Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nekomimi Vampire Lolita, A Sinister and Cute Combination!
Moon Phase is a great Anime and I'm going to give clarification to exactly why that is.

Firstly with this product, the Super Amazing Value Edition means a customer can get a complete Anime series for dirt cheap, perfect for the current economy. Their is one lone DVD case that looks like it would only hold one disc like most Movies released from Hollywood would...
Published on April 6, 2012 by Johnny Thunder

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cute but uneven series ~
Before bashing not helpful, hear me out. I watch dozens of anime series each year and I love to buy the cheaper SAVE sets. I loved Ghost Hunt, D Gray Man, Hellsing, and many other Occult themed anime series. I also enjoy cutesey series such as Azumanga Daioh. So you would think 1 + 1 = 2 yes? Well it's more like 1 x 1 = 1. The series is neither great as a cute...
Published on September 6, 2012 by Christopher Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nekomimi Vampire Lolita, A Sinister and Cute Combination!, April 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Moon Phase is a great Anime and I'm going to give clarification to exactly why that is.

Firstly with this product, the Super Amazing Value Edition means a customer can get a complete Anime series for dirt cheap, perfect for the current economy. Their is one lone DVD case that looks like it would only hold one disc like most Movies released from Hollywood would come packaged. This one however has all 4 discs in the middle on two plastic page plates as if you are reading a book. An example of shelf space for a series like individual Trigun volumes on DVD, would take up to 8 spaces, whereas this take up a single space. Both are 26 episodes but this comes in a nice compact case.

Since this is the S.A.V.E. version, it is pretty inexpensive, but also lacks special features. Each disc has one trailer that automatically plays and textless songs are standard issue. It has all 26 episodes.

!!! [Spoilers]
The plot revolves around two main characters. Kohei, a spiritually dense Photographer, and Hazuki, a cute little Vampire girl. Kohei ends up seeing a girl by chance atop a haunted castle. Curiously he comes back later to investigate and ends up meeting Hazuki. She is trapped within this castle, like a prisoner. She pleads for someone to release her from this cage and tries to manipulate Kohei into helping her. The themes jump back and forth between Cute and Dark as the series progresses. While there is no graphic nudity, their is some convenient censoring in a few select scenes which could be viewed as Fanservice. A good example is a bubble bath where the protagonist, Hazuki acts in a precocious manner. While it may be a bit risque, it's not really as "bad" as you might think (in my opinion). Hazuki then gives Kohei a special "kiss" and then expects him to obey her every whim... but will he?
... [End Spoilers]

If you want more of a synopsis, I recommend checking a site called AnimeNewsNetwork or checking other reviews online. I usually try to avoid giving away too much information about the story or where it's going. Among the dark themes, there is a lot of cuteness mixed in and even some comedy during some scenes. It's a mix bag of goodness that I surely love and enjoy. I'm not too knowledgeable on it's commercial success, but I assume it did alright but was still overshadowed by the popular Anime like Naruto, Bleach, etc. So I would consider this to be a hidden gem of sorts for the Anime world with people that like this combination of story, themes, and so on. I found almost nothing to be predictable as the story progressed when I first saw some sample episodes on Funimation's youtube Channel.

As with most Anime in Region 1, this has two audio tracks: English and Japanese w/ English Subtitles. I give it a 5 out of 5 because of the price. An entire Anime series for dirt cheap. Less than a dollar an episode and to be owned on your own shelf, to watch anytime you desire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cute but uneven series ~, September 6, 2012
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Before bashing not helpful, hear me out. I watch dozens of anime series each year and I love to buy the cheaper SAVE sets. I loved Ghost Hunt, D Gray Man, Hellsing, and many other Occult themed anime series. I also enjoy cutesey series such as Azumanga Daioh. So you would think 1 + 1 = 2 yes? Well it's more like 1 x 1 = 1. The series is neither great as a cute vampire cat girl series or great as a serious Occult series.

Since the show switches from cute to serious so frequently, the viewer is often unable to really get a grasp of the tension or the comedy. It's like someone showing you a picture of a dead body, then removing the picture and telling you an unrelated joke. The other big issue I had was with the Dragon Ball style fighting between the Exorcists and the demons. If you watch Ghost Hunt, the exorcisms are all carried out very well (until the last episode), no flying balls of exorcist fire or things like that. Now don't get me wrong, that would be okay, but the show doesn't really seem to play well to that kind of action. It gets hokey very quickly.

