Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He was seeing more than anybody
For twelve years, Adrian Monk has been hunting his wife's killer, struggling with his phobias and compulsions, and solving plenty of crimes.

But now his lonely quest is finally ending. "Monk Season Eight" is a brilliant finale for the long-running detective series -- the writers have a whole season to wrap up plot threads, sketch out futures for the beloved...
Published on December 17, 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap shipping
Shipment was quick. None of the disks were scratched and played properly. But the case arrived broken, the case was all cracked. It was amazing that the disks didn't break. They shipped it in a simple envelope with no padding. The case didn't stand a chance! Contact them before buying a movie and let them know to pack better if the case is important to you as it is for...
Published 4 months ago by Niobis Andux


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He was seeing more than anybody, December 17, 2009
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
For twelve years, Adrian Monk has been hunting his wife's killer, struggling with his phobias and compulsions, and solving plenty of crimes.

But now his lonely quest is finally ending. "Monk Season Eight" is a brilliant finale for the long-running detective series -- the writers have a whole season to wrap up plot threads, sketch out futures for the beloved characters, and introduce a final round of bizarre crimes that only the OCD detective can solve. And of course, they finally address the main mystery: who killed Monk's wife, and why?

First, Monk (Tony Shalhoub) is hired by a former child star who starred in his favorite sitcom, "The Cooper Clan" -- and the reality might tarnish his favorite show. Among his other problems: voodoo dolls, UFOs, a Nigerian man whose wife was killed in a hit-and-run, camping trips with surly small boys, birthday parties, the murders of Dr Bell's new therapy group, a snobby theatre critic who apparently murdered someone while he was watching Julie's play, a dog Monk reluctantly adopts, and even the possible destruction of a good friend's wedding.

A familiar face returns to San Francisco when Sharona (Bitty Schram) comes back to deal with her late uncle's legal issues, but Monk suspects foul play. And Monk's longstanding dream of rejoining the police force is realized, but turns out to be... less than ideal. Finally, his ongoing investigation into Trudy's death twelve years ago takes a deadly turn -- not only is someone trying to kill him now, but an old secret from years ago reveals the truth...

There's a bittersweet quality to the final season of "Monk" -- on one hand, it's sad that the series is finally ending, and on the other hand it has some of the most particularly because it's the best season that the show has had in quite awhile. And the writers take care to wrap up various plot threads that have wound through the series (Trudy's murder, Monk's desire to rejoin the police force) and arrange futures for most of the characters.

And along the way, they provide a solid string of murder mysteries -- baffling crimes, obscure clues, and new eccentricities. And while there are many bittersweet moments, especially in the last two or three episodes, the season is peppered with some comedy as well (Monk hosts a hilariously squeaky-clean bachelor party) and some deliciously hilarious dialogue ("There is no Opposite Killer! If there was, you would have been killed by a falling rocket scientist years ago!").

And as for the ending... well, it has some major shocks and plot twists, and the mystery is rather brief and simple. However, the resolution of Monk's story is intensely satisfying and leaves you feeling warm'n'fuzzy.

Tony Shalhoub is, as ever, lovably oddballish as Adrian Monk; while his tragicomic performances are brilliant throughout the season, his performance in the final episode is shattering, raw and eventually uplifting. Traylor Howard, Jason Gray-Stanford and Ted Levine give solid performances (and their characters all get new romantic interests... some quite surprising!), and there are some excellent guest turns by Schram, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, and Virginia Madsen. But Shalhoub is the undisputed star of this season.

It's a wrench to say goodbye to Monk and the gang after eight long years, but at least the eighth season is a brilliant farewell. Here's what happened... and here's what Monk did about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Conclusion, December 27, 2009
By 
M. J. Merchant (St. Paul, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
The writers and the cast outdid themselves for the final season. The plot lines were fresh, witty, and hilarious. There are some big surprises in the eighth season -- not just in the individual episodes ("Happy Birthday, Mr. Monk" contains a big surprise, which I won't divulge), but throughout the season, the characters -- Stottlemeyer, Disher, and Natalie -- develop in some surprising ways that are satisfying to watch.

But it's Mr. Monk who really steals the show.

Tony Shaloub's acting as he breathes life into the neurotic Mr. Monk is always a delight to watch, over and over. And each season includes one or two virtuoso cadenzas to showcase Shaloub's talent, lest we start thinking that Shaloub and Adrian Monk are actually one in the same. For instance, in "Mr. Monk Takes His Medicine" (Season Three), Monk's new medication turns him into a completely different person, with hilarious results. ("You can't rush 'The Monk.'" "You're bringing 'The Monk' down, man.") And my personal favorite, which my wife and I have watched many, many times, "Mr Monk Goes to the Theater" (Season Two), in which we see Monk in a play within a play, where he gives a remarkably fine performance portraying a totally different character -- as long as no one is watching. In front of the audience, he becomes the painfully self-conscious Adrian Monk, stumbling over his lines. ("A man can't count on 'used to be' the way he's ... supposed to.")

