Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE THAN MONEY
Neil Cavuto's MORE THAN MONEY is an extraordinary, deeply inspiring, heartfelt, and very moving book. Mr. Cavuto's reasons for writing the book are in themselves inspiring. As the title indicates, he wants to describe, and remind us of, the most important values in life, all of which are about "more than money."
As a storyteller, gifted as he is humble, he chose...
Published on May 27, 2004 by Paul D. McCarthy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's see? What was it about? What I remember is the poor editing.
Too bad Neil didn't have it edited before he published his book. Talk about bad grammar and poor spellings; that's what I remember.
Published 7 months ago by G. Horn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

166 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE THAN MONEY, May 27, 2004
By 
Paul D. McCarthy (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
Neil Cavuto's MORE THAN MONEY is an extraordinary, deeply inspiring, heartfelt, and very moving book. Mr. Cavuto's reasons for writing the book are in themselves inspiring. As the title indicates, he wants to describe, and remind us of, the most important values in life, all of which are about "more than money."
As a storyteller, gifted as he is humble, he chose to personalize and dramatize those values by showing them in action, describing the fascinating, heartbreaking, triumphant, heroic, nobly compassionate, and ultimately, profoundly inspirational and heroic lives of the more than two dozen people, who became and are HIS heroes.
Many of the people and lives whom Mr. Cavuto celebrates, appreciates, and expresses his undying gratitude to, are world-famous-Joe Torre, NY Yankees, Geraldine Ferraro, retired politician, Richard Branson, Virgin's founder, while others are less-well known. Most have achieved major professional success, even greatness, in sports, business, politics, and more, but what makes them Mr. Cavuto's heroes is that every one of them rose to personal greatness, and a dedication of their lives to crusades and missions, with the same universal goal: helping as many other people as they can.
The people whose lives he profiles with such clear and worthy admiration and respect, became his heroes because they survived major catastrophes, deadly illnesses, devastating fires, and the deaths of those they loved most, for example, during 9/11, have experienced much of the worst of life, and most importantly, made their survival a life-changing experience, that made them prioritize what is best for others over themselves.
It is their courage, nobility, selflessness, determination, and encompassing compassion, the way they dealt with their own tragedies and losses, and what they did while, and after, surviving, that has inspired Mr. Cavuto as he's struggled with the continuing devastation in his own life for almost twenty years.
After losing both of his parents to cancer, Neil Cavuto became a cancer survivor seventeen years ago, and the inspiration and example of his heroes greatly helped him through the next, difficult ten years of cancer remission, and supported and elevated him even more when seven years ago, he was also diagnosed with incurable Multiple Sclerosis.
A rare, double survivor, Mr. Cavuto has a special appreciation for those survivors whose suffering makes them think less about themselves, and more about the too-vast suffering of many millions of people in America and around the world.
While he interweaves the story of his own life, within the unforgettable life stories of his heroes, his primary focus is always on them, and what they did and are doing, and his writing this book that celebrates and illuminates the life-missions and crusades of his heroes, is his own, very important way, of helping other people endure, rise above, and if possible, avoid, the causes of suffering that are so tragically common in our lives.
As I read Mr. Cavuto's book, he quickly became my hero, as his heroes became my heroes too.
These heroic survivors, their life-stories, Neil Cavuto, and his own life and book, combine to make MORE THAN MONEY have a far greater and enduring value and quality, than the mere wealth, fame, and success that he puts so well into the proper context.
Only rarely does a book have the power to change a life, but Mr. Cavuto's book has changed and improved mine and the lives of those I love, and for that, I'll be forever grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful inspirational book that deserves acclaim!, June 6, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
Before reading this book, I was a sporadic viewer of "Your World" and "Cavuto on Business" on Fox TV. Over the years, I had garnered a healthy respect for Neil Cavuto as an anchor and business reporter, but had no emotional connection with him. After he started mentioning his book on his show, I got curious and found myself leafing through it at my local bookstore. To say the least, I got more than I bargained for -- an emotional connection with a brave and inspirational author, a great respect for those he discusses in his book, and for those who exhibit such courageous intelligent behavior without public recognition.
Neil uses the written word even MORE skillfully than the spoken word to show us how people, including himself, rise above adversity and trauma by putting their best selves in charge. I had no idea that Neil had faced and overcome terminal illness and other traumatic losses he describes. Bravo Neil for sharing your soul. I am now a REGULAR viewer of your shows!
