Customer Reviews


390 Reviews
5 star:
 (347)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sophomore Slump Here!
When "Modern Family" premiered in the fall of 2009, it was a breath of fresh air. An incredibly brilliant, well written and acted series depicting family life of the Pritchett/Dunphy clan. It was one of the best things I had seen on network TV in years. From start to finish, the debut season was an instant classic, and the show deservedly got the attention from critics...
Published on September 20, 2011 by Barry

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Audio is bad
The audio is bad on several episodes. Echo and impossible to decipher. I would not buy this again. Very dissapointed
Published 9 months ago by Diana Alderman


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sophomore Slump Here!, September 20, 2011
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
When "Modern Family" premiered in the fall of 2009, it was a breath of fresh air. An incredibly brilliant, well written and acted series depicting family life of the Pritchett/Dunphy clan. It was one of the best things I had seen on network TV in years. From start to finish, the debut season was an instant classic, and the show deservedly got the attention from critics and award shows. But then came the obvious question. Can they do it again? Was the show a one season wonder? Would they suffer from the ever dreadful 'sophomore slump'? When season two premiered in the fall of 2010, it was apparent right away, especially with the first few episodes, that any fears or doubt were instantly washed away. Season 2 premiered as strong as ever, and rolled out 24 high quality episodes. But first....

A little catch up. The series features Pritchett family patriarch, Jay (the fantastic Ed'o'Neill), who is married to a much younger columbian woman named Gloria (Sofia Vergara), and step-father to Manny. His daughter Claire (Julie Bowen) is married to Phil (Ty Burrell), and they have three children, Haley, Luke, and Alex. Jay's son Mitchell (Jesse Tyler Ferguson) lives with his partner, Cameron (the hilarious Eric Stonestreet) and their adopted daughter, Lily.

Season 2 got things off on the right foot. The season premiere, "The Old Wagon", was a strong welcome back that showcased everything that makes the show so great. Humor and heart. The episode dealt with Phil finally deciding to get rid of the old family car, but not without one last trip down memory lane. One of the season's best episodes for sure. Next up is "The Kiss". The show had had some controvery surrounding the gay characters of Mitchell and Cameron never kissing. This hilarious episode focuses on Mitchell's growing concern of Cameron's reluctance to show passion in public. It was such a well done episode that made the ballyhoo surrounding it into nothing, as the episode handled it in such a normal, natural way, and didn't make a big deal out of it. Brilliant! Episode 3, "Earthquake", was supposed to be the season premiere, but was pushed back to be the 3rd episode. It doesn't take much to figure out what the episode is about. "Unplugged" is a great episode that features Phil and Claire persuading the kids to all give up their electronical devices and learn to communicate better with each other. "Halloween" is another instant classic. Claire goes all out for the holiday and has everyone playing a part, but of course, it doesn't go too well. Elsewhere, "Caught In The Act" is an unflinchingly funny and honest episode where the 3 Dunphy kids catch their parents 'in the act '. Valentine's Day laughs return in the hilarious "Bixby's Back", and Nathan Lane shines as a Mitchell/Cam buddy who befriends Jay in "Boys' Night". "See You Next Fall" deals with Alex's middle school graduation, and the hilarity that ensues trying to get there. The season ends with Jay's birthday and him just wanting to go fishing, but his family has other plans in "The One That Got Away". There's so much more!

Some say season 2 DID in fact suffer from a sophomore slump, but I just don't see it. The second half of the season isn't as strong as the first, but that doesn't mean anything. It's still great. The overall season is yet another testament to the great writing, acting, and directing that was established in season one. Each character is still fully fleshed out and with their own unique personalities. The incredibly talented cast continue to make their charcaters full fledged, fully fleshed out characters we love, care about, and laugh with. It doesn't hurt that the writing is so sharp, so clever, so relatable, and the humor as top notch as ever, for the actors to once again display why they are the best ensemble cast on television. I love how the show never shys away from the sweet moments, how almost every episode ends with something nice. That's just not something you get a lot of on television these days. It's the show that not only makes me laugh, but can also move me and make me feel for these people. I can't remember the last time I said that about a network television show.

The season 2 set also comes pretty well packed with special features. Just like the season 1 set, it comes with Deleted Family Interviews, Deleted And Extended Scenes, and a Gag Reel. For the rest, we are treated to 6 featurettes (2 more than season 1) and a music video for "Imagine Me Naked", the song Dylan wrote for Haley. The new featurettes are "At Home With Modern Family", "Modern Family Holidays", "Mitch's Flash Mob", "Strangers On A Treadmill - Table Read", "Waiting For Oprah", and "Chatting With Steve Levitan".

