No More Pumpkins (Second Grade Friends) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Book shows a small amount of wear - very good condition. Selection as wide as the Mississippi.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

No More Pumpkins (Second Grade Friends) Hardcover – August 7, 2007


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$105.38 $0.01

Never Girls #9: Before the Bell
"Never Girls #9: Before the Bell"
Explore the newest book in the New York Times best-selling series for readers ages 6 to 9— The Never Girls. Learn more | Browse the series

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 1–3—Emily is tired of studying about pumpkins. Her class has weighed and measured them, and counted seeds. Now, the children have to decorate them to look like self-portraits. The second grader is excited about her birthday party on Saturday, however, so when her friend Vinni doesn't show up, she's upset. Then in school Vinni behaves oddly, arguing, sulking, and damaging Emily's pumpkin. The last chapter deals with her apology (it turns out she wanted to go to the party and felt left out when she couldn't) and Emily's acceptance of it. The black-and-white illustrations are well done and expressive. Fans of Barbara Park's "Junie B. Jones" series and Patricia Reilly Giff's "Polk Street School" books (both Random) will enjoy this beginning chapter book.—Kelly Roth, Bartow County Public Library, Cartersville, GA
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

After their class weighs pumpkins, counts seeds, eats pumpkin bread, writes pumpkin poems, and visits a pumpkin farm, Emily and Vinni are sick of pumpkins. A pumpkin-decorating assignment brings out hurt feelings over a missed birthday party and provokes a reaction that only a best friend could forgive. From the 2nd-Grade Friends series, this beginning chapter book features a well-realized school setting, expressive illustrations, and a wide range of true-to-life emotions. Readers who enjoyed The Secret Lunch Special (2006) will want a second helping. Phelan, Carolyn
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 7 - 10 years
  • Grade Level: 2 - 5
  • Lexile Measure: 340L (What's this?)
  • Series: Second Grade Friends
  • Hardcover: 64 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); 1st edition (August 7, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805078398
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805078398
  • Product Dimensions: 6.2 x 0.6 x 7.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,136,665 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Judy Wilkerson on November 4, 2013
Format: Hardcover
i don't have no more pumpkins as a book at my school and that is so my favortie thing

l
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Katie M. Haverdink on December 20, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
My daughter loves this book! She read it first at school and then asked to get it for home!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?