I just had to try was a knockout: Lentil, lemon and yoghurt. There's also big spreads on just how to create some feature recipes,e.g Laksa, a spicy Singapore soup with shrimp paste and singapore spice is a hot, spicy number many will enjoy.
One presentation of a fav dish of mine is Shank Pies, made with lamb shank in a small ramekin, pot pie style. Great idea! This is a show stopper at the table, and not that hard for many to prepare.
This exceptional collection is in nice to use large format with excellent photography by con poulous. This is a definite candidate for giving and/or putting on your cookbook shelf.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2003
This is a cookbook that makes your mouth water. It is an ideal gift, and a book to treasure. Many interesting approaches to classic dishes, lots of ideas, and a number of very simple, straight-forward dishes. You'll use this one! It won't sit on the shelf collecting dust.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2006
This book is fantastic. It's beautifully presented and for some reason, with each of her books, I feel like I can cook like she does. All the recipes look easy (and the ones I've tried are) and they look delicious. Each is tempting and makes you want to get into that kitchen.

After an introduction, there are various chapters; Soup, Salads, Vegetables, Roasts and Simmers, Pasta Noodles and Rice, Pies and Tarts and then Tools. There is a glossary too and conversion charts which can be a great help.

So far I've tried the Grilled Asparagus with Balsamic Butter, Baked Chicken and Pumpkin Risotto, Vietnamese Noodle Salad and the Spinach and Fetta Pie. Everything has been so yum and easy to prepare because her instruction is clear and concise.

All of her books are worth taking a look at and in each one there is something delicious for everyone. You would be hard pressed to find that you couldn't make something from one of these amazing recipes. I highly recommend this book. It's great.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2006
rodboomboom pretty much says all that needs to be said, however being in the design and print industry, I wanted to add some comments about the quality of this book. It's a bit oversized format and may not fit in tighter bookshelves, but I am sure you have a spot for it somewhere. The photography is excellent. Images of tantalizing food, sitting on rustic wire racks and cutting boards and utensils against a white background, which fits with the theme that these are modern versions of classics. The spot varnish on the photography with white backgrounds really makes the food pop off the page. Some of the recipes have a series of smaller photographs which show the process of cooking the food. The design and layout is very clean. This is the first Donna Hay book I have added to my collection, but it won't be the last.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2004
This is a fantastic cookbook. My cousin sent it over to me from Sydney, Australia & i love it! I use it all the time - the pad thai is easy & delicious, the three cheese tart was scrumptious and my boyfriend LOVES the egg & bacon tart......yum! She doesn't overuse words making everything confusing, she uses a simple easy to follow text and the pictures make your mouth water. oh i made the french fries this morning for a breakfast treat.....mmmmm!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
Most recipes as long as we tested, work. We own yards thick of cookbooks, and can't believe over 90% are not working, either missing steps, incorrect orders, ingredient, vague instructions, or just intentionally skip the crucial tricks which create the excellence. So we treasure this book that the recipes just work!!!

If you want to learn all the very traditional ways of cooking, all the tedious steps that make a dish excellence, this book is not for you. Donna created this book to create dish with more modern methods, sometimes shortcuts, to create the same excellence, and making life easier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
Gorgeous cookbook with classic recipes everyone should be familiar with and stunning color photographs throughout. Book 1 of the series includes savory dishes and Book 2 has sweet recipes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
I really like her books, they are easy to follow, great pictures, and the recipes are delicious. Try one of her books and you'll see for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Donna Hay is amazing - her books are my most treasured. Beautifully photographed, easy recipes that never fail to be outstanding. LOVE this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
The book has great photographs of the meal ideas and the cooking instructions are clearly displayed and easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.