Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SOLUTION FOR HEART DISEASE, DIABETES AND CANCER SUFFERERS
Dr. Louis J. Ignarro, a Nobel Laureate in Medicine, has compiled the history of a discovery that continues to be proven to "Prevent-Even Reverse-Heart Disease and Strokes" and specifically describes "A Proven Program for Boosting Production of the Body's Own Wonder Drug" in "NO MORE HEART DISEASE", St. Martin's Press 2005, 248 pages.

Dr. Ignarro's preliminary...
Published on December 12, 2005 by Dan Kassell

versus
112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not well balanced
I rated this book 2 stars because, while Dr. Ignarro's theories are very interesting, he fails to mention in making his "prescription" that there are really no long term studies in humans which definitively show benenfit without risks. Therefore, if you decide to use the supplements he recommends, you should understand that it isn't entirely clear whether you're putting...
Published on November 4, 2007 by Thomas M. Kara


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SOLUTION FOR HEART DISEASE, DIABETES AND CANCER SUFFERERS, December 12, 2005
By 
Dr. Louis J. Ignarro, a Nobel Laureate in Medicine, has compiled the history of a discovery that continues to be proven to "Prevent-Even Reverse-Heart Disease and Strokes" and specifically describes "A Proven Program for Boosting Production of the Body's Own Wonder Drug" in "NO MORE HEART DISEASE", St. Martin's Press 2005, 248 pages.

Dr. Ignarro's preliminary research explained that there was a naturally occurring substance that C-Laureate Dr. Robert Furchgott called "endothelium-derived relaxing factor" (EDRF). Dr "I" identified Nitric Oxide (NO) between 1978 and by 1986 proved that "nitric oxide's role in the body was definitely a signal molecule, which performed crucial cardiovascular functions." Arterial plaque he illustrated, "if you think of the living healthy wall cells as being slick like Teflon, while an unhealthy cell is sticky like Velcro, causing plaque to attach" then you've got his idea. His program titled, "Say Yes to NO" recognizes that "red meat fish, olive oil, nuts and pomegranate juice enhance the body's ability to produce NO. Unfortunately he cautions, you would have to eat one hefty steak all three meals a day to maintain a beneficial level of NO. Therefore he recommends a NO boosting blend of amino acid supplements: L-Arginine, L-Citrulline plus Alpha Lipoic Acid, C, E, and Folic Acid and adds, "the acceleration of blood that occurs during exercise can stimulate the production of the enzyme NO synthase, which is important to the body's production of NO." That means it works better if you exercise!

Although this 2005 book publicizes NO's effect it doesn't include John P. Cooke MD Ph.D, the head of Stanford's Medical Research team as the first to include L'Arginine in a candy bar to tempt the American public to get NO every day and only mentions co-Laureate Ferid Murad, the Houston pharmacologist who conducted the earliest studies on nitric oxide.

Some will try to get enough L-arginine and L-Citrulline from foods but the short list only includes: almonds, dark chocolate, garbanzo beans, melons, peanuts, red meat, salmon, soy and walnuts. The good news for choco-holics, a prodigious Penn State U study concluded, "that the cocoa/dark chocolate diet interfered with the oxidation of LDL cholesterol." So, Dr. I suggests consuming in moderation - "divide it in small pieces and eat them throughout the afternoon and evening, one bite at a time." Therefore, next time you're asked to go for coffee, choose cocoa (hot chocolate) because the poly phenols Harvard Med School and Brigham Woman's Hospital showed that the "antioxidants in cocoa support NO synthesis." Or, drink a glass or two of red wine because it's rich in polyphenols that "markedly stimulate NO production." Purple grape or pomegranate juice may even be better than wine, and don't forget to eat some blueberries because they contain pectin, which is best known for its cholesterol lowering fiber.

To get all the best results, when should you boost your body's production of NO?

"Once a day before bedtime or twice a day - in the morning and before bedtime," and when combined with a minimum dose of 200 mg L-Citrulline, "a synergistic effect occurs," Dr. I prescribes. For those who may be concerned, he assures "no side effects have been reported in the medical literature."

