Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$19.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2006
This an excellent collection for people who enjoy good ,happy, sing along songs.It just baffles my mind that bands like The Monkees, Grand Funk, and others get ridiculed so badly."More Today Than Yesterday" is just an awesome song.How can anyone not smile when they hear it?It's like being unamerican or something of that nature.Pat Upton is a great singer and the band is no slouch either.All the songs are great(Listen to "Get Ready" and you should be convinced)and "Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head" is just so appealing.If you don't believe me just take a moment and listen.You won't be disappointed.Highly reccomended!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 23, 2010
If you love the singing of Pat Upton and the sound this group produced on their two Columbia singles-or if you like jazz rock-or Gary Puckett-or Las Vegas style music-you will burn this thing out on your laser!! Finally, all of The SS tunes in one place-on one disc-with great sound; this is the only disc you need for this outstanding group. No hodge-podge budget job here, either!! Great sounds and great songs. Let's face it-great songs are timeless. And Pat-what a voice-worth hearing you on 25 tracks!!

I suppose The Buckinghams, Blood Sweat and Tears and Chicago whetted Columbia's appetite for the burgeoning jazz-rack crowd thanks to James Guerico. However, Gary Usher did some superb production work with SS and Gary Puckett and the Union Gap. And those voices-Pat Upton and Gary Puckett-what beautiful instruments!! Yes, the sound with the brass filled charts is great!! IN today's market this would fill a great void-nice, uptempo but relaxing background music.

If you dug that bright happy sound on the singles-get this one. No disrespect-but only the good singers like Tom Jones and Bobby Darin could be great lounge lizards-welcome to the Pack, Pat!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on July 21, 2011
No remixes here, but some of the earlier tracks suffer from being the inferior 60s stereo mixes (instead of mono single versions), which buried Pat Upton's amazing voice.

Later songs have better mixes. The mastering is great. There are some fab unreleased songs, like Love's The Only Answer.

If you want better mixes of some of their best tracks (Baby What I Mean and other songs from Our Day Will Come), buy the 2003 reissue More Today Than Yesterday with mono mixes. You can easily hear the difference.

If you are a completist, you'll get lots of exclusive material on this CD, still making it a useful purchase - just not definitive.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2011
I had been listening to my 40 year old copy of the "More Today Than Yesterday" album recently and bought this CD expecting the songs to sound better, but unfortunately, I will have to be happy with my old copy. The songs on this CD have been remixed and are inferior to the original 60's mixes. The remix seems to have killed the life of the excellent drumming in the songs from the "More Today Than Yesterday" album. The drums are set back further in the mix and muddied up with added reverb and low end EQ. There are similar problems with the vocals as well.

I don't always favor 60's music that has been remixed from the original multi-tracks, but you at least expect it to have improved fidelity. These mixes were just poorly done. The only benefit of these new mixes was late fade-outs on a few of the songs; getting to hear 10 to 15 extra seconds of an ending refrain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A number of references site The Spiral Starecase (guitarist/vocalist Pat Upton, organist Harvey Kaplan, saxophonist Dick Lopes, bassist Bobby Raymond and drummer Vinny Parello) as a One-Hit Wonder for their April/May 1969 # 12 Billboard Pop Hot 100 More Today Than Yesterday, which came out as Columbia 4-44741 b/w Broken-Hearted Man. But as I have said many times, anything that made the Hot 100, or even the R&B and Country charts, has to be considered a "hit" to some degree since, for every song that made the 100 within any of the genres in any given year, there were hundreds more that did not. Using 1969 as an example, some 669 songs made the Pop Hot 100, so when you factor in the hundreds more that year that failed to crack the 100, you get some idea as to the depth of the competition. Billboard even introduced a Bubble Under listing to reflect those that finished 101 to about 150.

So, while the follow-up No One To Turn To only managed a # 52 in September on Columbia 44924 b/w Sweet Little Thing, that gave it a year's ranking of 348, with 321 songs ranked behind it - including things like Lodi by CCR, Someday Soon by Judy Collins, The Bee Gees' Tomorrow, Tomorrow and Tel All The People by The Doors. All hits as well. Their third and last charter was the February 1970 # 72 She's Ready, billed as Siral Starecase Featuring Pat Upton on Columbia 4-45048 b/w Judas To The Love We Knew. All these sides are here, as is their first Columbia single, Makin' My Mind Up/Baby What I Mean (Columbia 4-44442) which failed to chart in mid-1968.

Tracks 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 are from their lone LP "More Today Than Yesterday" (Columbia CS-9582) which followed on the heels of their big 1969 hit (it also included the title song along with Broken-Hearted Man, Sweet Little Thing, No One For Me To Turn To, and Judas To The Love We Knew). Other sides were previously unreleased as the group disbanded fairly quickly thanks to management problems and the inevitable quarrel over remuneration, things that plagued many such groups in those days.

This 2003 Taragon release is a completist's dream with excellent sound reproduction and informative liner notes written by Steve Kolanjian.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pat Upton is a phenomenal vocalist. Band is ver tight w/ horns, guitars, etc., and vocals. Every song is wonderful except Proud Mary (lead vocal sounds like a drunk in a bar). I've played this over and over and skip nothing. Buy it, you will enjoy a great group that should have been a major band, i.e., Turtles, Bread, Outsiders, Buckinghams, etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Oh Yes I truly loved this cd it is the greatest you made this possible I thank Amazon and this seller you are the best
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2012
I can't believe Taragon has issued a package like this with such inferior sounding mixes!!!I am taking "More Today Than Yesterday", because in all reality, why else pick up a package of The Spiral Staircase?? It sounds god-awful. I don't think I need say anymore.

If you want a (somewhat) better sounding rendition, it's on Rhino's "Have A Nice Day" volume one. By the way, good luck finding it!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2014
freat music group
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Super sale.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
More Today Than Yesterday
More Today Than Yesterday by Spiral Starecase (Audio CD - 2003)

Super Hits of the '70's: Have a Nice Day Vol. 1
Super Hits of the '70's: Have a Nice Day Vol. 1 by Super Hits of the 70's (Audio CD - 1990)

The Very Best of the Spiral Starecase
The Very Best of the Spiral Starecase by Spiral Starecase (Audio CD - 1995)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.