Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip-O Select does it again, November 15, 2011
By 
DVD buff (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
Thank you, thank you, thank you, Hip-O Select! This two-CD set is an absolute treasure. Starting with a great album, containing songs recorded at the height of the Supremes' success, this set is a joy for Supremes fans the world over.

The original album is presented here in both its original mono and stereo versions (as has been done with two of the Supremes' previous albums, WHERE DID OUR LOVE GO and MEET THE SUPREMES). This is the first time that the mono version of the complete album has been made available on CD. Adding to that are more than two dozen outtakes, alternate versions, and live recordings from the era.

While most of the outtakes and alternate versions of the songs have been issued before on various collections, the versions presented in this set are mostly different mixes than have been heard before. Some of the tracks here are being presented in stereo for the first time (the Coca Cola commercials and the songs "Surfer Boy" and "Beach Ball," for example). Others are newly-created stereo mixes of songs which have been released over the past 25 years. The four German-language songs are presented here in stereo, having been previously released in these mixes only on a long out-of-print collection from the late 1980s.

I love hearing the alternate recording of the "Supremes Interview." The original release of the interview was on the B-side of a promotional single in 1965, and that recording was later issued on the Supremes' 25th Anniversary set. This alternate take shows how "scripted" the interview actually was, as it is very similar to the earlier version. The main difference in this version is that the girls had loosened up a bit, and were more playful and funny than in the earlier take.

Completely new here are a handful of live recordings, some made at the Fox Theatre in late 1964 ("Baby Love," "Where Did Our Love Go" and "Stop! In the Name of Love"), and others recorded at the Motortown Revue in Paris in 1965. Three of the five Paris songs have been issued before ("Stop! In the Name of Love," "Baby Love" and "Somewhere"), but the other two ("You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You" and "Shake") are unreleased in any form. "Somewhere" also contains a brief spoken introduction by Diana Ross that has not been previously issued.

The packaging of this set is gorgeous, with a "gatefold"-style cardboard case containing the two discs and also two booklets (one detailing the album and the individual tracks, and the other called "Meet the Supremes," with biographical information on each of the girls and a ton of photos from the era). My only quibble with the set at all is that there are a few pages in one of the booklets that have gray text printed on a dark magenta-ish background, rendering the text almost impossible to read. This is sloppy, careless work on the part of the graphic designer -- and especially bad because those are the pages containing the information about the bonus tracks. Aside from that, I love all the photos and details that are included.

I hope Hip-O select keeps up the Supremes reissues -- there's still more stuff in the vaults waiting to see the light of day. Now, if only someone could explain to me why Amazon has the tracks listed above with some by "The Supremes" and some by "Diana Ross & The Supremes." They're ALL by The Supremes, folks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Supreme, December 12, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my favorite Supremes album and favorite Supremes album cover. In fact, Motown itself liked the cover so much it repeated it for the album "The Marvelettes." Actually, this isn't an album, but singles and recordings that might have become singles. The exception is three songs written and recorded expressly for the album, all of them recorded on the same afternoon. Mary Wilson clearly remembers Florence Ballard not being at the session and herself recording background vocals twice. Fans swear they are hearing Florence on the recordings, so she may have been dubbed in afterwards. More likely, they are hearing Marlene Barrow, who in fact substituted for Florence when she was too ill to make in person engagements. (Marlene said that when she subbed for Florence for an engagement in Windsor, Ontario, she never met Diana Ross nor did Diana Ross ever speak to her. She didn't bring the subject up and she wasn't complaining or speaking poorly of Miss Ross; she was just answering a question. Forty years later I'm still wondering what THAT was all about!) But I digress. The album is wonderful opening note to closing note, all the songs exceptional, the orchestrations and production values topnotch; the engineering crisp and vivid; and the Supremes are at the top of their form. The album was to have included "Always In My Heart," the back side of "Come See About Me" but the decision was to substitute "Ask Any Girl," the back side of "Baby Love" which had already appeared on the previous Supremes album, because it had been remastered and edited with the possibility of making it a single. "Always In My Heart" finally surfaced years later in the "Holland-Dozier-Holland" at the suggestion of a fan. Me. I even got a nice letter from a Motown vice president thanking me for the suggestion and saying the company couldn't guarantee such requests could be fulfilled but appreciated them and the interest and loyalty to Motown. What other major record company answered letters from fans, and with such graciousness? This album has lost none of its verve, bubbly excitement or sheer youthful pleasure. And all the qualities we associate with Motown recordings in terms of lavish orchestrations, illustrious production and songs unlike any other. The bonus C.D. is a gem, too, a real treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme set, November 15, 2011
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
The ongoing reissue series of the Supremes catalogue continues with "More Hits by the Supremes" which featured classic Supremes tracks including "Stop in the Name of Love", "Back in My Arms Again" and one of my favourite Supremes tracks, "Nothing But Heartaches", which curiously did not reach the Top Ten, stalling at number 11.

