Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mix
There aren't many magazines for drummers that you run across at your average newstand (usually only two or three). This is the best all-around one to get. Good interviews, good reviews, good advertising. Not much on the local scene, but I can live with that.
Published on December 24, 2004 by Randy Given

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss
I've been a Modern Drummer reader/subscriber for a very long time and it's consistently been a decent magazine.
MD does excellent product reviews. They are always interesting to read and give a good idea of how a product sounds (always tricky) or works. Whenever MD focuses on equipment, be it the reviews or news of new equipment, the magazine excels. They do a very...
Published on November 25, 2002 by Daniel L Edelen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, November 25, 2002
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
I've been a Modern Drummer reader/subscriber for a very long time and it's consistently been a decent magazine.
MD does excellent product reviews. They are always interesting to read and give a good idea of how a product sounds (always tricky) or works. Whenever MD focuses on equipment, be it the reviews or news of new equipment, the magazine excels. They do a very good job of keeping up with manufacturers all over the world. And this is no mean feat considering that the number of types of instruments and equipment that fall under the category of drums and percussion is probably as vast as all other instruments combined.
Also one of the better aspects of the magazine are the "filler" (nondepartmental) articles that vary from month to month. The editors do a respectable job of filling the mag with articles that will interest all aspects of the drumming community. Community also plays a big part. Drummers, unlike guitarists, tend to love each other rather than despise others with talent. Little things like updates on older drummers, world drummer features, new drummers featured every month, birthdays, and even obituaries foster this sense. The latter is one of the best aspects of the magazine, as the editors really hold the community feel in mind when doing obits, often featuring drummers and music folks that would never get press anywhere else. Having some history of drumming presented in this manner helps to appreciate those that went on before us.
MD also tries to help instructionally, publishing charts and transcriptions of famous drum performances. The editors consistently try to educate on several fronts, including technique, buying tips, how to make a living as a drummer, and so on. All these features are invaluable.
There are some flaws, though, with the biggest being the main interviews. Featured drummers have traditionally been big names, but those names anymore are from bands I have either never heard of or are lopsidedly in the metal/grunge/industrial arena. Most of these guys are here today and gone tomorrow. Plus, they usually have little to say about the craft. And their final critique: I get tired of all the multi-tattooed, "I'm Cool", metal coverboys staring out from the magazine rack in my living room. Nothing says style like have some guy with piercings all over his face brooding at friends, neighbors, and in-laws. Some of these guys on the covers even scare children.
Sadly, technique and craft are often not discussed in great detail in the main interviews. One recent edition had interviews with two veterans, Stewart Copeland and Vic Firth. And while this was one of the better copies of the mag, little of technique was discussed with these two drumming giants. If you have heard either play, and you are a drummer, you'd love to know how they do it and from where they pull their style. Considering that interviews comprise a large portion of the magazine, this can be disconcerting.
The magazine also features reviews of recordings, but seems to pull its punches, possibly for fear of losing advertisers. The lowest rating you almost ever see for recordings is a "6" out of "10", with most being an "8". Hey, I listen to a lot of music and the sub-6 category consists of about 90% of what is out there.
The last con is the look of the magazine. For a music magazine, it's not very hip-looking. The design of the magazine seems to always be stale, even when it is updated from time to time.
Still, despite its lacks, MD holds up. There are few other options for magazines for drummers, so you don't have a lot of choices anyway. Considering this, MD gets an extra star in the review simply for being there for those of us who like to hit the skins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mix, December 24, 2004
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
There aren't many magazines for drummers that you run across at your average newstand (usually only two or three). This is the best all-around one to get. Good interviews, good reviews, good advertising. Not much on the local scene, but I can live with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, bar none., May 11, 2003
By 
Blake (Eugene, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
Modern Drummer is much more than a magazine about drummers; it's a magazine about DRUMMING. You simply can't find a better magazine that keeps you on top of everything drum-related. From new product reviews, to tuning techniques, to health columns about good playing posture and other drummer woes, to the well-written and informative articles, Modern Drummer is the best source of drumming information. Who knew that by reading a review with Godsmack's drummer, I'd learn that putting cotton balls in my floor tom is a great muffling technique? All music genres are covered in the magazine, with sheet music and guest columns from the world's greats showing how it's done.
If you're a drummer, do yourself a favor and get a subscription today. You will value this magazine for the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it!, February 11, 2014
By 
Litha Sonner (Lanesville, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
My daughter loves this magazine! She is a drummer. She plays many instruments in a local teen band, but the drums are her favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made someone very happy, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
When he knew the subscription was ending he said he was not going to renew because he does not get to plat as much. I renewed for him and he was so happy. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Still haven't received first issue, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
I ordered this magazine for one of my kids as a Christmas gift and Guitar World for my other. We've already received two issues of Guitar World, but not a single issue of Modern Drummer. Maybe it will be a great magazine and I'll change my opinion, but on timeliness of delivery--dissatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If only they'd bring back Rick Van Horn, February 10, 2013
By 
J. Grandwilliams (North Bellmore, NY,USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
It would be perfect! I've read every issue of this magazine, but occasionally let my subscription lapse. Now "I'M BACK!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, November 6, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
Have read MD off & on for over 20 years; bummed by the dull content in the 90's, I switched to Drum! in 2005.......quickly went back to MD; you should too. 'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I did NOT renew the order for Modern Drummer. ..., September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
I did NOT renew the order for Modern Drummer. You did NOT come through with correct renewals and I cancelled the whole thing with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Drummer (Magazine)
Got this for my son, and it was exactly what he wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modern Drummer
Modern Drummer by Modern Drummer Publications
$29.97 $29.95
Usually ships in 6 to 10 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.