Customer Reviews


1,013 Reviews
5 star:
 (642)
4 star:
 (265)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


145 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Provides an "Aha" Experience
I never understood nor really liked baseball. I bought the book mostly to read about the inspired use of statistics, and the creative thinking that went into looking for the real keys to victory. I can safely say that while I may not have fallen in love with baseball, I will never find it boring again. If you have someone you want to turn into a fan, this book a superb...
Published on May 23, 2005 by Robert David STEELE Vivas

versus
38 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What about pitching?
In 2002, the season that this book concerns itself with, the Oakland Athletics tied for the league lead with 103 victories. The book Moneyball frankly admits that it doesn't wish to concern itself with pitching, but rather with hitting--runs and on base percentage (OBP). The reader is told time again that runs and OBP define the game, that pitching is secondary and...
Published on August 7, 2007 by James Kunz


‹ Previous | 152 53 54102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just a great writer., February 11, 2013
I have read Michael Lewis's other works and this one is no different. I really enjoy his writing style. I am not a baseball fan, but reading this book made me want to create a fantasy league team to see if I could build a winning team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Great read...perfect blend of baseball and business! I would definitely recommend this book to the avid baseball fan and anyone looking to get a better understanding of the business side of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "...way better than the movie (which was very good!).", February 10, 2013
By 
J. Greif "J." (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
This really is an excellent look at thinking outside of the box. Billy Beane has made the Oakland A's a successful baseball franchise with limited funds and limited resources by applying common sense and statistical analysis tools. The lessons learned have helped me to do my job better. Additionally, and importantly, Michael Lewis tells the story very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book i read ever, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
Required reading for anyone who appreciates the game of baseball. Michael Lewis gives all the facts on why the Oakland A's are so successful in baseball with ~$50M budget against teams spending 2-3 times as much. This book is not a glorification of the A's GM, Billy Beane but a complete dissection of the ways baseball teams must operate to compete successfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moneyball, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after watching the movie. Very interesting. Especially, I like the parts of describing some actual players.
映画を観て読みました。プレーヤーにフォーカスしている部分が興味深い。同著者の他の作品を読みたいと思っています。
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
It's a decent book. I like the first half of the book and how they go into the development of looking at other stats. Later in the book it seemed to drag and become a Billy Bean against the world mentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Billy Beane changed the way that scouts look at prospects. The best baseball players were good at playing baseball, not running the fastest 60 time, or hitting home runs in batting practice, or throwing 95 mph fastballs in the bullpen. Can you get on base, can you score runs, can you get people out, that is what baseball players should be ranked on. Well Done Billy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the movie, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
You get a more in depth look at the decision making at the Athletics than the movie indicated. All in all a good look at the revolution in baseball management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book and main character, February 10, 2013
Though I'm not a baseball fanatic, I found this book really interesting from a business management point of view. It makes you think that there is probably a science for everything. I came in knowing little about the characters themselves, who were not as confident as I anticipated, and I even felt bad for some of the major league players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Movie Tie-in Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Great read. Love baseball, and it was really interesting. Thought the book portrayed some interesting sides both to Billy Beane and his journey to the pinnacle of General Manager-dom. Definitely a worthy read for anyone interested in statistical analysis behind baseball, but also has a nice storyline behind it :) Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 152 53 54102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.