The eighth season continues this tradition brilliantly with the episode, "Mr. Monk is Someone Else," in which Shaloub plays a character totally unlike Monk, as well as Monk, as well as Monk playing a character totally unlike Monk, to hilarious effect.

In "Mr. Monk Takes the Stand," Monk is so thoroughly, obsessively Monk again, that it is almost painful to watch him squirm on the witness stand. (Fortunately, he finds another way to solve the case.)

The biggest surprise for me this season was the delightful, surprising, and genuinely satisfying way that the series ended. I had thought I would be terribly sad to see the end -- and for a moment there, I thought I was going to be devastated! But now I just smile to think of these beloved characters going on with the next phase of their lives.

And at the very end, the door is left open, just a crack, for the possibility of a sequel. Arthur Conan Doyle tried to kill off Sherlock Holmes -- twice! But his fans would not stand for it, and Doyle was forced to bring the great detective back to life. We may entertain a glimmer of hope that Monk's fans will someday coax him back for an encore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of our beloved monk series, March 18, 2010
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
WoW! I worried; I almost didn't want to see the very last installment. What were the writers going to do? Would they be out of ideas; would they disappoint us; had they gone stale; would they wrap things in cliches and unbelievable tidiness?

What writing! That was the best ending to a long-standing series that I have ever seen. The writing was superb. It could not have been any better. They brought in everyone; wrapped up everything in so funny, touching, believable, and perfect a way, that we, the fans, were almost okay with letting him go. There were so many things I was afraid they were going to do - and they didn't. I think I watched the 2 ending shows 3 times, as I watched it with various family members who hadn't seen it yet. Everyone had the same reaction - wet eyes (even some of the guys!) and a kind of warm glow as you turned off the tv and told Monk good-bye. - Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic finale, December 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely fantastic finale The writers and producers of this show are exceptional.

I wish they'd reconsider and give us another few seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End Of Monk, November 28, 2009
By 
W. Frazael (Southwest USA) - See all my reviews
This Is A very touching show, showing the empowering affect the right woman can have on a man; And what the loss of that connection can do. It is the first half of a 2 part series finale. Anyone who had trouble with the series and its direction would be hard pressed not to get drawn into this the final installment of a moving and entertaining production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series!, March 11, 2010
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
So many TV series have unconclusive 'maybe there will be another season' endings - Monk doesn't. There is room for another season, but almost everything is wrapped up beautifully.
I won't spoil it for you; I'll just say that Monk solves Trudy's murder, we see Sharona again, and we get to see most of the major characters developed more; they persue their dreams and many of them find new love interests.
Love the show, and the ending is one of my favorite episodes! You won't be disapointed! My only complaint is that I would have liked to have seen Monk's brother, Ambrose, in the show. All the episodes are great and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So long Mr. Monk, March 22, 2010
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
MONK SEASON 8

*** ˝ Out of 5

Tony Shalhoub, Traylor Howard, Jason Gray-Stanford and Ted Levine

So here we are with the 8th and final season of Monk; upon hearing the news I was disappointed and I had hoped the series would at least get to a 10th season since it is Monk's favorite number, but after viewing season 8 I think it was wise to wrap the show up. Now don't take that wrong, by no means is season 8 bad, but it just lacks that something that made the previous seasons so good.

Season 8 features the return of Sharona after 5-seasons; the actress Bitty Schram was holding out for more money and the producers rather than give in fired her and wrote her off the show. A lot of fans were disappointed in how Sharona was written out and rightfully so. The big debate among fans is who was better Sharona or Natalie? Fans are split, but my choice is an easy one I much prefer Natalie and I also prefer the Natalie seasons as well.

The final season of Monk wraps everything up and some fans will be pleased and some won't, but we all know it's impossible to please everybody. As I stated before the final season of Monk was enjoyable, but in my opinion was slightly lacking that special something, regardless fans of the series should enjoy the season as much as I did.

MR. MONK'S FAVORITE SHOW- *** ˝
Monk takes a case working for an actress that was on his favorite show as a kid, Monk is excited to meet until he reads about her wild exploits in her book; good episode with a good twist, but the final act gets a little too over the top, but regardless a good episode over all.

