Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bound To be A Classic Cookbook
Her interest in providing a modern classic cookbook, basing it on timeless favorites updated sometimes, and some candidates she puts forward as classic contenders is a winner!
A fan of this "down under" chef, this is her best to date. With sections on soups, salads, veggies, roasts and simmers, rice, pasta and noodles, pies and tarts ... there is just a...
Published on December 19, 2002 by rodboomboom

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this unless you like pretty pictures
As I've written about Donna Hay cookbooks and magazines, she's too trendy and obviously has a lot of help in the kitchen. Don't waste your money on this unless you like pretty pictures. Get a copy of Fanny Farmer or Irma Rombauer instead.
Published 2 days ago by Ginny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bound To be A Classic Cookbook, December 19, 2002
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
Her interest in providing a modern classic cookbook, basing it on timeless favorites updated sometimes, and some candidates she puts forward as classic contenders is a winner!
A fan of this "down under" chef, this is her best to date. With sections on soups, salads, veggies, roasts and simmers, rice, pasta and noodles, pies and tarts ... there is just a wealth of heavenly food in here.
A new soup that I just had to try was a knockout: Lentil, lemon and yoghurt. There's also big spreads on just how to create some feature recipes,e.g Laksa, a spicy Singapore soup with shrimp paste and singapore spice is a hot, spicy number many will enjoy.
One presentation of a fav dish of mine is Shank Pies, made with lamb shank in a small ramekin, pot pie style. Great idea! This is a show stopper at the table, and not that hard for many to prepare.
This exceptional collection is in nice to use large format with excellent photography by con poulous. This is a definite candidate for giving and/or putting on your cookbook shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picture Perfect, April 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
This is a cookbook that makes your mouth water. It is an ideal gift, and a book to treasure. Many interesting approaches to classic dishes, lots of ideas, and a number of very simple, straight-forward dishes. You'll use this one! It won't sit on the shelf collecting dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To add to rodboomboom..., June 16, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
rodboomboom pretty much says all that needs to be said, however being in the design and print industry, I wanted to add some comments about the quality of this book. It's a bit oversized format and may not fit in tighter bookshelves, but I am sure you have a spot for it somewhere. The photography is excellent. Images of tantalizing food, sitting on rustic wire racks and cutting boards and utensils against a white background, which fits with the theme that these are modern versions of classics. The spot varnish on the photography with white backgrounds really makes the food pop off the page. Some of the recipes have a series of smaller photographs which show the process of cooking the food. The design and layout is very clean. This is the first Donna Hay book I have added to my collection, but it won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book :->, June 17, 2006
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It's beautifully presented and for some reason, with each of her books, I feel like I can cook like she does. All the recipes look easy (and the ones I've tried are) and they look delicious. Each is tempting and makes you want to get into that kitchen.

After an introduction, there are various chapters; Soup, Salads, Vegetables, Roasts and Simmers, Pasta Noodles and Rice, Pies and Tarts and then Tools. There is a glossary too and conversion charts which can be a great help.

So far I've tried the Grilled Asparagus with Balsamic Butter, Baked Chicken and Pumpkin Risotto, Vietnamese Noodle Salad and the Spinach and Fetta Pie. Everything has been so yum and easy to prepare because her instruction is clear and concise.

All of her books are worth taking a look at and in each one there is something delicious for everyone. You would be hard pressed to find that you couldn't make something from one of these amazing recipes. I highly recommend this book. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, May 31, 2004
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic cookbook. My cousin sent it over to me from Sydney, Australia & i love it! I use it all the time - the pad thai is easy & delicious, the three cheese tart was scrumptious and my boyfriend LOVES the egg & bacon tart......yum! She doesn't overuse words making everything confusing, she uses a simple easy to follow text and the pictures make your mouth water. oh i made the french fries this morning for a breakfast treat.....mmmmm!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 1 of the series includes savory dishes and Book 2 has sweet recipes., April 20, 2014
By 
Leigh Barie (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
Gorgeous cookbook with classic recipes everyone should be familiar with and stunning color photographs throughout. Book 1 of the series includes savory dishes and Book 2 has sweet recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Workable, simple, practical, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
Most recipes as long as we tested, work. We own yards thick of cookbooks, and can't believe over 90% are not working, either missing steps, incorrect orders, ingredient, vague instructions, or just intentionally skip the crucial tricks which create the excellence. So we treasure this book that the recipes just work!!!

If you want to learn all the very traditional ways of cooking, all the tedious steps that make a dish excellence, this book is not for you. Donna created this book to create dish with more modern methods, sometimes shortcuts, to create the same excellence, and making life easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great new recipe ideas, January 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
The book has great photographs of the meal ideas and the cooking instructions are clearly displayed and easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All of her cookbooks are EASY to Follow & Nice Pictures, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
I really like her books, they are easy to follow, great pictures, and the recipes are delicious. Try one of her books and you'll see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this unless you like pretty pictures, November 23, 2014
By 
Ginny (Martha's Vineyard) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Classics (Book 1) (Paperback)
As I've written about Donna Hay cookbooks and magazines, she's too trendy and obviously has a lot of help in the kitchen. Don't waste your money on this unless you like pretty pictures. Get a copy of Fanny Farmer or Irma Rombauer instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modern Classics (Book 1)
Modern Classics (Book 1) by Donna Hay (Paperback - October 22, 2002)
$24.99 $18.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.