I wholeheartedly recommend this book and another, "Optimal Thinking: How To Be Your Best Self" to learn how to consistently do your best, bring out the best from others and make the most of any personal or business situation. These books truly bring out the best in all of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking past the moment, June 1, 2004
By 
Larry (Sunny Florida - United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
This is a great book of inspiring stories of people who see value in a direction other than the moment. What I think is great about the book specifically are the many examples of business people, including Mr. Cavuto, overcoming (or better yet working with) health afflictions that bring people to their knees. It is good to see people who have excelled when all could have been thought lost. Indeed through the daily pain, perservearance, and tears there is a life that is "more than money". Thanks, Mr. Cavuto, for a book that gives an uplifting spirit for those who, like myself, have a "chronic illness"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Use This Book With My Coaching Clients, June 14, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
I was drawn to this book because I'm a Coach who specializes in Professional Development and Business Success, helping others succeed despite tough challenges. I often recommend that my clients read books on optimism because optimistic individuals achieve more than pessimists. What I like about Neil Cavuto's book is that it presents case studies on how people achieve great goals in part by maintaining their optimism. Also, I know a great deal about the achievements of Southwest Airlines founder Herb Kelleher and British entrepreneur Richard Branson and can vouch that Mr. Cavuto did an excellent job in summarizing their stories. The sections on Kelleher and Branson give me every reason to trust that stories on the others are accurate, too. Finally, since one of my friends is afflicted with MS, and has managed to keep a positive outlook (I am in awe of her), I have some sense of the health and psychological struggles Mr. Cavuto is facing. It is a testament to his strength that he has written this type of book. I will recommend this work to my clients when I believe case studies will reinforce the coaching process. - Joseph Vranich, Coach, Irvine, California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEOPLE WHO TAKE ON LIFE FULLY, AND SUCCEED!, August 7, 2004
By 
Dorothy Weiss (ORLANDO, FLORIDA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
Neil Cavuto had written a precise easy to read, account of people who take on life fully, and succeed. The true stories in the book are encouraging and uplifting. Real people who have faced setbacks of all kinds,- dyslexia, financial loss, cancer, depression, - yet they go on to achieve success because of their compassion, honesty, honor. They succeed as a result of their intense hard work and perseverance, - and then from their pinnacle of power as CEO's of their respective companies they help others. These personal and professional tradegies and triumphs are inspirational. You will recognize their names as you read this book and you will be amazed at the challenges they overcame that you never knew anything about. They didn't whine or complain or play the "blame game." They took the curves thrown at them by life- picked themselves up, and climbed their way right back up the ladder of achievement. They simply never quit!Mr Cavuto's "More Than Money" is about learning the true lessons of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compassionate, humble and inspiring, June 22, 2004
By 
Sheikh Ali (West Caldwell, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
At a time in our country's hsitory when we look at every successful CEO and wonder "on whose back did he make his money" - comes this collection of examples of the so many who struggled to overcome what most would say are impossible odds to pursue and attain their dreams. I am fortunate to know Mr. Neil Cavuto personally and each and every day, when I think things are getting too much for me, just thinking of the focus and dedication with which he has overcome his many challenges in life to achieve his lifelong goal and how humbly he compares himself to others like him, who would let no challenge go unmet to attain their goals, allows me to realize just how much I have going for me. Neil is an inspiration to everyone whose life he has touched and I am truly grateful he took the time to give us all a glimpse into the personal lives and sacrifices that so many "heroes" make to attain their dreams. Truly worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than Money, More than heart, Truly Inspirational!, June 20, 2004
By 
cathy ellis (orlando, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
More than Money, More than heart, Truly Inspirational!
Reviewer: cathy ellis from orlando, fl United States
Neil Cavuto always seems to speak the truth with his no-nonsense business centered television, but his words go far beyond traditional corporate America in this truly inspirational book. Cavuto has had to deal with some very challenging problems in his relatively young life. He faces each hurdle and continues to take on what life may bring, stronger because of his faith, family and friends. There could never be a better time for a warm, fuzzy, feel-good book about "Corporate America," especially in light of the deceptive scandals and greed of some CEOs in the past few years. Cavuto captures the true spirit of American worker, the loyalty, the drive, the integrity that once was and hopefully will be again. This is a must read for everyone that wants to see greatness in the workplace restored. These are the true stories of people that should be known as no less Corporate Saints. Cavuto is proving to be a role model, again! This book is one that's time has truly come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only in America..., July 1, 2004
By 
Sam (Key West, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
A great book, Cavuto tells some great stories. It doesnt slam the left, it doesnt pimp the right, it just gives great stories about people rising to the top and living the American dream. The trick is these people he profiles did it without backstabbing and corporate hijinks. You'll be glad you read it, I promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in years, June 6, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
Such courage and intelligence this man has! I'd seen him a few times on television, but had never *felt* for him so deeply until I read this book. In rough times, I've seen some people just roll over, and others struggle with rare "energy of the soul" to overcome, as Mr. Cavuto did.
Now he shares his and other wonderful stories with us. We are in his debt. Thank you, Mr. Cavuto. You've helped and lifted the hearts of so many...
Love,
and thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Use This Book With My Coaching Clients, June 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson (Hardcover)
I was drawn to this book because I'm a Coach who specializes in Professional Development and Business Success, helping others succeed despite tough challenges. I often recommend that my clients read books on optimism because optimistic individuals generally achieve more than pessimists. What I like about Neil Cavuto's book is that it presents case studies on how people achieve great goals in part by maintaining their optimism. Also, I know a great deal about the achievements of Southwest Airlines founder Herb Kelleher and British entrepreneur Richard Branson and can vouch that Mr. Cavuto did an excellent job in summarizing their stories. The sections on Kelleher and Branson give me every reason to trust that stories on the others are accurate, too. Finally, since one of my friends is afflicted with MS, and has managed to keep a positive outlook (I am in awe of her), I have some sense of the health and psychological struggles Mr. Cavuto is facing. It is a testament to his strength that he has written this type of book. I will recommend this work to my clients when I believe case studies will reinforce the coaching process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

More Than Money: True Stories of People Who Learned Life's Ultimate Lesson
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.