Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Entertaining & loads of Adventure
Great story for Middle Grade. Kids will be hooked and parents will enjoy.
Cute concept with a wonderful example of how kids learn from their own mistakes.
I purchased this book as one of my first books on my kindle. Finished it in a night!!

Refreshing story with little bursts of humour that's applicable to kids and adults.
I highly recommend and...
Published on June 17, 2011 by wanitajump

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Children's book should be more than this
I've grown out of childhood, therefore children's book aren't really my first attraction. However, I'd think any parent (which I'm not) would like their children to read quality books.

My grievance toward any children books is perhaps the plain and uninteresting character of the protagonist. So far, Molly provides nothing interesting to me, other than being a...
Published on March 12, 2012 by C.S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Entertaining & loads of Adventure, June 17, 2011
By 
wanitajump "wanitajump" (fruitbelt of Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot: Adventures Of Molly Mavis Gumnut (Paperback)
Great story for Middle Grade. Kids will be hooked and parents will enjoy.
Cute concept with a wonderful example of how kids learn from their own mistakes.
I purchased this book as one of my first books on my kindle. Finished it in a night!!

Refreshing story with little bursts of humour that's applicable to kids and adults.
I highly recommend and the price is too cheap to argue otherwise!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 19, 2011
This review is from: Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot: Adventures Of Molly Mavis Gumnut (Paperback)
I purchased this e-book for my kids who are age 7 and 9. We all LOVED Molly. She has such a passion for animals. She rescues a bandicoot from a cat and nurses it back to health. The story is brilliantly funny, amusing, sweet, and a fantastic read. Molly captured our hearts with her compassion, humor, and personality. She gets into all kinds of trouble, all in the name of saving this wonderful animal. This author has a special way of reaching children with humor and creativity. My son seems to get bored easily when reading, but he was totally entertained, as well as my daughter. I highly enjoyed it and I know people of any age will, too. This book was a pure delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Molly!, May 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this story, and Molly Gumnut. She's a delightful little heroine along the lines of Ramona Quimby, and just as likely to get into trouble. I adored her relationship with the little bandicoot, Furble. The climax of the story is engrossing and endearing, and I truly despised the antagonist, Gretchen.

I highly recommend this book - and if you've got kids, read it out loud with them! They will love Molly, and if Australian they will enjoy reading stories set in their own culture and climate, and if not Australian will enjoy learning more about that wonderful place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molly rocks:), June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Molly is quite a character that you will grow to love very much.
She acts silly at times but she has a big heart. When she rescues the baby bandicoot, she goes all the way to make sure the bandicoot is safe and 'bulldoze' anyone else that comes in the way. Molly is sure to stir up you emotions deep inside. She'll make you smile, laugh,and sad. It's a must read for all adventurous kids and adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Children's Read!, January 28, 2012
By 
I have just finished reading "Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot" by Patricia Puddle. That little girl can get herself into so much trouble! My heart ached for Molly as she tried so very hard to listen to her parents and Grandma. In her heart, she wanted Furble to be released back to his mother, but the danger to the tiny bandicoot over-rode all sense of right and wrong as Molly donned the hat as his protector.

The author easily walks you through Molly's inner torment when she can't make adults understand her motives when everything goes horribly wrong. Molly will make you shake your head in despair and swell your heart with pride for standing up for what she believes is the right thing to do.

I thoroughly enjoyed this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Children's Environmental & Wildlife Lessons, January 28, 2012
A comfortable and comforting story about the importance of animals and children to our environment, "Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot" introduces two young girls who care about preserving the environment, doing their part through nature photography for a class calendar. The girls try their best, though sometimes their best photo opportunities are interrupted by human intervention, such as passing speedboats. Then one of the girls, Molly, discovers a neighbor's cat planning to make dinner of a bandicoot. She may not know the exact species name, but she does know enough to identify it as a marsupial, and to notice that it is injured. Out of a kind heart, Molly determines to take the poor animal home and enlists her father to help.

In the time-honoured tradition of children everywhere, Molly wants to keep the little fellow, even though her Grandmother is an approved wildlife rescuer, and will know how to protect and care for him until his re-release into the wild. A bandicoot is a protected native animal in Australia, and like other rescued animals, is released into the wild whenever possible, to return to its native habitat.

The author skillfully works in the everyday reality of children this age, including a warm, noncompetitive friendship, and the school social climber from a wealthy family, who chooses poor Molly as the brunt of her disparagement. Neither is Molly drawn as a perfect character, but she is a caring, compassionate girl, and realistic in her behavior and attitudes.

