Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB 5V DC 1500MA; per 2 ports
USB 5V DC 1500MA; per 2 ports. This is what is printed in small type on the back of the packaging. Some people have posted that the USB output is 10 watts, they are mistaken or they have a different unit. The product I have (Monster Power Outlets To Go 3 Laptop) outputs 7.5 watts total, measured from one USB port or ganged across both USB ports. An iPad 1 or 2 (not sure...
Published on March 20, 2012 by Michael Lau

versus
26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Restrictive to be Useful
I thought this would be a great idea for charging multiple gadgets while traveling. However, it has a major shortcoming. (Well, actually, several.) The biggest shortcoming is that the plug does not swivel. If you plug it into the top outlet, you block the bottom one. Sometimes the bottom outlet is on a switch, or has the clock plugged in. A second is that it sticks...
Published 22 months ago by D. Reilly


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 138 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB 5V DC 1500MA; per 2 ports, March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
USB 5V DC 1500MA; per 2 ports. This is what is printed in small type on the back of the packaging. Some people have posted that the USB output is 10 watts, they are mistaken or they have a different unit. The product I have (Monster Power Outlets To Go 3 Laptop) outputs 7.5 watts total, measured from one USB port or ganged across both USB ports. An iPad 1 or 2 (not sure about 3) can take up to 10 watts to charge but will also charge at 7.5 watts just a little slower. I wish when companies describe their high powered USB ports they spell out clearly how much current or wattage is available on each port. Amazon product description did not list the USB wattage and Monster's own website did not list the USB wattage. I am still giving the product 4 stars because I think the product is a good design and even at 5VDC 1500ma or 7.5 watts it will charge 99% of my gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for home and travel - USB ports work from 100-240V AC and output 1.5A total, February 27, 2013
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I got interested in this product (Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300) because I'm constantly running out of AC outlets and USB charging ports in the house. In addition, this product has a great feature which is not mentioned in the Amazon product description page: the two built-in USB ports will work even if you plug the OTG300 into a 220V AC outlet.

Initially I have my doubts whether this product can be used overseas, so I inquired directly at the Monster web site. Here is the exact response I received:
"Monster Outlets To Go are designed for international travel, rated for 100-240v, 50-60Hz. The USB ports will work and support up to 1 amp."

As to the current rating of USB ports, Amazon product page is again missing this vital info. According to the package, the USB charging spec is "5V DC; 1500mA per two ports". I tried to verify this by connecting the OTG300 to my Kill A Watt Electricity Usage Monitor, and recorded the input power with different load connected to the USB ports. Here is what I found:

- With nothing connected to the USB ports: the input power shows 0 Watt
- With one device (VIZIO VTAB1008) charging through an USB port: the input power is 5W (1A at 5V)
- With two tablets charging through both USB ports: the input power increases to 8W (1.5A at 5V)

What this means is that the combined current capability from two ports is 1.5A (or 1500mA). But when you use only one port, the maximum current you can draw is 1A. Note that the VIZIO tablet will draw up to 2A when powered by its own USB power adapter. When it is connected to one of the USB ports on the OTG300, the battery pack will still get charged up, just at a slower rate. The same thing applies if you connect an iPad to the OTG300.

In any case, this product meets my needs perfectly since 1A is sufficient for all of my other portable devices. As an added bonus, this product will be useful during my next oversea trip as well. Therefore I consider it an excellent value.

