Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun patterns for knitters who want to explore mitered squares
If you're interested in learning more about mitered squares or modular (or domino) knitting, or if you like to knit sampler projects, Modular Mix may be the booklet for you.

The booklet opens with a three-page section called Mixed Miters which walks knitters through the basics of creating mitered square projects including materials, gauge, and techniques for...
Published on December 27, 2012 by Underground Crafter

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for myself
Just got it, what I can see I LIKE, BUT I HAVE NOT HAVE TIME REALLY TO USE THE BOOK IN THE MANNER THAT IT WAS INTENDED
Published on February 7, 2013 by nancym


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun patterns for knitters who want to explore mitered squares, December 27, 2012
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
If you're interested in learning more about mitered squares or modular (or domino) knitting, or if you like to knit sampler projects, Modular Mix may be the booklet for you.

The booklet opens with a three-page section called Mixed Miters which walks knitters through the basics of creating mitered square projects including materials, gauge, and techniques for casting on, decreasing, and joining squares. Fans of Edie know that she likes to include the knitting math, and in this section you will also learn how to design your own mitered squares and determine the appropriate number of stitches to cast on. Edie also explains why you might want to use different cast on methods, which is helpful for other projects, too.

The next several pages are devoted to the Modular Mix Afghan, made up of 20 blocks (some of which are formed by 4 to 16 smaller blocks). Because modular projects are joined as you work, this overview is helpful before diving into the square patterns if you plan to recreate the sampler featured on the cover.

The 12 module patterns are presented in the next section. Each pattern includes a brief introduction, information on the stitch multiples in case the knitter wants to adjust the size, the color sequence, and the pattern. The patterns are simple, but Edie doesn't do as much handholding as some modern knitters may expect. These patterns are written like recipes, not as line by line instructions. I found them easy to understand, but a beginner (or beginning pattern reader) might be confused when reaching the last set of decreases, for example. Each square is also clearly photographed, so it is easy to see the differences in the patterns. Each square is available in 3 sizes (3 inch, 6 inch, and 12 inch). The projects all use medium (worsted) weight yarn and size 9 (5.5 mm) knitting needles, but of course could be adapted to other size yarn and needles for a different effect.

The book closes with a list of knitting abbreviations used in the booklet, charts showing recommended needle sizes for different yarn weights and conversions from inches to metric measurements, and an illustrated Knitting Basics section. There is also a photo index in the back that makes it easy to find patterns in the book. Like other Annie's booklets, this lays flat and is easy to read while knitting.

Overall, this is a fun pattern booklet for anyone interested in exploring mitered squares. While the booklet is brief (only 28 pages), Edie does pack in a lot of information, so it is suitable for knitters with a range of abilities. An adventurous beginner would have fun learning new stitch patterns, decreases, and increases, and a more advanced knitter could follow Edie's tips to design their own mitered squares.

Full disclosure: A free review copy of Modular Mix was provided by Annie's. Although I accept free products for review, I do not accept additional compensation, nor do I guarantee a positive review. My reviews are based entirely on my honest opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book for learning a new technique!!, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
I have beeninterested in modular knitting for a while, and this book is very user friendly! the projects are easy and even if you aren't a very good knitter you can pick up the technique!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oooo! So much more to learn!, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
I've only recently learned how to make the mitered squares that you don't have to sew into a finished product. I love this book 'cause it adds more designs into a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neat, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
You need to be an accomplished knitter. Do not recommend this book for beginners. Good book. Some instructions not easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great patterns, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
I just started an afghan, looks like it is going to be good. Modular square are a great way to make an afghan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great easy book, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
Why didn't I think of this book? I just love it it. Buy this book! It is a great cheap book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... the corrections from the publishers website & you're all good to, September 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
make sure you get the corrections from the publishers website & you're all good to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm gift, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
I purchased as a gift and she seems to like it. She's already begun a project. I looked through the book before I gave it to her. I wonder if she'll let me borrow it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for myself, February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match (Paperback)
Just got it, what I can see I LIKE, BUT I HAVE NOT HAVE TIME REALLY TO USE THE BOOK IN THE MANNER THAT IT WAS INTENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match
Modular Mix: 12 Knitted Mitered Squares to Mix & Match by Edie Eckman (Paperback - December 15, 2012)
$11.95 $9.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.