Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 29, 2012
The authors did a good job correctly pulling together modern information. The information is accurate and drawn from literature. Unlike some textbooks I have used recently, they were no factual errors. The illustrations are good. But, this book fell short on editing. The chapters are not very well organized; information that should be together is scattered throughout a chapter. Also, the language used is unnecessarily difficult at times. Finally, the paragraph organization is poor so you have to read and re-read to get the main points.

I would have liked to see better organization and editing. Overall, it is good info but very hard to read and extract what you came for.

But I would buy it again.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2010
This is a great book for someone who has already had a good introduction to Cell Biology and has an understanding of the cell. But for anyone who is using this as their textbook for a course in Cell biology should be prepared to be overwhelmed by the level of detail. The biggest problem of this book is that Biology is supposed to tell a story, where concepts can be outlined and then details fill in the picture. But with this book, the general concepts are somewhere in the middle of the chapter or at the end of each section and so you have to do a lot of page-flipping. If you want to know about a certain organelle, say, you have to go through several chapters in the book in order to really get a clear picture of it. There is supplementary material on the website than anyone can sign up for, but sometimes it does not correspond to the book and animations for pathways and mechanisms are sparse. Terms that are in bold often do not have definitions in the back of the book, and the index is not complete. Sections may be missing important diagrams that could potentially help students. However, the questions at the end of each chapter are helpful so it's not a complete trainwreck.

However, if you are willing and able to put in the extra work to try and decipher it, it could be a good reference or a supplement for a less detailed textbook.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Great price, shipped fast, great condition. Used as a reference instead of buying the latest edition and it worked out well. A little different layout than the newer edition, but most (95%) of the information is there.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2009
This book gets the job done, but it's incredibly difficult to get through. It is very detailed, which is great, but it also makes the main concepts somewhat difficult to grasp amongst the sea of specificity.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
This book was really good to use for an undergraduate or graduate class. It was mainly used as a reference for me in medical biochemistry, but it goes into a lot of detail, which I liked. i would definitely purchase it just to have as a reference book and a place with information that's important for molecular cell biologists.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2009
This is a great book, it goes into A LOT of detail, but their explanations are usually sufficient. I used this in my advanced cell biology course at Rutgers University and very thankful they weren't as picky as the book is on details. O
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
This textbook is great, both in how it was shipped and its contents. I highly suggest solving the Analyze the Data problems at the end of each chapter. They require some serious thought at first, but after answering these you'll become a pro at any open-ended questions you'll likely face on an exam!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2008
This textbook is packed with details, but I disagree with those that feel that this is a bad thing. I felt that this book was an excellent supplement to what I learned in class. Besides, it's molecular biology. The details are important and can't just be cut out of the book...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2009
The book is amazing, it provides detailed descriptions of concepts without losing the reader. The figures and descriptions next to the figures and their use in the text help the reader to remember by seeing the visual and then reading 2 times, once in the text and a shorter description next to the figure. The set up of the chapters is nice with well written overviews and a layout of where the writer is trying to take the reader. The medical relevance sections are intriguing and tie the concept very well into a real world example. The online animations, videos, and podcasts are nice. More offerings would be nice and possibly more detail in the videos would be helpful since the viewer can pause and rewind to see the video again.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
This is one of the most thoroughly written molecular cell biology book.
I think it is good for self-studying purpose too.
One drawback is that it is one of the heaviest textbooks I have ever had, and I am not kidding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.