Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Theory to Weapon....
History Channel's "The Manhattan Project" offers a concise, nicely balanced history of the making of the atomic bomb in just under 50 minutes. This 2004 episode of Modern Marvels manages to explain the physics and the technology behind the bomb in layman's terms, while crafting a suspenseful narrative around the costly ($30 billion in current dollars) military-civilian...
Published on March 14, 2008 by D. S. Thurlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
I was a bit disappointed in this History Channel presentation. It was not nearly as good as other History Channel presentation. I know a bit about the Manhattan Project, and the personalities that played a part. This presentation was too thin and actually not worth purchasing this DVD>
Published 14 months ago by David M. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Theory to Weapon...., March 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
History Channel's "The Manhattan Project" offers a concise, nicely balanced history of the making of the atomic bomb in just under 50 minutes. This 2004 episode of Modern Marvels manages to explain the physics and the technology behind the bomb in layman's terms, while crafting a suspenseful narrative around the costly ($30 billion in current dollars) military-civilian collaboration.

"Manhattan Project" begins with the state of atomic science as the Second World War got underway in 1939, and why the United States decided it should build a bomb before Nazi Germany could. At the center of the narrative are Army General Leslie Groves and scientist Robert Oppenheimer, a yin and yang combination who together solved the technical problems of building a bomb, then in record time put together the industrial resources to provide the necessary uranium and plutonium. "The Manhattan Project" concludes with the Trinity Test of July 1945 and the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August 1945.

The narrative benefits from interviews with some of the surviving personnel who worked on the project. These interviews put a human face on a massive industrial effort. Some prominent historians offer a larger perspective on the project. The narrative does not shy away from the moral implications of use. Some of the concluding comments suggest that warfare has been changed forever by the invention of a weapon that could annihilate millions in a major exchange.

This short feature on the Manhattan Project is highly recommended as a concise but reasonably comprehensive survey at the popular history level of the making of the first atomic bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From "The Gadget" to the end of WWII, July 6, 2008
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
In what is described in the early stages of the documentary as the journey of death - because human kind would be inventing the means to its own destruction - The Manhattan Project accurately and compellingly chronicles the scientific, moral, political, and logistical aspects of the rise of the atomic age.

With wonderful usage of authentic footage, recent interviews with informed and involved personnel, as well as the usage of intricate animations explaining and displaying how the science behind the bomb works, and how the great power of fission was harnessed to provide fuel for a bomb, there are vivid details about every aspect of the bombs' timeline. From uranium to plutonium, from "The Gadget" to Little Boy to Fat Man, the scientific data and supporting information is amplified by smooth narration, profound historical and contemporary minds providing first-hand insight, and a succint wrapup of all other pertinent and/or interesting details. There are even superb interviews with Paul Tibbets - the man who piloted the Enola Gay, the plane responsible for dropping Little Boy on Hiroshima.

Particularly impressing were the details about two of the sites involved: Los Alamos, NM and Oak Ridge, TN. The sheer numbers involved to pull of the creation and successful usage of the bombs are truly staggering. To think that Oak Ridge became the fifth largest city in Tennessee as a result of bomb production is unbelievable, and a testament to the amount of clout this project was given.

The documentary is a fair and accurate portrayal of all parties involved. Roosevelt, Truman, Oppenheimer, Groves, and the numerous scientists given credit for the astounding accomplishments, and consequent world-altering impact, are all given proper weight and historical perspective.

I highly recommend The Manhattan Project for those interested in either the science of the bomb, or the related military history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, July 8, 2008
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
"The Manhattan Project" tells the story of America's creation of the atomic bomb. It begins with a Hungarian refugee (Leo Szilard) recognizing the potential havoc Germany's research in this area might wreak (split the atom in 1938), and convincing Albert Einstein to write President Roosevelt in hopes of starting a competing U.S. effort. Roosevelt convened a study group (offices in Manhattan, N.Y. - hence the project's name), but little took place until the U.S. entered the war.

The U.S. first built a reactor (University of Chicago - 1942), while work proceeded on creating sufficient bomb-grade uranium. Three methods were used: 1)Electro-magnetic separation - calutrons produced 10 gms/day, and 1,000+ calutrons were built at Oak Ridge at the Y12 facility. 2)Gaseous diffusion, at the K25 facility - also at Oak Ridge. K25 was one-half mile long, and 1,000 feet wide - the largest building ever constructed. Considerable difficulty was incurred developing a workable diffusion media. 3)Plutonuium creation - via reactors at Hanford, Washington.

