Customer Reviews


1,624 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,271)
4 star:
 (274)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornwall, Ny sixth Grader
Cornwall, New York Sixth Grader 3/7/07

I am a sixth grader. I think The Sea of Monsters is a great book. Percy Jackson returns in this story with new monsters, new surprises and a new camp director?! This exciting sequel to the Lightning Thief is with a plot and flow equivalent to that of the first. Who knew what could happen when a normal game of dodge ball...
Published on March 10, 2007

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No attention to detail
I liked the first book. Its a solid 3 and a half stars. This one not so much, simple things like him getting wet, in the first book he never got wet just came out of water dry. It mentioned him holding his breath, in the first book ue could breath under water. If your going to write a series make some things stay the same pay attention to the small details and they would...
Published on March 13, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2163 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornwall, Ny sixth Grader, March 10, 2007
A Kid's Review
Cornwall, New York Sixth Grader 3/7/07

I am a sixth grader. I think The Sea of Monsters is a great book. Percy Jackson returns in this story with new monsters, new surprises and a new camp director?! This exciting sequel to the Lightning Thief is with a plot and flow equivalent to that of the first. Who knew what could happen when a normal game of dodge ball turns into a struggle to survive? Percy is soon warned that Camp Half Blood is no longer safe for demigods. A crushing and devastating blow for Percy, who himself is a half blood. Someone has poisoned Thalia's tree and Chiron is the prime suspect. A quest must be taken up to retrieve the Golden Fleece!

Much to Percy's dismay he is not given the quest! Although he and Annabeth are forbidden to go this quest, they still go out into the mortal world to find the Fleece. Percy has been contacted in his dreams also by a person who is important to him. According to this person the Fleece is in the Sea of Monster. Unfortunately, that person is in the peril of death. He must now bring back the Fleece and save that person. Challenges await them though, so incredibly evil and ruthless...

Rick Riordan does a great job with this book. I like how the flow of the story fits in with the action theme. Riordan also pleases me with a splash of humor in this book. He also creates such great details on his characters that they come to life for me. Also, the spunk of Percy and his friends adds spark to the story. The creativity of the mixing of the Greek religion and modern day society produces an interesting blend. Whoever thought that Greeks were boring obviously never read this book. His creativity really makes this book shine. A two thumbs up book for any reader. I especially recommend this book for bookworms and fantasy readers, this book will really satisfy you.

Can Percy save the Golden Fleece and his friend? Will peace be restored to Camp Half Blood? Will Chiron be proved innocent?

EG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning DOES strike twice, June 25, 2006
Rick Riordan comes through again, and this follow up to The Lightning Thief is just as entertaining, informative and action-packed as the first book. This time Percy (son of Poseidon) is at school in New York when things start to go downhill fast, beginning with some bad dreams about his friend Grover the satyr, followed by an attack by cannibalistic dodge ball players.

When Annabeth (daughter of Athena) arrives on the scene with more bad news, Percy has to embark on another quest, this time unsanctioned, to save Camp Half-Blood, which is vulnerable to attack since its defenses have been breached. He also has to save Grover, who's found himself in an inter-species entanglement in which he doesn't quite see eyes to eye with his suitor.

Accompanying them is Percy's class mate Tyson, a street kid who counts Percy as his only friend, but who is much, much more than he seems. The three travel to the treacherous Sea of Monsters in the face of insurmountable odds to capture the Golden Fleece, which hopefully can counteract the poison and restore the magical protection of the Camp.

Steeped in Greek mythology, yet written for young readers, this one is highly recommended for developing the imagination with its combination of thrilling adventure and legend.

Amanda Richards, June 25, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the gods must be crazy..., July 27, 2006
The gods of old keep having kids. Hephaestus, Ares, Apollo, Hermes, Dionysus, Athena, Aphrodite, Hera, Artemis (who, technically is a virgin and doesn`t have any kids), Zeus, Hades, and Poseidon all have children roaming the earth, stirring up the order of things and trying to keep humans from destroying themselves. These demigods, or half bloods, congregate in a camp in New York called Half-Blood Hill, where the activities are run by Chiron (the trainer of Hercules) and Mr. D, the infamous Dionysus, who is serving a sentence of sobriety for chasing after the wrong wood nymph.

The thing is that three of these gods should not be siring any more children. Since the debacle of World War II Hades, Zeus, and Poseidon have sworn an oath on the river Styx that they would not father any more children, seeing as how their children are infinitely more powerful than the other gods. All but one has broken this oath, and one of the offspring to be born from Poseidon's dalliance is Percy Jackson (Perseus).

Percy, known to many reader's from the first book "The Lightning Thief" is adjusting to the fact that he is the son of Poseidon, the Sea God. His Mother has sent him to a progressive school for troubled kids, Meriweather College Prep. Here he has befriended the school's charity case for the year, an overgrown teenager who happens to be homeless, named Tyson. Tyson has gotten Percy into many scrapes this year because of his sensitivity, his brute force, and his ability to break down into convulsive sobbing. Everything is going fine until a game of dodge ball one gym class turns into a fight for their lives as Percy and Tyson realize they are up against a race of cannibals called the Laistrygonians, and they are saved by none other than Annabeth, daughter of Athena and friend of Percy's from Half-Blood Hill. She takes them to the camp where all Hades has broken loose.

For one thing the protective barrier of the camp is weakening thanks to a the Pine tree of Thalia. Thalia is the daughter of Zeus, a half blood who some years before had been changed into the tree to protect the others from certain demise. Now the tree has been poisoned and the activities director, Chiron, has been fired because of this. In his place is a starving man named Tantalus who sees Percy as nothing more than a puffed up brat. Even when Percy reveals that he has been having dreams of his satyr friend Grover and how his quest has led him into a perilous place, the Sea of Monsters, Tantalus does nothing to help Percy save him. In fact when it is revealed that the legendary Golden Fleece is on the same island as Grover Tantalus assigns Clarisse to quest for it before Percy. It is believed that the retrieval of the Golden Fleece will save the camp, but Percy is more concerned that his friend Grover may end up as a meal for the cyclops, Polyphemus, and wants to rescue him. Together with Annabeth, Tyson, and some aid of the gods the three set off into the unknown, and learn a few new secrets along the way.

This is a fantastic sequel to "The Lightning Thief". Percy Jackson is simply the fantasy character to watch in the next few years. This book has everything in it one can wish for. The characters are deep and flawed, the quest is compelling, the drama oozes on every page. I found that this was a compulsively readable book, one that I had a difficult time putting down in the three days it took me to read it. I marveled at the introduction of Tyson, because he is such a sweet and sympathetic character, and the connection between him and Percy is just a great touch. The mythos surrounding Thalia heats up in this book too, and I am aghast at the role she will seem to play in the following books. Even the emergence of Luke as a villain is perfect, as he is the ideal character to have as a rival, and Kronos is a nemesis to be feared in the future. My biggest gripe is that the cliffhangers, the introductions of new characters (and the implications of said characters and prophecies surrounding them) will make it very difficult for me to wait for the next book to be published... this is, for all accounts, my "Harry Potter" series that I would wait in line at midnight for. I am on pins and needles to see what Riordan dreams up next for Percy Jackson and the Olympians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sea of Monsters, December 21, 2006
A Kid's Review
Fiction it is full of surprises, adventures and every thing that is pleasurable to read. That's why I would advise reading the book, The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. This book is the sequel to the first book, The Lightning Thief (I would suggest reading that first). The Sea of Monsters is about a boy named Percy Jackson, who is the son of the Greek God Poseidon (God of the Sea). Percy is always being attacked by killer Greek monsters such as the Minotaur. He has to go on an adventure to the Sea of Monsters (the Bermuda Triangle) with his two best friends from Camp Half-Blood Hill Annabeth and Grover, and save his camp from being destroyed.

This book is the best book I've ever read in my life mainly because I love to read fiction books exactly like this. The Sea of Monsters is like a roller coaster you never know what's next. I would suggest this book to anybody in the world to read this book but if you just hate fiction, books do not read this. I would give the book five thumbs up if I had that many any were any time, or any place. If you are looking for a book with action, adventure, and surprises then you should totally get The Sea of Monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book Ever, January 20, 2007
A Kid's Review
The sea of monsters is definetly one of the best books I have ever read I loved all of the suprises in the book and how Percy, Tyson and Annabeth sort of replay ancient greek history. Rick Riordan has become one of my favorite authors. Now I have read the Sea Of Monsters and the Lightning Theif and I cannot wait tell The Titans Curse comes out. And I also hope that Rick Riordan will write many more books adding on to this series becouse they are the best books ever! I highly reccomend theese series and this author to anyone who is willing so sit down and read an extreemely good book. I could'nt put it down and I read it all in one day. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sea of monsters, April 13, 2007
A Kid's Review
The sea of monsters is a wondrful fantasy book that I would recommend to all ages. The book starts out with a kid named Percy Jackson having a horribe dream about his friend Grover. It turns out that the dreams are real. Grover is trapped on the sea of monsters. Percy has to save his friend Grover with his friends Annebeth and Tyson. The next thing you know there are at camp half blood. They are having a chariot race and people are almost being killed by demon posed pigeons. They almost drowned in a war ship because of the monsters of the sea. Tyson disapered on the war ship and was never found. But do the kids have enough time to save Grover and Tyson. Or will Grover be divowerd by a cyclops.

Percy Jackson is a ver determined 13 year old boy. He and his two friends Annebeth and Tyson are very strong.. He is also a very good fighter and cares alot about his friends. Percy and annebeth like each other but they wont admit it. All the kids are determined to retrive the golden cloth from the cyclops. Grover is about to be married to the evil cyclops as well. Grover is a syter and cyclp love to eat syters. But the cyclops is blind and he cant tell that Grover is a Syter and he is a boy. Who will they sae first?

You should read this book because it is one of the best book I have ever read. Trust me if I say a book is good its got to be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better (funnier, more action-packed) than Book 1, May 19, 2006
By 
"Sea of Monsters" is a sequel to Riordan's "Lightning Thief." Percy Jackson (you may or may not know from Lightning Thief) is the son of the Greek God Poseidon and a modern American woman, living in 21st-century New York. In Book Two, he returns to Camp Half-Blood (a secret camp for the children of gods and mortals, most of whom have secret powers), to learn that the Camp's protective veil has been broken by monsters and evil beings bent on destroying the half-blood kids. To save the camp, he and his friends the wise and brave Annabelle (daughter of Athena), Grover (his nerdly centaur sidekick), and a new character Tyson (who turns out to be a cyclops in need of a haircut), must seek out the Golden Fleece.

Which turns out to be in....Florida, I believe!

This summary illustrates the way in which Riordan ramps up two aspects of the earlier book: its humor, and its superficial similarities to the Harry Potter books. Riordan has a real sense of humor and an ear for witty kid-like dialogue (I loved the bits where Grover is captured by a larger Cyclops and talks his way out of marrying the big brute). A Voldemort-like character also takes shape in this 2nd volume - but he has not the physical strength to come back in full form yet, and will require the treachery of some of the half-bloods (presumably continued in future volumes) to come back to full power.

As in the first volume, readers will uncover a lot of entertaining bits of Greek mythology, embedded in the book like nuts in a brownie. Another delicious volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed by Kindleobsessed, April 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A couple of days ago I realized something...I read to much. Yes, I know...it's not such a big revelation, but how I stumbled across this was actually quite frightening. I was mindlessly flipping through my Kindle (admiring the 104 books I devoured in 2009) when I realized... "Geezus holy monkey balls, is it possible that I read this many series novels??" And sadly, after a long investigation and several unfortunate hot green post-its, I had my final count. 15. Yes.. that is right, I said 15, as in I-have-15-DIFFERENT-continuous-story-lines-making-slimy-little-worm-tracks-across-my-brain, it's surprising I can even function in normal society.

Anyways, after cataloging my mildly pathetic find I decided it was time to dive right in to book #2 of the "Percy Jackson & The Olympians" series. So here...action packed and sarcasm filled is your daily dose of me...demigod style.

I will admit I was a little frightened to start "Rick Riordan's" "The Sea of Monsters." After such a wildly mesmerizing 1st installment ("The Lightning Thief") I was concerned that it wouldn't live up to my childhood-fantasy standards. Thankfully, most of the time, I am just as annoyingly wrong as I am right and "The Sea of Monsters" deliverer the reality break I so desperately needed.

The story picks up a year after "Thief", with Percy stoked about his last day of mortal school. His inability to last through school years unscathed have been a constant threat to him, and this years absence of flying teachers and a best friend that turned out to be a goat has done nothing but make him lazy. How exactly does he discover this? Well... his new inability to properly hold his sword while being chased by Shrek sized bullies who think that "fire dodge ball" is the next big x-game event is a pretty good indication.

After being pulled to safety by a "surprise" guest he learns that "Camp Half-blood" is in jeopardy of being destroyed; and naturally it is his duty to save it. So with help from the always pissy Annabeth, and a 7 year old Cyclopes, Percy sets out to retrieve the ultimate restoration tool: The golden fleece.

"Riordan's" writing was again, nothing short of superb; drawing the readers mind into a wonderful adventure of imagery and pure excitement. I laughed out loud, just as I had with the 1st novel, and was instantly transported to a childlike state of wonderment and happiness. Even though it is obviously geared towards a younger crowd, any adult worth their flesh won't give a flying rhino's ass. These books are just plain fun.

There were 3 crazy sisters that share body parts and drive a cab, goats in wedding dresses, chariots of fire (literally), 3 kids on a mission armed with nothing but a thermos and a bottle of chewable vitamins, an 8 headed acid spitting rhino who loves donuts, a sea monster who really needs a toothbrush, a man-hating sorceress who has anger management issues, party ponies complete with soda-drinking hats and paintball guns, and 1 very interesting giant Cyclopes death duel.

Here's my advice: buy the book, read the book, and pass it on. There's nothing better than a little bit of adventure in your life. (As an added bonus, it stems some pretty cool dreams.)

Happy reading my fellow Demi-gods and remember: not all guinea pigs are pigs..sometimes they are pirates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sea of Monsters, March 14, 2007
A Kid's Review
The book that I chose for my book report is called "The Sea of Monsters." This book was about a boy named Percy Jackson who had a very adventurous journey to the sea of monsters. In this book Percy is a half-blood. A half-blood is a person who is half human and half Greek god. Percy is the son of Poseidon who is the Greek god of water.

In my book there is a very interesting plot. The plot is about Percy going to the sea of monsters. The sea of monsters to the humans is known as the Bermuda Triangle. There is a camp for half-bloods called Camp Half-blood. The camp has magical borders which are generated by Thalia's tree. Thalia was the daughter of the biggest god who was Zeus. Thalia's tree was poisoned by Kronos who is like the Devil. Since the tree was poisoned the magical borders were fading away. Percy, and his friends Annabeth, Tyson, and Clarisse went on an adventure to the sea of monsters to retrieve the Golden Fleece which would help heal Thalia's tree and repair the magical borders around Camp Half-blood.

There are two main settings in this book. They are located at Camp Half-blood which is in New York, and the sea of monsters which is also known as the Bermuda Triangle. The Camp is in a nice valley on Long Island, New York. The sea of monsters is appealing at first but once you step on to an island you will wish you never entered. In the sea of monsters there are a lot of monsters that inhabit the water and the islands. For example, on one island there are man-eating sheep. The man-eating sheep are a Cyclops named Polyphemus's pets.

In this book there is a conflict that the Golden Fleece was stolen by Kronos and given to Polyphemus to guard from the half-bloods. However the half-bloods were dying without the Fleece so they sent people to get it back. That is how they found a resolution to the conflict of not having the Fleece in their possession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No attention to detail, March 13, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Pounding Mill, VA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the first book. Its a solid 3 and a half stars. This one not so much, simple things like him getting wet, in the first book he never got wet just came out of water dry. It mentioned him holding his breath, in the first book ue could breath under water. If your going to write a series make some things stay the same pay attention to the small details and they would be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2163 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.