If you can watch through and enjoy the first three episodes, then it's worth buying. Even if you are like me, and not completely impressed, $17 is not a lot of expense for 24 episodes. You can watch them on Funimation's website for free (with commercials), so you might check out the first few. I do recommend the Japanese audio track, though the dub is actually pretty good. The subtitles annoy me since they don't match up neatly to the Japanese dialogue. But only an issue because I know enough Japanese to get myself in trouble. They do not have closed captions for the English dub.

Overall the series is cute, decently enjoyable, well animated, but just uneven. If it had been more of a cute show without the intense Dragon Ball Z fighting, then I would have rated 4 stars. I never really got to just relax into the series.

I recommend D Gray Man, Hellsing, xxxHolic, and Ghost Hunt for Occult themed series.
For something cute/serious check out Melancholy of Haruhi Suziyama.
For just silly cuteness check out Azumanga Daioh or School Rumble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEKOMIMI MODE!!!, October 16, 2012
By 
KevinB "The Honey Badger" (High Point, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Kohei comes from a family of gifted psychics, however, he has been told that he has no power. He meets Hazuki, a young vamipe girl. She bites him, but he does not become his slave. Perplexed by this Hazuki comes to live with him. Her father sends a bunch of vampires out to retrieve her. Hazuki and Kohei go to great lengths to get stronger and protect the happy life they have together.

This anime was a lot fun to watch. There are a lot of great gags and fun comedy. The silliness isn't too much, too mask the seriousness of the strong feelings they share. The animation is good and the voice acting is too. One of the unique things about this anime is the soundtrack. It has a lighthearted and playful vibe that suits the show perfectly. All in all this is a series I strongly recommend it to any anime fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don’t let the cutsey cat ears fool you!, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
After a paranormal photographer frees a young vampire girl from her imprisonment in an old rundown castle and she moves in with him it doesn’t take long for those who’d imprisoned her to come looking for her in order to return her to the castle.

In simplest terms the series is about Taoist like sorcerers fighting vampires for the fate of the freed vampire girl The animation, characters, story and English dub are great so don’t let the cutesy cat ears fool you into thinking this series is not worth your time. The story is both humorous and dramatic making it a must see for vampire anime fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A better love story than Twilight., February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Neko Mimi Mode!

This series was fun to watch. There are a lot of goofy and cute moments mixed with a lot of tension making it quite an exciting series.

I suggest having an open mind before watching this series though. The relationship between Hazuki and Kouhei may seem creepy to some it is really kept clean and not sexual which makes it even more meaningful. Just keep in mind that this is really tamed compared to what comes out of Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely satisfying, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Moon phase is one of the animes that you'd hold onto forever. For reasons like the girl being so darn adorable. The opening song will be stuck in your head FOREVER. The only complaint i have is the last episode really sucked. I mean it wasn't bad it just...idk how to explain it. I guess the only way for you to really know is to go watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIMI NEKO, March 13, 2012
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
Moon Phase is great fun. I've seen more then enough cat girls in my time watching anime but a vampire cat girl just seems to make it better. Great comedy, good story and overall very pleaseing animation. Seems they have nailed it with this one. HOWEVER be warned that the opening music is addictive if you like odd J-Pop and you might get it stuck in your head forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of thy Heart it be, November 3, 2014
By 
W. Wooard (Diamond, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
This anime will surprise you with a good story and character development that will pull you into their journey of the heart to discover their purpose in life. Even when they seem down and out they come back from the ashes to rise and fight against the evil that is trying to tear their friends and family apart. Enjoyed the artists and writers who helped bring this anime to life so others could see what these characters felt and their doubts as each day. The colors helped set the mood of the characters and the environment in which the story was set in as this anime came to life. Also this anime has fantasy, action, drama, romance, and comedy all rolled in to one big package. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moon Phase = AMAZING <3, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
This has got to be one of the best animes I have watched. It keeps you engaged and wanting to know what happens. The ending was kind of confusing and I was wishing for more, but overall the anime was great!! <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable Anime!, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) (DVD)
"It's my sun-proof cat suit!" This is one of the best lines I have ever heard....and it's from this anime! All the characters are memorable and the discs were perfect. It arrived right on time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.)
Moon Phase: The Complete Collection (S.A.V.E.) by Colleen Clinkenbeard (DVD - 2011)
$29.98 $17.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.