Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars �Nothing Personal�
`Nothing Personal', as this movie was originally and more aptly titled, is a low-key, darkly funny and engaging depiction of a dysfunctional 'family' of professional assassins in the throes of an internal power struggle. Claire (Kyra Sedgwick) and Nick (Stanley Tucci), a killer team with a romantic past, are sent to retrieve a wayward money-runner who has sold-out...
Published on March 8, 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped.
Great cast and great premise but the movie lagged a few times and seemed to not know where it was going. Some entertaining moments though.
Published on September 2, 2010 by sabre


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars �Nothing Personal�, March 8, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Montana [VHS] (VHS Tape)
`Nothing Personal', as this movie was originally and more aptly titled, is a low-key, darkly funny and engaging depiction of a dysfunctional 'family' of professional assassins in the throes of an internal power struggle. Claire (Kyra Sedgwick) and Nick (Stanley Tucci), a killer team with a romantic past, are sent to retrieve a wayward money-runner who has sold-out their boss (Robbie Coltrane). Thrust into the middle of a plot involving shifting alliances, challenged loyalties and crooked self-actualization theory, the attentive veiwer will be rewarded with many small moments that add up to a movie more substantial than it appears at first blush.
Strong points: The Hoebers' taut script; Director Leitzes' willingness to allow us to deduce much of the movie's background story w/out condescending paint-by-numbers scenes or lame expository dialogue; an effective cast featuring Sedgwick and Tucci's gently expressed adult partnership facing an inexorable fate; Philip Seymour Hoffman's unctuously ambitious provocateur; John Ritter's brief but effectively weighty performance; and perhaps most impressive, Robin Tunney's momentum building depiction of the consistently underestimated `Kitty'.
Weak points: Coltrane's `Boss' seems a bit scattered and inexplicably motivated; a few loose ends in the plot; a vaguely un-anchored setting devoid of police, witnesses or collateral damage.
$8.50 moments: Response of two assassins to being ordered to kill Nick; Claire's turn-about at the tree (and the little boy who drops in); Nick's impression of Elmer Fudd.
This movie's outlook and humor is reminiscent of some of the lack of "honor among thieves" and violence-based humor seen recently in `Out of Sight' and `Grosse Pointe Blank' (admittedly better movies). So, if you enjoyed those `adult' comedies, I'd wager you won't regret spending ninety-odd minutes with `Montana'.
"$8.50 moment": the point in a movie when you feel you definitely got your money's worth (value determined by the current average cost of a movie ticket in NYC).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More people need to see this., July 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
Aside from its refreshingly stripped-down plot, MONTANA is a pretty complex film. I say this because it works on so many levels, and is essentially impossible to pigeonhole stylistically. I suppose it's a crime drama more than anything else, but it's also hilarious, very violent, and not without a healthy dose of action fireworks.

Kyra Sedgewick is amazing as Claire, the only female part of a syndicate of hitmen. Her partner and possible love interest is terminally ill Nick (also played to perfection by Stanley Tucci). In charge of the whole operation is The Boss (Robbie Coltrane), and his assistant, Duncan (Philip Seymour Hoffman). When the Boss's mistress, Kitty (Robin Tunney) runs off, he sends Claire and his son, Jimmy (Ethan Embry), to go retrieve her. Once they find her, Jimmy attempts to rape her, and with nothing else to lose, Kitty shoots him in the head. This, of course, puts Claire in a very bad position.

Every aspect of this film is great. The screenplay (by Erich and Jon Hoeber) is witty, quick, very real, and devoid of convention. Leitzes's direction is down-to-earth, but hardly amateurish, and again, lacking any indie arrogance or MTV trickery. And you couldn't ask for a better group of actors -- there's a real chemistry there.

MONTANA is not going to change your life, but it is a truly exceptional film, and should certainly be unearthed from obscurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta love it, May 2, 2004
By 
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
It is easy to see why this movie has with DVD reached cult status. It is John Woo perfect on the conflict between loyalty and integrity, with only two-thirds of the blood. "I love bananas because they have no bones and I hate peaches, because they have stones" - you gotta love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's beautifull., November 21, 2003
By 
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
I liked the laid back feel it has.
What I remember most about the movie is the couple and their relationship. I like them because they are witty and strong, and they love each other in a sweet, loyal way that is the total opposite of the saccharine, phony romances I keep seeing in Hollywood films. They are grown-ups and they look like real people and they're charismatic individuals. That's a very needed break from all the bratty, spoiled silly, no-brain teenage movies the movie industry tries (to no avail) to force down my throat.
If it were a samurai movie or something, placed in such an alien and exotic place that your moral code somehow doesn't apply anymore, I wouldn't wonder "Why am I rooting and feeling for a couple or payed assassins?" But although it is placed in our world and our time it's like it's another dimension where it's OK for criminals to be talking to you about morals. They make me want to believe, which just might be the best compliment one can pay to a movie.
I would definitely buy it. And the boss is the giant in Harry Potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous work by a young talented director, January 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Montana [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Guns, Blood, Deceit, Lies=Really Cool Flick What a powerful role for a woman- we need to have more of these characters. An exemplary movie by this first time female director. You go girl!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mobbed Up, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
Critics usually use the term "underappreciated" for films like this. In numbers, it's probably true of "Montana", too, but not for those who "know". Never known Tucci to do a mediocre job and as the dying sharpshooter in this film he maintains his high standard. Kyra is a hoot: tough, loyal right bower to Tucci and (to an almost-fatal degree) to her undeserving boss, she's the right mix of velvet and steel. Strong cast (Hoffman, Tunney, Ritter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
If you like Kyra Sedwick, John Ritter and Stanley Tucci you will love this action adventure and very exciting movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
I personally did not watch this movie, but my father absolutely raves about. He says Kyra Sedgwick's acting is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Comedy, April 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
This is a sleeper comedy that came out of the 90's & is VERY amusing to watch. NEVERR a dull moment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Montana" DVD, April 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana (DVD)
This is a great movie. Quirky, funny and dark all at the same time. If blood makes you squeamish, it's not for you, but the characters and acting are well worth watching. This DVD came to me brand new, in great shape, arriving very quickly and well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Montana [VHS]
Montana [VHS] by Jennifer Leitzes (VHS Tape - 1999)
$19.98 $14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.