The most important news Dr. I has for a diabetic is that NO can, "halt the development and progression of diabetic complications . . . reduce the risk of diabetic retinopathy. NO can make a difference in your quality of life." The same is true for Cancer - NO can inhibit the growth of cancer cells."

Sensible people with any of these maladies would be well advised to go online to discover that Argenix in an easy to take liquid with both arginine and citrulline. Or wait until a white coat Doctor does a double blind study.

© 2006 Dan Kassell

All Rights Reserved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For your heart and health, March 25, 2006
By 
I happened to pick this up in Borders one day...having a scientific background i remember the 1998 Nobel Prize and NO(nitric oxide). NO activates the production of cyclic GMP, a critical messenger in human cells and responsible for vascular relaxation and other stimulatory events...including the well known Viagra response. NO is a gas which easily diffuses through the human body and acts as a hormone. Indeed NO may be the most relevant discovery in medicine along with aspirin and penicillin.

Dr Ignarro is brilliant...i believe he wrote this book so that the average Joe could improve his heart and sexual health and he recommends taking the naturally occuring nutrients arginine and citrulline to increase NO levels. Unfortunately the average Joe with early heart disease responds to all the TV ads and will take Viagra as prescribed by his doctor. Ignarro's recommendations are much safer and effective for long term improvement of heart disease and high blood pressure problems. Sadly most doctors will not know this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Response to Be Careful's review and concerns, June 15, 2007
By 
Don Shapiro (Coachella Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This statement is about Be Careful's review and not the book as a whole. There is no question that increasing Nitric Oxide is beneficial to the body. Besides the heart, it can have a dramatic effect on brain related issues such as headaches and migranes because of what it does to blood vessels. Be Careful's review focuses on taking the supplement L'arginine to promote the production of Nitric Oxide. In fact, directly taking this amino acid may not be the best way to do this and there is a potential of other effects especially with the dosage level the author recommends. My wife takes a product called Oxegen AKG which eliminates the problems of directly taking L'arginine and is proven to increase Nitric Oxide levels in the body. This product has made a huge difference for my wife who does suffer from headaches and a "foggy brain" feeling that occurs from constricted blood flow. She has been taking the product for several years without any side effects and can feel the difference when she doesn't take it. On the website for the maker of Oxegen AKG, they explain the problems of taking L'Arginine directly. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO more Heart Disease - Say Yes to NO, August 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was very informative. I talked in depth with my cardiologist about Nitric Oxide and he agreed to allow me to start the supplement program. After only 3 days on the supplements and for the first time in years, the arthritis in my hands left me alone. Thanks to this book, I have added more foods, that help your body create more NO, to my diet. I feel that this book will help me live a longer and healthier life.

