Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show, Highly Recommended
I just watched Monk from start to finish, 8 seasons, one season a week for the past 8 weeks. It has to be the best -- or one of the very best -- TV shows ever produced, IMO. Terrific acting, great humor bordering on slapstick sometimes, good drama, fantastic character development. Tony Shalhoub is simply outstanding. Not to be missed.
Published on February 2, 2011 by Connie Rose

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the Show, hated the DVDs
Two DVD players, three computers, and I couldn't get the first disc to play on any of them. The second disc was cracked. I don't blame the seller (it was still shrink-wrapped when I received it), but rather the cheapness of the manufacturing process. Very disappointing, because it is a cleverly written show and deserves better.
Published 13 months ago by R. David Ludwig


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Show, Highly Recommended, February 2, 2011
By 
Connie Rose (Fortuna, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just watched Monk from start to finish, 8 seasons, one season a week for the past 8 weeks. It has to be the best -- or one of the very best -- TV shows ever produced, IMO. Terrific acting, great humor bordering on slapstick sometimes, good drama, fantastic character development. Tony Shalhoub is simply outstanding. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a gift, and a curse, July 25, 2010
Sherlock Holmes, Columbo, Hercule Poirot -- genius detectives are usually a bit quirky. But no other is as quirky as Adrian Monk, the obsessive-compulsive detective -- and "Monk: Complete Series " compiles every episode of this funny, likable little mystery series. Tony Shalhoub shines as title character, solving the case with his gift/curse and his willingness to go anywhere... that doesn't have germs.

Adrian Monk's wife Trudy was killed in a car-bombing, and the devastated detective fell apart completely. Years later, Monk (Tony Shalhoub) is partially recovered, but he still is obsessive-compulsive and has dozens of phobias. The only way he manages is with his assistant Sharona (Bitty Schram) -- and later her successor Natalie (Traylor Howard) -- babysitting him.

Courtesy of his friend Captain Stottlemeyer (Ted Levine), Monk is called in for dozens of bizarre, baffling cases. His excellent memory and his OCD ("It's a gift.... and a curse") allow him to see patterns and details where other people see nothing.

Among Monk's cases are going undercover at a prison, a killer dentist, a deadly Christmas gift, an elephant used as a lethal weapon, a billionaire mugger, saving Willie Nelson from a murder rap, trapping a black widow, the death of a 115-year-old man, the Mafia, garbage strikes, rock concerts, a cult, real estate, a murder on a sub, a voodoo curse, UFO sightings, martial-artists, murdered models, and a guy who leaped out of a plane -- and died by drowning.

But as quirky and bizarre as the cases is, it never stops hitting the heartstrings. Monk becomes attached to a little boy and a murder victim's dog, and it's a credit to this show's writers that the ending of those episodes aren't maudlin or sappy. And he is still passionately devoted to his dead wife, and his quest for her killer is a story that stretches across the whole series.

"Monk" is the sort of show that usually gets cancelled after five episodes -- it's well-written, amusing, and smart. So by TV standards, lasting eight seasons is nothing short of miraculous. Like any long-running show it has its duds ("Mr. Monk Takes His Medicine" always makes me cringe), but overall it's a brilliant series.

There are gunfights and SWAT teams, like on any cop show, but the main focus here is on detecting. And the writers are skilled at coming up with all sorts of bizarre or unsolvable crimes, which only Monk could unravel. Not to mention the dialogue, which leans heavily on dry humour ("So you're saying the opposite of a spider is a tall building?")

But the series wouldn't be what it is without Tony Shalhoub. He played weird roles in movies like MIB and "Galaxy Quest," and so he knows how to balance out Monk's weirdness and genius without leaning too heavily on either. When told to sit on the ground, he says nervously, "I can't. Animals do things on the ground. Terrible, terrible things."

Schram and Howard are both good as his assistants, and they're similar without being TOO alike -- one was a hardened New York gal, and the other is a rebel rich girl with a checkered employment past. And Levine and Jason Gray-Stanford round off the cast as genial cop Stottlemeyer and his earnest (if slightly goofy) sidekick Disher.

"Monk: The Complete Series" shows us all of this excellent show, with its uniquely appealing hero. It's a gift... and a curse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monk must have, February 23, 2011
The complete box set is a necessary purchase for every Monk fan who wants to laugh over and over again. The only negative I have found with my purchase is that the first season's bonus footage has defective audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare jewel in the world of television!, March 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had this show been on one of the broadcast networks, it would never have shined so bright... cancellation would have been inevitable.

Monk is one of the few shows that succeeded in having both an ongoing back story along with a primary story for each episode. The writing was superb and the number of episodes per season just right (16 per year except for the 12 in season one). I remember when every series on TV used to crank out 20-26 episodes per year, meaning at least 10 of them were clunkers. There are very few clunkers in this series, just a lot of good old fashioned crime solving by one of TV's greatest detectives.

Because of its home on cable television, Monk's writers had the luxury of telling their ENTIRE story all the way through. The build up to - and finally reaching - the amazing 2-part finale makes this one of the best television series of all time.

I watched all the episodes up until the end, then viewed the 2-part finale with total amazement while laughing and crying.

Oh, and Sharona shows up again in Season 8 for an episode too... Sharona, Monk, and Natalie together trying to solve a crime is something that might not have happened on any other show.

Wonderful, wonderful... I am proud to add this series to my collection. It's good old fashioned entertainment for the whole, detective-loving family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF MY FAVORITE SHOWS, November 7, 2011
This is an excellent set of one of the best detective shows ever. The only thing that is keeping me from giving it 5 stars was the fact that the episode guide did not come with the set. Other than that this set is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable show if you can relate, March 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this show because it is pretty funny. It also has good endings on how they did the crime. It makes you think throughout the whole episode. But Monk I can relate to because I have OCD as well. I need to have the exact number of boxers to my t-shirts, etc. I have to clean everything. It is really annoying and wares me out. But Monk is pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the Show, hated the DVDs, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Two DVD players, three computers, and I couldn't get the first disc to play on any of them. The second disc was cracked. I don't blame the seller (it was still shrink-wrapped when I received it), but rather the cheapness of the manufacturing process. Very disappointing, because it is a cleverly written show and deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to love Monk, November 9, 2011
I never saw this show while it was on t.v., but a neighbor of mine loaned me this set and I became ADDICTED. It is one of the best shows I've seen, all the actors are perfectly cast, the writing is hilarious-- Just a great show. I was sad when I reached the end of the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Happy, October 6, 2011
By 
Shirley Gambrel (Lawrenceburg, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Complete Series of MONK was everything I expected it to be them some. The individual clips is an added extra that gives input on the personalities of the staff members. I would recommend this to whom ever likes the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monk DVD Complete Series, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I only realized how much I enjoy the "Monk" series after the series ended. Only complaint: The DVDs are hard to separate from the holders. Weird packaging. Other than that, I am enjoying this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Monk: The Complete Series
$159.84 $99.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.