Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should own one of these
I purchased a couple of these just as extra knives to keep in my camping box. While not the 'sexiest' knife out there, there are not many knives that you could say are honestly better.

-The heat treating on the blade is excellent. This is critical to getting and keeping a good edge.
-The carbon steel blade is VERY easy to sharpen and stays sharp well...
Published on October 9, 2010 by W. L. Holder

versus
60 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Step backwards from the former Triflex model
I just finished reviewing this knife for my youtube channel: bushcraftknifereview. Prior to the 2011 remakes, the triflex was my favorite Mora knife. The steel, which has the most flexibility of any of their blades, is also the easiest to keep shaving sharp. The sheath was a vast improvement, but I was very disappointed with the handle.

Before anyone overreacts...
Published on March 7, 2011 by William


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My Favoritre Mora!, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
As far as I am concerned, there aren't many other options knife wise (in this price range) to go in your hiking/climbing gear... or camping.. or your BOB. Heck, this thing has become my go to for tinkering around in the woods. Comes very sharp, pre-lubricated, and with a pretty solid sheath (compared to other Mora sheaths) that can swivel on your hip to any preferred angle. I don't have massive hands.. nor do I have child hands.. just average I suppose, and the handle fits in my hand perfectly. I can grip it very securely to carve wood, pry something loose, make precision cuts... pretty much anything necessary. I'm not gonna get into anymore detail because I don't need to.. just buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't put it down., March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
Now, let me preface this by saying I have not used this knife in the field yet, just around the house, etc.

Like a few others, mine arrived not quite as sharp as seems to be the norm. It was sharp, just not shaving sharp. I was a little disappointed, thinking, was that all just hype? After a few strokes on a whet stone, then stropping it, I am happy again. Just from an initial sharpening, this is one of the sharpest knives I own.

I like the handle texture, slightly rubberized and I think it would provide a good grip, even when wet. It's a tad small for my hand, but I have huge hands XXL/XXXL gloves. I am used to things being sized for smaller hands, so no complaints. The blade is thick enough, about 3/32". This isn't a BK2.

As for the sheath, since I am not used to Mora yet, I have no point of reference on how it's improved over previous models, but it's not bad at all for a plastic sheath. The knife is held in securely, it's comfortable to wear, and since the knife is so light, you can almost forget you have it on. I will be adding a ferro rod and some 550 some time soon before I take it somewhere I may need it. Speaking of that, using the back of the blade on a ferro rod works, it works best if you use the portion on the backside of the tip, but it's still doesn't give the same amount of sparks as the scrapers that come with most ferro rods. While I think it would work, I'd prefer to have larger shower of sparks from a dedicated scraper.

All in all, bang for the buck, I sincerely doubt you can find much better than this. I'll update once I put it to some real use, but so far, it's a very impressive value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mora Triflex, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
Recieved the Mora today! excellent knife.Very sturdy and sharp knife.This will be a great hunting knife.I can not believe how cheap it is for the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpest knife I have owned, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
The Mora knife design is perfect for most daily cutting needs. This knife if made of a High Carbon steel, which allows you to put a killer sharp edge on it. However, you won't have to worry about that for a while since this thing comes RAZOR sharp. Seriously, I have never seen a knife this sharp before. One thing to consider about High Carbon knives, is that while its easy to put a sharp edge on them with a sharpening stone, its high carbon content allows them to rust if they are not drying thoroughly after each use. This of course is the trade off between ANY stainless steel knife verses a high carbon knife. Furthermore, the sheath this thing comes with is pretty decent. It has a loop that you can put a belt through if so desired. This knife is perfect for field dressing game and in the kitchen. I own three of these bad boys. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful quality steel, and value., October 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
This knife came literally razor sharp out of the sheath, It was about 20% sharper then my Mora Craftline TopQ stainless. I love the steel quality and the Scandinavian grind edge. Handle IMO is very comfortable for a variety of hand grips and is made out of the wonderful hard HARD plastic core as their other knives.
As for the tang of the blade on this model being considered a full tang, this is NOT the case. The tang extends approx 1 cm deeper into the handle then the back of the index finger groove; this gives the knife approx 5cm or 2 inches of total tang into the handle material. This is not much of a thumbs down overall IMO due to the tang metal is thicker then most other Mora's but is easy enough to confirm by using a neo magnet along the handle or by the more visual google image search for '' mora triflex tang ''. By searching that 'brace yourself Mora lovers' you will quickly find a wonderful image where several Mora's have been cut length-wise in half exposing the tangs of the Triflex and many others. I also own the black with blue accented handle Mora craftline topQ in their stainless which was Very sharp out of the box but not quite as sharp as the Triflex. Remember to oil the knife blade being that it is a carbon steel and treat its edge with respect and you will have a tool that will serve very well and a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good knife for the money, October 12, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
Sharp, Sharp, Sharp. Has good balance. Cannot beat the quality for the cost. Handle and Sheath are a plastic composite. however, keep in mind how much it cost.

Jon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent field knife, September 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
Sturdier than original mora knives I own. The grip isn't as good for many smaller cuts as the original, but much better for gripping with gloves or when sweaty/wet. Buy this knife for inexpensive reliability and ease of sharpening, not for whittling. The sheath is much better than cheaper moras offer, with a rotating plastic belt loop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great knife, July 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
This knife is a great knife, super sharp out of the box. Everything was as described. Only issue I could see is that after extended use of the sheath it wears a little mark on the handle, but it isn't a big deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent knife, June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
Pros:

Extremely sharp out of the box
Holds a edge very well
light and comfortable to use
Simple, yet functional sheath

Cons:

Will rust: keep your mora dry.

Verdict: Everyone should own this knife, and the price is right, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic buy!, May 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife (Sports)
SUPER sharp out of the box. Handle is very comfortable. The belt loop also fits perfect in 2 molle straps on a rig or backpack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 69 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mora Bushcraft Triflex Carbon Steel Knife
$49.95 $40.12
In stock. Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.