Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: VHS TapeChange
Price:$14.95+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

59 of 77 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2009
Before anyone starts saying this has not been released yet and there cannot be a review of the Bluray edition let me tell you this, this movie has been available in Japan and Mexico for quite some time now, and I was able to get a copy of the Mexican edition, which was at one time, identical to the one to be released in the US. It is a 3 disc edition (2 BD plus DVD copy of the movie), this has now been changed to a 4 disc set in the US to include the additional digital copy.

Disc one starts with an intro by director Pete Docter, in which he pretty much explains all the contents in this 'glorious' high definition version of the movie. A mini documentary on the 'Monsters, Inc: Ride & Go Seek ' ride in Disney Japan is also included. The highlight to me was the creators 'Round table' in which they talk about the process of creating the movie, some deleted scenes not included in prior DVD versions are shown here and they finally explained to me why is it so difficult to get a reservation at 'Harryhausen's' if all the staff from the scare floor seems to hang around there!

The Pixar shorts 'For the birds' and 'Mike's new car' (originally made on 4:3 format) are also included in HD format (as previously released in 'Pixar shorts)

The movie is presented in 1:85:1 aspect ratio. The word that comes to mind to describe how this looks is simply 'Beautiful', the colors, the textures, Sullivan's fur, the character's skin textures, Roz' sweater. Details pop up, colors are bright and clear. I had never noted that the real name of 'Boo' is actually in the movie until I saw it on Bluray!

The audio is another improvement of this BD edition. Presented in an uncompressed 5.1 track, the music by Randy Newman and the sound effects (check the audio in the door chamber sequence or every time 'Boo' laughs/cries and there is a power variation) sound just great. Spanish and French Dolby Digital tracks are also included. An audio commentary with the creators provides a lot of details of the movie, since I have watched this over and over with my 2 year old kid I have been able to play the commentary a couple times so he watches the movie and I learn about how it was made.

One thing I noted though, the end credits in the Bluray are not the same as in the DVD. The DVD will have the bloopers play while the credits roll, while the Bluray does not. Those 'Bloopers' though are included in disc 2 as additional features.

Disc 2 includes a feature called the 'Employee's manual' Additional spots created to promote the film are included too. Storyboards and drawings from the artists in HD as well as the '100 doors challenge', which is like a trivia game in which based on your responses you will be offered a position in Monsters Inc. Disc 3 as mentioned earlier, is a DVD copy of the movie (in the Mexican edition the 4:3 presentation is included, NOT widescreen) which is great as my kid can have that to watch it as many times as he desires.

Fans of the movie or any Pixar movie should not miss this!
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
49 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2002
Admittedly, I am a fan of Pixar's work. Their artists have done some incredible animated features over the years. Between the "Toy Story" movies and "A Bug's Life," they have managed in a short time to build an impressive track record. Their shorts are also among the best ever produced. So my expectations going into this movie were very high.
The story concerns the monsters in your closet. The theory being that their world runs of the energy produced by children's screams. Sulley (John Goodman) is number one at getting screams. His main rival (Steve Buschemi) will do anything to gain the top spot. Oh, and they consider the touch of a human child to be toxic.
While not as instantly relatable as "Toy Story," the movie builds on the talents of Goodman and Billy Crystal (Mike) to bring you into this make-believe world as Sulley and Mike try to get little Boo back through the closet door to the safety of her bedroom.
Disney/Pixar has presented this well on DVD. Both Widescreen and Pan & Scan versions are available on the first disc. The second disc has games, outtakes, an award winning animated short, and a fun (easy to find) Easter Egg.
All in all, if you enjoy Pixar's work, or animated features in general, this is a must have for your collection.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
43 of 58 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2002
This is one of the best DVD's I've gotten to date. The movie itself is wonderful and includes the voice talents of Billy Crystal, John Goodman, Steve Buscemi, John Ratzenberger, Jennifer Tilly, and James Coburn. As you probably already know the storyline, I'll just talk about DVD.
You get 2 discs- one contains the movie itself (with the "full screen" or "widescreen" versions, as well as a director's commentary option)and the second disc is chock full of goodies! You get "For the Birds" the 2001 Academy Award winner for Best Animated Short Film (shown in theaters before the movie), and "Mike's New Car" (exclusively created for the video and DVD release, as well as an exclusive sneak peek of "Finding Nemo", the newest upcoming release from Disney starring Ellen DeGeneres, Albert Brooks, and Willem Dafoe. Plus, if you choose the "Human Door" option, you get a tour of the Pixar animation studios by the makers of the film. They'll show you deleted scenes, 3-D location flyarounds, and animation gags and "inside" jokes. The "Monster World" door is where the real fun starts- train for your first day at Monster's Inc.; see the employee handbook, and play the "Boo's Door Game", which works like a CD rom-type game. Use your remote control to go through doors and find pieces of Boo's door that come together like a puzzle. The kids and I had tons of fun playing this together. Even our 4-month old son laughed heartily while rocking in his swing. Definitely a DVD for familes to own- worth every penny for the amount of material you get. Buy it, buy it, buy it now!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 23, 2002
If you look at my other Amazon[.com] reviews, you will notice that I don't review movies and truth by told, I watch very few movies. Perhaps 2-4 per year, including both in the theater and at home on video or DVD. I'm just not a movie fan.
But tonight, we rented the Monsters Inc DVD and I absolutely loved it! Clever, hilarious, touching, innovative, unique, imaginative - those words don't begin to tell about this movie! You just have to see it.
It's such a pleasure to see a G-rated movie doing so well, both at the box office and also sales of the products for home viewing. This movie is totally free of sex, profanity, and substance abuse. Some of the action could be called violence, but not in the sense we usually define violence in movies! This movie might scare a 4-year-old, however. You need to know your own child to know if he's ready for this action-packed, laugh-a-minute masterpiece!
I watched this with my husband and two of our older kids (ages 19 and 21). We all enjoyed this movie immensely and can't wait to watch the extras on the other DVD. I can actually see watching this movie again, as the humor flies fast and furious and I know I missed a some good lines!
You will be touched by the relationship between Sully (the big blue monster) and the little girl he affectionately names Boo. He puts her safety above his job and above the good of the company. This little girl they created is nothing short of charming and endearing. You will instantly love her and cheer Sully on as he does everything he can to protect her.
The premise of the movie - that the Monsters collect screams of children which in turn power the city that the Monsters live in, is nothing short of genius. This DVD would be a great gift for many people on your Christmas List - regardless of their age!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon September 1, 2002
DISC ONE: For moviegoers during summer of 2001, the marquee was packed with animated options: Shrek, Atlantis, Final Fantasy and Monsters, Inc. If you disect the movies, the first two end up being dissapointing when viewed in the small screen and Final Fantasy is just made with a different public in mind. Now, Monsters, Inc. achieves in DVD format the same feel you got when you (hopefully) saw it in theaters: the movie IS a great movie for all ages. No bells and whistles: simply brilliant!
The script is very funny, clever and innovative (it is worth seeing on the DVD how much it evolved from the original treatment it was going to have...), turning around the ageless childhood fear of monsters into a fear of kids BY monsters, who need kids' screams in order to power their society. Top ranking scarer, big, blue and furry Sulley (voiced by John Goodman) and his one-eyed assitant, Mike Wazowski (brilliantly played by Billy Crystal) see their "monstrous" lives turned around when Sulley accidentally brings a little girl (Boo) by accident into their monster world.
Complementing the script and the voices, the animation is incredible. The faces of the characters, the blinking of the eyes (the red in the eyes, when Mike sprays antibacterial stuff on his face, the glassy look in Sulley's eyes toward the end of the movie), the fur of Sulley (every hair moving just as if he were real), the illumination all through the movie. Plus the persecution scene leaves you speechless: there's SO MUCH happening in it, and it's so seamless: one of the great animation accomplishments of the movie without any doubt.
DISC TWO: One element that powerfully called my attention is the very human (is that ironic or what?) touch that the second disc has. For example, the Director, the two Co-Directors and the Producer appear in the very beginning, showing you how to find your way around the DVD. It's not that it's a convoluted DVD or anything of that sort: simply the two discs are packed with all sorts of goodies and they are making an effort to have you find it all.
One of the best things included in disc 2 is the Oscar-winning animated short film "For The Birds" which we all enjoyed in theaters so much right before Monsters started. Also included are the complete outtakes (call them "bloopers" from the movie, if you may, whose concept alone makes you scratch your head in surprise while you laugh till it hurts). But the fun to disc two doesn't end there: there is a wealth of details for the more technically-inclined or those who simply are curious about the way animation is done, with a whole tour through the process, from story reels, to layout, animation, simulation (a key component in the level of perfection accomplished with Sulley's fur and the way Boo's big shirt works) ahd shading/lighting. Same thing is done with design and music & sound. Wrapping up the goodies is a pretty fun tour of Pixar studios where you can catch a glimpse of why these guys are able to come up with such a funny movie: they're having a blast there! :D
Technical comments
-If you view the DVD on a computer (as I did), the first time you do it, you will go through the installation of the InterActual player software. Hit "Accept" at every step of the way: whether you like it or not, you won't be able to take advantage of all the elements in the DVDs unless you view it using this software...
-Another detail for computer users: the "Peek-A-Boo Door game" was useless on my computer. It's designed to be played when viewing the DVD on a DVD player. In fact, it almost brings my laptop to its knees. So, my recommendation to you DVD-viewers using a computer to go past the intro page with all the games on it and click on to view the movie.
-Subtitles included are in English only, so that probably will not make Spanish-only or French-only-speaking viewers too happy, n'est-ce pas? Verdad?
In general, though, excellent! Five stars to this incredible production by Disney and to its Two-Disc Collector's Edition. You will enjoy every bit of it and watch it several times over.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 1, 2002
Having a young child, we were waiting for this movie to come out on cable or dvd -- no chance of going to a theater yet! So we were delighted to receive an advance copy from an online store and Disney/PIXAR. We've watched the film at least six times in the past four days.
The movie is terrific -- one of those films that children of different ages can enjoy AND adults can watch multiple times without going insane. This is the story of Monsters Incorporated, an energy supply company based in Monstropolis. In this reality, energy comes in the form of children's screams, and to that end Monsters, Inc. employees emerge from closets all over the world in order to collect a few GigaHowls and keep everyone's lamps and toasters running. The best scare team at Monsters, Inc. is John "Sulley" Sullivan (John Goodman) and his assistant Mike (Billy Crystal). One evening after hours, a child gets through a closet door and enters Monstropolis. Not good, considering monsters are scared of kids and believe their touch is toxic. Over the course of the movie Sulley and even Mike become attached to "Boo", risking health and careers to get her back to her home. In the meantime, incorrigible adorable Boo is having a great time scaring all the big monsters.
The film is incredibly well done, as technically flawless as earlier PIXAR productions, the Toy Story series and A Bug's Life, but even funnier. John Goodman perfectly voices gentle, affable Sulley, and Billy Crystal creates Mike, a frantic egotist who is also optimistic and loyal. In other words, with more depth than half the human characters being written today. The animation is stunning, and the story is lots of fun. Nothing here to disturb little kids, and a lot to entertain them. The only part I didn't like much was the opening credit sequence, which was reminiscent of 60s bedroom farces, but that's what the Select Scene feature is for.
There are two discs here. On Disc One you can view the film in fullscreen or widescreen format. Audio commentary by the director and staff is available with the latter. English captions, audio and video optimizers, and sneak peeks at PIXAR's upcoming "Finding Nemo" and Disney's "Lilo & Stitch" are also here. Disc Two contains almost three-and-a-half hours of amazing dvd extras. There's an interesting 20-minute tour of PIXAR; a very funny bloopers reel (that also plays during the credits of the fullscreen version); storyboards; deleted scenes; recording studio footage; character design; trailers and tv spots; footage of the Hollywood premiere; discussion of tie-in toys; a poster gallery; two Monsters Inc.-related segments from Ponkickies, a goofy Japanese animated show; Peek-a-Boo, a game; a history of Monster World; a Monsters Inc. employee handbook; and an introduction to Monsters Inc.'s version of baseball cards called Scarer Cards. The 13-minute original treatment and several scenes from an alternative story are presented that are as funny as the one that made it to the screen.
Our favorite extras were the outtakes; a new animated short, "Mike's Car"; the Oscar winning PIXAR short, "For the Birds"; fly-arounds of several movie locations; the guide to "in" jokes (eg, the appearance of Toy Story 2's Jessie when Boo is showing her favorite toys to Sulley); a fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the technical wizardry required to produce complex backgrounds, Sulley's fur, Boo's shirt and the city of Monstropolis; being able to watch a scene as it was done in storyboard, layout, animation or finished presentation; and a fun 4-minute clip with a few seconds of dialogue in each of the 30+ languages into which the film was translated. There's even a brief appearance by PIXAR CEO Steve Jobs.
Packaging and foldout are nice, and include a contest entry form (to win Disney dvds), a free tie-in storybook offer, and a coupon book (for popcorn; Monsters Inc. tie-ins; Disney storybooks, videos and dvds; and Disney on Ice). With one exception we ran everything on our dvd player without a glitch, and could not be more pleased with this very funny family film and the many many extra features.
Highest recommendation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on September 1, 2002
I loved this movie in the theaters (saw it 3 times in one week) and I love it even more on DVD. How is that possible you ask? Well, this 2-disc set is simply jammed packed with monsterously good information and entertainment for the entire family.
Disc 1 - A smile immediately came to my face when the widesceen version played as a default (you can select the fullscreen version from the menu). But the widescreen issue isn't as big a deal with PIXAR films since they restructure each frame of the film for a fullscreen presentation. I haven't read any cooberating info but this seems to be the case with Monsters, Inc. too. The only other options on this disc are a directors commentary (quite good, with minimal pauses) and an option to watch the film with an isolated sound effects track (very cool).
Disc 2 - After you've watched the movie it's time to delve into the worlds of PIXAR and Monsters, Inc. The disc is separated into the Monster World which is aimed at kids and the young at heart and the Human World which offers much more depth and insight into the creation of the film. The games offered in Monster World are fun and easy to learn. Slowly but surely, games offered on DVD are getting better every day. And lest I forget the Monster Handbook is a laugh riot! There is a terrific tour of the new PIXAR studios as well as fly-throughs of some key sets created for the film in The Human World section. This is also where you will see production art, deleted scenes, the original story treatment as well as a guide to the "in" jokes, original trailers, and much much more. It will take a truly dedicated fan (and most of your day) to sit through it all in one sitting.
All of PIXAR'S DVD releases have been stellar and Monster, Inc. pushes the bar even higher. By keeping the fun level high (keep an eye out for a wacky monkey) as well as separating the features into a fun and games section and a making-of section they have created a flawless DVD presentation and proved the old addage, "monsters lead such interesting lives."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2011
***This review may contain spoilers***