Short but speedy chapters make this an enterprising novel for children from the level of new chapter readers up through middle school years. Additional information on the nature and behavior of bandicoots (and other animals) is woven throughout the story, making this an educational adventure for young readers-and their parents and grandparents as well. The book is richly illustrated with photos from the author. I highly recommend this and anticipate future stories from this author.

Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot (Adventures of Molly Mavis Gumnut)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, December 25, 2011
By 
Sandra K. Stiles (Sarasota, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot: Adventures Of Molly Mavis Gumnut (Paperback)
Molly is one of those kids who loves animals. A class project, where she has to take a picture of a native animal is the beginning to this wonderful story. When she sees the neighbor's cat attack a bandicoot, Molly jumps in to save him. She is not supposed to have the bandicoot as they are an endangered animal. She begs her dad to let her keep him. She even names him Furble. Dad takes the animal to her grandmother's house because she is one of a few people allowed to nurse the animal back to health as a wildlife rescue officer. Molly is not very happy when her grandmother tells her that they will release the animal back where he was found when he is healthy. It is here where she decides that she will have to take matters into her own hands. Molly is allowed to help her grandmother, but almost blows it by trying to get a picture of it for her school project. She is constantly getting herself in trouble trying to do the right thing. For example she goes to talk to the neighbor whose cat injured Furble and comes across as rude and almost loses her opportunity to help her grandmother. It doesn't help that she has a snotty little classmate named Gretchen who tries her hardest to see that Molly is always in trouble. This was a wonderful book that shows kids that they need to stand up for what they believe in, but at the same time there is a right and wrong way to do it. Both boys and girls will enjoy this book. Molly's antics will keep the reader rolling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Australia, trouble has three names: Molly-Mavis-Gamnut..., November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The key to a child's heart is often as elusive to adults as the secrets to health, wealth and happiness, but Patricia Puddle seems to have an instinctive knack for knowing not just what a young person thinks but also what she feels.

While taking photos for a middle-grade nature project, Molly Gamnut encounters an injured bandicoot and has no choice but to save it from the evil cat Tiddles who lives next door. Of course, she's smitten with her new friend and wheedles her way into spending time with it at her Grandma Lilly's home. But it isn't until her grandmother and father insist that Furble the Bandicoot must return to nature that Molly's true colors begin to show. You'll laugh as she leaps from dustups with seemingly all of her relatives as well as the school bully Gretchen Bloomfield, Mrs. Wilson next door and even her school's Principal.

Watching this lovable but troublesome young girl stumble from one huge mistake to the next will thrill readers of all ages, and it's likely that most will relate to the many problems she creates for herself while desperately seeking a way to keep her furry new friend safe.

Appropriate for all ages, I highly recommend this fun book from down under.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Molly!:), June 13, 2011
Molly is quite a character that you will grow to love very much.
She acts silly at times but she has a big heart. When she rescues the baby bandicoot, she goes all the way to make sure the bandicoot is safe and 'bulldoze' anyone else that comes in the way. Molly is sure to stir up you emotions deep inside. She'll make you smile, laugh,and sad. It's a must read for all adventurous kids and adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny read, May 4, 2011
As part of a school assignment, Molly's supposed to take a picture of a wildlife animal. Luckily for her, on the way back from the river Molly saves an injured rat-like animal from the claws of the neighbour's cat. Her father explains that the rat isn't a rat but a bandicoot and that she can't keep him because they need to grow in the wilderness where they can scavenge for food and build a family. Molly isn't convinced because the little critter sure looks like he would like someone to take care of him, so she vows to persuade her parents to let her keep the animal. How she does that is cute and funny since, the more Molly tries the more she messes up, until the only option she sees is to kidnap the little animal from her grandma who's a wildlife rescue officer.

Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot is a middle grade adventure for boys and girls aged 8 to 12 with lots of good twists. The language is kept age appropriate with a few difficult words to keep kids entertained and maybe provide a bit of a challenge. Molly's character is absolutely endearing. She is a funny, little girl with a bit of an attitude and a mind of her own. She simply adores animals and that's usually a good thing, but people around her just don't want to see it.
The humour was great, the plot kept me wondering what would happen next. A thoroughly enjoyable read for the young and young-at-heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot: Adventures Of Molly Mavis Gumnut
Molly Gumnut Rescues a Bandicoot: Adventures Of Molly Mavis Gumnut by Patricia Puddle (Paperback - May 13, 2011)
$10.99 $9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.