Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet and endearing story!
From the back cover: Man and wife facing the rigors of high country ranching. That was the simple, solid ideal that Daniel Lindsay willingly offered Rayna Ludgrin. But she'd lived a grand passion, he knew, and he could promise only a quiet, steady brand of love...!

Her soul raw with a new widow's grief, Rayna Ludgrin vowed she'd never feel love again...
Published on December 3, 2004 by Love 2 Read Novels

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Story Has Merit
The basic story is sound, but it needs more dialogue to make it pop. I feel like there should have been more anger directed at the selfish husband who left his family in such dire straights.
Published 16 months ago by Apple Pie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet and endearing story!, December 3, 2004
By 
Love 2 Read Novels "Sherry" (a small town in Kansas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Montana Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
From the back cover: Man and wife facing the rigors of high country ranching. That was the simple, solid ideal that Daniel Lindsay willingly offered Rayna Ludgrin. But she'd lived a grand passion, he knew, and he could promise only a quiet, steady brand of love...!

Her soul raw with a new widow's grief, Rayna Ludgrin vowed she'd never feel love again. Still, life under the wide Montana sky was hard for a woman alone - and she pledged herself to Daniel Lindsay out of a desperate need to save her sons and her ranch. But though she'd taken him into her home as husband, could she ever welcome him into her heart?

- - This is such a touching story. It really pulls at the heartstrings. The character development I thought was so believeable. I also felt that the book was written in real time instead of rushing through situations. Rayna was such a woman of strong character. Her first love, whom she had been married to for 15 years, died suddenly from working in a field on too hot of day. She is trying to make it by doing the work herself along with her two young sons. Lots of neighbors came to offer to buy the land cheap or marriage but no help really. Until Daniel Lindsey shows up and begins to help. He is so kind and gentle toward her and her sons. She knows he is a good man but her heart feels like it is betraying her first husband. They have many things to go through but they don't have to do it alone.

I highly recommend this book if you like sweet and endearing characters. It really pulled at my heart strings. It is a keeper for my book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT - DEFINITELY A KEEPER, August 12, 2005
By 
M. Hartmann "abayyan" (Milan, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Montana Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
Rayna Ludgrin is battling with grief - the lose of her husband, Kol after 15 years of marriage.

Now she has 2 sons, Kirk, 14 and Hans, 7 years old, to look after and a farm to manage.

Imagine her shock to learn from Clay Dayton that he wants her farm and her, even though he is married.

Rayna has two friends who have seen her through the years since they were six, Betsey, who is now single and Mariah who had married a man because he needed a wife and mother for his children and she found love.

Daniel Lindsay was the first neighbor to come and offer to help get in their wheat crop. Dang! but the storm came out of nowhere.

He made an offer for the farm and that is how Rayna found out how far in debt the property was mortgaged. And just how greedy Clayton was.

Kirk seemed to be of the opinion that he could support his mother and brother. Daniel had had experience in the ways of the world and how youngsters were worked. He wanted to save Rayna and her sons.

Rayna just couldn't love again after Kol, he was the love of her life. But she could marry to give her sons security and she would be good to Daniel.

Until she learned his secrets and then found it was impossible not to love him. Yet she tried not to.

What a beautiful love story! You just had to fall in love with these two characters. This story has more substance than most of the ones that dwell on the bedroom.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED -- Definitely a Keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confused, May 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
I read this series out of order and I kept running into people who appear in future books, so I felt like a fortune teller. I wanted to tell Betsy, not to worry. Everything would be fine. (Betsy and Duncan's story was my favorite)

Montana Wife was not my favorite of the series, but it was a good story and it was plausible. One part that confused me was when she was at Betsy's house....then she was at her house. I was confused.

The book really brought out the plight of the woman, and how a man was everything back then. Good history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, April 9, 2011
This review is from: Montana Wife (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book was so heartwarming you just want to take Daniel and hug him to you.He is such a wonderful man and so loving that you can't help but fall in love with him.I can understand how hard it would be not to feel guilty when your spouse just passed away but to have someone like Daniel in your life you can't help but understand how easy it was for Rayna to fall in love so quickly with him.It was a nice short book not alot of stress or drama just a nice story to keep you interested.Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rayna and Daniel, August 23, 2014
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
After losing her husband Kol Rayna stands to lose her land as well as her home, greedy neighbors wanted her land and take the wheat ripe for cutting. The bank started repossession and Daniel a kind neighbor started cutting it. After almost being raped Daniel proposed as the only solution to her problem will the young widow accept? I enjoyed this second book in the three friends series, the story is about heartache, greed, love, redemption and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
This is a great series. I have never read a Jillian Hart book that wasn't a keeper. The story draws you in and keeps your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Story Has Merit, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
The basic story is sound, but it needs more dialogue to make it pop. I feel like there should have been more anger directed at the selfish husband who left his family in such dire straights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars About lost love, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
Jillian Hart has a knack for making the reader dream about finding the perfect love after a lost love. Even though we are closed to finding love again, the heart always wins out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kept me reading, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
Finished this book in two days - the author really explored the character's emotions in this book. I loved reading the feelings of both Daniel and Rayna. You could really feel how they touched each others lives both good and bad. I did feel that the author was not as historically accurate as she should have been. But all in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surviving and moving on., May 6, 2013
This review is from: Montana Wife (Kindle Edition)
Her husband was dead. Rayna Ludgrin found herself unexpectedly alone. How was she going to survive and raise her two young sons? She discovers something shocking when she goes through her husbands papers...her ranch and everything on it are measured to the hilt! Men come out of the woodwork trying various schemes to steal her corp in the field waiting to be harvested, her land and her virtue!

Her neighbor Daniel Lindsay offers a hand up and a way out. He wants her land, but will marry her and provide for her sons to get it, so both of them will benefit. Rayna agrees, but can this marriage of necessity ever become anything else? Will they always be just friends?

A fun and easy read with many ups and downs on the path to their future. Great for when you need a quick distraction from our modern world of electronics and complicated lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Montana Wife
Montana Wife by Jillian Hart (Mass Market Paperback - December 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.