When "Monsters, Inc."first came out, some perceived a rivalry with "Shrek". I simply want to conclude that I enjoyed both heartily and own both DVDS, and that both are highly accomplished animated features. On the old "Ebert and Roeper" TV show, I remember that critic Richard Roeper somewhat dismissed the film as something the kids would enjoy, but something where the adults would be glancing at their watches every few minutes. I can assure Mr. Roeper that my eyes did not stray ONCE during the film; the poor fellow must have been jaded by so-called sophisticated movies.

I will not rehash the plot. I will say that all elements that constitute a movie, from background to characterization, were dazzling, convincing, and comprehensive. Monstropolis emerges as a fully fleshed out dimension uncannily mirroring our own - even up to the minute, with the simultaneously uproarious but sobering scene where a monster returns from the human dimension with a child's sock stuck to his back and he is manhandled (monster-handled) by decontamination crew members. Mike Waslowski (Billy Crystal) and James P. ("Sully") Sullivan (Goodman) move easily through this world. While the "Odd Couple" pairing is obviously not new (as admittedly, the plot - BUT WHO CARES?), Crystal and Goodman add spicy spin to their camaraderie. Despite Crystal's comedic presence, Goodman anchors this movie with his hulking and massive but ultimately sensitive and caring character, well, at least a good part of the time. Boo gives Sully a run for his money in the presence department.

Despite superficial plot similarities to Toy Story (especially in the climactic dimensional door pursuit - yes, a potential Disney theme ride) and yes, even a smidgen of "King Kong), "Monsters, Inc." stands on its own as a fascinating, well-rendered, multi-faceted piece of work. It is NOT a sickeningly cloying, sweet movie. Its moments of tenderness are balanced with some unsettling moments (e.g., Sully's scare demonstration (scared me, too) which terrifies Boo, Boo's restraint in the "Scream Suction" device by the unctuously reptilian Randall, and Sully's/Randall's fight, where Sully is being strangled by his invisible enemy). Sully's and Boo's developing relationship mixed in both laughter and tears. The dialogue and presence of the supporting characters was natural, matter-of-fact, and all the more funny for it.

In short, "Monster, Inc."'s plan came wonderfully together. Despite some commentators' views, the movie DOES have messages, not only of love and devotion and self-acceptance, but also about having the courage to risk altering a lifetime of conditioned thinking and behavior when it proves to be misguided. Pixar, you've done it again. Keep doing it...please!

