Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Moon Four Corners: Including Navajo and Hopi Country, Moab, and Lake Powell (Moon Handbooks)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2014
i was hoping this book would be a valuable resource for planning a trip to the four corners. i think it is better suited as a reference once you get there. the info is very generic, accurate mind you, but generic. most of the book is filled with info you would find easier online like weather by month, places to eat and places to stay along with contact info. my guess is much is subjective and in some cases out of date. i will say one good thing is the list of attractions he suggests you see based on the number of days you have in the area is useful.

it may be useful as a reference once you get there and if you are in an area with no cell or wifi, maybe. i just don't get the point of a book that lists stuff that is easy to reference on the internet. and other than a few pages at the cover it has only a few maps, no pictures of the destinations or POI really. the book reads like travel books published 20 years ago. old news in the day of internet on your phone. i did get a few little tips that could be of use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2010
if you want a grand canyon or las vegas guide book, this book is not for you. but if you want to know all about the rugged Four Corners region, buy this book. great maps, great descriptions, and very informative all around. also like the size of the book, it's a little larger than the size of a Reader's Digest, so it's very easy to carry with you on a hike.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
We have traveled in the Four Corners area extensively, yet Smith added so much to what we already knew. I wish we had had this handbook years ago. The last few chapters of background information explained so much. The organization of the book, beginning with the Hopi and Navaho presence and moving on to the states of the Four Corner area was such a good way to handle the information. I really can't think of any information the author failed to consider nor any place of interest, whether hisorical or scenic, that he failed to cover. An excellent guide, easy to pack in your suitcase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2010
This is an excellent reference book for traveling in the Four Corners area. It is more expanded than a strict definition of "4C", but I appreciate the additional reviews and have added more destinations to our camping trip. And we are planning more trips in the future, as it is all so fascinating!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2012
I've always wanted to visit this area. Between this book and trip advisor, I was able to put together a two week trip to this area. It was very helpfulo
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
This was the guide we used most for our four corners trip (we had three guides). It was very easy to find the informations, there were a lot of practical infos and also pictures and useful maps. I recommend it for traveling in the four corners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
Comprehensive Book Four Corners in small size for carrying on trip. It would be even nicer if the whole thing was in color instead of just the first 20 pages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
Dated but helpful for travelers to the desert states.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse