Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Product
I really like this product, it's a nice alternative to the more expensive notebooks. Don't expect the traditional Moleskine feel though, it's a thinner material, but still a high quality product, i've had my set of three for a little more than three months, i take one with me everywhere to jot down stray thoughts and the other two i fill with writings that my wife takes...
Published on August 10, 2008 by E. Steimling

versus
61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, not up to rigors of day-to-day life in a pocket
This is a nice little notebook. It's thin, light, flexible and adds no bulk. It nearly disappears once its in your pocket.

However, if you're planning to carry it in your back pocket on a day to day basis, you'll find that it doesn't hold up well. I'm an office worker, and the one that I've carried one for about a month is in fairly rough shape. The cover is...
Published on March 2, 2010 by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy size, not up to rigors of day-to-day life in a pocket, March 2, 2010
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
This is a nice little notebook. It's thin, light, flexible and adds no bulk. It nearly disappears once its in your pocket.

However, if you're planning to carry it in your back pocket on a day to day basis, you'll find that it doesn't hold up well. I'm an office worker, and the one that I've carried one for about a month is in fairly rough shape. The cover is heavily worn and the pages seems to be a bit loose at the bindings. Also, the pages are, well, paper thin. More like vellum than normal Moleskine notebook paper. I can easily see the previous page's writing through the next, which makes it tough to discern at a quick glance.

I'm sure this would be fine in a purse or bag, but if you plan to keep it in your pocket, you may want to consider the tougher Flexible Reporter notebook instead. It's a bit thicker, about as thick as three of the cahiers stacked together, but is much more sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Product, August 10, 2008
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
I really like this product, it's a nice alternative to the more expensive notebooks. Don't expect the traditional Moleskine feel though, it's a thinner material, but still a high quality product, i've had my set of three for a little more than three months, i take one with me everywhere to jot down stray thoughts and the other two i fill with writings that my wife takes with her her when she goes on trips. I am very pleased with the professional look and feel of these notebooks, and i recommend this product to anyone looking for a journal with a nice look and feel to have around. I do miss the elastic closure of the other Moleskine models, but a very nice price for a very nice pack of notebooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading page count, July 13, 2009
By 
Chris Bacon (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
Overall, this is a nice little notebook, but "64 lined pages" is actually 32 physical pages, with lines on both sides of each page. They should be more explicit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but wears out quickly in daily use., January 14, 2011
By 
William L. Smith (Greenbelt, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
Although the size of this notebook is perfect to have a notepad handy at all times, it didn't hold up to life in my back or front pocket long enough for the price. The cover tended to wear out from the friction of moving around in my pocket and the detachable pages detached prematurely so I ended up not keeping any notes that I wanted to keep long term in the notebook. I eventually found some mini composition books at the local dollar store (available on amazon also). The first of three has lasted 5 months in my back pocket with no sign of falling apart and no pages lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets for portable note-taking and budding authors, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
Of all the many, many journals I've tried over the years, these Moleskine Cahier Journals are as good as it gets. You can find fancier journals with hard, leather-wrapped covers, gilded pages, and embedded illustrations or decorative scrollwork. You can find cheaper journals (like a spiral notebook). What you won't find is a more pocket- and travel-friendly journal than this.

Each journal in this pack of 3 is slim enough to ride in your pocket or any briefcase/pack/purse. The pages are just large enough and lay so flat that you don't feel like you're writing on something as annoyingly small as a post-it note. The ruled lines help keep your thoughts flowing straight across the page, but are printed lightly enough that it works passably well for brief sketches as well. The last 16 pages are perforated so you can easily tear out a sheet to leave a note, reminder, or phone number/address for someone else. The cardboard cover is slim and durable enough to protect the pages from tearing, yet flexible enough to mold to your butt or the bulges in your briefcase/pack/purse.

Yes, you can find fancier journals, but you won't find a journal you're more likely to take everywhere and always have on you when good ideas spring to mind. Authors, inventors, artists, theoretical mathematicians, and other obsessive or creative thinkers should never be without one of these. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but not durable, October 1, 2012
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
I like using my phone for notes, but I've found that the process of launching into a note app and starting to type is not as efficient as using a notebook. Plus you can easily scribble a simple map or picture. These notebooks have some good features, but this is not a particularly tough little notebook. First of, these are nice, low profile books that easy slide into almost any pocket. Obviously only 32 pages (they count 64 front and back) isn't going to get you far if you need to take notes on a regular basis, but for a quick "jot" or occasional "to do" this is awesome.
I like writing with fountain(Pilot Varsity Disposable Fountain Pens, Black Ink Dozen Box, 90010 or rollerball pens that use liquid ink, and the ink can bleed through the back of the page. however, this notebook so easily fits my needs and its design makes it easy for me to take along and not feel like I'm crowding my pockets. The final nice touch is the back cover that has a pocket to hold business cards or other small pieces of paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The paper is decent, the cover is lacking, December 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
Moleskines are lauded as quality notebooks, but they suffer from poor paper. The paper in these notebooks seems to be the same feathering, bleed through prone paper that is put in the bigger Moleskines. And don't be fooled by the picture, these little notebooks do not have the same smooth cover as the regular Moleskines. The outer cover of these is nothing more than thick black card stock.

When I originally bought these they were around $3.00 for three, and as of this review (3/29/12) they are almost $9.00. They're handy little notebooks worth checking out at $3.00, but at $9.00 they're a complete waste of money, especially considering how bad the paper is.

If you need a little notebook, consider one of Rhodia's offerings. They feature some of the best paper in the world that's fountain pen (and even flex pen) friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ink won't dry, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
Tried writing with a few different pilot pens and none seemed to dry in a reasonable amount of time. Wrote with the G2 several minutes ago and the ink is still wet. Paper is also on the thin side. Can't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm happy with them, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
They're a great pocket-sized notepad. Good color pages and lines. It's a softcover, though, so it doesn't hold up very well if you sit on it when it's in your back pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little notebooks, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moleskine Cahier Journal (Set of 3), Pocket, Ruled, Black, Soft Cover (3.5 x 5.5): Set of 3 Ruled Journals (Paperback)
not too large, not too small, perfect for quick jotting of notes, etc. when you're on the move. I have a couple in my organizer at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.