Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Introduction Book
If you want to enter the recording world and you don't know where to start, this is the perfect book to do so. If you are currently just starting your audio engineer career, this is also a great choice. It's full of graphs, figures and well explained diagrams. Can't go wrong with this one.
Published on May 28, 2010 by JC Pedroza

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent reference. Needs more editing, and lower price.
Pros:

Not sure how much the 7th edition differs from previous editions, but I feel this book is a solid reference for beginner/intermediate recording. It touches on every part of the recording process and has a lot of broad info (though some parts are way more useful than others).

There are some useful bits throughout the book that helped me get...
Published on November 25, 2009 by C Winger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent reference. Needs more editing, and lower price., November 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
Pros:

Not sure how much the 7th edition differs from previous editions, but I feel this book is a solid reference for beginner/intermediate recording. It touches on every part of the recording process and has a lot of broad info (though some parts are way more useful than others).

There are some useful bits throughout the book that helped me get more mileage from my recording space and processes. The sections about setting up monitors in a room (with example pics), approaches to absorbing/diffusing sound and standing waves, and the general tips on working with computer-based DAW's were great. There is also plenty of useful info on sitting instruments in a mix based on frequency, panning, and reverberation.

Cons:

More than $40 is too much for a recording reference book that is not even hardcover.

The scope is so large that it does not dive too deep into any one facet of recording. To the author's credit he encourages you to use the web for more in-depth material (but I wanted that material in a book).

The book is verbose. All the practical and useful tips are buried between pages, and there is no decent summary of the really important items at the start or end of each chapter, which is frustrating for note-takers. Blue text is used to highlight special ideas or points on each page, but it is abused so much that the emphasis fails. 35% of the words could have been cut from the book while still retaining the same ideas and principles.

A more concise version of the most important recording principles can be found in McLan's 1997 "Using Your Portable Studio" which is old, but presents the same amount of timeless practical recording knowledge in far fewer pages.

Other thoughts:

Would have gotten 4-5 stars if it was more condensed, and spent more pages on real-world recording scenarios and applications (like specific trade-secrets from big-name engineers, or case studies would have been great additions).

I have been looking for a book containing real-world step-by-step recording practices and processes written like a recipe book, but I have discovered that such a narrow approach is better suited to a website. So, for more advanced and specific how-to's on techniques in mastering, mixing, midi sequencing, and the like, take the author's advice and search the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Introduction Book, May 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
If you want to enter the recording world and you don't know where to start, this is the perfect book to do so. If you are currently just starting your audio engineer career, this is also a great choice. It's full of graphs, figures and well explained diagrams. Can't go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good text, sub-par Kindle translation., January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is for the Kindle edition of Modern Recording Techniques. This book is my first Kindle book, and so far I am fairly pleased. I bought the book for my HP TouchPad and its included Kindle Reader (Beta). Compared to the physical copy of the text, which is quite large (over 600 pages long!), my tablet is light and tiny!

Reading the textbook is actually pleasant. The text is not as dense as other textbooks, so it is a fairly easy read. The diagrams are both clear and useful, and they definitely help with my understanding of the subject. In the Kindle edition, there are also links inside the text, so whenever the text references another section of itself or another chapter, you can touch the link and instantly navigate to the location it references. There is also a back button, allowing a reader to instantly return to the previous page after clicking the link.

However, the main complaint I have with this textbook, and the reason I must knock it down one star, is that it does not come with a table of contents. It has a lovely index of links at the end, but the inability to jump to chapters or even read the table of contents is a serious flaw, and its exclusion was a tremendous oversight. The only advantages to the Kindle edition, which you cannot resell when your class has ended, are its portability and the ability to jump to linked locations. Due to other reviewers who also noticed that the table of contents was missing, I was able to make an informed decision when I purchased this edition, but it is still disappointing.