This 2-CD set is also being released during the 50th year of Supremes chart success. Hip-O-Select has also released a 3-disc singles collection, and fans have also been treated to a DVD compilation of Supremes performances from the Ed Sullivan Show. But this set is undoubtedly the jewel in the crown as this set features the original album in both mono and stereo, along with alternate vocals, live performances, radio spots and commercials.

Highlights for me include:

- The Supremes Coca-Cola commercials: Supreme hits such as "When the Lovelight Starts Shining Through His Eyes", "Baby Love" and "Where Did Our Love Go" are rewritten as jingles for the soft drink. Very cute.

- the alternate vocals on "Nothing But Heartaches". As I mentioned above, this is one of my all-time favourite Supremes songs. This mix features an extended instrumental breakdown which is pure heaven for me.

- A Supremes interview which features the three young women having a ball. The chemistry between the three of them is very strong, and Diana Ross sounds playful.

There's much to enjoy with this set. I suspect this will sell out like the deluxe edition of "Where Did Our Love Go" which I did not buy - to my everlasting regret. So, I recommend buying this one very soon. Hopefully Hip-O-Select will continue to reissue more Supremes albums in the near future.

The price is high, but it's worth it for the many tracks, plus the beautiful packaging and liner notes. Besides, when it goes out of print, you won't want to pay the hundreds of dollars it will go for (case in point, "Where Did Our Love Go?"). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More and More Hits, March 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
More Hits by the Supremes is the third installment in the "Deluxe" Editions re-issues by America's greatest vocal group. I believe that more are to follow, but here are just a couple of new features in this 46 year old album. First of all, we finally have "He Holds His Own" in a stereo mix. Hard to believe it wasn't there at first, but go back and listen to previous editions of "More Hits" and you'll find it's true. Not only does it sound great, but also the mono counterpart sounds excellent. 1965 was the height of Motown's true heyday as even the flops by Brenda Holloway, Kim Weston and unknown artists were as good or better than the big hits. The Supremes were no exception: Stop! was one of the greatest singles of that year. Here the ladies are backed by the Andantes, adding a full-bodied chorale with Earl Van Dyke's church-style hammond B. Back In My Arms was a different breed altogether, marking their fifth #1 single in a row. A sure-fired rocking sensation "Nothing But Heartaches" followed. From the beginning guitar riff (Robert White, no doubt) to the fade it was non-stop four-on-the-floor ecstacy. Everyone was so sure it would be #6 in a row, so when the disc stalled at #11, we were not only shocked, but ready to cry foul! Not even top ten? Come ON!! Somebody was asleep when the sales receipts were counted, right? We found out that not even the Supremes were immune to pop's fickle fans but they could have at least waited until 1968 to cave in! When the album came out that July, though, it did not disappoint. Two album tracks jumped right out on the first side of the album alone: Mother Dear, which was a strong contender for the album's third single (it was even included in the Complete Singles' 1965 set and performed on Dean Martin that summer) and Honey Boy (still in the can from Mary Wells' left-overs, the Supremes' vocals were dubbed in). A re-mixed, shorter version of Ask Any Girl opened the album. It was this version which was later confused with the single version, but the original single version closed "Where Did Our Love Go" in October of 1964. That version backed "Baby Love"; not the version from "More Hits". Haunting backgrounds became a trademark with their songwriting team of Lamont Dozier, Brian, and Eddie Holland. They already had "Remove This Doubt" in the can, but were saving that for an A-side single. (It actually became the B-side of "You Keep Me Hangin' On" the following year.) They came up with the remarkable "Who Could Ever Doubt My Love", which would later be covered by Brenda Holloway and the Isley Brothers. This track came out with "I Hear A Symphony" in the fall. A loveable track, "The Only Time I'm Happy" also received a bit of airplay, which was rare if you weren't the Beatles or Rolling Stones! (I'm So Glad) Heartaches Don't Last Always didn't really have the goods the other tracks had, but it was great to hear anyway, as it was becoming rare to hear the Supremes sing something so upbeat. The sax break two thirds into the song almost brings it to another level, but after that the girls seem bored with it. The B-sides, "Whisper You Love Me Boy", "He Holds His Own" and "I'm In Love Again" show remarkable growth in a surprisingly short period of time, almost weeks! The former two were recorded a year earlier for Mary Wells' "My Guy" album, but "I'm In Love Again" was a totally new track and Ms. Ross met the challenge head-on. A difficult ballad, Ross showed unbelievable restraint--one of her purest vocals ever. Even though the girls were putting their vocals on the two Mary Wells tracks, it was as if they were recording these songs for the first time. Just as on "Honey Boy", "Whisper" and "He Holds His Own" sound as if they had been created for the Supremes.