MR. MONK AND THE FOREIGN MAN- ****
After a woman is killed in a hit and run, her husband comes to the States from Nigeria and stays by the crime scene burning incest, which annoys Monk, but after talking to him and finding out his wife was killed it hits close to home and Monk tries to help him out; this was a really funny episode this was classic Monk; funny, but yet tragic.

MR. MONK AND THE UFO- ***
While returning home with Natalie their car breaks down and Monk sees something that looks like a UFO, which brings in UFO seekers who think Monk is an alien; this episode has its moments, but it's just a little too silly, but an alright episode.

MR. MONK IS SOMEONE ELSE- *** ˝
After a hit man is killed in an accident the FBI contacts Monk since he looks identical to the hit man; Monk goes undercover to find out who the hit man was after; good episode, but nothing really special; overall it was quite funny and enjoyable.

MR. MONK TAKES THE STAND- *** ˝
As Monk is about to solve a murder case the lawyer of the accused shows up and when they go to trial to the lawyer rips Monk's testimony to shreds and the guy is acquitted and Monk no longer wants to take any more cases, but when Randy comes to Monk seeking his help he gives in and finds that he may be able to nab the guy for another crime; interesting episode, but the ending was way too Hollywood and was just to convenient.

MR. MONK AND THE CRITIC- *** ˝
After a woman is found dead from falling from a balcony, Natalie suspects a critic of killing her, but seeing as the critic wrote a negative review about her daughter Julie in a school play nobody believes her; funny episode, but nothing really special.

MR. MONK AND THE VOODOO CURSE- *** ˝
People are turning up dead and at their house police find voodoo dolls that show how the people were killed, each doll arrived 3-days before that person died and Natalie ends up getting a doll, which has Monk trying to find out what's going on; interesting episode with a pretty good mystery, but also a tad too silly towards the final act; nothing really funny, but the mystery of the episode keeps it interesting.

MR. MONK GOES TO THERAPY- ****
After Monk's insurance will no longer pay for therapy sessions he's left with no choice, but to join Dr. Bell's group therapy sessions where he comes across his rival Harold Krenshaw; but that's not all somebody is killing off the members of the group. This was one of the best episodes of the season; it's always funny and Monk and Harold are a riot.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MR. MONK- ****
Natalie is planning a surprise birthday party for Monk, but that's not an easy thing since Monk is always one step ahead; meanwhile Monk investigates the death of a maintenance worker; really funny episode one of my favorites of the season.

MR. MONK AND SHARONA- ****
After 5-years Sharona makes her return to collect money on the accidental death of her uncle, but Monk suspects foul play; this was the highlight of the season seeing Sharona back, while I prefer Natalie it was good to see Sharona again and get a better send off since the actress was of course fired for holding out for more money and therefore she was there one episode and gone the next; fans will love this episode.

MR. MONK AND THE DOG- *** ˝
Monk investigates a mysterious disappearance of an artist where foul play is thought to be involved; Monk ends up taking in the dog of the missing woman; not the best episode of the season, but very fun and lighthearted.

MR. MONK GOES CAMPING- *** ˝
Monk goes before a committee for reinstatement and suspects one of the men doesn't like him so he ends up joining Randy on a camping trip for part of an outreach program for kids and one of the children in the program is the son of the man Monk suspects of not liking him so he hopes to win the man over; funny episode, but just seems to be lacking a bit, which sort of sums up the season.

MR. MONK IS THE BEST MAN- ****
Captain Leland Stottlemeyer is about to get married to T.K. (Virginia Madsen), but somebody is trying their very best to make sure T.K. calls off the wedding; meanwhile after a body is found Monk is brought into investigate and are the two cases tied to each other? Very good episode and often funny this in my opinion was one of the stronger episodes of the season.

MR. MONK AND THE BADGE- *** ˝
Since the show started there 2 things Monk wanted; first and most important solve the murder of his wife Trudy and get his badge back; this episode one of those comes true when Monk is reinstated onto the police force and he cannot be any happier, but soon he realizes what he wanted to badly may not be what he wants at all; entertaining episode and it was great to see Monk on the force again; while I do think it was slightly lacking it is entertaining; Brooke Adams makes yet another appearance and once again as a different character. Adams is probably best known for Invasion of the Body Snatchers (78) & The Dead Zone (83) and she also happens to be married to Tony Shalhoub.