For those of you who, like me, are still interested in the Kindle edition of the textbook, go ahead and buy it! If you want to make your own table of contents, place bookmarks in the following locations:

1485, 2121, 2592, 3169, 4193, 4442, 4993, 5762, 6000, 7014, 7603, 7949, 8053, 8703, 9430, 9575, 9909, 10182, 10349, 10697, 10998, 11140, 11178, and 11299.

While it is not an actual table of contents, it will allow you to find the necessary chapters much more quickly than if you had no bookmarks at all, a tremendous boon if you are reading this book for a class and not on your own time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice update to original, December 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
We have the first issue of this book, now this one. It's a great update. What a contrast. Interesting to see the progression. Digital is very diverse and can be applied in many interesting ways, but.....
"Analog blows away digital for sound quality" (Sorry but digital has not yet captured the warmth and feel of old analog gear.) Music connoisseur:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative explanations, maybe a bit dated., May 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
I purchased this for an audio engineering course I was taking and I thought it adressed the core concepts very well. Some of the items referenced may be a bit dated but not much has really changed in the world of audio engineering since this book's publishing date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thumbs WAY up!, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
If you are in the slightest bit serious about this career, this is a great way to get some GREAT information. I've been doing this for a few years, and still feel as excited as I was on day one when I bought my first textbook... it does get a bit DRY and sometimes hard to get through after a long day of tracking... HOWEVER, like I said, If this is your career, no matter your level of expertise, this is a fantastic review, all while learning new things. 2 Thumbs WAY up!

Rick G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book started falling apart just weeks into my class., March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
I can understand how a book will begin to show wear after years of use. This book began falling apart just weeks into my class. It is coming "unbound" at the seam. It should be replaced. I will hope for an email response before I try to call customer service.

Tom Hills
Student
Colorado Mountain College
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks specific's and wordy - there's better, November 19, 2012
By 
Drum 247 (OC California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
Its an ok book

After having seen so many 5 star reviews I expected alot more.

It gives a general overview (not step by step instructions, or specifics/details) for the most part.

"The goal of this book is to serve as a guide and reference tool to help you
become familiar with the recording and production process. When used in
conjunction with mentors, lots of hands-on experience, further reading, Web
searching, soul searching and simple common sense, this book, I hope, will
help you understand the equipment and day-to-day practices of sound recording
and production."

Ive read the first fourteen chapters so far.

It is very wordy for the amount of information it actually covers within each chapter.

This book will introduce you to alot of new concepts (assuming youre a beginner), but unfortunately for the most part it doesnt explain them thoroughly, so in order to really grasp them you need to read elsewhere - as an example below midi show control is a perfect example.

from another ("most helpful critical") review here on Amazon:

"The book is verbose. All the practical and useful tips are buried between pages, and there is no decent summary of the really important items at the start or end of each chapter, which is frustrating for note-takers. Blue text is used to highlight special ideas or points on each page, but it is abused so much that the emphasis fails. 35% of the words could have been cut from the book while still retaining the same ideas and principles."

Id go even farther and say 50% (or more) of the words could have been cut from the book while still retaining the same ideas and principles. But the reviewers idea was there and I totally agree, was refreshing to hear as well.

As an example (below). Ive worked with MIDI before and have a basic knowledge of it and how it works.

MIDI chapter is a good example, where it goes on for PAGES of reading before mentioning that MIDI is performance data, which is what it actually is (mainly/most importantly). Before MIDI synthesizers were not able to communicate with one another (basically put) so the entire industry agreed on MIDI which allowed all synthesizers with MIDI to work in tandem with one another. MIDI as performance data is recorded as your musical performance (note values, how hard or soft you played, how long a note was sustained, etc). One common application of this would be to assign a MIDI performance to a different instrument (through use a DAW containing a sequencer - most nowadays do), and hear it played back as a different instrument without having to re-record a track. The book finally gives one analogy after pages of reading saying MIDI is analogous to a player pianos player wheel (this is paraphrased fyi) which has the information for what notes are to be played (in which order). The book still doesnt tell you at this point that MIDI also contains performance info on how hard or soft a key was pressed (or any trigger was struck), the duration, after touch, rhythm, etc. It also mentions MIDI applied to lighting systems (MIDI Show Control / MSC - book does not even tell you it's called MSC/Midi Show Control) and goes no further with its explanation (almost as if it were a random statement w/ no further explanation). In this context (MSC) MIDI is used to control lighting systems (think large arenas, stages, etc). As with the entire book you need to read on/read MORE about it to gain a further understanding which is still (in the end) incomplete.

