Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely and Vital
Those who have been reading Michael Yon's dispatches from Iraq have been ahead of the information curve for years. Everybody who cares about the war, one way or another, should buy and read this book. Yon has the call-it-like-it-is, straightforward delivery of a soldier - which sometimes got him in hack with the military. But he's always been an independent voice and keen...
Published on April 13, 2008 by Craig Good

versus
25 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in specifics
While I found this a useful and thought-provoking book, I also thought it would have benefited greatly from another hundred or even two hundred pages of exposition. When Yon mentions Fallujah, for example, he states quickly and casually that American actions there were badly conceived, or badly run, or both -- it's a little hard to tell -- but does not go into...
Published on May 16, 2008 by Rachel Neumeier


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely and Vital, April 13, 2008
By 
Craig Good (SF Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
Those who have been reading Michael Yon's dispatches from Iraq have been ahead of the information curve for years. Everybody who cares about the war, one way or another, should buy and read this book. Yon has the call-it-like-it-is, straightforward delivery of a soldier - which sometimes got him in hack with the military. But he's always been an independent voice and keen observer.

So here is a warts-and-all look at the tragic mistakes and near miraculous triumphs of the war in Iraq as lived by the people wearing the boots on the ground. Yon is this generation's Ernie Pyle. His book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! It will not dissappoint., April 10, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
As a long time fan of Michael Yon's work, I eagerly awaited the arrival of this book and it did not disappoint. His portrayal of our troops is detailed and allows you an intimate look at the roles they perform in Iraq. The fact that he is right alongside the troops and living with them allows him to bring you a perspective you don't get from green zone reporters & agenda setting producers and editors. Be sure to check out his website michaelyon-online.com/ for more information Michael Yon and his time as the longest serving imbedded report in Iraq. One way to describe the book is snapshots of history. Each chapter telling a story of part of the history of Iraq and how our troops are shaping that history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Understand Iraq without You (or sand in your boots), April 13, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
A great piece of work by the Ernie Pyle of our time (Michael strongly contested that comparison, but it's true). This is a different kind of war and Michael brings to life the issues, the problems, the missteps and the triumphs to be found there. And through it all, he honors the service and sacrifice of the American (and British) military in the field. Through him, you will understand the 'Devil in the details'; the frustrations and the hopes of Americans and Iraqis alike. And you will have pride in the humanity shown by the vast majority of both. No one portrays it better and there is not a dull moment to be had in this book.

The contents within the book match the photgraphic excellence on the cover. If you see that picture and want to know the whys and wherefores, GET THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, April 12, 2008
By 
R. G. Dyman (Brookfield, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a more clear telling of the story of our soldiers in Iraq than you find in newspapers and broadcast news, I highly recommend this book. As a former Green Beret who has spent more time with the troops in theater than anyone else, Michael Yon provides a perspective and insight that is sorely lacking in virtually all other sources.

From his first-hand accounts, I now have a greater appreciation of the work being done by our men and women in Iraq. Men like CSM Mellinger, LTC Kurilla and Captain Cook. I also see that many Iraqis like "Tonto" and the "Kit Carson Scouts" are doing what they can to remove the AQI barbarians and establish a functioning society.

This book is not, however, without it's criticisms of mistakes that we made in the past. As so often pointed out by our media (and much to the delight and benefit of AQI) there have been errors in judgment and action which have greatly increased our cost in both blood and treasure for this war. But it is refreshing to read how members of our military have recognized the mistakes, adapted their strategies and reclaimed the moral high ground. Something that Yon makes abundantly clear is needed when fighting a counterinsurgency as we are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journalism as practiced by an adult, April 14, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
An authoritative first-hand account of our Soldiers' actions in Iraq. Yon clearly lays out the story of our actions for good and bad. He evidently came in-country about the time I was leaving. He tells the story as I saw it and as my friends there now report it.

Yon doesn't mind saying who the good guys are. He names names and quotes directly.

It's riveting reading. There are far too few writers like Michael Yon. Hell, there are far too few people like Mike Yon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An objective look at Iraq, April 14, 2008
By 
Michael T Kennedy (Mission Viejo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
Michael Yon is not a cheerleader. He has been a soldier and must be in good shape to spend month after month embedded with troops and accompanying them on patrols. I have been reading his web site and have been on his mailing list (and contributor list) almost from the first time he went to Iraq. He and Michael Totten must be read every week to know what is going on. About half of this book is repeating material from his web site. The rest, however, is riveting and his opinions on the war prior to General Petraeus taking over are harsh. He says that hapless General Sanchez could "turn wine into vinegar with a glance." He is very critical of the Fallujah invasion, both the initial aborted one and the second invasion which cleared the insurgents but destroyed much of the city. He gives many examples of exactly how the new strategy is carried out and provides a "worm's eye view" of what is going on every day. He is very reluctant to generalize about strategy except to point out how successful General Petraeus was in Mosul in 2004 as 101st Airborne Division commander. He also points out how those gains slipped away when the 101st went home. He puts the final word out to confirm my theory that disbanding the Iraqi Arm in 2003 was a disaster, as was the dismissal of all Baath Party members from the government. This, at a stroke, decapitated the bureaucracy, which like Germany in World War II required all government workers to be party members. In 1946, we ignored a lot of small time Nazis to keep the country running. The same would have been wise in Iraq. This book is not large and can be read in one sitting as I did last night. Even though a lot was repetition of what I had read on the web site (and I recommend it), it is all worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moment of Truth in Iraq, April 12, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
This is the story of the soldiers, Marines who fought all over Iraq from a man who spent 2005 and 2007 in Iraq. There is no one better at telling the story of our people fighting over there. I recommend this book very highly. If you're a fan of his blog you recognize the stories, they are engrossing and they will make you proud of our men and women in uniform. Our leaders... well maybe not so much. Michael never pulls his punches so you will get the good and the bad. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moment of Truth, April 16, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
Michael yon is a new breed of war reporter. Self financing, obligated to no one, trained in military operations, devoid of domestic politics, fearless as a reporter.

In Moment of Truth, Mr. Yon brings the adrenaline rush of first contact to the reader as only a long term embed with US soldiers and marines can. Yon describes the shameless brutality of the insurgents, the bravery of the Iraqi troops and police, and the underlining goodness of our all-volunteer forces.

This is a must read for those who want to understand the harsh facts on the ground in Iraq. This book is not about domestic politics. It is about a just mission to bring peace to a troubled region. A just mission performed by the best military ever assembled.

I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speaks clearly about a complex situation, April 13, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
Michael Yon puts into perspective the changes needed to allow America to win in Iraq. This book will not be popular among entrenched advocates of conventional warfare, but it is critical to their moving forward as servants of the national interest. Going far beyond the sand tables of West Point to the sands of Anbar province, Michael Yon shares the insight gained observing the war in Iraq from walking the alleys to chatting with Ministers and Generals.

Certain to be on the required reading lists of many military organizations. Essential to understanding what is going on in Iraq today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why it's important for YOU to read this book, April 20, 2008
This review is from: Moment of Truth in Iraq: How a New 'Greatest Generation' of American Soldiers is Turning Defeat and Disaster into Victory and Hope (Hardcover)
As a reader and contributor to Michael's blog, the book fulfilled every expectation. But there is more to it than that...Michael documents not only the heroism of those who are fighting and winning this war, but also the unbridled evil of those we fight against. The story behind the story is Michael's delivery of the truth that we MUST not let the opportunity slip away to drive a stake through the heart of the evil that is Radical Islam. If we do not eliminate the threat now, our children and their children's children will have to deal with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.