MR. MONK AND THE END PART 1- **** ˝
And here we are just about at the end; fearing Monk will find him out soon enough the man that killed Trudy hires a man to poison Monk, which he does; unless the doctors find where the poison came from there is nothing they can do; Monk knowing the end is near opens a Christmas present from Trudy that he never opened after her death; inside is a tape that shocks Monk and brings him closer to the murder. Excellent episode and really funny as well the highlight is the nurse trying to give Mr. Monk a shot;

MR. MONK AND THE END PART II
And he we are the final episode of the show; Monk now knows who killed Trudy and is bent on brining the person down while the hospital desperately tries to find the source of the poison; while I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with who the killer was and why this was still an excellent episode and really wraps things up nicely; it was truly great seeing Monk happy for once and I love the homage to the first episode with checking the stove; this is Monk like he was before Trudy was killed and Mr. Monk deserves the happiness. Like I said I was slightly disappointed with the revelation of Trudy's murder, but regardless it was an excellent episode and a great ending to a truly one of a kind show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Monk is Gone, December 27, 2009
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
I have watched this show from the begining, and I have loved it from the begining. And, although I am sad to see it go, it couldn't end any better. After the announcement that Season 8 would be the last season of Monk, the writers must've been hard at work. Because, I simply do not believe they could have ended this series better. Not only have they closed some doors, they opened some. But before you read anymore of this, I'll warn you. So here it is: SPOILER ALERT! We begin the season with Monk meeting his favorite actor from his favorite show.Then Monk makes a friend. A man who's wife also passed away right outside of Monk's apartment. After some more episodes, we see Sharona! Monk's longtime nurse/friend (season 1-3) comes back to see Monk and friends. More episodes pass by and then we come to 2 very important episodes. The first episode (8.13 Mr. Monk is the Best Man) is the episode in which Captain Stottlemeyer marries his girlfriend, Trudy (from episode 8.9 Happy Birthday, Mr. Monk) and Monk is the Best Man. In the next episode (8.14 Mr. Monk and the Badge) Monk becomes a detective on the police force again, but leaves shortly after because of the challenges and change that comes with being a police detective. And then comes the 2 part finale. While eating dinner with Natalie, Julie, and Natalie's new boyfriend Monk is poisoned. He tries to solve Trudy's murder as well as his own. Of course, he succecedes. He also opens up Trudy's gift, and finds out his dead wife was once pregnant before they even met each other. He then meets his dead wife's estranged daughter Molly. They are both very fond of each other. Afterwards, we find out Disher is leaving the SFPD to go to New Jersey and live with Sharona and become the new Police Chief there. After a short montage with a great "Monk Goodbye" song we see the ending Monk walking into a building with Stottlemeyer and Natalie. A great ending to a great show. I'm very sad to see it go, but am very excited to see the DVD come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No let-downs in the final season, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
Season eight is the final season of the hit show Monk from USA network. Perhaps one of the best seasons of all time from Monk, season 8 brings many monumental moments for Monk and his friends. For the final season, it was clear that the writers intended to wrap up all of their running story-lines and show Monk making real progress. He is still the same Adrian Monk we know and love, but through episodes such as "Mr. Monk Goes to Group Therapy," "Mr. Monk and the Badge," and of course, "Mr. Monk and the End (pts 1 & 2)," Monk makes leaps and bounds in terms of his biggest challenges. And, as expected, the rest of the ensemble cast has their share of time in the lime-light. "Mr. Monk and the Critic" is an episode that features Natalie prominently, "Mr. Monk Goes Camping" centers around Disher for much of the story, and Stottlemeyer has "Mr. Monk is the Best Man" to showcase his character. And, of course, the long awaited return of Bitty Schram finally came about in season eight with "Mr. Monk and Sharona."

The season finale is perhaps the most well written and well acted episode of the series. Fans, along with Monk, finally discover what happened to Trudy and it's an emotional rollercoaster as they follow Monk on his journey to bring justice to her killer. Tony Shalhoub deserved every award they could give him for his portrayal of Adrian Monk in that final episode. The series is wrapped up in such a beautiful and fulfilling way, fans are left with feeling the satisfaction of completion.

The special features provide fascinating and entertaining looks into the behind-the-scenes. These features include Tours of the Set, interviews with the cast and creators, on set footage of the final day of shooting, and (my favorite) a video commentary for the final two episodes with Tony Shalhoub, Randy Zisk, and Andy Breckman. Speaking as one Monk fan to another, I'm telling you, you MUST own this final season...you'll thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Season, Best Yet, December 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monk: Season 8 (DVD)
You'd think that the final season would indicate that the writers were running out of ideas. I was quite pleased to find that that was not the case. The episodes were some of the best yet. The finale was also very well done. I hate to see the show just go away. I'm hoping that they consider an occasional TV movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.