Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 29, 2011
Normally I give Auto books a pass, as different things appeal to different people. Paint techniques, emphasis on particular options or overzealous fixation on history are common. However, this book actually misses the point of its title, including far more information of a general nature than ever explaining its focus.

For example, the Author goes on for literally the bulk of the book on general engine assembly, oiling system, block prep, etc and spends a mere 19 pages on the intake and carbs themselves! Even worse, whole areas of the tuning process are ignored. Should not a book on Six Pack induction focus on the six pack induction, its tuning and troubleshooting? The areas NOT EVEN MENTIONED are not details, but items such as kill bleeds and their effect on opening speed of the outboards. Would an adjustable kill bleed setup be a better technique for opening the outboards for today's large displacement crate engines than changing the springs?? At what RPM are each spring rated to open the outboards? One will never know, though Larry goes on for 18 pages about the Chrysler oiling system, hardly a important consideration to an exotic multiple carb setup.

Hard parts not even mentioned are major items that effect tuning, such as idle solenoids! Are new idle solenoids as good as NOS (New Old Stock)? Can't find the info. Can today's Holly idle solenoids be substituted with success for NOS ones, even with the different electrical connection? Don't ask. Should a new Six Pack run a Idle Solenoid or will tuning eliminate its function? Readers will never know. How is the idle solenoid activated, grounded, adjusted and what were the different types? Unknown.

My last quibble are the pictures of the carb system itself. A book on an exotic multiple carb induction system might want to do away with the pictures of crusty, rusty, or poorly shot B&W pictures. Good God! After looking at the dark pictures on page 157, I am still not sure which port nipple should be used to activate the outboards and which is the distributor vacuum, even with the screwdriver that is rumored to be pointing at the right place!

On a positive note, the book did give me another resource for information, some of which is original.
44 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2012
This should have been called "History and Applications of the Mopar 6-Pack". I bought this looking for detailed, labeled photos, teardown and rebuild information for the induction system and carbs, and tuning information. I got absolutely none of that. All of the information in this book is better covered in a rebuild manual for the specific motor that you have, and a performance modification step-by-step guide for general handling upgrades.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
I only read a few pages but its what I hoped it be and more . I know o about the 6 pack carbs and ive already got a lot of good info ,it can be a handy reference as far as I can tell ,a lot of work went into this I'm glad someone put this together thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
I'd first like to say that I am not an impartial reviewer; I have known Larry Shepard for many years and consider him a friend. One thing that I can guarantee you about Larry: If you define a problem for you precisely, and he gives you a solution to your problem, if you apply the solution exactly as he states (no creativity or deviation at all), you will have a solution that is the best solution you'll find anywhere. To my mind, this sort of lies at the root of the issue others have raised about the content of the book.

Larry has written a book about the entire engine, not a book about tuning the carbs. As you may be aware, there are many very significant differences between the standard 440 and the six-pack 440. Having been the staff engineer for Direct Connection/Mopar Performance for many years, Larry has probably help more people recover from botched attempts to build fast 440 six-pack engines. He wrote this book with those situations in mind, and I think he believed the fact that he titled the book "How to rebuild..." would alert potential buyers to the fact that this was very different than a tuning guide. Having said that, I can also say from first-hand experience that the tuning information supplied works extremely well for a street driven 440 six-pack.

This is, in my opinion, a very good book. A book designed to address all the variables involved in the fine tuning of all the displacement and induction options that are out there would be 5000 pages long, and probably incomprehensible. In those instances, I think street/strip tuning and contact with the engine/component supplier is the only way to go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2010
this book is a great resource for those working on, or wanting to learn, about the mopar six barrel engines. a ton of identifiers, part numbers, specs, a valuable book. although there were some inaccurate tidbits, nothing to write home about. great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2013
Good overview book about the 6pack vehicles..didnt go into tuning or modifying the system for performance..but oddly went into motor building..still a good read with some good information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2011
Very detailed book which is excellent for restoration projects on very limited production engines.
The author covers all six-pack engines and all models that they were produced for at Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
Its a good reference book for the Six Pack enthusiast and has some good tips for this set up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
anything Larry Shepard and Mopar is very helpful,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Great book, everything I need to know and more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse