Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars really good
I really love Walt Disney. Other than being able to go there the Disney park dvd's are the next best thing to actually being there.
Published 19 months ago by time man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern Marvels Worlds Strongest Space shuttle carrage
On the Modern Marvels " Worlds Strongest " the show has video of the space shuttle carriage that moved the space shuttle from the vehicle assembly building
to the launch pad.

The show correctly states the Marion power shovel company supplied the crawler tracks mounted at each corner of the base ball
diamond size crawler . It talks about the...
Published on August 31, 2012 by John B. Cundiff Jr.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent documentary, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This program is an excellent tutorial on Railroad Locomotives. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is Discovery
Channel's annoying habit of rerunning already seen video after each break for commercials. Even though the
commercials are not included in the DVD, the still rerun the last 30 seconds of the previous portion.

I would imagine that half of the viewers learned a lot about Locomotives, such as the "diesel Locomotive" is not
propelled by the installed diesel engine, which drives an onboard generator, providing electricity for the electric traction motors on each axel and those motors make the Train move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I really love Walt Disney. Other than being able to go there the Disney park dvd's are the next best thing to actually being there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars season 2, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I like the modern marvel series. It was a bit expensive for me but I love the content and structure of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a nerd-ling to dig this stuff....., April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Who knew that engineering and construction could be so interesting? I love Modern Marvels! The Chunnel episode is my favorite of all the MM shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting episode, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I bought this episode because it features one of the early Amazon Fulfillment centers in it. I have worked at this facility and it is nice to be able to show others about that work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Marvels, November 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
This is one of the best shows on the History Channel.
The instant video quality is great and I look forward to viewing more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Modern Marvels Worlds Strongest Space shuttle carrage, August 31, 2012
By 
John B. Cundiff Jr. (Millersville, MD, US) - See all my reviews
On the Modern Marvels " Worlds Strongest " the show has video of the space shuttle carriage that moved the space shuttle from the vehicle assembly building
to the launch pad.

The show correctly states the Marion power shovel company supplied the crawler tracks mounted at each corner of the base ball
diamond size crawler . It talks about the failure of the bearings on the crawler tracks.

Then is says when NASA discovered the bearing metal filings falling out of the bearings it contacted the Marion Power shovel company in Indiana to come up with a fix.

Marion power shovel Enginers possibly Purdue Graduates ...turned to their Mechanical Engineering instructors at Purdue University
to help them with the reengineering of the failing crawler bearings.

Marion then made the bearings according to the redesign .

Purdue U had computerized programs at the time to test the design ..I do not know if these computer programs were used.

Purdue also did alot of testing and simulation of the first moon landing software written by MIT ...got no credit for that either .

jbcundiffjr@verizon.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good show., July 24, 2014
By 
K. Pring (Middletown, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this episode of this series (very hard to get outside of digital). This series if great and this particular episode shows where we as a people can go with our ideas for a new, more green economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Marvels Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Super fun. Sometimes gross. Kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.