Season 2 of "Modern Family" is worth every penny. Some special guests include Shelley Long, Matt Dillon, Natahn Lane, Elizabeth Banks, and more. In addition to it's cast, it can't help but have great guest stars too! Simply put, "Modern Family" is divine television. The rare show that deserves all the hype, all the praise, and gives me hope for network comedy. Season 2 is great. Pick it up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Show is the Best Thing I've Seen on TV in Years!, February 24, 2011
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
I cannot get over how funny this show is. There has been times when I have laughed so hard at these guys. I love them! ABC has aired a wonderful show and season two has proven to be just as effective as season one. I look forward to this every week! And it does, in a way, remind me of my own family. Can't wait to keep laughing at these guys. Too funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, November 18, 2010
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
If you watch this show and can't manage to laugh or even crack a smile, then I recommend a sense of humor transplant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for a Modern Family fan!, March 19, 2011
By 
marcusmembrane (West Jordan, Utah) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
I knew my wife loved Modern Family, but I also knew she didn't really start watching until near the end of the first season. Amazon had the whole first season on DVD, and I thought, why not see if she likes this as a birthday gift? Probably one of the best gift decisions I've ever made. Except even though she watches the show religiously on TV, I also know she's going to EXPECT to get Season 2 on DVD as soon as it comes out. Amazon, please keep me in mind when it does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the good times roll, April 16, 2012
By 
Todd (Rexburg, ID United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
The first season of Modern Family was hilarious. Sometimes one worries if the humor will continue into the second season. The writers for this sitcom have not let us down - they continue to write funny plots, many of which also have morals or other take home messages. I applaud the producers of this sitcom for what they are doing to bring good humor and family values back into the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sit-com since Arrested Development, May 10, 2011
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
For those who know t.v. serials, most would agree that the king of sit-coms in recent history was "Arrested Development". But that King has died. Long live the new King--Modern Family. It is rather ironic that the casting includes an icon of possibly the worst sit-com of all times, Ed O'Neill, from "Married With Children." As much as that show sucked, appealing to the lowest common denominator of newly-pubescent adolescents, Ed has redeemed himself with finally a mature role as the politically incorrect and curmudgeonly patriarch in Modern Family. The casting is ideal. The scripts are savvy. The dialogue is crisp. And the humor is effervescent. The only slight criticism may be that they risk "gaying-up" the gay couple a bit too much. Granted, it is funny, but it's a fine line between character and caricature. The limp wrists, swishing and flamboyance is sometimes a little over the top and becoming too predictable. The chemistry however, with all the character's is sublime. I literally DVR every episode, watch it live, and then rewatch the DVR version twice. It's like a shot of humor-cocaine injected directly into my funny bone. If you like laugh out loud, tears down you cheeks, biting humor with a dose of even pathos on some occasions, this is the best sit-com on planet earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO FUN!, December 6, 2010
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
This show is just the funniest ever. I agree that if you can't laugh at this show, you should really up your medication. We love watching it over again. Can't find more fun in front of the boob tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as fun as season one, but still outstanding television~, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
I purchased this series for $8.99 from amazon.com during the Black Friday deals week. It includes the entire second season and a few extras (though not many).

The case is slim, and the discs all stay put pretty well. I'm happy with the quality of packaging. Now onto the show.

I watched the second season originally from the local library (yes my library has many copies of this season), though it took me a few weeks to get bumped up on the request list. I had recently finished season one and was craving more of the delightful comedy of this series.

Though season one may have been a little more fun, there is plenty of hilarity during this season. For those who don't know, this series was created by the team that brought Frasier to us. Quality shows both. The writing is excellent and the actors play well to their talents and stay true to their characters.

What this show is about is making odd family and lifestyle situations work in a crazy and fast paced world. The show is actually set up as a Scandanavian reality show. I don't know if this was ever mentioned on the actual show, but it is mentioned on the website and mentioned during the commentary in season one. I think it was for Norwegian television. They wanted a reality show showing a slice of American family life. So that is why you have the periodic asides where family members talk to the camera, or the occasional sideways glance at the camera during normal scenes.

If you haven't seen the show, you should probably catch a few of the early episodes of season one, but it is not required. There aren't really any spoilers and each episode pretty much stands alone with few story arcs carrying over to multiple episodes.

One actor who delighted me by appearing was Nathan Lane playing 'Pepper'. Hilarious!

This is not your ordinary family life drama. It features one somewhat normal appearing household that ends up being the most dysfunctional of the bunch, a gay couple with an adopted Asian daughter, and an older, rich guy with a much younger, hot Colombian wife and her son. Queue laughter! Deserving of each and every Emmy they have won and will continue to win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY!!!, October 17, 2011
By 
David C. Dobson (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
This really is the best comedy since Friends!And it gives a current view of our families today with some funny twists that make you laugh so hard you will cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, April 7, 2011
This review is from: Modern Family: Season 2 (DVD)
This show is hilarious. Great timing on all the jokes. The gay couple is always funny as hell. When Phil gets hit by the car and yells "oh no!", ha ha ha. I rewound it 10 times. My wife and I love the show, Looking forward to buying season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modern Family: Season 2
Modern Family: Season 2 by Ed O'Neill (DVD - 2011)
$49.98 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.