Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some monsters your kids can relate to
Quick, name the most unmannerly group of characters on earth. No, besides a bunch preschoolers overdue for a nap. Monsters, right? According to Bethany Roberts, even monsters have manners sometimes. This book, written in verse, shows monsters at their worst and at their best. For example, "They might be very messy, / and leave things where they drop. / But they...
Published on June 11, 2000 by K. Bennett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cute
A cute way to review rules and natural consequences. Rules are not extremely defined. You need to help young students understand what the monsters are doing right and wrong.
Published 1 month ago by Bonnie Henson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some monsters your kids can relate to, June 11, 2000
By 
K. Bennett (Rolla, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monster Manners (Paperback)
Quick, name the most unmannerly group of characters on earth. No, besides a bunch preschoolers overdue for a nap. Monsters, right? According to Bethany Roberts, even monsters have manners sometimes. This book, written in verse, shows monsters at their worst and at their best. For example, "They might be very messy, / and leave things where they drop. / But they sometimes clean their rooms / and dust and scrub and mop." Every activity the monsters do is something kids can relate to, such as tearing up toys on bad manners days, and happily putting them away and repairing the broken ones on good manners days. Andrew Glass's monsters are warm and fuzzy. No need to worry about nightmares from this book. In fact, these monsters are an awful lot like little kids, who may sometimes forget their manners, but sometimes they don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Book on Manners- A Must!, March 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Monster Manners (Hardcover)
Like a spoonful of sugar, this fun book on manners makes lessons go down with giggles. With lots of monster exaggeration ("spaghetti sauce on our hair is nice", "stop eating my socks!"), these monsters portray typical etiquette and behavior situations that children encounter. They say please, thank you, and excuse me, return borrowed items, pick up their toys, do their chores, bathe, and exibit good sportsmanship. Sometimes they forget their manners and gobble and grab; sometimes they remember and politely pass the peas. Sometimes they quarrel; sometimes they hug. The illustrations of three lovable, silly monsters are colorful and playful and provide lots of visual humor. In the classroom, this book can be a springboard for discussion or for role-playing good and bad manners. This book is a hit with kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book my children will no doubt remember always., June 19, 2001
This review is from: Monster Manners (Paperback)
This book is so cute and the illustrations are really wonderful. It is an easy read and your 5-6 year olds will soon pick up the words. It is my 3 1/2-year-old and 5-year-old's favorite book.
I believe that this book will mean as much to them when they are adults, as Three Billy Goats Gruff means to me. It is a fun read when you change your voice. I really enjoy it myself. Never boring no matter how many times you read it to them, and it teachs a great lesson to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Monstrous Amount of Fun, October 9, 2007
By 
Madeleine "mom of 5" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Manners (Paperback)
Monster Manners

This book really caught both my twins attention. The monsters are funny and not scary. We can laugh about the bad choices some monsters made and talk about the good choices they sometime made - just like we make good and bad choices with our manners every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable, sometimes naughty, monsters, May 10, 2012
This review is from: Monster Manners (Paperback)
These adorable, silly monsters are both naughty and sweet, like my two-year-old. She loves reading about their antics and I love that they also demonstrate how to cooperate and share. My daughter now talks about cooperating and sharing and shouts, "I'm cooperating, I'm cooperating!" to indicate she's done misbehaving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Fun Book for Discussing Manners, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Manners (Paperback)
This is a cute and fun way to begin discussing the idea of manners with children. The book is funny and can lead to activities like writing your own book on classroom or household manners. I think this lends itself well to follow-up activities. I think I would recommend this book for PreK-G1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cute, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Manners (Kindle Edition)
A cute way to review rules and natural consequences. Rules are not extremely defined. You need to help young students understand what the monsters are doing right and wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Monster Manners
Monster Manners by Bethany Roberts (Paperback - August 18, 1997)
Used & New from: $8.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.