ONE QUIBBLE: Boo spends a considerable amount of time in the Monstropolis dimension. I wonder what her parents were thinking when she went missing. Perhaps the Monstropolis dimension is on a different time line, where hours there are the equivalent of minutes in our dimension (time relativity and all).
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2002
Thanks to & Disney/PIXAR I received an early release copy of "Monsters, Inc. Collectors Edition 2 Disc DVD set to review.
Let me just say for openers that this is Disney / PIXARS best DVD effort yet!!! This digitally remastered movie has by far the most outstanding quality picture & sound ever. The presentation has both Standard (tv size) and WideScreen Anamorphic & Enhanced for 16x9 hdtv formats. Note: I have a 55" 16x9 HDTV w/digital Home Theatre Surround Sound and it was a pure joy to watch the vibrant colors and listen to the flawless sound!! Clearest Picture & Best Digital Sound ever. What a great experience. It was better than the movie theatre experience!!
Disc 1: the movie provides both Standard & WideScreen format as previously mentioned (the movie is 93 minutes). Sound is 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround EX Sound Effects (the best ever)!!! Also THX-Certified Sound Track. Sneak Peeks of future Disney movies... And movie commentary by PIXAR key Staff members (very informative).
Disc 2: Navagational Review to include; "HUMANS ONLY" - tons of information all about PIXAR film making and its talented staff -to include tours of PIXARS amazing facitiies (what a great & fun place to work). "MONSTERS ONLY" - Enter the world of Monsters as a monster employee in this wild factory & train for your first day on the job (games & fun for the entire family). "NEW MONSTER ADVENTURES" - Great shorts with Mike, Sulley & the Monsters, Inc. gang. to include, MIKES NEW CAR (hilariously funny), FOR THE BIRDS (2001 OSCAR WINNING BEST ANIMATED SHORT - outstanding), MONSTERS TV TREATS (cute stuff), PEEK-A-BOO's Door Game, Monster Story time & more. BEHIND THE SCREAMS - movie Outtakes (great touch), a monsters company play with the Monster gang. "ON THE JOB" with Mike & Sulley. "ORIENTATION" - Welcome to Monsters Inc, Your 1st day, History of Monsters, Inc, Employee Handbook, Monster of the Month (gallery), Scarer Cards with audio commentary. (OVER 207 minutes).
As you can see there is plenty of family fun on this Collectors Edition on "Monsters, Inc.".
In Summary: As children we were afraid of monsters in our closets. "Monsters, Inc." is a monster organization which takes advantage of this by collecting our screams (which provides pollution free energy source to the monsters world). Monster Sulley (John Goodman) the great Big Blue furry monster is the champion scarer & his sidekick partner Mike (Billy Crystal) a short Green One very large Eyed sphere with arms & legs are our main characters (Goodman & Crystal are the perfect team). The stories twist All of the monsters have one fear...... Children!!!!! Enjoy this adventure as one child, a 3 year old girl "Boo" enters the monsters world creating havoc everywhere she goes. This is a fun movie for the entire family.
Again this 2-Disc DVD set by Disney/PIXAR is total entertainment and a must for your DVD library! Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 10, 2006
Laughter, humor, a lesson to learn, an evil villian, a good guy, and his faithful sidekick. What more could you ask for in a movie? Oh, and there's even a romance!

They have made a great show for family and kids alike, something that mom and dad can enjoy watching, but that the kids will find fun too. It teaches a lesson... good conquers evil, laughter and love and friendship is more powerful than evil, fear, and nastiness. Good friends stick together and help each other, and also that we shouldn't be scared of things simply because they are unknown to us.

I think there is a subtle race/ethnicity lesson here too. The monsters are afraid of the humans... they say they are bad, evil, and can bring death and disaster. The monster leaders have made sure that all monsters know not to touch humans, because they are just BAD.

But when one human child gets into the heart of a popular and well known monster, and the monster lives and is not hurt in anyway for caring for and touching and being friends with this human, the rest of the monster world learns a valuable lesson in that humans are bad just because they are human, and that a child's laughter is the most powerful force there is!

Hummm, I think that's a pretty good lesson to learn right there!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Monsters University (DVD)
Monsters University (DVD) by Monsters University (DVD - 2013)

Toy Story [VHS]
Toy Story [VHS] by Tom Hanks (VHS Tape - 2001)

Finding Nemo [VHS]
Finding Nemo [VHS] by Albert Brooks (VHS Tape - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.