Disc 2: The bonus material, if mundane to some people, will be welcome to those who are new to the ladies' foreign and film sides, namely the German versions of "Where Did Our Love Go" and "Come See About Me" (a different song altogether) plus the two songs from "Beach Ball". The latter two appear in stereo for the first time. For completists, there's the German only single, "Thank You Darling", which I've wanted to get my hands on since I heard about it back in 1965. Turns out it's quite likable. Old faithfuls from past compilations are back with stellar sounding stereo mixes: Smokey Robinson's "Oowee Baby", the re-make of Leo & the Leopards' "Come Into My Palace" and also from Smokey, "Take Me Where You Go". Alternate versions of "Mother Dear", "Stop!", "He Holds His Own", and "Back In My Arms" (what I call the "Satisfied" version) appear as well as a live performance from 1964. Their complete performance as part of the Motortown Revue in Paris closes the disc. The songs hold up well, the sound quality is excellent and both stereo and mono mixes of the album prove that these recordings will always be relevant. Miss Ross is strongly supported by her mates Florence Ballard and Mary Wilson. It seemed that the Supremes were on a never-ending ride at the top during that summer.
Great work from the staff at Hip-O!! Now, let's get that "Bit of Liverpool" album out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Supremes Collection, February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
Bought this item for myself as a belated Christmas gift. I like that both versions of the More Hits album, mono and stereo, were released together in this collection. As someone who was born in the '70s I didn't get to hear these albums when they were originally released. Glad these types of collections are being released and hope that the rest of the Supremes albums that were in both mono and stereo versions will be released in the future. The alternate versions of already released recordings are great, as well as the pictures of the group. The only thing I wished they had in the set are more of the songs that we haven't heard already. Most of the extras here are recordings that were released already in other collections, with the only differences were the way they were mixed. Let's have more of the songs the fans haven't heard yet. And may there be many more Supremes releases in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Album, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
The sound on this album is A+, I had it on vinyl as a kid and love it more today. The vocals are exceptionaly clear as is the music!! Wow, Diana, Mary and Florence were supreme! The live cuts on this lp, well you can hear how happy they were as a trio. There is a special version of Nothing But Heartaches on side two that is over the top musically, a longer instrumental version. This CD is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Heartaches Here, June 23, 2012
By 
Peter Grant (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
Okay, you're a Supremes fan to have gotten this far. This is one of their best albums with hit after hit. The expanded version contains variations of the same songs plus additional material, great photos in the attractive sleeve plus TWO booklets. As goes the title of the final original track, "I'm in Love Again."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, March 15, 2012
By 
ClassicKol "Kol" (Connecticut, mostly) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
This was a historically important album for Motown and The Supremes that proved they could rather regularly count on strong album sales as well as their string of huge hit singles. The presentation here is lush, a detailed booklet regarding the recording of the album, and a replica of the 1965 Supremes tour book presented in a second booklet.
I've read comments from many fans that 'More Hits By The Supremes' was the very best album recorded by Diana, Florence and Mary and all of the tracks sound crisp, clear, perfect. Bonus audio interviews, a very good alternate version of 'Nothing But Heartaches' and all you could want from an expanded release by The Supremes. Again, the credit for this and all expanded editions by Diana Ross and by The Supremes goes to Mr Andrew Skurow and Mr. Harry Weinger, as well as George Solomon.
The legacy of the great music from The Supremes and from Diana Ross is preserved and enhanced with each of the Hip-O select releases. This 2 cd set has the original album on disk 1 in both mono and stereo audio, for the consumer to reach their own conclusion in the 'mono or stereo' merits debate. Disk 1 ends with a Coke commercial song that the trio recorded and an enjoyable radio interview. Cd2 has a good selection of previously unreleased live recordings and alternate recordings of hit singles and album tracks. The liner notes as always with these Hip-O releases, are informative and very in-depth.
A great looking and great sounding cd to purchase and well worth the cost. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More is never enough!, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
"More hits" was a great succes when it came out in the '60 and now this expanded edition brings back the magic of those years, when music was fun, new and energetic. The Supremes were the top group on the charts and the biggest crossover of all times in music history and it is important to remember and celebrate this.
the expanded editions of their cds are an incredible source of gems from the archives of Motown records with live recordings, tests, alternate recordings and unreleased tracks: this cd is a must not only for the group fans, but for all the music lovers, at least those who respect and enjoy the wonderful music from the '60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Hits By the Supremes (Audio CD)
A great addition to my Diana Ross Supremes collection.
Great sound, Cover, inserts !
No supremes fan should be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

More Hits By the Supremes
More Hits By the Supremes by Supremes (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.