Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaged Spirituality
Extending the message of THE MYSTIC HEART, Teasdale articulates a challenge to all of us to live our spirituality by engaging the world and it's many problems through the lovingkindness, compassion, mercy and justice at the core of the great spiritual traditions. The challenge is an important one during this period of spiritual awakening that we are experiencing,...
Published on July 26, 2002 by Khenpo Drimed Dawa

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
It's kind of a slow read, or was for me, at least. I wasn't expecting it to be so organized religion based.
Published 5 months ago by Donald Huffstutler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaged Spirituality, July 26, 2002
Extending the message of THE MYSTIC HEART, Teasdale articulates a challenge to all of us to live our spirituality by engaging the world and it's many problems through the lovingkindness, compassion, mercy and justice at the core of the great spiritual traditions. The challenge is an important one during this period of spiritual awakening that we are experiencing, particularly in the USA. Self-centered spirituality ignores the core teachings of Jesus, Buddha, and so many others regarding selfless love and service. His challenge is nothing less than to change the world, to create "a civilization with heart!"
In doing so, he describes a variety of spiritual practices and perspectives, punctuated with personal and other stories. He then articulates a number of critical social needs, focusing on some of his personal passions: homelessness, oppression of Tibet, and world violence.
He also critices the Catholic Church for its failures to fulfill the Christian message of compassion and service in the world, particularly for the poor and oppressed in Tibet, China, and elsewhere. In the end, Teasdale offers a challenge to the Church to be the "matrix" or model for the interfaith dialogue and "a new human order."
The book includes numerous suggestions for each of us to engage our spirituality in the world through compassionate action and service. It is an important message for the new millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical ideas on how to help humanity based on the spiritual traditions of Christianity, Hinduism, and Buddhism, October 2, 2009
By 
Jerome Ryan (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life (Paperback)
Teasdale, a Catholic lay monk, combines the spiritual traditions of Christianity, Hinduism, and Buddhism to describe how to live in a large hectic city like Chicago. He talks about the homeless of the city, a recent bout with cancer, the need to make a living, support for a free Tibet, and the constraints of working within a church he loves but with which he has publicly disagreed. Teasdale looks to other monks in the world including Thomas Merton, the Dalai Lama, Bede Griffiths, Thomas Keating, and Thich Nhat Hanh to exemplify just what a life of truly integral spirituality might mean to us.

I really enjoyed this book for its practical down-to-earth recommendations on how to help humanity, like helping homeless people, while living the busy life in a city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking in Christ's footsteps, June 24, 2009
By 
Emil Toth (South Bend, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Br. Wayne Teasdale inspires and encourages us to lead the mystic life, while living a life outside the walls of an abbey or convent. He is a loving revolutionist who entices us to be more than we thought we could be. His exemplary life is expressed beautifully within the confins of the book's covers. Br. Teasdale has chosen to walk in Christ's footsteps. I've walked next to him and was awed by the sincerity and kindness he shared with those in his 'neighborhood'. This world needs more men and women who want to incorporate his ideals into their lives. Teasdale has left us with his love and understanding of what we can aspire to. The book is a wonderful read.

BATU: The Transformation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, July 12, 2002
Read this book if you hunger for more than just the daily grind. Teasdale will light the lampost to the formation of the interior silence. A great book by a man who is not afraid to share his vision and experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Brother Teasdall, June 27, 2009
By 
Amy Brown (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life (Paperback)
I'm buying another copy for my meditation teacher because I want to keep mine. It will go in the pile of my top 3% of all the many books I've read on spirituality. Brother Teasdale is a Catholic monk who defied tradition by opening up to all the spiritual traditions of the world. Mystics are open...and aware. He's a realized person who realized that all positive religions at their core are centered on God and working to transform souls from the self-centered life of ego based on greed to alturistic compassion and love for all beings and the world. He's a rare person who has been awakened...something that only those who see...can see. Hopefully some day there will be more people, and as more and more people become at peace so will the world. This book is ahead of it's time and shining light on the dawning of the spirituality age that is just starting to crack on the conciousness of humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, February 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's kind of a slow read, or was for me, at least. I wasn't expecting it to be so organized religion based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interspirituality, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life (Paperback)
I like the simple way in which Teasedale moves to
express the beauty of diversity we experience in
the presence of the divine. I felt the best chapter
was the one on "Interspirituality." It is so good
that he did the work to show us how to go about
being faithful in our relationships with friends of
other religions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being a Monk in the modern day world, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life (Paperback)
This was an excellent recounting of his personal experiences of trying the live the dedicated Christian life in the real world. He believes passionately that monks should be in the real world contributing (as Christ did) to the welfare of their fellow men. He does not see the need to hide in a monastary away from real life. He compared it to living in a hot house, which is an apt metaphor for the traditional monk's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book for the spiritual journey, January 1, 2013
By 
Laurie M. "Laurie M." (Canby, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful companion on the spiritual journey. I read a little bit everyday and it gives me a lot to digest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking, important reading, August 8, 2002
How does one cultivate a spiritual life in the modern world? In 1986 the author accepted an invitation to visit a Benedictine monk living in India: his third visit prompted an invitation to take an Indian monkhood. His experiences as a monk and mystic make for thought-provoking, important reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life
A Monk in the World: Cultivating a Spiritual Life by Wayne Teasdale (Paperback - September 18, 2003)
$15.95 $13.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.