All my thanks to Dr. Ignarro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, March 27, 2006
This book is easy to read, interesting, and full of potentially life-saving information. By the time I had read enough to learn how to improve my heart health, and followed Dr. Ignarro's recommendations, I lowered my blood pressure from 140/88 to a very low 90/57! Later readings were more in the normal range of 120/70...this after 30 years of hypertension! The only real changes I made were in diet, and adding a couple of amino acids that were the basis of the dramatic drop in blood pressure. I am recommending this book to my friends and loved ones with heart disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not well balanced, November 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NO More Heart Disease: How Nitric Oxide Can Prevent--Even Reverse--Heart Disease and Strokes (Paperback)
I rated this book 2 stars because, while Dr. Ignarro's theories are very interesting, he fails to mention in making his "prescription" that there are really no long term studies in humans which definitively show benenfit without risks. Therefore, if you decide to use the supplements he recommends, you should understand that it isn't entirely clear whether you're putting yourself at risk. Dr. Ignarro (he's not a medical doctor) certainly gives a lot of good advice on nutrition, exercise, and lifestyle changes that are not very controversial, and which most people have already heard about. His main "contribution" is his suggestion to take supplemental arginine and citrulline plus a few other common anti-oxidants (vitamin C etc). I found it interesting that Michael Roizen MD endorses this book, but in "YOU: The Owner's Manual" Dr. Roizen himself is much more cautious about taking arginine and citrulline, suggesting there are "rumors" it may be useful, but the evidence is far from solid. Other than the formula for supplementation, the rest of the book consists of some biographical information about his research leading to the Nobel prize, and recommendations for better cardiovascular health which are already commonly known. As someone who has had a heart attack, I hope Dr. Ignarro is correct, and I may even try his formula, but too much of his book is based on his convictions rather than solid scientific evidence and I think he should have been more forthright about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frank Cooper - Australia, August 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this is a great book and would recommend it without hesitation. Nitric Oxide is a really interesting subject and this book helps to explain it really well. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because Dr Ignarro understanding of cholesterol is rather traditional, and maybe he should familiarise himself with the research undertaken by Dr Uffe Ravnskov [...] The French for example eat lots of cholesterol and saturated fats, and their heart attack rates are very low by comparison to the USA. However I accept that Dr Ignarro is not trained in cholesterol and so don't want to be unkind. Putting cholesterol aside, this is a really great book and worth your time and money. It does come across as a bit `salesy' which is not what you would expect from someone who has won a Nobel Prize, and this may be off-putting to some readers who take offence if something is too commercial. I suspect some marketing or PR person got involved somewhere along the way with this book and felt it needed hyping up. But it's an easy read, and you won't fall asleep, which is more than I can say for some books. Nitric Oxide is an important discovery, and Ignarro and his colleagues deserve lots of praise for bringing it to our attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 110 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BE CAREFUL, March 31, 2006
By 
R. Pandolfo (Lehigh Valley, PA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book, and it was interesting. I even tried a supplement called Cadio Discovery, developed by Dr. Murad, who worked with Ignarro on heart research. Cadio Discovery was sold at Wal Mart but I noticed that they are discontinuing the sales of the product, and the [...] site seems to be permanently disabled. There are reports that L Arginine could be dangerous. In a recent study, men with a history of heart trouble were given L Arginine supplements, and a like group of men were given a placebo. 6 of the men that were given L Arginine died during the study. None of the placebo group died. Please do your research before taking any of these products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO More Heart Disease, How nitric oxide can prevent heart disease, March 28, 2006
This review is from: NO More Heart Disease: How Nitric Oxide Can Prevent--Even Reverse--Heart Disease and Strokes (Paperback)
Dr. Ignarro won a Nobel Prize for his work and this is a breakthrough report on the research and how YOU can help yourself feel better and healthier. My only complaint is that the book is not quite forthcoming about the purchaseing source for the Niteworks product that contains all the ingredients to boost your power. I thought I could find it in nutrition stores or better pharmacies. Apparently only Herbalife carries the product and it is very expensive - around $90 a month. I have tried to get the amino acids from other places, but one ingredient has been impossible for me to find.

The book has largely been ignored by the medical community and as a Health care professional, I wonder why. I only know that I am a skeptic and was wholely surprised by the increase in my energy levels within 10 days. I plan to put my elderly parents on the program ASAP. I've been on the program for about 3 weeks and feel 5 times the energy I had before. (I have even started exercising again) I will stay on the program as long as I can afford the Niteworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars : NO More Heart Disease: How Nitric Oxide Can Prevent--Even Reverse--Heart Disease and Strokes (Paperback), September 21, 2010
I read this book after trying Nitric Oxide, however, I read an article on the Internet about Dr. Ignarro research for which he won the Nobel Prize in Medicine for his work in Nitric Oxide. I am a Veteran who had lung surgery related to Agent Orange exposure. Heart disease is a part of the disease as is coronary artery disease. I started taking the two supplements L-Argine and L-Carnitine in September of 2008, as I had blockage in my lower extremities and was in danger of losing my big toe to diabetes. About six months after taking the supplements I was tested there was no blockage. I recently had a physical and my blood pressure went down 30 points and for a 62 year old man my current blood pressure is 118/78. There was a new test that was administered from a blood sample on my heart. For my age the reading should be in excess of 600 for a man my age, the reading was less than 10. There is no heart problems today as there was just two years ago. I found the book informative and I thank Dr. thank Dr. Ignarrio for writing about his research. I credit him with saving my feet by allowing more blood flow through my femoral arteries, and my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

NO More Heart Disease: How Nitric Oxide Can Prevent--Even Reverse--Heart Disease and Strokes
$15.99 $13.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.