[Side Note]
Just to be perfectly clear, this product does NOT convert voltage for its AC outlets (to do that you'll need an AC transformer). So although it can be used in foreign countries with 220V supply, you have to make sure whatever appliance you plug into its outlet is 220V-compatible. Thankfully, most portable electronics (such as chargers for laptop or tablet) are already designed for 100-240V universal AC voltage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for the road, September 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I really like this Monster offering. I have a three outlet version that has a single USB port, which cannot really charge the iPad efficiently. However, this unit allows for charging of an iPad with the full 10 watts. THis is a great unit and means you do not have to carry the USB charger for your devices such as the iPad charger. I find the build quality to be very good and the outlet placement to be perfect for most devices. The only thing that would be handy is if it had a cord, but that is a pretty minor thing since carrying a small extension cord is not a big deal. This is only useful when you have to poke around behind beds in the hotel to find an outlet. :) THis is an excellent unit for everyone and especially travelers. If you choose to purchase this item, I think you will be very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best item purchased for Africa, November 12, 2011
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I purchased this to charge two different camera batteries. This became a workhorse as some places in Africa do not have electricity except for 3 hours a day. When it is on, I could charge 3 items with the outlet and then 2 with the USB port. All of my fellow travelers had one power converter for one plug and hence could charge only 1 item at a time. This one charged at one time, 4 rechargeable AAA batteries, a portable computer and 2 different camera batteries. All off of one plug plus the adapter of course. When you travel there is normally only 1 or 2 plugs in the room and this made it simpler to charge all items when there was electricity available. This item was so valuable it was part of our carry-on and never checked in except for the plane trip home. You won't regret purchasing this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Restrictive to be Useful, September 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I thought this would be a great idea for charging multiple gadgets while traveling. However, it has a major shortcoming. (Well, actually, several.) The biggest shortcoming is that the plug does not swivel. If you plug it into the top outlet, you block the bottom one. Sometimes the bottom outlet is on a switch, or has the clock plugged in. A second is that it sticks quite far out from the wall. If you have to move the night stand to plug it in, then you have to move it pretty far, and the night stand sits away from the wall for your entire stay. The third is that you have to reach behind the furniture to plug and unplug USB cables. Instead of this product, I am now using Outlets To Go Power Strip with USB - Black, which is also available under Monster MP OTG400 BK Outlets To Go 4 Outlet Travel Power Strip (Black). Although the other product has a short cable, does not stand flat on the furniture and only has one USB port, it is much more versatile than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product!, February 15, 2011
By 
W. Conrad (KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I originally bought this to connect to a universal adapter when I travel abroad. However, I have found myself using it when I travel domestically as well as just around the house. The two usb ports come in very handy when I need to charge my gadgets and just don't have the power adapter handy or don't have room for it in my dual socket wall outlet. The device feels very solid and is easy to slip in a bag for transport. I have no complaints thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item, December 10, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I am not one why usually gets WOWed by Industrial Design.
This product is well conceived to be small and operational.

Compact, 3 outlets oriented in a fantastic way with the
integration of the 2 usb ports. The USB ports work well
for charging a Droid X.

A little on the expensive side but fair for the value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charges iPad2 and smart phone simultaneously. May block an outlet, June 1, 2012
By 
B. Lau (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
I've successfully used the usb outlets to simultaneously charged both my ipad2 and a Motorola Atrix (Android phone needing much more power than many chargers put out).

Note that plugging this into either outlet in a standard outlet installation
(pair of 3 prong outlets, one above the other) will block both outlets.
So in most cases, you will use 2 outlets to create 3 plus the USB outlets.
Would be better if it wasn't so tall.

I like the form factor and the folding plug.

The unit states:
100-240VAC, 50-60 HZ
USB output: 5VDC, 1.5 amp max
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor engineering decreases utility, June 27, 2012
By 
VT Prof "Terry" (Western Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
This product has a lot of potential that is not realized. Its biggest drawback is a simple one: It takes up two outlets when plugged in. When the plug is turned out and plugged in, the top of the gadget interferes with the receptacle above it. Bottom line is that you take up two receptacles to get three, a net increase of one.
The USB port seems to power my iPad 2 just fine.
If you are looking for something to take along with you I would encourage you to consider "the cube" (Leviton 692-I Triple Power Cube-Ivory). It's very small and gives a net increase of two plug-in's. Take along your normal "iAnything" charger and the two of them are still smaller than this one.
This would be great if the plug folded UP instead of DOWN to free up the receptacle above it. Any Monster engineers out there listening?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful for Traveling, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster Outlets To Go MP OTG300 LTOP 300 for Laptops 3 Outlets, 2 USB - Bubble Package (Personal Computers)
The specs are incomplete. This device _does_ work from 100-240VAC, 50-60Hz. The USB ports are rated at 1.5A though it isn't clear if that's 1.5A each or 1.5A between the two USB outlets (Crutchfield says "5V DC, 1500 mA per USB port," but another reviewer stated that it's 1.5A total, and I tend to believe the reviewer). 1.5A is enough to charge one iPad, or two phones, and perhaps one iPad and one phone provided you're not using the iPad during charging. Note that a USB 2.0 has a minimum guaranteed current of 500mA, but most laptops and desktops can provide significantly more current per port, and this device is no different.

It's nice to only have to carry a USB to MicroUSB cable (or USB to whatever cable) rather than another wall wart.

I used this extensively in China, as well as in the U.S.. In China you need either a plug adapter or you need to cut off the ground pin because the usual "universal" outlets have no hole for the ground pin. Using a grounding adapter will work as well, but you'll need to file down the wide (hot) blade to the same height as the narrow (neutral) blade because many "universal sockets" cannot take the wide blade.

If plugged into the bottom socket of a standard duplex outlet the upper socket is still usable for a non-grounded plug (if plugged into a GFI outlet where the sockets are further apart then the upper socket can be used even for a grounded plug).

One issue is that when used with a plug adapter, the whole thing tends to fall out the wall outlet when loaded with multiple devices so you need to prop it up somehow to keep it stable.

You should also bring an extension cord when traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.