Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 8, 2008
Masterly. Rothman and coworkers' 3rd edition of the classic `Modern Epidemiology' is a landmark step in presenting with cohesiveness and clarity traditional + cutting-edge concepts and methods for observational research (and by extension for experimental research on human subjects as well, since problems like unblinding or loss-to-follow-up may reintroduce bias in clinical trials after randomization, with a corresponding need for epidemiological interpretative and analytical tools).
This highly regarded volume has no equal, as it has been not only an authoritative source of information but `the' reference on epi methods for almost a quarter century. For those looking for an introductory level textbook, Rothman's one by Oxford University Press is highly recommended, since the comprehensive `Modern Epidemiology' requires some previous exposure to the concepts and biostatistical methods presented.
The 3rd edition is an encyclopedic effort, brings methodological coherence to a whole new level, is highly readable, and confirms itself as the standard reference on epidemiological and clinical research for many more years to come. An outstanding scholarly achievement.
Definitely a must-have for anyone who needs to learn and apply basic/advanced epidemiological methods rigorously in clinical as well as general population settings.
11 comment28 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2010
I am a social scientist, not an epidemiologist, and I found this book to exceptionally good. It is the most current, complete, and clear presentation of methods for causal inference for observational (i.e. non-experimental) studies that I have seen. The things that really set this book apart for me include:

1. It synthesizes contributions by Pearl and Rubin on the foundations of causal inference, and contributes its own perspective via the sufficient cause model. This is truly cutting edge, not to mention impeccably coherent.
2. The first third of the book is on study design, including measurement, sampling, and defining effects. This is just fantastic. Many methods textbooks jump right into approaches to analyzing data with little time taken to discuss how to make the data in the first place. This book provides a major corrective to that tendency.
3. In data analysis, a lot of attention is given to sparse data problems, which again is just great. So many textbooks overlook this problem, which is a huge omission.
4. The data analysis section includes discussion of up-and-coming data mining and non-parametric methods (e.g. BART, boosted regression, etc.) to characterize response surfaces in the service of causal inference. That's amazingly cutting edge for a textbook.
5. The meta-analysis section emphasizes simplicity and provides a very nice list of common errors that should be avoided.
6. The references are to state of the art literature not only in epidemiology, but also in econometrics, education research, and statistics. It's great to see such cross-fertilization across disciplines, and it shows how these various disciplines are converging, it seems, on common analytical tools for causal inference in observational studies.

There are lots of nice examples throughout the book too. For other social scientists out there, I highly recommend this as a primer on state of the art methods for carrying out observational studies.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
This is an excellent book (5 stars for content), but this edition, which is described as "Third Edition, Mid-cycle revision" and dated 2012 appears to be the exact same text as the 2008 Third Edition (3 stars for unclear product description). The only difference is that this product comes with online access to the e-book version and "additional resources". The only added resource I could find was errata - and this should be available to anyone who purchased the 2008 book anyway. The publisher should make this information clear so customers can make informed buying decisions.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
This book is a seminal text in the field of Epidemiology. Some readers may be looking to gain a basic understanding of Epidemiology with this textbook, but other books are more suited to that task (Kleinbaum or Aschengrau or Gordis). Rothman has been called one of the "Gods" of modern epidemiology by various acquaintances in the field, and for good reason. His contributions are easily verified with searches and with study in this field.

His textbook lays down the philosophical and methodological foundation necessary to truly master the various aspects of modern epidemiology. Much like the mathematics student would not start their studies in calculus before learning algebra, so too must a reader have a familiarity with epidemiological concepts and methods before picking up this book. Nevertheless, for those willing to put in the effort, it is a highly logical and rewarding exposition on modern epidemiology.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2009
The third edition of Modern Epidemiology is a wonderful scholarly achievement. It is truly the gold standard among textbooks that deal with epidemiologic methods. There is a lot of new material in this new edition. Some of the sections have been re-arranged to improve the flow and the coherence of the material. I particularly enjoyed the new chapters on causal diagrams and bias analysis. Unlike many of the reference textbooks I own that sit idly on my book shelf, I repeatedly refer to Modern Epidemiology whenever I have a challenging study design or analysis issue. I gain new epidemiologic insights each time I open it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2009
I borrowed the 2nd edition from a colleague and was so impressed with the book that I ordered it immediately. This book has no equal in terms of content (the word 'encyclopedia' is aptly used in a previous review). The statistical explanations are what really set this book apart from other epidemiological textbooks. The price was surprisingly low compared to other textbooks on the market.

Unfortunately, after receiving the book, I see how they managed to keep the price down. The type is small, the margins are small and the paper is thin. Also, to me (highly subjective), the paper has an unpleasant desiccating feel. Finally, I like to mark up my books with highlighting and notes in the margins -- but this just makes a mess out of this book. Highlighting bleeds through and pencil notations are visible from the opposite side of the page. The 2nd edition was more robust.

Publishers can't win. Most books are too expensive. This (outstanding) book comes in at a great price -- but the compromises are painfully evident.
0Comment16 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2013
Book is dense. Instructors have recommended another version, "Epidemiology: An Introduction" by Rothman, instead. Nicknamed "Baby Rothman," it is a shorter, easier read containing all the main concepts.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
If you're an epidemiologist (or studying to be one), this is definitely a resource you need to have on hand. I've found it useful in studying for my PhD qualifying exams, and also as a reference in teaching students. It is the "go-to" whenever there is a question at hand.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2011
I rate this book 4 stars not because of contents (5 star for contents), but for the fine print. The font of the book is so samll, like the 10pt font in your word document. My eyes hurt after reading a while. For those only want to use as a refference book, it might be good. For those who try to read the first time, I suggest using the 2nd edition for bigger font.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2009
Modern Epidemiology, 3rd Edition is in all honesty the gold standard for higher level Epidemiology textbooks. The latest edition, with its thinner paper, packs more into a considerably more portable format. Highly recommended for any student or practicing professional interested in Epi methods.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.