Ultimately, the first bombs were created from material produced at Y12 that was then run through the K25 process. The Los Alamos test created a 20 kiloton blast using the implosion method. The first weapon was an implosion devise similar to the Los Alamos test, dropped on Hiroshima with a 12 kt output that killed about 130,000. The second was a gun device dropped on Hiroshima; the device was not tested because of a shortage of material.

Controversy developed over the use of the weapons. A survey revealed that 83% of those involved wanted a demonstration first that would hopefully convince Japan to surrender. General Groves buried the survey and their petition, and proceeded.

Robert Oppenheimer and General Groves emerge as heroic leaders of the enormous construction (eg. 60,000 at Hanford) and research/production efforts (eg. 75,000 at Oak Ridge) involved. Since operations at Oak Ridge required 10% of electricity used by the entire nation - fortunately this was available from the TVA.

Sadly, Oppenheimer's opposition to the H-bomb led to his security clearance being revoked in 1954.

The "good news" is that Japan quickly surrendered, and the level of major-nation warfare dropped from that point on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Look Into Our Atomic Past, November 20, 2009
By 
S. Jewett "PianoKeys" (Council Bluffs, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
The Manhattan Project Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) was thrilling to watch! I purchased a copy for my Mother's Birthday (we both watched it.) Mother and I have a few relatives who lived in Oak Ridge, Tennesee, and were part of it. The information I learned in school did not encompass any details at all. I thought I knew a lot about it but, found out the opposite was true, that I knew virtually nothing about it! I also learned that the papers were passed (at one point) to a Russian spy somewhere in the Mount Washington Hotel in New Hampshire (Only an hour and 45 minutes drive by car for me). I am native to New Hampshire (18 years,) so this information was a little intimidating to me to learn about, the ramifications which will be felt for many years to come by all peoples of the world. You will learn about Robert Oppenheimer, Einstein, and various other important scientists who changed the course of history. You will find out that the Americans dug up half a mountian of dirt, and rock, for an element called "hornblende" (a hard, heavy, dark-colored, monoclinic mineral) which is where a small amount of uranium was extracted after processing it. All in all, I gave this DVD 4 stars for the vast amount of information it had in it. The DVD was produced very well. I watched it several other times. There's no way you can get all the information from this DVD alone, you must do some research to find out other details. I encourage everybody to purchase a copy of this DVD! This program caused me to ponder many things and impell many questions in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History Channel: The Manhatten Project, January 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
I used this in my classroom while covering nuclear chemistry. I thought it was well done and gave a good description of the times. For kids taking chemistry, sometimes a different aspect can make a topic more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Marvels The Manhattan Project, May 28, 2010
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
Modern Marvels-The Manhattan Project(History Channel) :

Pretty good and informative look at the players behind the A-Bomb,what ended stubborn japan as the last holdout(sadly). I always wondered why modern liberals consider bush a war criminal despite FDR and Truman being pretty close to ones themselves. my belief is it seems it was going to happen either way whether we or The Soviets.(which they did test later on)Is War Evil? Yes. But isn't much to do sometimes but finish the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, July 10, 2013
By 
David M. Thomas (Greensboro, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
I was a bit disappointed in this History Channel presentation. It was not nearly as good as other History Channel presentation. I know a bit about the Manhattan Project, and the personalities that played a part. This presentation was too thin and actually not worth purchasing this DVD>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, January 20, 2013
By 
D. Johnston (Ellicott City, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
Son is doing a project for history day on this topic and I wanted something to give him a good overview of it...visually. History channel brings things to life without being boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Manhattan Project, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
One of the best documentary's produced as verified by a participant in the Manhattan Project. Very informative and factual details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great summary, November 25, 2012
By 
Kathryn M. Gangel (Jacobstown, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel) (DVD)
This is a great overview of the Manhattan Project. Very interesting and engaging. I like to show it in my chemistry class when we discuss nuclear chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modern Marvels - The Manhattan Project (History Channel)
$24.95 $17.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.