Summary:
It will/might introduce you to new concepts
It will not thoroughly explain them

hope this review helps

***another useful book which goes into more detail - a great co-read (or stand alone/replacement)

THE RECORDING ENGINEER'S HANDBOOK
Second Edition
Bobby Owsinski

More "to the point", less wordy, very informative, practical, covers the basics, all the while not dumming it down. And far more inclusive than this book!

GREAT STUFF!

*third edition to be out soon - you can pre-order now here on Amazon

(free pdf on the net fyi) google search!

***EXTENDED / COMPARISON SECTION BELOW***

An excerpt from MOD REC TECH - and - from THE RECORDING ENGINEER'S HANDBOOK
-both on pre-amps

(a basic and fundamental concept EVERY beginner/newbie needs to grasp)

Modern Recording Techniques:

"Microphone preamps
Since the output signals of most microphones are at levels far too low to drive
the line-level input stage of most recording systems, a mic preamplifier must be
used to boost its signal to acceptable levels (often by 30 to 70ÂdB). With the
advent of improved technologies in analog and digital console design, hard-disk recorders, DAWs, signal processors and the like, low noise and distortion figures have become more important than ever. To many professionals, the stock mic
pres (pronounced "preeze") that are designed into many console types don't
have that special "sound," aren't high enough in quality to be used in critical
applications or don't have enough of a special, boutique cache for that special
application. As a result, outboard mic preamps..."

THE RECORDING ENGINEER'S HANDBOOK
Second Edition
Bobby Owsinski

Almost as important as the microphone is the microphone preamplifier,
or mic pre, mic amp, or just preamp. This circuit boosts the extremely tiny
output voltage from the microphone up to a level (called line level) that
can be easily sent around the studio to consoles, DAWs, and tape machines
(if you still use one).

Clear and concise.

Id also like to mention this book does go far more into the details and specifics of pre-amps as you read on. However that very definition in itself gives more insight as to what a mic pre is and WHY they exist than you'll ever get from Modern Recording Techniques.

To go on with the example below (next paragraph)

THE RECORDING ENGINEER'S HANDBOOK
Second Edition
Bobby Owsinski

Nearly every console and most DAW interfaces have mic preamps built
into them, but in most cases the quality of this circuit isn't nearly as high
(or as costly) as what's available as an outboard piece. Also, each mic pre
has its own sound, and most engineers will select the mic pre and mic
combination as a different audio color to fit the instrument and music.

The information contained within the above paragraph you will NEVER learn from Modern Recording Techniques, it doesnt tell you these things, which is a (are) basic/fundamental concepts - keep in mind that this was only the second paragraph on mic pre's btw.

decide for yourself

hope this review helps!

good luck and happy learning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learning, June 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
This book was packed full of useful information, it took me awhile to get through all of the reading material, it is a definate reread to go over the info again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book will show you the ropes, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modern Recording Techniques (Paperback)
Wow! I had to buy this book for my Recording and Digital Audio Production class, but would highly recommend this book to anyone, whether they have a class or not. Before, I had no idea what sort of microphones or equipment to get, but this book shows you how to build a recording setup, and all kinds of specific recording facts that all musicians or people who wish to record should know.

It also explains different roles in the recording industry, and the differences between professional setups in a recording studio compared to a simple home studio. Now, when I do at-home recordings, or talk to other musicians who have been in the industry for a long time, I feel on-par with others, and use the best equipment and settings to suit my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modern Recording Techniques
Modern Recording Techniques by David Miles Huber (Paperback - August 3, 2009)
Used & New from: $11.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.