Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant minimalism set with moments of lyric beauty
The opening impression in this work is that of shifting, surging minimalism, with cascades of strings woven over and about each other like a loom made of tides. The feeling recurs many times in the score, with those waves of rhythmic, regular, shifting, never quite the same sounds building into a solid tapestry of sound...and just when you think you have it, it stops,...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Storylover

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sound of sabermetrics
You would think it would be quite difficult to make an interesting film about baseball statistics, but that's what the makers of Moneyball have done. It tells the story of the wonderfully-named Billy Beane who, in 2002, having been recently made the general manager of the struggling Oakland Athletics MLB franchise, who rocks the baseball world to its core by embracing a...
Published on October 15, 2011 by Jon Broxton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sound of sabermetrics, October 15, 2011
By 
Jon Broxton (Thousand Oaks, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
You would think it would be quite difficult to make an interesting film about baseball statistics, but that's what the makers of Moneyball have done. It tells the story of the wonderfully-named Billy Beane who, in 2002, having been recently made the general manager of the struggling Oakland Athletics MLB franchise, who rocks the baseball world to its core by embracing a controversial new statistical method of choosing players to sign in an attempt to turn around the fortunes of his team. Directed by Bennett Miller and based on a popular book by Michael Lewis, the film stars Brad Pitt as Beane, Jonah Hill as his assistant Peter Brand, and features Robin Wright, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Chris Pratt and Casey Bond in supporting roles.

The music for Moneyball is by Mychael Danna, who scored Miller's previous movie Capote in 2005. In many ways Danna faced a task almost as difficult as Miller and his screenwriters: for a film without a musical hook - no musically distinct geographical location, no time period to influence the score - how do you write a score which captures the drama of the story, and remains musically interesting? The answer, in this instance, is very well indeed. Danna scored the film like a powerful drama - all surging strings, rhythmic tempos, tempered with moments of calm lyricism - which is quite engaging.

Much of the score is concerned with minimalist action, with a single instrument carrying its rhythmic core, while other parts of the orchestra express themselves around and about this central motif. The main title, "One Out Away", is a collision of shifting, interlocking string ostinati, an idea repeated later in the see-sawing pair of "Coaching" and "It's a Process", as well as the driving "More", which has an especially powerful cello motif at its core. "Spring Training" and "Time Tested Intangibles" have an almost Desplat-like woodwind dance at the center of the pieces which is very appealing, while other cues such as "Opening Day" and "Game 5" have a sense of anticipation and tension that is conveyed articulately and effectively.

Elsewhere, cues like "A Little Bit of Faith", "Big League", "Can't Miss Prospect" and "Oakland" are softer and more intimate, showcasing Robert Thies' gentle piano performances and offsetting them against brooding woodwinds and string sustains that carry the mood. Later in the score Danna introduces a subtle electronic element into the music, giving the score a little bit of a contemporary edge, most notably in cues such as "The Streak" and "Hattie". The longest cue on the album, "Old Ground", is actually one of its most understated, consisting of little more of shifting string textures and an occasional brass whole note or low-end piano chord for its 4˝ minute running time.

The album concludes with two songs - Australian singer-songwriter Lenka's "The Show" performed by the cute-voiced young actress Kerris Dorsey (who plays Brad Pitt's daughter in the film), and the 11-minute epic country-rock instrumental "The Mighty Rio Grande" performed by Texas band This Will Destroy You, which first appeared on the band's eponymous debut album from 2008, and which features prominently in the film.

I'm not entirely sure what all his has to do with baseball and statistics - maybe Danna is suggesting a little echo of James Horner's rhythmic writing for `genius' by way of his scores like Bicentennial Man and A Beautiful Mind, although that might be a stretch - but the music is compelling and interesting enough that it doesn't outlast it's welcome. While fans of more strident and theme-driven works may find Danna's restrained approach a little unapproachable and even a touch boring, for those who enjoy a more classically-oriented score with a touch of contemporary minimalism, Moneyball is worth a download for its 30 minutes of score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant minimalism set with moments of lyric beauty, March 22, 2012
By 
Storylover (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The opening impression in this work is that of shifting, surging minimalism, with cascades of strings woven over and about each other like a loom made of tides. The feeling recurs many times in the score, with those waves of rhythmic, regular, shifting, never quite the same sounds building into a solid tapestry of sound...and just when you think you have it, it stops, and a musical moment of peace comes over the score...spare chords touched on the piano. The whole thing comes across as beautiful and subtle. It's joys reveal themselves immediately, but it retains sufficient mystery to keep you engaged. Fantastic and lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review On Its Effects On The Film, January 11, 2012
By 
D. Brown (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The music by itself is a wonderful listen. I only just listened to the music by itself today. But I came to review the album based on it's effectiveness in the film. The music took the film to new heights for me. I couldn't believe how it entered my ears and went straight to my heart with ease. Of course the motion picture itself helped in that greatly.

But I've seen equally moving performances in films that didn't work as well when there was a crummy soundtrack. This soundtrack was just as effective as all other elements in the film.

I don't normally look for the scores of a film to listen to myself, but this one I did because it was that good. The most recent previous soundtrack that moved me as much was for American Beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, January 1, 2014
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I fell in love with "Life Of Pi" and was scouting out more of Mychael Danna's scores. I guess I was hoping this one would be better than it was. It's OK listening, but not quite for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Work music, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This soundtrack I fell in love with before I saw the movie. Just watched however and love the soundtrack even more. The movie is 5 stars in my book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Depends... Do you like baseball?, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
If you like baseball, you'll enjoy this. If you're not a fan of baseball, you'll probably think its slow moving and boring. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect balance..., March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I love it when a script, director, and the score of a film do their best in relation TO EACH OTHER.
All too often these days, the left hand doesn't know what the right is doing. And in many cases, it is the loudest, brightest, fastest that have to rival each other for "blow-your-head-off" kind of movies these days. So in each respect, the artist has to be over-the-top just to be heard, seen, overwhelmed by mere effect, irregardless of subject.
Moneyball was such a lucky combination where there is appropriate balance, and sensitivity to what is going on in the story. Mychael Danna did a wonderful score for for this film, period. If you enjoyed the film, the music will do a good job of reminding you of the rhythm and the varying stages of the story, while still standing on its own -quite a feat for such a low-key feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack!, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This soundtrack creates a wonderful sense of underlying tension, without becoming stressful. I truly hope we hear more from Mychael Danna soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good soundtrack but missing one song, December 17, 2011
This review is from: MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This movie has a good soundtrack and goes well with the movie but it's missing one song played very briefly during the movie which is: "Don't Stop Believing - Journey". I had heard this song on the radio and I liked it but I forgot about it over the years. Thanks to this movie, I heard it again and I now know more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
MoneyBall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Mychael Danna (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.